Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gamo Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Gamo Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

The Gamo Silent Cat 0.177 Cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater shoots 0.177 cal. match grade lead pellets at1000fps and BPA at 1200fps. This 0.177 air rifle is equipped with a deluxe recoil pad made from ventilated rubber to protect you from recoils. It has a single cocking system and spring piston. To ensure your safety, this 1000 fps air rifle comes with an automatic cocking safety system and manual trigger safety. The bull barrel is made from fluted polymer for durable performance. This single shot air rifle has a non-removable noise dampener that dampens sound up to 52 percent. Twin cheek pads ensure comfort for ambidextrous shooting.
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation83%43 out of 52reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 66 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Very accurate air rifle!!`

05/21/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After searching online I decided to buy a Silent Cat at my local walmart. I figured if the rifle didn't meet my expectations I could take it back, you can't really try out a rifle if you buy online without having to pay for return shipping. I wasn't sure if I could trust online reviews. I was really surprised how accurate this rifle was. Accuracy out of the box was OK. Accuracy was noticeably better after a couple hundred pellets. I mounted and sighted in scope after break in. Accuracy is affected by pellet selection. I tried three different pellets; Gamo Tomahawk, Crosman Premium and Crosman Destroyer EX. The most accurate was the Crosman Premium. The least accurate was the Gamo Tomahawk. My Favorite are the Destroyer EX. The Gamo Silent Cat paired with the Destroyer EX are AWESOMELY DEVASTATING on birds! Most of my shots are at around 30 yards with great success. The gun really performs well and I have to say I really like it. Great Rifle!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Lou Sal

07/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I purchase this, rifle I was getting very frustrated because I was unable to sight the rifle, and after spending some time reading thru ought different, reviews and blogs, and finally, I came across, the key remedy, rise the scope so I Order a set 11 mm. tail dove high profile double screw rings for the scope and, but mean while I received the order, I improvise by putting electrical tape and little pieces of plastic to rise the scope and that was it, from the point it was so relieved, because I really like, that rifle the design the mechanics, the fluted concept and it is .177 so it works, the skeleton structure and plenty power and mainly I bought it because I have several squirrels tin the back yard and they are becoming very territorial, but I have neighbors very close by, so that is way I bought the .177 smaller round. and not the 22.
so I hope this helps.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

fine gun for price

10/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is not a firearm, it's an airgun. If you're looking for pinpoint accuracy at 50 to 100 yards this is not going to do it. Right out of the box I was able to produce quarter size groups at 15 yards with open sights. Put aprox. 100 rounds through it. Then mounted the scope. It was easy. Yes you can see a little of the open sights in the bottom of the scope but it does not affect accuracy. I shot 10 round volleys. With-in 20 rounds the scope was sighted in for 15 yards. Another 20 rounds it was right on at 20 yards. It can easily hold a nickel at 20. At 25 yards a quarter will cover them. Best pellets were crosman premium hollow points from Walmart. If I have to shoot little critters out to 50 or 100 yards I would use something else. Overall I am impressed with the accuracy. It serves my purpose. So far I've put aprox. 500 rounds through it. The scope has not moved and still holds zero. The 4x scope is fine for 25+ yards. It is what it is, a fine airgun for reasonable distance. I would certainly recommend this to a friend, and have.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Best Bang For The Buck, But Beware!!!

05/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome rifle for the money.
I read lots of reviews before purchasing this gun and I can honestly say that all the positive reviews were right - this is a great gun all round.
Build quality, accuracy, ease of use, power, value, none of these vital features can be faulted.
I did ready some negative reviews about things such as the scope not being better (no mil dots) and the trigger no being smooth, but IMHO I think those reviews were unwarranted.
Firstly, at $150, or there abouts, how can you expect a gun to come with a $500 scope?
Secondly, the scope provided is more than adequate for anything you should be expecting to use a gun in this price range for.
Thirdly, as of mid-2014, Gamo addressed the issue of the poor trigger and started to ship the Silent Cat with their awesome SAT (Smooth Action Trigger) at NO extra cost. This, IMO, made this rifle perfect.
However, BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!
If you intend to purchase this rifle from a Walmart store, or from an on-line retailer then you need to make 100% sure that you will receive the NEW spec. rifle.
The new spec. rifle comes with the SAT trigger and a newly printed box, but those are the ONLY differences. The model number is exactly the same on the old and new spec. models, and there are still lots of the old spec. models out there. Especially on the shelves of Walmart stores.
A few days ago I ordered one of these from Walmart.com for same day store pick-up. BIG MISTAKE! When I got to the store to collect the rifle I was not only given an old spec. rifle, but one which had CLEARLY been used and returned. The store had one more in stock, but that too was an old spec. model.
After doing lots more research I found that most of my local stores had the old spec. models in stock.
All is not lost.
Still wanting to purchase from Walmart, I learned that by ordering on-line and selecting "ship to home" the rifle would be shipped directly from Gamo and shipping is/was free.
So, in conclusion. Awesome rifle, but if you end-up with an old spec. model return it and find the new spec. version (if the box has a picture of a squirrel then it's and old one, if it has a picture of a cat and says SAT, it's a new one).
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Good pellet rifle and very accurate

