Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gamo Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Gamo Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

The Gamo Silent Cat 0.177 Cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater shoots 0.177 cal. match grade lead pellets at1000fps and BPA at 1200fps. This 0.177 air rifle is equipped with a deluxe recoil pad made from ventilated rubber to protect you from recoils. It has a single cocking system and spring piston. To ensure your safety, this 1000 fps air rifle comes with an automatic cocking safety system and manual trigger safety. The bull barrel is made from fluted polymer for durable performance. This single shot air rifle has a non-removable noise dampener that dampens sound up to 52 percent. Twin cheek pads ensure comfort for ambidextrous shooting.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation80%36 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 65 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

fine gun for price

10/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is not a firearm, it's an airgun. If you're looking for pinpoint accuracy at 50 to 100 yards this is not going to do it. Right out of the box I was able to produce quarter size groups at 15 yards with open sights. Put aprox. 100 rounds through it. Then mounted the scope. It was easy. Yes you can see a little of the open sights in the bottom of the scope but it does not affect accuracy. I shot 10 round volleys. With-in 20 rounds the scope was sighted in for 15 yards. Another 20 rounds it was right on at 20 yards. It can easily hold a nickel at 20. At 25 yards a quarter will cover them. Best pellets were crosman premium hollow points from Walmart. If I have to shoot little critters out to 50 or 100 yards I would use something else. Overall I am impressed with the accuracy. It serves my purpose. So far I've put aprox. 500 rounds through it. The scope has not moved and still holds zero. The 4x scope is fine for 25+ yards. It is what it is, a fine airgun for reasonable distance. I would certainly recommend this to a friend, and have.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Very accurate air rifle!!`

05/21/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After searching online I decided to buy a Silent Cat at my local walmart. I figured if the rifle didn't meet my expectations I could take it back, you can't really try out a rifle if you buy online without having to pay for return shipping. I wasn't sure if I could trust online reviews. I was really surprised how accurate this rifle was. Accuracy out of the box was OK. Accuracy was noticeably better after a couple hundred pellets. I mounted and sighted in scope after break in. Accuracy is affected by pellet selection. I tried three different pellets; Gamo Tomahawk, Crosman Premium and Crosman Destroyer EX. The most accurate was the Crosman Premium. The least accurate was the Gamo Tomahawk. My Favorite are the Destroyer EX. The Gamo Silent Cat paired with the Destroyer EX are AWESOMELY DEVASTATING on birds! Most of my shots are at around 30 yards with great success. The gun really performs well and I have to say I really like it. Great Rifle!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Better than Expected!!!

08/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it just for fun and was very impressed with the accuracy. Very strong. The only downside to it is that it is a single shot. The Gamo platinum pellets, included, make a great difference with accuracy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Good Gun

11/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this gun was more powerful than I expected A+A+A+A+
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Pleasantly surprised!

11/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sure isn't your dad's air rifle. I was very impressed with the power and accuracy of this piece. The fit, finish and feel are well beyond my expectations for an air rifle in this price range. The scope that is included is an added bonus.... very good optical clarity.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

scatter gun

10/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This rifle is very powerful, but the accuracy is terrible. Once it is zeroed in you can shoot 4 or 5 shots that can be covered with a quarter. Then they start going wild. To cover the next five shots you need a dinner plate. Zero in again, same problem. Thought it was the scope--changed scopes,no different. Removed scope and the open sights are just as bad. Have two friends with this rifle and they have same problem. Hopefully, I can get a refund and change brands.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Good pellet rifle and very accurate

04/01/2011
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have fired a few hundred rounds through this gun in just the past couple of weeks. Sighting it in is a breeze. The only complaint, for this model, it needs to come with a taller scope mount. I removed the front sights on the barrel, and it still picks up the tip of the barrel due to the silencer on the end. Other than that, a great gun for the price. A great gun for small game, would not suggest for a child though. It has the same capabilities as a .22 rifle, just not the repeating capability.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

All you need in a .177

10/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased this rifle...and I am glad I did.. I am replacing the scope with a 3X9...but this is one accurate, powerful gun. I did experience issues with some pellets which would not stay consistent...the Gamo whisper pellets and the Crosman hollow point were all over the target at 20 yds. I settled for the Gamo red fire and Crosman destroyer ex. Sighted in for 25 yds and driving tacks. 2 squirrels and 1 raccoon later and I could not be more satisfied. I was told that each gun can be a little finicky with different ammo and it is true...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Great Pellet rifle

