Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

Shark Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

Achieve a deep, sanitized, chemical-free clean with the Shark SC630 Portable Steam Pocket. By harnessing the power and sanitizing properties of steam, you'll see a clean like never before on all your above floor surfaces — from the oil and grease that accumulates around your stove to the scum and streaky build up that makes a mess of your tub and shower area. Don't stop at hard surfaces, the Shark Portable Pocket also steam cleans upholstery and apparel using the same method as a professional dry cleaner without the harsh chemicals. Imagine being able to clean your own fine fabrics and virtually every garment that isn't machine washable. The Shark Steam Pocket comes with steam duster pad, detail cleaning tool, large area cleaning tool, garment brush, 2 scrubbing brushes and a shower door squeegee. Great for homes with young children and ideal for cold and flu season, the Shark SC630 Portable Steam Pocket is an exceptional value!
Average Customer Rating:
3.822 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(169 Reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
40
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 star
26
Customer Recommendation75%125 out of 167reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 139 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
40
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 star
26
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

Great little steam cleaner for the price!

10/04/2011
By ,
Southbury, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Shark to clean the old grout on my kitchen floor. It was not sealed when installed. So it absorbed dirt and grime regardless of how many times I washed it. First I tried applying steam alone which didn't do the trick. When I attached the small brush and went over the floor, I could see a difference, but just slightly cleaner. *Then I used the brush and really scrubbed the grout with a back-and-forth movement in one section at a time. Only then did I see a big difference. Therefore, I used this method to scrub my entire kitchen floor (took several days) and got the results I wanted "a clean kitchen floor". Above I only rated Durability-Fair because the little scrub brush became very worn with pressure & intense heat! That must be why 2 brushes were included.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kennewick, WA
Grout cleaning
Posted 11/24/2013
We used it to clean grout. However, we used oxy clean. Sprinkled the powder on the grout and steamed and scrubbed with attachment which really had very little brush left; but did the job quickly and it was dirt grout. Do have to rinse well. Took a couple of hours.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

Not what I was expecting...

09/21/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product because like most other people I saw the infomercial and I wanted it to make my life easier. I have a baby on the way and I wanted everything clean and sanitized by the time she gets here. I started with the bath tub... and it did alright. But I like a sparkling tub so I ended up cleaning it again with my go to product Scrubbing Bubbles. Then I tried the walls, it was here that I was impressed. I cleaned the toughest area in our house the stairway and it wiped away clean (on a textured wall)! I've read other people having trouble b/c it does take two hands to use this one for the cleaning the other for holding the trigger... I found this a little tricky as well and I have yet to find a solution. I'm still trying all the nozzles and attachments but overall my first impression was ... Okay... Not bad but not as easy as they make it look on tv either. Is it worth the money... I'm not sure on that either but I do like that I'm not cleaning with all these products that leave residue, and smell up the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

3 strikes

07/06/2012
By ,
NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got my first one 2 ½ years ago and simply fell in love with it. It's not perfect, doesn't clean *everything* but for the most part, it made cleaning a breeze and I loved not having to use chemical cleaners.
Only problem is the steamer's longevity. My first one lasted about 2 years, then suddenly while I was using it, something popped loudly inside and it was done. I thought lasting 2 years was short, especially considering I didn't use it all the time...maybe 10-15 times. However, I missed not having it, decided to get another one earlier this year. This was the newer one, white instead of purple. I figured with the upgraded design, maybe they also improved the function of the steamer....NOPE. That steamer lasted 2 months. Fortunately I was able to take it back and exchange it for another one. This 3rd one just died out on me in one month.
When they work, I tell everyone about how wonderful the Shark Steamer is. But it's shown me in the end that it is really not such a great product to rely on. I've finally given up on the Shark Steamer and will never recommend them again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

Over rated/ Under performing

12/13/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this out of the box on a Thursday and it went back to the store on a Friday. Did NOT move the grease on the dishwasher door or the stove or the baseboards or .... Not worth your money.
The steam does not get hot enough to move the grease and grime. It comes with lots of gadgets most of which will never be used.
I was disappointed with the product and found it was not hot enough to be uncomfortable when I held my hand by the steam.
I was disappointed again with this steam product. Time to see if the heavy duty ones for $100 or so are any good as this was a waste of money. It took 3-4 times longer to clean a surface than spraying with a cleaner and wiping it with a cloth and moving onto something else. Use vinegar for an eco friendly cleaner and forget this product.
Only uses 1550 watts of power so it never gets hot enough to waste your time and money on!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

