Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

Bissell Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

Keep your house looking sparkling clean with the Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner. With power like you have never seen before, the floor cleaner mop works in minutes to give you results that you will love and appreciate. The electric mop features a water purification system that is used to remove harsh minerals and ions from tap water that helps to eliminate potential hard water spots, in turn providing a spotless look to your floors. The hard surface floor cleaner has two micro fiber mop pads that you can use to clean according to your requirements. It also features a Maneuverable Swivel Head that allows you to clean even the hard to reach places. Its strain reliever handle provides easy cleaning option without putting stress on your hands. A easy to hang hook helps in easy storage.
Average Customer Rating:
3.63 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(208 Reviews) 200
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
98
4 stars
37
3 stars
12
2 stars
20
1 star
41
Customer Recommendation80%69 out of 86reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 97 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
98
4 stars
37
3 stars
12
2 stars
20
1 star
41
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe

12/04/2012
By ,
Gilbert, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
To Whom it May Concern;
This is my second Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe. It was said to be the best on the market. My sister bought one & told me about it,so I bought one. After 2 yrs. it started leaking like a sieve. I had followed all instructions from the first time I used it. I went into the Bissell website & I saw others that had the same problem as me.Bissell wrote me back & told me they were sorry. I had the pads from that unit & loved it for the 1st 2 years. it worked great,no streaks so I thought I would look for it again on the internet at a lower price. Walmart had it on line site to store. I ordered it & picked it up,no S&H at the store. I put the new one together & will be using it in the next week. A good product from the name,Bissell should last longer than 2 yrs. Site to store is a good concept but needs fine tuning. Thank you for listening.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

Love!

03/19/2013
By ,
Western North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this model steam mop on the advice of a clean-freak friend. Not so much for the sanitization but for the ease of cleaning my very light-colored linoleum. I washed my floors with regular mop and bucket 3 days before it arrived. I broke it out and used the steam mop the minute it arrived...I took one swipe across my floor...and was smitten. I need to get used to steam, I was holding the trigger down constantly and the pad got too wet. So just don't use a steady steam....The washable head was disgustingly dirty when I was done. But my floor looked fantastic. No more mop and bucket for me.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Duluthmn
replacement pads
Posted 08/26/2014
I love this product but it seems that replacement pads are no longer available…anyone know where to get them?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

Disappointed in this product

06/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was highly rated by Consumer Reports. It scored well in all areas so I chose to buy this steam mop above the others. I tried it today and though it is easy to fill and cleans well, the downsides make it unusable for me. There is no on/off switch for the mop, only plug in or unplug. There is no steam control other than the trigger/dispenser. It is unwieldy and difficult to maneuver. It is heavy and does not slide easily on the floor. I can push it forward with effort but the mop will not be pulled back, so I must lift it off the floor. There is no forward and back sliding motion. The effort to clean a small area of the floor was enough to convince me that this particular steam mop is not what I want. I will return the mop and purchase the brand that my friend uses, which may not be Consumer Reports top pick but it certainly beats the Bissell Deluxe.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

Good Non-Toxic Floor Cleaner

07/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't used this particular mop very long since I only recently purchased it, but it was purchased to replace a similar Bissell mop, which I was very pleased with. The previous mop began to mal-function due to my own fault (put vinegar in with the water before reading that this could damage the unit). I used the previous mop for many years to clean my polished concrete floors and was very pleased with it. I love that I can use steam to clean instead of harsh, toxic chemicals and then just toss the dirty mop head in with my laundry. I dislike the mess of a conventional mop, and I always sort of feel like I am just pushing dirty water around on the floor when using one. My only teeny tiny complaint with this mop is that the positioning of the filter has changed just slightly -- enough that I was unable to utilize the fairly new filter from my older mop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

Just Short of Great

04/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This Bissell Steam Mop has 4 design flaws that keep it from being a great floor mop:
1. There's no on/off switch, call me old fashioned, but I miss it.
2. There's no upright lock so you can position the floor mop to stand on its own. I had to lean the mop up against something in order to plug and unplug the ~1 foot too short cord and it fell three times during my first use!
3. Having to hold in the button constantly in order to release the steam is ridiculous. By the time I was finished cleaning my floors my hands and fingers were raw. I had to keep switching hands in order to give each a rest!
4. The mop heads are too thin. They get saturated too soon and leave the floor soaking wet and it takes your floors too long to dry.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

If you have problems with water pooling, read on!