12/05/2012
By ,
georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family currently owns 3 Gamo brand rifles now. Of those 3 we have had 2 for several years now. The only issue has been replacing 1 scope. Inadvertently it had been stored next to one of the A/C vents in the house causing temperature changes within the scope and causing issue with moisture.
Now on to the review of the Silent cat: Please understand this is not a toy nor is it a variable pump up type that most of us grew up with that shoots BB's or pellets at around 760 feet per second. It is a very powerful spring powered pellet (only) single shot rifle capable of speeds over 1200 feet per second. to put that in perspective it shoots a pellet fast enough to cover 10 full length football fields in 1 second. Can it actually reach a distance that far with enough velocity to do damage? No. However, with-in 100 yards it definitely can.
There are 2 types of .177 pellets that can be used in it. One is the old fashioned lead pellets that have been around for years and years and now come in so many styles it would be impossible to list them all. The other is a lead-free alloy which is the newer variety.
The lead-free ones are significantly lighter and thus are the ones capable of breaking the sound barrier causing the "crack". The rifle comes with a pack of Gamo lead-free ammo. Normal lead pellets will not be anywhere close to being as loud. It is quieter then the other Gamo rifles I already have without noise reducer.
As for the rifle itself, it is well built, full size and has some weight to it making it hard to handle for some. The trigger has a bit of resistance to it as well which can be both a good thing or a bad thing depending on what your looking for. It helps to prevent accidental or premature firing when placing a shot or makes it difficult for some to actually make the shot because of the strength required to pull the trigger. The safety location directly in front of the trigger is a perfect place to put it in my opinion. When fired it will produce a slight kickback called recoil but it is not strong enough to present a problem to anyone. It has fully adjustable sights and a variable scope. Once mounted though the scope makes it so the sights can not be used. Would be much better if the rifle came with high rise scope mounts to eliminate that issue, but they can be bought at Walmart. Both the sights and the scope are consistently accurate and secure once properly adjusted and the screws fastened. If you do have an issue with the screws loosening over time just place a drop of lock-tite on them and re-install.
I have taken many pests with mine. ranging from chipmunks, squirrels, opossums, foxes, and coyotes. The furthest being a 60 yard instant kill shot to the coyote. (I am in a subdivision and was granted permission from the local fish and wildlife office to harvest the animal) Since it is NOT powered by air or compressed gas(es) it does not fall under the definition of a firearm and therefore can be fired within city limits without violating firearms laws. More information and videos can be found on the manufacturers website www.Gamousa.com As for my background and experience in the field I am retired from the US Marines as which I served as a weapons instructor and also have a background in Law enforcement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

nice addition-would recommend

09/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its was heavy for my 14 yr old and lanky or long at first. He did need a gun tripod or a rest to sight it in. The "sighting in" was easy and quick . He is very satisfied with the power or velocity it has. It seemed a little loud at first but after a few rounds it quitted down or so it seemed. The scope he says is pretty decent. He has other pellet guns and always comes back to this one even over the CO2's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Excellent Product

05/18/2010
By ,
Richmond VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dissapointed in the packinging it arrived all beat up but lucky the contents was OK. Assembled the scope and put a target, within 15 shots I had the Gamo sighted in. Four bulls and one just touching the centre ring at 75 Yards.
Best pettet rifel I've ever had, love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Not quiet

10/24/2014
By ,
Southern Utah
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Loud - this air gun is NOT quiet! Easy to use, but noisy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

great!!!

01/29/2010
By ,
Locust grave, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a amazing gun! when i first tryed it one of my friends just got it in the mail and it only took like 5 mins to sight but after that, we droped some coke cans and a couple birds from about 100 yrds. although i dont recomend trying to on a cow =) but over all its a good gun and i would recomend it to anyone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+105points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

good gun

10/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
louder that expected but good gun
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Gamo Silent Cat

08/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The name says it all "Silent Cat" and will kill any other small animal you choose. It is a ton of fun to shoot and even though it has a sound supressor it is pretty loud but worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope
03/26/2013
By ,
MARYLAND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read some of the early reviews and they helped.One said that it was loud and it is if you use the original pellets,but if you use the red fire pellets,what a differance in the sound of the gun.This gun is great,I also got a different scope the squirles don't like it so much though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

pros and cons

09/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a pretty good gun in all, it shoots fine and is very accurate. But it's silencer is very poor quality and the pellets slide out the barrel 50 percent of the time. It is not a bad gun , but it is not good when pellets fall out of your barrel.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Awesome rifle!

08/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first rifle. I expected it to be more difficult to use but I was wrong. The silencer works too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

accurate, powerful, relatively quite

07/22/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got the gun; put about 30 pellets down range. Got a quarter inch group at 40 feet with the fiber optic sights. After sighting the scope, also got a quarter inch group. Only flaw so far is the grip of the gun ... usually there are grooves or diamond patterns on the gun to keep your hands from slipping... this one has a smooth finish, but it is not a huge problem.
All in all, it is an accurate and powerful gun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

"Great Gun, very very very powerful"

02/17/2013
By ,
The Old Guard
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
#I own the big cat version of this but there are the same rifle internally, just different stock and this one is a bit quieter considering the suppresor# I spent alot of time trying to find the perfect Springer Air Rifle. I debated back and forth from Nitro Piston Bejamin/Crosman to Gamo and RWS Magnum rifles. There are alot to chose from in the Air Rifle world. I think I read almost every blog or review for moderatly priced rifles. I finally chose this after seeing that all the reviews seemed to be very consistent. I like the sleek look, hence it really looks more like a 22lr or mag. I took this beast home and that same day I painted it digital camo . It looks pretty cool but shoots even better than it looks. It took 7 rounds to zero at 25 meters. I also tested it on 50 meters and it shoots great. I can hit quarter size groupings with no probelm. This rifle is easily capable of shooting through 3/4 to 1 inch plywood, so ensure you have a proper backstop. Again this rifle is extremly accurate! I truly believe people who get bad groups are because they have not mastered proper grip. The best type of hold is Artillery. Look it up on google or youtube. Also guys and gals I would suggest you upgrade the scope if you plan to use this beyond 30 yards. Although the scope they give you is okay #what do you expect for less than $150# there are much better optics out there for less than 50 bucks. I bought the tasco 3-9x40 30/30 and it works like a dream. You can find them from 27.99 to 38.99 at most dicks,walmarts or bass pro. Lastly do not entertain the negative remarks about this rifle. Not every rifle made will be perfect no matter what the company says. If you get a lemon, just box it up and exchange it for a new one. I attached some pics for you as well. Here is a link where a guy shoots a decent grouping with this rifle
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0PXN-bgqiyM
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next