04/01/2011
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have fired a few hundred rounds through this gun in just the past couple of weeks. Sighting it in is a breeze. The only complaint, for this model, it needs to come with a taller scope mount. I removed the front sights on the barrel, and it still picks up the tip of the barrel due to the silencer on the end. Other than that, a great gun for the price. A great gun for small game, would not suggest for a child though. It has the same capabilities as a .22 rifle, just not the repeating capability.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

nice addition-would recommend

09/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its was heavy for my 14 yr old and lanky or long at first. He did need a gun tripod or a rest to sight it in. The "sighting in" was easy and quick . He is very satisfied with the power or velocity it has. It seemed a little loud at first but after a few rounds it quitted down or so it seemed. The scope he says is pretty decent. He has other pellet guns and always comes back to this one even over the CO2's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Excellent Product

05/18/2010
By ,
Richmond VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dissapointed in the packinging it arrived all beat up but lucky the contents was OK. Assembled the scope and put a target, within 15 shots I had the Gamo sighted in. Four bulls and one just touching the centre ring at 75 Yards.
Best pettet rifel I've ever had, love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Gamo Silent Cat

08/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The name says it all "Silent Cat" and will kill any other small animal you choose. It is a ton of fun to shoot and even though it has a sound supressor it is pretty loud but worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Great Pellet rifle

12/05/2012
By ,
georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family currently owns 3 Gamo brand rifles now. Of those 3 we have had 2 for several years now. The only issue has been replacing 1 scope. Inadvertently it had been stored next to one of the A/C vents in the house causing temperature changes within the scope and causing issue with moisture.
Now on to the review of the Silent cat: Please understand this is not a toy nor is it a variable pump up type that most of us grew up with that shoots BB's or pellets at around 760 feet per second. It is a very powerful spring powered pellet (only) single shot rifle capable of speeds over 1200 feet per second. to put that in perspective it shoots a pellet fast enough to cover 10 full length football fields in 1 second. Can it actually reach a distance that far with enough velocity to do damage? No. However, with-in 100 yards it definitely can.
There are 2 types of .177 pellets that can be used in it. One is the old fashioned lead pellets that have been around for years and years and now come in so many styles it would be impossible to list them all. The other is a lead-free alloy which is the newer variety.
The lead-free ones are significantly lighter and thus are the ones capable of breaking the sound barrier causing the "crack". The rifle comes with a pack of Gamo lead-free ammo. Normal lead pellets will not be anywhere close to being as loud. It is quieter then the other Gamo rifles I already have without noise reducer.
As for the rifle itself, it is well built, full size and has some weight to it making it hard to handle for some. The trigger has a bit of resistance to it as well which can be both a good thing or a bad thing depending on what your looking for. It helps to prevent accidental or premature firing when placing a shot or makes it difficult for some to actually make the shot because of the strength required to pull the trigger. The safety location directly in front of the trigger is a perfect place to put it in my opinion. When fired it will produce a slight kickback called recoil but it is not strong enough to present a problem to anyone. It has fully adjustable sights and a variable scope. Once mounted though the scope makes it so the sights can not be used. Would be much better if the rifle came with high rise scope mounts to eliminate that issue, but they can be bought at Walmart. Both the sights and the scope are consistently accurate and secure once properly adjusted and the screws fastened. If you do have an issue with the screws loosening over time just place a drop of lock-tite on them and re-install.
I have taken many pests with mine. ranging from chipmunks, squirrels, opossums, foxes, and coyotes. The furthest being a 60 yard instant kill shot to the coyote. (I am in a subdivision and was granted permission from the local fish and wildlife office to harvest the animal) Since it is NOT powered by air or compressed gas(es) it does not fall under the definition of a firearm and therefore can be fired within city limits without violating firearms laws. More information and videos can be found on the manufacturers website www.Gamousa.com As for my background and experience in the field I am retired from the US Marines as which I served as a weapons instructor and also have a background in Law enforcement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

great!!!

01/29/2010
By ,
Locust grave, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a amazing gun! when i first tryed it one of my friends just got it in the mail and it only took like 5 mins to sight but after that, we droped some coke cans and a couple birds from about 100 yrds. although i dont recomend trying to on a cow =) but over all its a good gun and i would recomend it to anyone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Gamo .177 Silent Cat Airgun

05/31/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First thing don't waste your time with the scope, piece of junk and the mounts are to low to clear the noise suppression system.
The rifle it self has plenty of power and just like with any other gun once you find the best pellet combination the accuracy is consistent. Don't expect it to be very quiet right out of the box, after a couple hundred pellets it than was noticeably quieter.
Keep the maintenance up and the rifle will stay accurate and the power will be there.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

"Great Gun, very very very powerful"

