Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

Generic Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

The Dual-Flush Toilet Converter helps you save water and money, providing just the right amount of water per flush. It features a two-button design to increase your toilet's efficiency by reducing water usage. This two-button toilet flush uses up to 70 percent less water when flushing just water and paper, while the Full Flush feature effectively eliminates solids. Easy to install, this flush toilet converter doesn't require tools or removal of the tank. The water-saving toilet flush works with all standard toilets and flush valves, which helps to prevent leaks and improper flushing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.392 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%71 out of 79reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 62 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

Great Idea

08/27/2010
By ,
Wilmington,NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I first saw this item at Costco for a dollar more and was suprised to find Walmart selling it for less. The product is a great idea and works but it does have some drawbacks. If you already have a 1.6gpm toilet, as I do, it will be less effective than an older type. I have to max out the flush gauge for #1 and #2 works as before. The way it mounts onto the drain is with a silicone gasket that leaked at first. I checked the company site for help topics and tried the suggestions but could not stop the tiny drips. That being said all that is needed is a bit of grease, vaseline or similar, around the base and it is good to go.
For the women it is harder to press the buttons so that she be taken into consideration. My wife broke a thumb nail and has banned any from the master bath, I will be allowed to keep the one in the guest bath luckily :).
All in all it works as stated and the water savings should be noticed immediately.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

Incredible Product

05/05/2010
By ,
Auburn, Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Dual-Flush Toilet Converter and I could not be any happier with it. It takes only minutes, 10 at the most to install it. The instructions are very simple and easy to follow. The price is even better, you can not beat it. But the most important thing is the water you are saving with this device. I highly recommend this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

Dual Flush

02/20/2010
By ,
Meridian, Ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install and works great. Can not wait to see my first water bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

Product needs a second component

05/19/2010
By ,
Burnsville, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product was installed during a recent episode of This Old House. I installed it too but like the TOH plumber I needed to add another part to make it work properly. The two parts work great. The second part should have been offered by Wal-Mart but I got one through Amazon:
"MJSI HC550 HydroClean Water-saving Toilet Fill Valve" Tools & Hardware; $13.15
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

Easy to install

10/12/2010
By ,
Reading, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an easy to intall product that does save on water. It took more water than expected to get my toilets to flush, but it still saves half a talk per flush over the full flush. The buttons can be hard to push for little children.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

A winner for saving water

04/27/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is so easy to install and adjust anybody really could do it. My toilet was a 5 gallon flusher and has a big gargle sound at the end of the flush. After installing this product I was able to adjust the flush for liquids to about 2 1/2 gallons and the flush for solids to 5 gallons and still get the gargle noise at the end of both flushes so I have a nice clean and empty bowl for the next user. I am a retired diabetic who is home a lot and goes #2 a lot more than #1 and can truthfully say this product is going to save a lot of water that is unnecessarily wasted in my own home. We have had this in operation for about a month now and it looks and works great and has never missed a flush. For me the push button design is attractive and functional but may confuse a new user but if you tell them before they use your commode "top part of the button #2 bottom part of the button #1" they will be able to figure out the rest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

THIS THING IS GREAT!!!!!

07/02/2011
By ,
Houston TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read some reviews and don't understand why some had trouble installing this. I spent time online at HydroRight's website where you can watch a video installation, and read the instructions. They even give you the specifications necessary for this system to work, so with all that I was able to determine if both of my toilets would accept this kit. There is a second component to this kit that is necessary if you are going for the full benefits of saving water but it will work with any fill kit on the market. However I highly recommend you purchase both units, shame WalMart does not stock these combination kits in their stores. So how hard was it to install? I installed 2 kits, adjusted them out completely, and cleaned up my mess in under 30 minutes. Yes folks it is that easy. You may need tools to remove your old system, but trust me, put the tools away and install this kit by hand!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

Good for number 2 only

12/14/2011
By ,
Stafford, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just install this unit in my older tank and as for number 2 it works great and doesn't use as much water. Now for number 1 the water will still be stained yellow and after a few days you need to clean the bowl. As for saving on the water; yes I think you get the saving, but do you want to have a stained bowl?
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

works o.k. but they leave out a lot!

