Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magellan Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magellan Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

Navigate in style with the Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS. It features a bright 4.3" touchscreen, spoken street names and directional guidance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.43 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
24
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation91%85 out of 93reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
24
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

It's Amazing and User Friendly!

12/12/2009
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit has saved me time, gas, frustration; and it has given me confidence I can go anywhere! Touch screen: Enter your home address or zipcode to help the amazing unit know what your state, etc. are and you will be in business. Immediate re-routing without saying it is re-routing - just gives you the newest directions. It SAYS the street names that it wants you to turn on - signals with a bell sound to verify at turn - reminds you to stay on the highway you are on when major intersections are crossed that you need to avoid. It announces when you have arrived and gives the street name and number. So many extras available - like an I-Pod with its menu for restaurants, gas, I could go on. You won't be disappointed! Night backlight is incredible! You can push "Where am I?" and it gives location, etc. You can even zoom in or out of the screen! I don't want to EVER be without mine! This is a lifesaver!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 2 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

Excellent job

12/09/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had our Magellan 4.3 RoadMate 1420 GPS for almost two years and can't say enough about it. The RoadMate always takes us where we need to go, and we never have a problem with charging. We simply keep the RoadMate in our car, securely in the console after use. Why take it out? It is solely for roadtrips. We highly recommend this product. In fact, we are giving some as gifts this holiday season.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+99points
Review 3 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

good product for the price

12/24/2009
By ,
belleville,nj
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice size screen, easy to program, but the only down fall is that if you are getting to an intersection, and you are not too sure which way to turn, it won't tell you right at the point "make a left or a right" or whatever the case may be. Overall nice for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Review 4 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

Good for the money

01/15/2010
By ,
NW Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Because of the low price, I wasn't expecting anything special. But this unit far exceeds my expectations. It's very easy to use and so far has gotten me where I needed to be. My brother has a Garmin that seems to show more detail, including even the smallest dirt roads, but it costed him 3x as much. He and I use our units in the same car on the same trip with nearly identical directions. But when asking for the shortest route it does not always give the shortest route. For example, we started a trip and the GPSs told us 52 miles. We knew the area and took our own route (paved highways) are shortened the trip by 12 miles. Perhap a software update has better maps. The unit is easy to use and read. Over all, well worth the money. Beats paper maps any day! And Walmart.com always has the best prices, shipping deals and return policy (although I've only had to return one item in the years I've been a Walmart.com customer). Because of that they will always be the first place I search when shopping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

best thing i ever owned

12/12/2009
By ,
seymour indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this thing is awsome as soon as i pull it out of the box and turn it on it knows exactally where im standing so easy to put in information very nice looking
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

Buy a Tom Tom!

12/07/2009
By ,
Austin, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am going to be taking this unit back as soon as I am able to. I got it in the mail and there is no way to charge this unit other than plugging it into your car. Unless you have the liberty of leaving a GPS in your car safely at night this isn't the unit for you. Wish it would have been clear on the product description as to what you get. In addition, Tom Tom is so much better. You can download maps directly from the internet and you can plug your unit into the computer to charge. Don't waste your time with this unit. Sorry, but it's true!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+24points
Review 7 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

Nice product

01/08/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter, and not having owned one before, I was apprehensive. It has proven to be a valuable product, worth the great price. It provides spoken turn by turn directions, displays speed and direction, allows route choice by time or distance and has 2d and 3d views. Sites can be saved and easily recalled for use. There are many more neat options. I would easily recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 8 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS
01/16/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this product. I first bought a Garmin Nuvi that did not give the spoken street name. I took it back and got this one. It was very important to me to have the spoken street name as opposed to "Turn Right" only.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 9 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

Needs improvement

12/23/2009
By ,
Miramar, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
doesn't have useful information like a nuvi I own .
Needs improvement it was telling me to turn left make a u-turn in middle of intersection to go back to right when in could have shown right turn on the first place - can't be doing that when driven an 18 wheeler.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 10 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