02/17/2013
By ,
The Old Guard
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
#I own the big cat version of this but there are the same rifle internally, just different stock and this one is a bit quieter considering the suppresor# I spent alot of time trying to find the perfect Springer Air Rifle. I debated back and forth from Nitro Piston Bejamin/Crosman to Gamo and RWS Magnum rifles. There are alot to chose from in the Air Rifle world. I think I read almost every blog or review for moderatly priced rifles. I finally chose this after seeing that all the reviews seemed to be very consistent. I like the sleek look, hence it really looks more like a 22lr or mag. I took this beast home and that same day I painted it digital camo . It looks pretty cool but shoots even better than it looks. It took 7 rounds to zero at 25 meters. I also tested it on 50 meters and it shoots great. I can hit quarter size groupings with no probelm. This rifle is easily capable of shooting through 3/4 to 1 inch plywood, so ensure you have a proper backstop. Again this rifle is extremly accurate! I truly believe people who get bad groups are because they have not mastered proper grip. The best type of hold is Artillery. Look it up on google or youtube. Also guys and gals I would suggest you upgrade the scope if you plan to use this beyond 30 yards. Although the scope they give you is okay #what do you expect for less than $150# there are much better optics out there for less than 50 bucks. I bought the tasco 3-9x40 30/30 and it works like a dream. You can find them from 27.99 to 38.99 at most dicks,walmarts or bass pro. Lastly do not entertain the negative remarks about this rifle. Not every rifle made will be perfect no matter what the company says. If you get a lemon, just box it up and exchange it for a new one. I attached some pics for you as well. Here is a link where a guy shoots a decent grouping with this rifle
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0PXN-bgqiyM
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

accurate, powerful, relatively quite

07/22/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got the gun; put about 30 pellets down range. Got a quarter inch group at 40 feet with the fiber optic sights. After sighting the scope, also got a quarter inch group. Only flaw so far is the grip of the gun ... usually there are grooves or diamond patterns on the gun to keep your hands from slipping... this one has a smooth finish, but it is not a huge problem.
All in all, it is an accurate and powerful gun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope
03/26/2013
By ,
MARYLAND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read some of the early reviews and they helped.One said that it was loud and it is if you use the original pellets,but if you use the red fire pellets,what a differance in the sound of the gun.This gun is great,I also got a different scope the squirles don't like it so much though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope
12/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very accurate rifle the scope is very precise once you get it adjusted right pretty powerful rifle i would recommend it .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

very quick and powerful

08/30/2013
By ,
florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought my first Gamo about 5 years ago. We sat up a firing range in our basement. My friends and I shot targets all winter. We fired at least 5000 rounds at these targets. The game never jammed or failed to fire. I gave my old Gamo to my son-in-law and I bought this new one. I love it like the original. You will not be disappointed. One thing about it though is that it does make noise. It is not as loud as a 22 rifle but it is close.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!

06/23/2013
By ,
Winston, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this gun for about 5 months now and recorded over 50 kills with it. I shoot it atleast once a day dropping some sort of pest around my house. It is deadly accurate with both the scope and iron sights. It isn't too bad with weight or trigger pull. I can drop a squirrel at over 80 yards with it no problem. Very good for pesting and just hunting small game. It is cheaper than its friend the bone collector, and it has 750 fps less than it, but in the end it still is just as deadly from 10 to 100 yards. I would recomend this for anyone over the age of 14.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Great pellet rifle

07/05/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this online and picked it up in the store. Got home assembled it after 5 minutes it was dead on target. The only thing is it will get off 0 if the barrel gets dirty. It shoots the best with the gamo tomahawks. I tryed crosmans led free SSP hollow points and they just fly all over the place. When cleaning just use a piece of weedeater string, bend one end over and melt together to make a hole for a cleaning patch. Use a drinking straw in the silencer so you dont loose cleaning patches in the silencer as you will have to shoot it until it blows out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

Better than Expected!!!

08/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it just for fun and was very impressed with the accuracy. Very strong. The only downside to it is that it is a single shot. The Gamo platinum pellets, included, make a great difference with accuracy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gamo Silent Cat .177 cal. Break Barrel Air Repeater with 4x32mm Scope

loud

09/11/2010
By ,
york,sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I returned rifle because irt was deemed to loud
for the neiborhood I live in.
There was a whole lot of power coming out
of this gun. but it was a little to noisy.........
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Glasgow,Ky
Great GUN!
Posted 03/17/2012
I mulled over which gun to buy at Walmart for a week so I just grabbed it bought it on a quim I loved the look of it!! Let me tell you it is a POWERFUL gun and not for children at all adults only this gun will kill a human so if your looking for hunting power or just plinking the speed and overall power of this gun will leave you spooked!!! plua it looks wicked also I have noit shot the PBA pelles that come with it mine was opened in thr store and someone took them so the store manager said i could have a box next time I come in....on an the scope was a breeze to sight in.....get it you wont regret it!!!!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1 2 3 Next