ABSOLUTELY THE BEST STEAMER

01/12/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd steamer in 12 years and is by far the best one yet. My old one still works. I just thought this seemed cooler, so I got it. The accesories, features, water tank, heat up time, etc., are such an improvement from the older models. Some of the reviews I've read where this product was rated low are strange. Of course a steamer is NOT going to change the color of old grout. Not even bleach will help that. You have to paint over it with grout paint. There are just some things it CAN'T clean. Anyway, I have been an avid cleaner (well a germaphobe) for years. This kind of product won't be for everyone, but if you like to get rid of germs without harsh chemicals or scrubbing this is definitely the product to do it with.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+120points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

I'm trying it on everything!

07/17/2011
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'd never tried a steamer before, so this is the first one I've owned. After looking at reviews for similar products at other sites online, I decided to try the Shark Portable Steam Pocket. So far, I've used it on bathroom wall tiles, bathtub, kitchen cabinets, kitchen trashcan, kitchen wall backsplash, soiled wallpaper behind range, range hood, hand print soil on wall corner in hallway, and old wood door with finish partly gone in bathroom. The steamer has performed great. Even if it did not remove everything, the steam loosened the soil enough that it could be easily scrapped off and then cleaned away with an additional application.
If I could improve anything about the steamer I would change the trigger so that it had a lock feature so I did not have to constantly pull the trigger in to get steam. I would also like additional sleeves because they get really dirty fast. Overall, I'm impressed with how well it works. It's great for cleaning hard surfaces.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

Really good product

12/27/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This steamer I was in doubt of for quite sometime. I just thought "too good to be true" then I got one.
It is just a little work horse. The window sills that get all dirty and icky cleaned up quite well with the little scrubbing brush. It did power away alot of the stuff and it was very little effort to wipe up the dirt.
Watch out for dirt being powered off! It will fly quite high and about!!
Definitely worth it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+155points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
I disagree!
Posted 11/05/2011
I have to respectfully disagree with this post. I returned mine after trying it on many facets of cleaning. Certainly not clean by MY standards. Besides it is heavy, hard to hold machine, press steam button, and hold attachment. Very disappointed.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

Shark Steam Pocket Cleaner

01/04/2010
By ,
Keysville, Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is my new best friend! It more than met my expectations. I have cleaned baseboards, my microwave, coffeepot, refrigerator, stove, tubs, grout, cabinets, toilets, blinds, steps and on and on! My house hase never been so clean and I love the fact that it sanitizes without any chemicals. This is an awsome product and well worth the cost. It really is as easy to clean with as it shows on the infomercial on TV!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

Ok, but has issues too

04/06/2011
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Hand steamer works well after it heats up for about 2 minutes and you keep the water level above half. For once it reaches the half full point you start loosing steam power. Also It does not handle cooking grease very well. have to use heavy stiff brush along with the steam to remove. but for most house hold cleaning it is ok.
I do recommend that you use the extension hose and tools for the hotest and best steam. My unit with out the hose for some reason does not produce hot steam.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

Doesn't do what it claims!!!!!!

01/15/2011
By ,
Melbourne, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't understand how this product has such high reviews at all. I purchased it a few months ago and was so eager to use it when I got home. I have seen all of the infomercials and I generally love the shark products ( I currently own the shark pocket steam mop and the shark multi vac), however this product did not do any of what it was said to do. I tried to use it on faux wood blinds and it just smeared the dust, it did nothing to the baseboards at all, it smeared and left streaks on the windows, and it didnt even touch the grease on the stove, I mean it didn't even begin to do anything with the grease I would leave it in one spot for a few minutes and then try to wipe some of the grease away and nothing would even come off on the cloth it was all still stuck to the door!! The grout did look cleaner if you left it in one spot for about 2 minutes and then used the cleaning brush attatchment to scrub the heck out of it ( but I could do that with bleach too and it would probably take less elbow grease and less time).
I went back over the next day or so and tried various things to try to justify keeping it but there really wasn't any advantage especially with how much money I spent on it. The only advantage I could possible see this product having is to sterilize countertops and things without chemicals, but there are much more affordable products out there that can do the same thing! In the end I returned it and was very glad I did so.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

