Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy (9-Disc) (Blu-ray) (BD-Live) (Widescreen)

The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy (9-Disc) (Blu-ray) (BD-Live) (Widescreen)

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation73%11 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy (9-Disc) (Blu-ray) (BD-Live) (Widescreen)

awesome movies but

02/13/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i love the lord of the rings movies and when i heard about them coming to blu-ray. i was soooo excited!! but then i heard that they were releasing the theatrical versions first and have to wait til 2012 for the extended versions. so any lotr fan out there save your money and wait till the extended versions come out
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy (9-Disc) (Blu-ray) (BD-Live) (Widescreen)

Theatrical Release is well worth owning!

04/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are certain films that we all should be very excited to see on Blu-ray. "The Wizard of Oz", "Citizen Kane", "Metropolis", "Casablanca", and "Star Wars" come to mind just to name a few. The Lord of the Rings trilogy is definitely on that list. Many are complaining because this release only features the theatrical editions, as though the theatrical editions are poor films. True, I would love to have the extended editions on blu, and we will eventually. However, that is a far cry from claiming that no one should purchase these. Remember that this series won 17 academy awards - all for the theatrical versions! If you are a film fan, a Tolkien fan, or a Blu-ray fan, you should buy this set of films.
Let's stop all the hating on the theatrical cuts.
Peace.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy (9-Disc) (Blu-ray) (BD-Live) (Widescreen)

Finally - LOTR on Blu-Ray

04/18/2010
By ,
Mt. Pleasant, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I bought this set a week ago, and as total movie geeks, we were extremely impressed. As expected, picture quality was amazing. We saw so many details we missed in standard-definition viewings.
As has been stated in other reviews, yes - these are the theatrical versions. But we're both huge fans of the series and of Blu-ray, so we couldn't pass up the opportunity to visit Middle-Earth in high-defintion. Also, the special features are very lacking, especially considering they're not in HD.
Overall, this set is worth every penny. If you would rather wait for the extended versions, then wait. But if you're like us and want to experience the journey to Mt. Doom in high-def, I definitely recommend buying the theatrical version of Lord of the Rings on Blu-Ray.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy (9-Disc) (Blu-ray) (BD-Live) (Widescreen)

A great addition to my collection...

05/09/2010
By ,
Highland, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I knew these blu's were the theatrical editions when I bought them, but no one forced me to get them and I will buy the extended editions when they come out on blu-ray. The movies themselves are great. To me the picture quality should blow you away on a blu-ray, but these don't really do that. All three discs are definite upgrades from the dvd's. The PQ on FOTR isn't quite as good as TTT or ROTK. The audio is spectacular. Great home theater experience. I don't regret buying these blu's at all and don't think of it as double dipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy (9-Disc) (Blu-ray) (BD-Live) (Widescreen)

Wait for extended

04/02/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LotR fans wait for the extended editions on Blu-ray and just rent these...they aren't worth paying for as theatrical only versions
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy (9-Disc) (Blu-ray) (BD-Live) (Widescreen)

Outstanding visuals, light on extras

05/17/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Lord of the Rings' breathtaking locations lend themselves to the BluRay experience. If you liked the movies, this is well worth the price. The missing star in my rating stems from the meager extras. While there are a few extras, there could have been much more. So... buy it for the BluRay version of the movie, but don't expect much else.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy (9-Disc) (Blu-ray) (BD-Live) (Widescreen)

As Expected

05/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOTR BD has a clear picture and really brings out some of the background scenery that is so prevalent in the saga.
The BD version does not include the extended scenes like the LOTR Extended Editions. I own these as well and can say you aren't missing much.
Overall a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy (9-Disc) (Blu-ray) (BD-Live) (Widescreen)

!!!! THEATRICAL VERSIONS !!!!

08/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LISTEN UP PEOPLE THEASE ARE THE THEATRICAL VERSIONS IN BLUE RAY, ALL THREE MOVIES PLUS THE DIGITAL COPIES ARE IN THAIR !!!!!! THEATRICAL VERSION !!!!!!! THEASE ARE GOLDEN GEMS, ANEY ONE WHO LOVES THEASE MOVIES SHOULD BUY THEASE, WHILE YOU STILL CAN...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy (9-Disc) (Blu-ray) (BD-Live) (Widescreen)

Not what i expected

04/20/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is just the regular and not the extended verision i expected. there will be another release of this movie later or new year.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy (9-Disc) (Blu-ray) (BD-Live) (Widescreen)

cant go wrong

06/14/2010
By ,
east stroudsburg, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blue ray makes everything that much better......plus if your like me and cant wait for the extended version then buy this.....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy (9-Disc) (Blu-ray) (BD-Live) (Widescreen)

Awesome!

05/02/2010
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a birthday present and was very happily received. Can't go wrong with the blue ray quality...great movie to boot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy (9-Disc) (Blu-ray) (BD-Live) (Widescreen)

Brilliant Picture

08/16/2010
By ,
Columbus,OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great value with brilliant picture and sound. A must have for LOTR fans!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy (9-Disc) (Blu-ray) (BD-Live) (Widescreen)
05/02/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very beautiful on blue-ray
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy (9-Disc) (Blu-ray) (BD-Live) (Widescreen)
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5