Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Apple Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Apple Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

With 160GB of storage, iPod classic can hold up to 40,000 songs, 200 hours of video or 25,000 photos. And it does it all in style — available in quintessential silver or striking black.
Average Customer Rating:
4.785 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(465 Reviews) 331
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
401
4 stars
46
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation97%449 out of 463reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
65 Questions | 298 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
401
4 stars
46
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

EPIC!

02/05/2011
By ,
Catawissa, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for christmas, and i love it! I have 1,500 songs, 100 pics and 10 videos and it didnt even put a dent in the storage capacity!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Always a Catch

11/28/2009
By ,
CSA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I replaced on old Creative Zen Xtra with this iPod, only because Creative no longer offers support for their product and a Microsoft firmware upgrade turned it into a paperweight. While it worked it was perfect for my needs. The iPod Classic is a decent replacement, though there's a learning curve for the control wheel - it's a slicker gadget than it needs to be - but the functions are simple. The one thing I absolutely HATE is that Apple iTunes software attaches itself to your computer's individual serial number and you can't add music or alter playlists on any other machine. If your computer dies your iPod can no longer be updated with new music.
I considered buying one as a gift for my daughter, but I wanted to load some music on it first. If I do that on my home computer, she won't be able to use her laptop to add more music at school because iTunes wont recognize her computer as authorized to work with that iPod. How ridiculously over-proprietary.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/27/2013
Manually managing iPod classic: When you connect iPod classic, you can drag songs and playlists individually to iPod classic, and delete songs and playlists individually from iPod classic. Using this option, you can add songs from more than one computer without erasing songs from iPod classic.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Ipod Classic 160 gb
Posted 11/07/2013
Is A Ipod Classic 160 gb 7th generation compatible with windows 8?
+1point
Customer Avatar
Houston, TX
A catch to the catch
Posted 08/15/2011
An iOS device can be synced with only one iTunes library. If you lose your computer's hard drive, you can restore the iTunes library from a backup and continue to work with the same iTunes library. Since I have been using iTunes, I have rebuilt my machine once and I've purchased a new machine once. I've never had to start over again.
That said, there is third-party software to do anything and everything, including reconstructing an iTunes library from an iOS device. Apple's goal was to make a device that was unfriendly to piracy.
+8points
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/13/2011
Actually she could because Itunes has it set up where you can authorize your ipod for up to five computers or laptops. I had one that I accidently washed but before I accidently destroyed mine I was able to use it on my husbands computer, my brothers computer, my parents laptop, and my laptop she will just need a strong password that only you two would know. :) hope this helps. :)
+8points
Customer Avatar
St Helens
Use Winamp
Posted 08/05/2011
To anyone that doesn't care for iTunes, you can sync this using Winamp.
+9points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 3 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

BEST iPod ever

09/02/2014
By ,
High Springs Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already have the iPod classic 4th generation. This 7th generation iPod classic appears to be exactly like my 4th generation. It may have newer technology on the inside, but all outward appearances are identical. I filled all the space on my older one and it still works great, as I expect the 7th to be just as dependable. I compared prices everywhere and Wal-Mart had the best price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Amazing Product

07/14/2014
By ,
Tiffin,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchase an I pod touch originally because my old nano was slowly but surely dying,giving me issues and breaking down. I have had pods for almost 8 years and I have never had so many issues trying to get a one working. The first one I bought had to be returned because it froze up during the initial ios patching and even two hours on the phone with Apple didn't fix the problem so I exchanged it for another one and this time kept getting errors when installing ios, so I returned it and got one of the ipod classic instead which works perfectly right out of the box apparently I should have purchased one of these in the first place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Its a great MP3 player that Apple stopped selling

09/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this because I discovered that Apple was stopping the sale of the original iPod classic. The iTouch is very nice and I have one too. However, its limited to a 64 gig hard-drive. The classic has a 160 gig hard-drive. Hopefully, Apple will release a 160 gig iTouch soon. Otherwise, the classic will be in demand. All Apple products are great by the way. Yes, they are expensive but are very reliable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Great product.