07/20/2012
By ,
Cullman, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my Bissell for close to 2 years now. I thought it had died on me, so I went and purchased a Shark Pro Lite. It doesn't even begin to compare! The Bissell has alot more steam output, reaches deeper into crevices (I have tile floors), has a larger water container (which means less trips to the sink during mopping to refill), and has a built in filter so it's safe to use tap water. The one tip I can give Bissell users, because there seems to be a common problem of too much water on the floors, is to only depress the steam button intermittently. This also prolongs the amount of area the water container will cover.
Thankfully after using the Shark one time I called Bissell customer service and they informed me that my mop was still under warranty! That's another plus, the Bissell has a 2 yr warranty and the Shark only a year. I can't wait to get my new Bissell in hand!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

Love it!

07/03/2011
By ,
Columbia, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first Steam Cleaner and I will never go back to regular mopping! It works great on our tile and laminate floors and really gets them more clean than before. We had leftover sticky stuff on our laminate from a non-skid rug pad and nothing, including handscrubbing, never really got the stickiness off. The first time we used the steam cleaner all remaining stickiness came off at once and our floors are now completely clean. It heats up quickly and really is ready within the first minute of plugging it in.
For those considering switching from regular mopping to steam mopping, I can only recommend!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

great simple lightweight and steam powered !

01/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm in love with steam mops. We have a number of rental apartments, and the mop just steams away any greasy areas of the floor, cleaning them instantly. It also whooshes steam into the crevices, killing any insects that may have been there while the unit was empty.
We used to be on our hands and knees with floor cleaners but this is SO much better ! The reason we gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is our old one lasted about 2 years. It would not steam any more, just dripped water. The new one does not have as good a sole cloth as the old one did, so we are using the old sole cloth.
Otherwise, its well built, and the old one never physically broke despite numerous trips in the back on my car.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

Santa came early!!!

11/22/2011
By ,
duluth, mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a gift from me to me!! The good news is: I became a grandma for the first time this past June.....it's very important that my floors be MORE than clean for the holiday season for this little guy to crawl on. The bad news is: I fell while skiing last winter and my leg has gone from bad to horrible....the thought of scrubbing floors or even using and mop and bucket is not a possibility for me. This little beauty has changed everything........I go over the floors with a quick battery-run vac.........then heat up the steam cleaner (in 30 seconds). It's not a fast process......slow and steady wins the race.....but it's so easy.....just keep moving and turn on a good TV/radio show and in no time, you are done!.....STRONGLY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

BETTER THAN SHARK

02/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works a whole lot better than the Shark steamer that I used to have.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

Great on laminate floors

06/16/2014
By ,
floriduh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use. Does a fine job on laminate floors. I have rescue dogs.... so there are incidents. This resolves those concerns without chemicals and the floors look like I hired a Professional! Cheap price and quality Brand name. Can't go wrong! ♫
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

Full steam ahead

02/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After many years of washing the floors weekly on my hands and knees, I am now physically unable to continue doing that. I bought this product so my adult son could clean the floor for me. This product is difficult to push until the pad is saturated, which my son discovered by trial and error on first use -- next time we'll soak the pad first. When he was assembling it and was ready to fill the water tank, he could not get the plug to budge. A Bissell representative assured us that the plug was probably stuck because it was new and was made to withstand years of constant use so we should not be able to damage it by pulling hard. There was no edge to grip so my son wrapped a rubber pad around it and carefully used pliers to pry it free. It was not damaged and was easy to plug and unplug after that and did not leak once it was tightened. I have textured no-wax sheet vinyl flooring and it cleaned really well since I had been unable to wash my floors for four months, including all the holidays. No dirt settled in the crevices of the floor texture, which is a miracle in itself -- I would have to scrub with a brush to get that out before. My only disappointment was that the floor was not shiny as it would be when I washed it by hand. I'm thinking that a second cleaning might solve that -- I am even considering soaking the pad in a weak cleaning solution before steaming to see if that would solve the problem since you can only use plain water in the tank itself. By the way, most of the water on first use went to soaking the filter for the first time -- surprisingly little water was used up after that and it cleaned well. My son said once you get the hang of pushing the steam trigger and then mopping, it was very pleasant to use. I also like the fact that there is no dirty water tank to empty. This model is also a good value because it comes with an extra mop pad, which was a deciding factor in the purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