works great

01/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was used to using a steam cleaner from "as seen on TV", but it did not last and I purchased this one. It is excellent for removing wrinkles from clothes. I have only tried cleaning with the scrub brush and straight steam and so far it is pretty good. The only problem I have is that it is heavy to carry, but that is because I am disabled so it probably wouldn't be a problem for most people, but I needed to mention it. I would recommend this as a garment steamer and cleaner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

useless dont buy

03/06/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
thought this would be the greatest product .. was i wrong! i can clean by hand faster and better.. all tools were either to big and made it ackward to clean or just weird shaped.. totally not what they show on the informercials let me save you the money and hassell dont buy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

Returned .....

11/14/2010
By ,
Brunswick Ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In my search to replace my Scunci handheld steamer, I broke down and purchaed this product. I feel the design is the biggest flaw, it only provides water to the heating element when the trigger is squeeled unlike others that heat the entire resevoir. The overall heat provided didn't match up to my previous steamer.
The assortment of accessories seem nice but I returned the product before I had a chance to use them all. I only use the main nozzle.
Shark products have always been good but this steamer didn't quite cut it for what I needed and expected. Who knows, maybe I bougt a fluke unit. Better safe than sorry, I'll go back to my old brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

Shark multi steam pocket

12/16/2009
By ,
Mass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have truly never seen such an amazing product like this. It really does such a wonderful job cleaning anything and everything in the house. My house has never looked so good and it is all because of this product. I do recommended this product to anyone as it is a wonderful cleaning tool to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

Has done the job so far

08/21/2012
By ,
Northwest Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had this gadget for about a month, so I'm guessing at its durability. So far it's performed as promised in the uses I've put it to. It has more accessories than a Barbie doll; I've only used half of them to date. (Don't throw away the packing box; you'll need it to keep all the pieces together.)
One thing I like is that you don't have to wait for it to cool down before refilling the tank. That was a real time waster with my old Scunci steamer. Something I don't like is that the stopper for the water tank is small and not tethered to the body of the steamer. I can imagine that getting easily mislaid.
My primary reason for buying another steamer now is that we're getting concerned about dust mites. There are many places (pillows, mattresses, sofa cushions and so on) that can't be laundered; we're hoping that the steamer will be useful in keeping those little monsters at bay without laying down a barrage of chemicals.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

steamer

08/25/2011
By ,
spicewood,texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not enough heat or pressure to clean anything..im considering returning this thing
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

buy a better cleaner

06/03/2014
By ,
Buffalo Ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this steam cleaner to clean my couches. Once I started using it, I noticed that it puts out a lot of steam, which it is supposed to do, but it does not clean, and it does not help with odors. Not satisfied with this product at all.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

Returning it

10/12/2011
By ,
Tampa, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm going to return mine because it didn't work at all. The steam was not hot. I could put my bare hand in front of the the steam and not get burned. For the people giving this a great rating maybe i just picked the one that didn't work but not going to give it a another try.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

not as expected

02/06/2011
By ,
pearland,tx.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had an old shark steam cleaner, which I loved, so when I orded this new one I had high expectations. I don't know if I have it hooked up correctly or what. but it has almost no power. The other one had a massive spray. The power button seems very flaccid and unresponsive.
I am going to ask my son to help me with it. I hope I am wrong about my accessment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shark Portable Steam Pocket, SC630

Not worth it!!

01/01/2011
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited when I ordered this but was so disappointed after I tried it for the first time!! I don't think Shark is a bad product but it definitely is gimmicky and does not do what they claim! My hubby tried getting a stain out of our futon with it--he went at it for 10 min. straight and it did nothing!! He also tried it on our couch and kitchen cabinets--nothing!! We ended up taking it back and getting a refund! I really thought it would have been a good product but I was wrong!! So, I would say save your money, don't waste it on this!! Buy something better quality and that actually works!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 141 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next