Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390

Monitor your workout progress in a track-style display with the Golds Gym Whirlwind 390 equipped with RaceTrack. The Golds Gym Exercise Equipment also comes with other interesting features such as the Dual-Action Upper-Body Arms, a PowerPulse Heart Rate Monitor, LCD Window with Priority Display and Air Resistance. The Dual-Action Upper-Body Arms help you work your upper and lower body simultaneously to raise your heart rate and tone your major muscle groups. The LCD screen with Priority Display lets you track your speed, distance, calories burnt, and time, so that you can know your present exercise state. It also provides scope for self-betterment. The oversized seat is comfortable and adjustable for your convenience. With its many features, the Golds Gym workout equipment is sure to make an impact on your physical health.
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation79%19 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390

sturdy but heavy

12/15/2012
By ,
Boston, MA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great exercise bike for the money. Here are my pros and cons for this exercise bike.
pros:
easy to assemble,
comfortable height adjustable seat,
sturdy assembly,
able to disconnect arm exercise bar from peddle to be able to peddle without arm bars getting in the way,
large display readouts for calories, time, heart rate, distance traveled,
readout display come on automatically at start of workout,
cons:
heavy,
not easy to move around (previous owned bike had wheels at front to roll around, this lack wheels),
arm exercise bars are a little close together for a wide short person to use comfortably,
no vent for direct blowing/cooling,
calories burned readout is inaccurate,
readout display require 4 D cell battery,
display readout is not back light lit,
heart rate readout is very hard to figure out,
Even with all the cons, the bike gives a very good workout for the price I payed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390

Worth Every Penny!

07/21/2011
By ,
San Diego, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, the instruction manual that came with the bike was horrible. If you are not "handy" or have not assembled exercise equipment or furniture before, you WILL have a difficult time putting this thing together. Fair warning.
However, once this bike is assembled you will not be disappointed. I love this bike! The resistance is HIGH, so don't worry that you won't get a good workout. I broke my previous bike, which I also purchased from Wal-mart for about half the price a year ago. Once I started using this bike, I realized that the previous bike was simply not a tough enough workout even though it had an adjustable resistance knob. I had to "work up" to this one to be able to do my usual hour long work outs.
I don't feel any cooling effect from the fan, so don't expect this thing to keep you cool while you work out. I set up a fan right next to me for that purpose. Also, the seat is slightly uncomfortable and takes a little getting used to, though I find that true of all bike seats. Your bum just has a period of adjustment when you first start working out. Once your bum gets used to the seat (any seat) its not so bad. Also, the seat height is adjustable and I think that making sure it is at the proper height helps to minimize bum pain.
My arms are looking great because this is a TOTAL body work out. Please do yourself a favor and buy this bike!
Oh, by the way... regarding the heart rate monitor. In order to get it to read your heart rate, do not grab the handles as hard as you can and squeeze them assuming that is the only way it will be able to "feel your pulse". It is not actually feeling for a pulse like the nurse at your doctor's office. It took me a while to figure this out, so consider this my good deed for the day. To get your heart rate reading, LIGHTLY place your thumbs (or your index fingers) on the metal heart rate monitor. (There needs to be light in the room as it uses infrared waves or some other hocus pocus to see "through" your finger!) Wait patiently for about 20-30 seconds. Be patient. It seems to be fairly accurate, although it changes the longer you wait. For example, it might flash 77 first, which is clearly wrong (at least in my case!). If you wait, it will post another reading that more accurately reflects an exercising heart rate. It is pretty close to what I count myself when I stop to take my pulse from my neck or wrist.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390

good deal, good bike

08/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike is superior to the cheaper bikes I have tried. It IS a bit of a task to assemble, but anyone familiar with a screwdriver should be able to get it together. I'm deducting a star for the fact the bike I received had a stripped bolt which I had wait to obtain from the manufacturer directly.
It provides excellent resistance and a strong cardio workout. If "whooshing" sounds are annoying to you, you might call this noisy, but I'm exercising not reading at a library so the sound is acceptable. It has a feel like cross-country skiing. Overall, well worth the purchase price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390

Seat was supposed to be comfortable.....

01/24/2011
By ,
Mangham, LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this bike because it was a good price and the seat was supposed to be extra comfortable. When I got the bike about a month ago I was only riding a few minutes at a time. The seat was uncomfortable on my tailbone then but I could tolerate it. Two days ago I decided to stay on for an hour. Boy was this a mistake!!! I could hardly sit yesterday! My tailbone is killing me! When you sit on that seat all of your weight is focused on the tailbone and this is not good. Hoping I can find a seat cover that will help!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390

exercise with confidence

12/29/2010
By ,
NY NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After a slightly tedious assmenbly I found this product to be built tough to last. I had to reassemble the electronics box to the frame a few times to the bar as the speed did not initially register.It seems fine now and I am satisfied with this product. Time will tell though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390

Gives good cardio exercise.