09/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a perfect product for a person who, like me, has a very large music collection and wants to be able to take it all on the road. It is a shame that Apple discontinued this product. They should bring it back to production.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Great for large music collections

09/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second IPod Classic, and I am very pleased with its quality and outstanding performance. Great for storing and playing large music collections. Too bad that Apple has discontinued this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Scored One of the Last Apple Classic iPods

09/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apple Inc. could have innovated the Classic, but chose to discontinue instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

a classic

09/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this iPod. Simple to set up. I like the size.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)
11/11/2012
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have a large CD music collection and want to fit everything onto one device the iPod classic 160GB is what you want, period! I am old school and was still dealing my 1200 CD collection but I decided give the iPod a shot and I'm glad I did, I just wish I did it sooner. Having every song I own at my fingertips is awesome. I was a little concerned with the sound quality but the iPod classic has several equlizer settings so the it sounds great through head phones, car stereo, or my home stereo. You won't be disappointed if you get this product. Side note: It states 160GB but there is only 148GB available. I put 16,000 song on it and I still have 14GB left. Rock n Roll!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Sound is great -- with new ear phones

07/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this iPOD for music only. I have lots of music and this unit is more than big enough to hold all the songs that were on my three Sony MP3 players, with lots of room for more. I'm a PC user, and I used a plug-in that makes the iPod work seamlessly with Windows Media Player. The only complaint I had was that the headphones were not very good, they were loose in the connection to the unit and they aren't in-ear, so they kept falling out of my ears and as a result the sound was poor. But, I got an in-ear pair of headphones by Apple, and now the sound is terrific.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

44,000 songs

09/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this item because i wanted to store all the music i have on cd's as it is quite extensive as i have over six hundred music cd's and this solves a logistical storage issue. how to store your music and enjoy it on a shuffle mode is quite interesting because you never know what will play next and it makes for some very pleasant surprises..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

iPod & WalMart

09/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was familiar with the iPod before I it purchased it so I knew what I was buying. A high quality product. What really impressed me was promptness of delivery. I opted for free shipping and settled back to wait. It arrived in two days from time of purchase to my front door. Never expected that. Hats off to Walmart and eapecially their processing and shipping personnel. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Great tool for music lovers

11/01/2013
By ,
Frankfort, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this day and age of iPads, tablets, and smartphones, nothing holds a candle to the iPod classic for audiophiles. This little monster has tons of space for the thousands of songs and albums I've collected through the years.
I had its predecessor the iPod classic 80 gig model which finally wore out. I ordered this from WalMart - and it was $20 cheaper than anything I could find anywhere else online or at local stores. It was at my doorstep in three business days. Amazing. I won't guarantee ground shipping will always get it to your door that quickly, but still, it's a great deal and worth the wait.
Great sound, flexible to use and tons of space.
If you love music, this is for you. If you want to watch movies, you can, but it's not widescreen nor is it a large viewing area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Worthwhile

08/23/2010
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a worthwhile product which has enough memory to store tv programs, movies, music, books, etc etc. I really enjoy looking at a tv show or movie while on a treadmill vs just listening to music and looking into space or at another wierd face.
Battery life is fantastic. Had no idea of its staying power. Even after leaving it on for an extended period of time it still had enough umph to show an hour plus tv show. That was impressive.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Great, Great, Great!

10/24/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I finally was able to get this product. I was able to store almost 4,000 songs/podcasts and almost 40 movies. And I still have 70 something gigabytes left. Get it, it's worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+168points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Great for storing lots of music

02/09/2014
By ,
Ithaca, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up and load CD's into ITunes and transfer to Ipod. Going to try to convert and load cassette collection.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Excellent iPod

11/06/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great iPod if you aren't looking for the touch screen and app downloads that the iPod Touch offers. This does not have those features, but since I have an iPhone that didn't bother me. However, with the 160GB hard drive you can store a ton of music and even videos and photos. I personally use it just for music and have all the space I need and more. This was an upgrade from the old 30GB iPod I've had for 6 years. The iPod itself is light, well built, bright screen, and the album artwork looks good on the screen. I highly recommend this to any music lover looking for a solid mp3 player with lots of space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Lovin' my new iPod

02/19/2010
By ,
Brunswick, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this iPod. I researched other brands for almost 2 years (yeah I'm a little slow!!) and finally decided to just go with the crowd and get an iPod. And I'm glad I did. It is awesome and it can hold a ton of stuff. And iTunes is pretty cool as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

LOVE IT!

07/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first mp3 player/ipod I've owned. My niece had a 1st or 2nd generation and loved it. So, I took a chance and got one for my birthday this year. I have to say I love it!! I liked the Classic Ipod because of the bigger wheel and bigger body. It's easy to hold and I'm not afraid it will slip out of my hands. Plus, it's easier for my son to hold too. I did get a silicone sleeve with the 10 in 1 Accessory Kit, and I really like it. Plus, the soft carrying pouch is great too for trips and sliding into my purse or bag. I'm not afraid the screen will get scratched that way. This ipod also has an Audiobook with it and 3 games. I haven't tried the Audiobook, yet plan to in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 332 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next