Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Black & Decker Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

The Black & Decker 12-cup programmable coffee maker is built to perform with a permanent Gold Tone Filter, 1 to 4-cup brew option, optimal brewing temperature and removable water filter. Your coffee is made easy with QuickTouch programming, Sneak-A-Cup feature, removable filter basket, Perfect Pour Duralife carafe, two-hour shut off, auto clean cycle and easy-view water window.
Average Customer Rating:
2.116 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
15
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation26%18 out of 69reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
15
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Great Coffeemaker!

12/20/2010
By ,
Lake of the Ozarks, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this coffee maker and would buy it again! This model gives a nice amount of amenities for a very reasonable price. The programming feature is very easy to set and I love waking up to the smell of coffee. I appreciate the automatic shut-off after 2 hours, less worry.
The 12-cup size of the carafe makes it nice with company and it's a NO DRIP!!!! I also like using the 1-4 cup feature, gives the same great cup of coffee as the 12 cup brew. The extra basket is nice for when I forget to buy paper filters and there's an extra filter inside the water reservoir that's a plus. I haven't checked to see what the replacement cost is yet but I doubt very much.
I am very pleased with this coffee maker.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Worst coffee pot I've ever owned.

03/06/2011
By ,
Mobile, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband got me this for my birthday and while I'm thankful for that, this is the worst purchase we've ever made.
I have to concur with other reviews, the problem is the carafe. We've had this since November 2010 and so far I've requested three replacements (at Black & Decker's expense), since it is under warranty for one full year. These replacements only last about 1 week before the problem starts again. In truth, I could easily request 1 replacement per week but that's too much trouble.
The last time I requested another carafe, I asked for an entirely different one since obviously the carafe for this model is defective by design but they still sent me the same type. So they don't really care.
In truth, the lesson learned here is that Black & Decker is not a brand to be trusted. From food processors to coffee grinders to even power tools, everything we have ever purchased by them has been poor in quality and durability. Nothing B&D we've ever owned has lasted more than 6 months. I'm finished with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Black and Dribble

11/14/2009
By ,
San Diego
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This coffeemaker has a plastic "No Spill" spout that spills. It doesn't matter if you pour fast, slow, or sideways- it spills. The coffee drips under the spout, down the bottom of the carafe and onto your counter. I've read other reviews where some people don't have this drip problem. They were lucky. Don't chance it. Go with another brand or model, without the plastic "No Spill" spout- that spills.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Florida
Black and Spill
Posted 08/16/2011
This is a great coffee machine. But the craft spills water and coffee all over the place it is a complete mess every time you add water or try to pour a cup of coffee you have to waste 2 to 3 paper towels. And it does not matter if you pour fast or slow or if you dont use the top or do it spills all over......I would never think that they would produce something that is such a mess to use. But if you are using this in a barn and want ants all over the place this might be what you want. I will be taking this back. If it had another craft it would be a great coffee machine, especially with it's 1-4 cup brewing.
0points
Customer Avatar
Magnolia
leaky pot
Posted 08/15/2011
I have had the same problem as others. The pot does not pour into your cup. It spills all over everything you have. I have tried pouring faster, slower, higher and lower and nothing works. It is the biggest mess maker I have ever had in my house. Highly disappointed that I have to hold a towel under the pot when I pour everytime. This is ridiculous!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Dribble Carafe makes a mess

11/07/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Everything about this coffee maker is great except for the carafe. The carafe is made of glass and the rim of the carafe is plastic. Whenever the carafe is warm (i.e. full of hot coffee) and I pour it, coffee goes under the plastic rim, runs down the side of the carafe and puddles on the counter/floor/table. It isn't the typical drips that come from puring coffee but a steady stream. I took it back and replaced it with another and had the same problem. This is a horrible design and should not be sold.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+13points
Review 5 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Do not reccomend

10/16/2011
By ,
Vanlear KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and I are regular coffee drinkers. We bought this coffee maker instead buying and press-and-pour one because it would be difficult to fill a thermos. Wish I would have went in the other direction. We have to keep a towel under the maker because when you lift the lid to add grounds and water, It spills the remaining water all down the back. But that's not all. When you go to pour a cup of coffee, be prepared. The pour spout on the pot spills coffee all down the pot. The first time I used it was at 5am, barefoot in my kitchen and poured the hot coffee all over the top of my foot, great way to start the day. I have tried every way to pour it without spilling and it just does not work. Every cup I pour now is done over the sink, and I have to clean the burner every day because of the dribble left over on the bottom of the pot. I would LOVE to return it and get a different one, but unfortunately I threw the box away when I opened it. I wont be making that mistake again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Poor quality

11/06/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Have not had this coffee maker yet 2 months and the hot plate just died. Will not brew at all....returning it today.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+12points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
utica, ny
Posted 08/05/2011
I personally never had a problem with this model. I had one previously that someone took from me that performed very well, so when it was taken I had to get another maker and because it worked so well for me before I purchased the same model.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Spills Everywhere

03/29/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just noticed the other reviews so I guess mine will say the same. It spills all over the place, no matter how you pour it. I'm taking mine back and will not buy a Black & Decker coffee maker. B & D stick to
tools.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Review 8 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

DO NOT BUY!