Just fine

12/27/2009
By ,
philadelphia, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My previous GPS, a Mio c220, offered more features: 3D view, multiple voice choices, one touch muting, plus others. It suffered from typical GPS faults: slow satellite acquisition, occasional map errors and non-optimal routes; anomalies I expect of all brands (yes - even Garmin).
But I upgraded to this Magellan for two reasons: my aging eyes need the larger screen, 4.3" vs 3.5", and the text-to-speech is handy. Canadian maps would have been nice, but I assume I would get those in more expensive models (I forgot to check).
Likewise, I did not need Bluetooth, music or video - if you want those, check out the higher end models.
This feels like a Garmin, solid, but not a lot for the money. That's ok, if it lasts. My Mio died after a year, while this unit has only been in service for a week. I have my fingers crossed.
In Sum: few frills, but it does what I need, for a $100, on sale.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

not ready for primetime

01/19/2010
By ,
Waukesha, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This gps should not have been released to the public. This is because it is provided with an old map (over 2 years old), and after contacting Magellan Customer Service, I was told that they have not been given a date by their map supplier (NAVTEQ). This means that each buyer of this product must live with an OLD ELECTRONIC MAP, and pay again for a map update. I returned my unit. What a joke and waste of the consumer's time. Clearly a "don't buy".
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 12 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

Overall, Good Product

12/28/2009
By ,
tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First GPS I've ever owned... Overall this GPS in great if you just want one with the basic package to get you from point a to b. Very, very easy to use. Didn't need to read owners manual, pretty self explanatory. Love how it tells you your turns ahead or time. Gets signal VERY quick and faster that the TomTom I have seen. If you are just wanting a basic unit with all the necessities to get you going, this is the one for you!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 13 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

Great Product

01/18/2010
By ,
Acworth, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used a cell phone carrier's GPS system for a couple of years now, but was very tired of paying those monthly fees + all the taxes they apply. I decided to research handheld GPS systems. I decided to order the Magellan 1420 after spending a lot of time in comparison and reviews. It is awesome! It offers more than my phone service GPS and it's very easy to use. Great buy for the money spent!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 14 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

Magellan RoadMate 1420

01/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great. I have been on several long trips already to test it and it has taken me directly to my destanation. When you call the Magellan 800 number tech support staff is very helpful and always seem to go the extra mile to help you. The downloads and updates are easy to put in your Magellan Road Mate 1420. I would defintely recomand this product to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 15 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

Outstanding traveling Aid

01/08/2010
By ,
Victorville, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Megellan 1420 is the second portable GPS we have owned. It has proven to be the best ever. It has many features only found in more expensive GPS's. We are so happy with the Megellan we have purchased an additional one as a gift for a family member. It is great finding routes in the local area as well as when traveling in other states.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 16 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

So-so!

12/22/2009
By ,
Palm Springs, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had an older GPS (1996) which had built-in addresses and was very simple to operate. This has a lovely screen, great color and a nice voice. But it is no improvement on the old black and white version and far more complicated to run. The price was excellent, but I was disappointed by its complexity. Sometimes less really is more!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 17 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

Awesome Buy

01/05/2010
By ,
LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Originally bought the Tom Tom SE 125 and returned it. I think it was defective because it was very slow visually and map move is sluggish frames. We exchanged it for this one and it works great. Not at all sluggish and shows turn by turn on the map. Very great price for it and the features are wonderful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

Crazy GPS

01/05/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This Gps is absolutely crazy. I used it twice and it keeps on giving me wrong directions. I am returning it I soon as I have a chance
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 19 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

Gets you there safely

01/11/2010
By ,
Pebble Springs, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product worked right out of the box (well, after charging). I've never used a GPS before and it was easy. Its method of navigating and directing the driver really adds safety in congested areas -- alerts three times for turns, intersections, etc. Volume control (and mute) allows you to reduce the noise if not needed. Its points of interest are excellent. I looked up a restaurant by name in a city where I was visiting and it took me there in time for the appointment. No hassle. I'd buy this again in a heartbeat. BTW there is no AC charger included.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Magellan 4.3" RoadMate 1420 GPS

This thing is Awesome!!

12/20/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got ours just a few months ago, and after using it, I SOOOO wished we had had this thing years ago for all of our many outings! I love my GPS! It is so helpful in finding your way around. If you're not good with directions, like I am, it's a lifesaver! We are moving to another city in a few months, and we used it to look around and search for somewhere to live. It was awesome, it took us right to the locations. I highly recommend this GPS device! You'll love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 78 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next