Great for the budget-minded.

02/28/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe does everything it says. It's very easy to assemble and use. My one complaint would be that it does not pull backwards as easily as it should when moving across a hard surface. The swivel mop will turn on it's back edge instead of remaining flat on the floor. You need to gently lift up as you pull back. Overall, I am satisfied with the product and would recommend it to those who can not afford the more expensive ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

Love it!

09/04/2011
By ,
Cincinnati, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Bissell Steam Mop 2 months ago and use several times weekly. I feel it cleans my kitchen floor much better than a Swifter Wet Jet or Clorox Mop did. They both left behind dirt if I took a Clorox wipe afterwards and wiped the floor. With the Bissell Steam Mop, no dirt left behind! Very easy to use too. The floors are wet for 10 minutes or so afterwards, but it might be that I go over them several times. I also use it in my bathrooms and really like it. Have not tried it on my hardwood floors yet, but feel it is well worth the $ just for my kitchen and baths.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

So much better than the Shark!

11/02/2011
By ,
Caldwell, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad that my Shark steam mop broke and that I went with the Bissell this time around. The Bissell is almost half the price and is a much better mop than the Shark. I can clean my floor twice as fast as I could with the Shark, and it is at least twice as thorough as the Shark, too. I have two toddlers, live on a farm, and my husband is a farmer - my hardwood floors see a lot of dirt and grime. The Bissell cleans them to a shine in no time. I am really pleased with this purchase and highly recommend it. If you're debating whether to spend your money on a Shark or a Bissell choose the Bissell!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

Works well

01/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lightweight and works well. Easy to handle.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

wow!

06/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical at first but I ordered this product anyway after reading other reviews. It went together very easily and I picked the worst spot to test this out on right away. I'm totally shocked and awed at what an amazing job it did! I've struggled with a set of stairs in my rental that are just impossible to clean. They had years of grime on them and I literally thought we'd have to refinish them but it's all been stripped away now!!! I can't recommend this product highly enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

not a steam mop

03/13/2012
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My third steam mop and i'm not going to stop untill i find one that works. This one completely soaked the floor and made just a tiny bit of steam. If you're looking to mop your floor this is for you, but if you have wood or laminate this mop will just make it wet and soggy. You'll see if you buy it. I'm going to try a haan mop having already tried the shark and the dirt devil.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1
03/04/2011
By ,
rockdale, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
more than meets my expectations. Does a wonderful job cleaning floors. Would highly recommend this steam mop
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rochester, NY
Highly Recommended
Posted 06/22/2012
I read where Good Housekeeping did a test on 16 different steam mops and the Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe was rated #1 by them for its effective cleaning on ceramic tile and being able to get rid of tough greasy spots, too. Always have had great luck with Bissell products..from shampooers to vacuums-seems befitting this steam mop would be my choice, too!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Bissell Steam Mop Deluxe Hard Floor Cleaner, 31N1

Consumer Reports review misleading

05/16/2014
By ,
Bella Vista, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used our new Bissell Steam Mop for the first time yesterday. I was expecting to spend more time cleaning the floor and was pleasantly surprised when it took much less time than using a bucket and mop on our tile floors. I was a little concerned when Consumer Reports liked this product but claimed that it left too much water on the floor. This is not the case if used as directed. I am extremely happy with this new way of cleaning our tile floors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next