11/10/2009
By ,
Chambersburg,Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wished I had went online to Walmart.com before I bought this because I would have read that you can't program it! I got home and was so excited that when I got up in the morning I would have coffee waiting...needless to say I had the coffee 5 mins after I programed it because it starts brewing as your programing! Taking it back tomorrow and this time I will spend some time looking at reviews.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 9 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Really let down on this one

04/26/2011
By ,
MI, White Lake
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just bought my second one after mine just died 1 yr later... so I thought OK it leaks a lot when you pour it.... take a longer time to brew.... but for $29.00 bucks I can live with it.... just plugged in my new one and the power button is jammed ON so you can not turn it off ever. Unless u want to unplug it.... really disappointed. simple quality control should have caught this and eliminated me to have to go back to the store and but another ( different manufacturer) coffee pot! I will not be buying any of their products any time soon. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker
04/06/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this coffee pot about 4 months ago and the carafe leaks as you pour the water and pour coffee into cup. Contacted Black and Decker and requested them to send new carafe, got it and it still leaked everwhere. Today, I made my coffee, turned it on and nothing happened, no heat, no drip, only the clock was on. I do not recommend this coffee pot.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 11 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

NOT A GOOD BUY AT ALL

04/18/2011
By ,
HALLS, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
THE POT LEAKS WHEN YOU POUR NO MATTER WHAT. VERY VERY SLOW BREW. TAKES ABOUT 20 MIN TO BREW ONE POT! I BOUGHT THIS FOR THE OFFICE AND AM VERY DISAPPOINTED. I GUESS YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Mess Maker

03/02/2011
By ,
Tulare, Ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This Coffee maker is a Mess Maker. The design of the caraf spout is such that it pours everywhere but the cup.
Even if you pour real slow and careful it makes a mess.
When you remove the caraf it drips on the hot plate when its suppose to hold coffee in the filter basket.
Everyone who came over to use it has made a mess and were embarrassed. I had to explain its the coffee maker, not them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 13 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Heating plate died. Warranty a joke.

01/29/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After about 6 months the heating plate on this unit died. The item has a two year warranty. I had to cut the plug from the unit and send it to them. The cheapest way to send it to them cost me $1.95 in postage. They also required me to send them a check for $7 or $7.50...I can't remember exactly...I did all this about a week ago...Now I wait. The unit was a little more than $30 new. I have now spent an additional $9...Doh...What is also odd about this model...The pot (carafe) dribbles when you pour from it unless you're extremely careful.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Surprised me

02/20/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay, so I bought this while standing at Walmart looking at the Mr. Coffee model and wanted the resuable filter basket and water filter, so I opted for B&D. Then I got home and read the review and was mortified. Only when I opened up the box and cleaned everything initially and used it...it worked perfectly. No dripping, no spilling...sturdy enough. The coffee taste was incredible...and the timer was easy as pie. So, unless it breaks tomorrow, this product is wonderful
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Horrible

12/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would avoid this coffee maker. I have one & it drips excessively when you TRY to pour it in you cup. I looked for complaints online & found this is not an isolated problem. I'm throwing this one away.....perfectly good coffee maker if they knew how to design a canter that will pour correctly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 16 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker
01/08/2012
By ,
Southern California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this coffee maker 2 years ago. Within 11 months the heating element died and stopped brewing. Manufacturer sent me a new one. Have had this one for less than a year and the heating element died on this one. Will never buy a Black & Decker coffee maker again!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Works great for me !!

10/10/2011
By ,
Mansfield, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this yesterday and everything works just fine. I am pleased with it. I read other viewers comments on what went wrong with theirs but I can program it and the carafe works just fine for me. I think it's a great value. Coffee was hot and I am very pleased
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

don't buy it! it is junk!

07/09/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this unit 4 months ago liked the way it looked and the 1-4 cup feature but the 1-4 cup button does not really do what I thought it would. if you fill the water resevoir up all the way to 12 cups even if you push the 1-4 cup brew button it will brew all 12 cups, and now th whole coffe maker has died the power light comes on but it will not perculate and the hot plate won't work, I called and e-mailed their warranty department and it took them 3 days to respond and they said they will send me a replacement unit but, I have to cut the cord and send it to them with $7.50 for shipping for the replacement. I AM NOT PAYING $7.50 FOR THEM TO SHIP ME ANOTHER ONE AND THEN HAVE TO DO IT AGAIN AFTER 4 MONTHS! IT AIN'T MY FAULT THEIR PRODUCT STOPPED WORKING WHY SHOULD I HAVE TO PAY SHIPPING? POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!! I could understand if we used it all day everyday, but we only make 1 pot of coffe a day monday thru friday and occassionally on weekends. I am fixing to go buy another coffe maker by another company. this coffe maker replaced a black and decker spacesaver under cabinet model wich had lasted 5 yrs. so I thought this balck and decker product would be a good one too, boy was I wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

HORRIBLE MESS!!!

03/25/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unless you like cleaning, don't purchase this. No matter how fast or slow you pour the coffee, half of it will end up on the counter or in the floor. It will be going back to the store today.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 20 for Black & Decker 12-Cup Coffee Maker

Would not buy again

01/01/2011
By ,
Drums, Pa.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No matter how many different ways I've tried, I cannot pour coffee without it spilling on the counter!
I bought it for the price but, you get what you pay for!Cheap!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next