07/06/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gives a good workout, but a little noisey. Putting it together was easy, but some bolts holes didn't line up very well. Foot pedals plastic, probably won't last, cheap. Air from fan not directed toward rider in anyway so doesn't help cool you down. Pulse monitor jumps around, makes you wonder what correct pulse reading is.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390

helpful if it works.

05/04/2011
By ,
ill
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this product is very noise, had problems putting it together . wrong instruction manual. no serial number on machine thank goodness still had the box ,lots of pieces missing. customer services was really nice received missing parts in about 3 days. my advice if u can go to the store and check it out before u buy
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NC
POOR Assembly Instructions/Missing Hardware
Posted 09/26/2011
Concur with the POOR assembly instructions and the lack of hardware to assemble it. I could not get past step 1 due to not having the correct hardware. I called Gold's and found out that the model number on the User's Manual was wrong. The number on the bike was correct. I explained the situation and about a week later I received a new hardware package. I got to step 10 and again did not have the correct hardware to assemble the handle bars to the shaft. I called again and in about another week I received a longer shaft but only partial hardware to secure only one side. I went to the local Gold's Gym to see if they had an assembled bike I could check for correct assembly--they had none. I decided to forget Gold's and came up with my own solution on how to make it work. So, if you want to go thru this hassle then buy one of their bikes. because once it is assembled it works fine.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390

Not happy with transaction

01/13/2011
By ,
Bella Vista, Ar.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We ordered & received a Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390 exercise bike through Walmart.com. The bike was received with instructions including the user's manual for a Pro-Form XP Whirlwind 280, which appears to be the same as the Gold's Gym 390. However, the information in the package thanked us for buying from Sears, and the warranty information is for a Sears exercise bike. I don't understand why the material in the package is all from Sears, not Walmart.
The tools included were not heavy duty enough for assembly of the bike. Fortunately I had my own tools to complete the job.
The fan part of the bike that came allready assembled makes a rather loud clicking noise when you use the bike.
If I had purchased this product at a store instead of on-line, I would have returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390

Golds Gym Bike

01/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product is an exercise bike that is sturdy and effective. It was relatively easy to assemble with most of the intricate parts pre-assembled at the factory.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390

A good cardio workout

02/11/2011
By ,
Santee, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the way that I can work my upper body as well as having a low-impact workout for my lower body. The fan keeps me cool, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390
01/06/2011
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product i use it every day and enjoy it very much
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390

Solid, well-made exercise bike.

03/03/2013
By ,
Worcester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this bike for two full months. There have been no problems. I ride every day with an occasional day off. I ride for 30 minutes and travel 4.50 miles. I have ridden for over 29 hours and the bike has performed well. I would recommend checking the nuts and bolts occasionally because they will loosen up a bit. Other than that , I'm very happy with the bike and my wife has stared to use it also. I might question the calories burned feature because it seems off a bit (too low). I would buy this bike again and that's the best review that I can offer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390

Gold's Gym stationary bicycle

02/11/2011
By ,
Elysburg PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fairly easy to put together, still adjusting to handlebars being further away from each other than my last exercise bicycle, unit is very sturdy, very strong resemblence to my old bike purchased from Sears (private label from same manufacturer?), just put it together yesterday and it appears to be a very good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390

good value for the money

01/02/2011
By ,
Jesup, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very well built machine. When received the console was broken, probably in shipping. Called customer service and item was promptly replaced. Its a little loud when in use, however overall I am very pleased. Easy assembly with good instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390

Very Good Exercise Bike

02/12/2013
By ,
Jackson, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was surprise on how this bike works. Easy to assemble and well built with a comfortable wide seat. The shipment was 3 days ahead of schedule. It gives you a great work out. I would recommend this
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390

Bad assembly

01/07/2013
By ,
Versailles, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After calling Gold Gym we determined that the bike had been assembled incorrectly at the factory. They will be send me a replacement part and I hope i can reassemble it correctly.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 17 for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390
10/26/2012
By ,
kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
iy's easy to assemble and the heart feature is a plus .
If you do not have a helper available you can assemble yourself,
all the tools you need come with the bike,except a phillips screwdriver.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390
05/30/2012
By ,
tamaqua pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I assembled products like this before and had little trouble putting it together only the handle bars gave me a problem at first.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Gold's Gym Whirlwind 390
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5