04/23/2011
By ,
calif.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Small flush, leaves the bowl 2.5in.low,without special fill valve.
The flush button is hard to push, o.k. for a man, hard for a girl, imposable for a arthritic girl.
EZ to install.
They should sell all the parts as a kit.
change the button to a lever.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

a water saver

01/25/2010
By ,
Springfield Oregon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading instructions I was somewhat intimidated but it was really easy to put together. Not sure of saving amount of water yet. Have not measured water difference. We have a bulb type float and ballcock. Did not purchase their Hydroclean fill valve, just purchased a normal one at the near by hardware store.
Works great and solved the problem of adjusting the float rod occasionally due to a bad ballcock.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

Great concept

03/17/2010
By ,
Hinesville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have an American Standard 1.6 gpf toilet and I bought this expecting it to be an easy quick change to the flapper valve and save water going into my septic tank. But I could not, after quite some time adjusting things, get it to seat properly in my tank so that the water drained from my tank. The paperwork to trouble shoot it from the company only tells you to try re-seating it, but I still had water leak around the thing and I ended up going back to my old flapper. It seems like the tabs that held the old flapper prevented me from getting the thing down far enough to plug the hole entirely.
So I'll save it for later when I get a new toilet when we renovate. I would STILL recommend the product though for anyone wanting to try save water. If it works for you, it will pay for itself in the long run.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

Paid for itself in 1 month!

06/27/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I waited to write my review until I had seen my first full water bill after installing the duel flush converter. My water bill went down 25% It went from $81 to $61 paying for the kit in 1 month! The kit was very easy to install, and alot cheaper than replacing the whole toilet! Everyone with an older toilet should invest in one of these!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

SAVES WATER AND ELECTRICTY- HOME WELL

02/24/2011
By ,
FLORIDA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OUR HOME HAS IT'S OWAN WELL AND SEPTIC
SYSTEM. THIS PRODUCT REDUCES WATER AND
ELECTRICAL CONSUMPTION. WHICH REDUCES
STRESS ON THE SEPTIC SYSTEM. IT IS WELL WORTH THE COST.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter
12/26/2009
By ,
Paducah, Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product. Easy to install. Looking forward to at least a 25% reduction in water bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

Extremely pleased w/ product

07/21/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a middle aged married woman, sharing home maintenance w/ my husband. I maintain the plumbing at our home. I first bought the fill valve and while watching the video to install came upon the dual flush converter and decided to also install this product. I was intimidated at first w/ the installation, but the videos helped; and once I started it was actually extremely easy (I did this a week after a joint replacement in one of my hands, so somewhat at a disadvantage). We both highly recommend these products and just purchased a second unit for the guest bath.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

Dual Flush

07/05/2010
By ,
Boston Area
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was excited to try this product because I think it is a good idea in principle. This product didn't seem to pass the test. It took a while to learn how long to hold the short flush button to get the proper amount of water, to long and you got the full flush, to short you barely got anything. My wife complained about the problem of using a small amount of TP and then trying to use the short flush. Not enough water would be available to flush the little paper that woman use to tidy up. I did bring the unit back, but I will be looking for a future replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

Seems well-designed and constructed

10/06/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smart design and seems constructed from good materials. Installation instructions also are pretty good but not five stars. I recommend going to the manufacturer's website (www.gomjsi.com) and reading up on the product and its dependencies, as there are some toilet tank physical dimensions you need to know. I'm not 100% satisfied with the actual operation of this product, but I think this is because of my toilet tank, not because of the product. I do also recommend the same company's fill valve replacement, the HydroCleen, for use with the flush converter.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
I have revised my opinion somewhat
Posted 12/08/2011
I still think it seems well-designed and constructed, but I never could get it to operate as intended and I removed it from service after about a year or so. The low-volume flush never worked successfully. I did contact the manufacturer and they did reply, but I decided it was just not worth my time to keep trying. It was not a good fit for my system. Were I to re-write a review I would probably give it only 3 stars, maybe even only 2, because of the lack of clear documentation about what specific toilet tank sizes are required for the thing to operate as intended.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

Excellent

03/29/2010
By ,
Myrtle Beach SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bathroom no.1 New toilet, $250, 1.6 g,very happy.
Bathroom no.2 new hydroright,(HYR 270) full flush,1.5 g, partial flush,3/4 gallon. It's a no brainier. It does what it's supposed to do. I was happy before with my new toilet but now I go out of my way to use bathroom no.2 It does use less water.
It was easy to install and adjust. It appears to be well made. Ive only had it a few days. It looks like there are spare parts. The future looks good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

Does the Job

08/06/2010
By ,
Randolph, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is simple to install and works very well. I have been using it for 2 weeks so I don't know about long term use. While it says no tools needed I did need a pair of pliers to remove the old flush handle. Also the instructions were missing how to adjust the blue valve. You have to look at the diagram to figure it out.
A great water saving idea in a design that is easy for most home owners to install. At a great price from Walmart too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dual-Flush Toilet Converter

No flush

03/01/2011
By ,
OKC, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When pushing the #1 button, the flush only lasts a couple of seconds and only swirls the water a bit. It does not flush. The #2 button works fine. I have to hold the #1 button for a miminum of 5 seconds to even get a resemblence of a flush. I am trying to modify it now. So far no luck. The only good thing is that I did not have to remove the tank from the bowl as another water saver required. However, maybe that was the better deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next