Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kodak Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kodak Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

It's small enough to fit in your pocket, but why keep it there? Whether you're out on the town or just hanging out, the Kodak Zi8 captures every experience in stunning 1080p HD video. Stay in focus while you're on the move with integrated image stabilization. Then kick back and watch all the action on your HDTV or share your video on Facebook or YouTube with a flick of the built-in USB arm. The Zi8 has all you need to define yourself in high definition. Note: Memory card not included. Purchase of a memory card is highly recommended.
Average Customer Rating:
4.247 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(279 Reviews) 268
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
155
4 stars
79
3 stars
19
2 stars
11
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation87%242 out of 279reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
155
4 stars
79
3 stars
19
2 stars
11
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

Great for the money

12/22/2010
By ,
Independence, Mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This video camera is a great value. Takes great video and is small enough to take anywhere. The only problem I have with it is the sound. It does have a microphone plug to add another microphone so that will probably be the first thing I add to it. The software for it is also great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 2 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

Great HD for the Price

09/09/2010
By ,
Canton, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After doing some extensive research, I decided to purchase this camera as it runs rings around the Flip. Controls are simple enough to just pick up the camera and go. That is, if you already have a memory card. You really can't beat $140 for an HD cam but, expect to shell out at least an extra $20 to $80 dollars for a good sized memory card. The on board memory is so tiny that you can only shoot about 5 secs of video and maybe take 5 still shots. You can record about 10 hours of footage with a 32 gb card depending on what setting you use. I bought a Sandisk 16gb for about $20 on Ebay and I can record about 2 hrs in 1080p. Only other draw back is the battery life. Depending on what mode you shoot in...1080p, 720 60/fps, 720 30/fps or WVGA. 1080p will get you about 50 minutes of battery life. 720p will get you about 1 1/2 hrs and WVGA will get you appox 90 mins. You can purchase generic batteries online for about $4-$5. The camera does come with a wall charger and a battery can be fully charged in about 20 minutes. Only other purchase you might consider is a stereo mic as the camera does come with an external mic jack and the on board mono mic is not really adequate. I bought a Sony stereo mic and it makes all the difference!
Pros: Great HD clarity, ease of use at a great price!
Cons: Having to add accessories right away to be able to even use the camera.
Bottom line: If you're looking for something affordable, easy to use, shoots great HD picture and can fit in your pocket...this IS your camera!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+46points
Review 3 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

Great pocket Video Camera

06/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been very happy with this Video Camera. Its nice and small so I can put it in my pocket and go. It super easy to off load the video's and upload them to YouTube. The software that comes with it is worthless and I don't even use it. **Also you have to buy a memory card for it so factor that into the cost of the camera.**
The quality is really good. I tend to shoot in 720p @ 60 fps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Review 4 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

I'm a fan of this product

08/03/2010
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think the Kodak Zi8 is a great camera - easy to use, affordable, and versatile. You HAVE to buy a memory card, but you can get a 4GB SD card for less than $20. The screen size on this camera is awesome. You can just pop out the USB and download the videos. You can even play them on your TV. It charges quickly. It's a really fun little camera. If you want to make serious videos, you really need an external mic ... but at least this camera has an external mic jack. Totally cool. If you don't want to use an external mic, you just have to be close to the camera and talk loudly. I would definitely recommend this camera b/c of it's ease of use, price, and quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 5 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

Very nic e little camcorder.

03/05/2010
By ,
Statesboro, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the camcorder fro a little over 2 weeks and have published many videos on you tube. I like the fact that it will fit in my pocket and I dont have a big camcorder to tote around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 6 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

Great little camera

06/25/2010
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This HD camera is pretty good. The video quality is excellent; just what you'd expect HD video to look like. I also have a Flip video, not HD, but seems as if close up video is better on the Flip. You have to stand a lot further back from your subject to get the same close up video with the Kodak. I don't know why this is, but other than that, this camera is great. I also like the expandable memory the Flip does not have. I have a 9 month old baby girl and use it quite a bit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

zi8 video camera

01/06/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
here is my review on the zi8
i got mine at amazon.com on sale and very impressed so far
zooms weak but its a pocket camcorder so whatever
softwares pc only so bummer cause i use mac
few issues but if you ignore them its a nice camera and if you ignore the pc only software its a all around rockstar camera
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 8 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

Kodak Zi8

05/31/2010
By ,
Arlington, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The hd camcorder is great I like the size not bulky or awkward feeling, it takes great pictures, also the hd recordings are well above what I expected. Ok... the zoom works great, however, the video picture isn't so great, very good but not hd quality. The image stabilization is very good also, not great, but hey. The internal memory could have been more than what it is, whatever that is. I recorded 9 secs @ 720p and it was full. That's about 13+MB not GB.The manual tells you nothing, and the online manual is the same. For the money it is a great little hd camcoder. I would definitely recommend this hd camcorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

Not a reliable camera

04/07/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This camera will not turn on when you want it to. Even when you try to take pictures/videos, it will freeze on you. I've tried switching batteries a few times and it still won't work. Picture quality is blurry sometimes. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Just don't waste your time or money on this camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
-11points
Review 10 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

good but be careful

12/01/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had issues with sd card holder, it almost broke a sd card I put in it .. so I would recommend you only put in the card once & only once. Also, the only really good video can be gotten on only 1 setting for the vid,,720dpi/ 60 FPS setting - others were not good w/my experience. But at that setting it worked well - not as good as my 3 ccd dv tape camcorder but very decent. Puchased for kid relative - should be great for them
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

great video camera

07/16/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
getting ready for our 1st grandson so we bought this for our son and daughter in law. Gave it to them now so they will know how to use it when baby gets here in 1 month...they love it and very easy to use. Just plug in to upload to PC. Very happy with this camera...of course we bought them a memory card to go with you will for sure need one....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

Great Little Camera

12/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this camera to take short video clips at my sons sporting events. Once we started playing with the settings and purchased an 8gb card we now use this camera and a monopod and record the complete game. We are more than pleased with the quality of the video and sound. I would recommend that you purchase extra battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

Nice little camera

12/12/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for my first small not that expensive HD camera, and I chose this over the flip U260 that was on sale. This has the 60 fps option on video, tale photos and can accept SDHC. Excellent performance on good light conditions. Yes, a little more money than U260, but big difference in between 60fps flip.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

Happy with it.

12/21/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pros: clear video especially @1080/30fps.
cons: the battery wear out fast actual time for continous recording @ 1080p/30fps is 1hr 3min and 26 sec. you must have a back up battery available at least and a charger.
this is my first product review @walmart.
i will say it again, im happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 15 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

Nothing fancy

06/03/2010
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for an easy to use camera capable of Video and Stills. For the price, we were pleasently surprised. Stills look really good and I am learning how to do Video. It won't make you a professional but it will record you vacation memories.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera
12/15/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this as a surprise gift for my daughter and son-in-law. They charged the battery and off they went and they haven't been disappointed since. Now they/we have video and pictures of the kids and family to share.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

Teens Love It!!

06/29/2010
By ,
Carlos, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for my son's 17th birthday. Him and his friends are always videoing something. It is extremely user friendly. Charged the battery and needed minimal time reading the instruction manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

Will record many pleasant memories!

12/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The video pocket camera is a gift. It's a good value in comparison with other less known brands.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera
12/21/2010
By ,
Southaven, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The video camera only works if it plugged in to the charger.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Review 20 for Kodak Zi8 Black Pocket Video Camera

Very easy to use

07/19/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the simplicity and great picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next