Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Apple Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Apple Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Now you can take it with you. All of it. The black Apple iPod classic 160GB, 7th generation comes with 160GB of storage in the same compact size. It holds up to 40,000 songs, 200 hours of video, 25,000 photos, or any combination. Available in quintessential silver or striking black, the iPod classic 7th generation catches your eye with its classic, all-metal enclosure composed of anodized aluminum and polished stainless steel. The Genius playlist feature creates an on-the-fly playlist of tracks in your library that go great with the song you're listening to. And Cover Flow lets you flip through your music by album artwork. Discovering new music, movies, TV shows, games, audio books, and podcasts is easy on the iTunes Store. You can even rent a movie from iTunes and watch it on the go. To get everything into your pocket, just connect iPod classic 7th generation to your Mac or PC, and iTunes transfers your music and more in one seamless sync.
Average Customer Rating:
4.779 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(447 Reviews) 313
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
384
4 stars
45
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation97%431 out of 445reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
384
4 stars
45
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

EPIC!

02/05/2011
By ,
Catawissa, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for christmas, and i love it! I have 1,500 songs, 100 pics and 10 videos and it didnt even put a dent in the storage capacity!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 2 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Always a Catch

11/28/2009
By ,
CSA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I replaced on old Creative Zen Xtra with this iPod, only because Creative no longer offers support for their product and a Microsoft firmware upgrade turned it into a paperweight. While it worked it was perfect for my needs. The iPod Classic is a decent replacement, though there's a learning curve for the control wheel - it's a slicker gadget than it needs to be - but the functions are simple. The one thing I absolutely HATE is that Apple iTunes software attaches itself to your computer's individual serial number and you can't add music or alter playlists on any other machine. If your computer dies your iPod can no longer be updated with new music.
I considered buying one as a gift for my daughter, but I wanted to load some music on it first. If I do that on my home computer, she won't be able to use her laptop to add more music at school because iTunes wont recognize her computer as authorized to work with that iPod. How ridiculously over-proprietary.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+105points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/27/2013
Manually managing iPod classic: When you connect iPod classic, you can drag songs and playlists individually to iPod classic, and delete songs and playlists individually from iPod classic. Using this option, you can add songs from more than one computer without erasing songs from iPod classic.
0points
Customer Avatar
Ipod Classic 160 gb
Posted 11/07/2013
Is A Ipod Classic 160 gb 7th generation compatible with windows 8?
+1point
Customer Avatar
Houston, TX
A catch to the catch
Posted 08/15/2011
An iOS device can be synced with only one iTunes library. If you lose your computer's hard drive, you can restore the iTunes library from a backup and continue to work with the same iTunes library. Since I have been using iTunes, I have rebuilt my machine once and I've purchased a new machine once. I've never had to start over again.
That said, there is third-party software to do anything and everything, including reconstructing an iTunes library from an iOS device. Apple's goal was to make a device that was unfriendly to piracy.
+8points
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/13/2011
Actually she could because Itunes has it set up where you can authorize your ipod for up to five computers or laptops. I had one that I accidently washed but before I accidently destroyed mine I was able to use it on my husbands computer, my brothers computer, my parents laptop, and my laptop she will just need a strong password that only you two would know. :) hope this helps. :)
+6points
Customer Avatar
St Helens
Use Winamp
Posted 08/05/2011
To anyone that doesn't care for iTunes, you can sync this using Winamp.
+7points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 3 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Great for storing lots of music

02/09/2014
By ,
Ithaca, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up and load CD's into ITunes and transfer to Ipod. Going to try to convert and load cassette collection.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Best Bang For Your Buck

03/09/2014
By ,
Gordon, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 1st Generation iPod Touch 32Gb. I was looking to replace it with something larger, and this is pretty much the only game in town. I don't need a larger iPod Touch, too much money and I don't need it to do what it does. I have a smartphone for that. So far it does exactly what I want. There are some things I wish were different about it, but that's a programming thing that I'm sure Apple isn't going to be listening to me anytime soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 5 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Awesome product.....especially for the price

03/28/2014
By ,
Buckeye
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This player has got me interested in music again. I love making playlists i can change depending on my mood. It's plenty big enough gig wise to keep adding songs for a long time. Also have my audio books added. I took a long time researching mp3 players and wasn't really interested in apple (mainly because it doesn't play well with others) but now that i have it i'm really glad i do! If i take care of this i will not have to replace it for years....if ever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Great tool for music lovers

11/01/2013
By ,
Frankfort, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this day and age of iPads, tablets, and smartphones, nothing holds a candle to the iPod classic for audiophiles. This little monster has tons of space for the thousands of songs and albums I've collected through the years.
I had its predecessor the iPod classic 80 gig model which finally wore out. I ordered this from WalMart - and it was $20 cheaper than anything I could find anywhere else online or at local stores. It was at my doorstep in three business days. Amazing. I won't guarantee ground shipping will always get it to your door that quickly, but still, it's a great deal and worth the wait.
Great sound, flexible to use and tons of space.
If you love music, this is for you. If you want to watch movies, you can, but it's not widescreen nor is it a large viewing area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 7 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Stick with what works

03/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the last 10 years+, I've owned an iPod Video, followed by an iPod Classic...both of which were stolen. This time, I thought I'd upgrade to an iTouch. Upon excitedly receiving my new "MP3 player", none of my music would load correctly into my new device. I have been in the IT help desk business for about 10 years, so trust me when I tell you that this was not user error. I worked with Apple support for about 2 hours and they got nowhere either. Finally, I told them I would just return the iTouch since it clearly was incapable of handling its most basic function - playing music. So I decided to purchase another Classic. All of my old music IMMEDIATELY loaded into it and I have been happy ever since. I love the Classic and highly recommend it. It has far superior battery life as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Great IPOD

02/17/2014
By ,
Victorville, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own an 80GB unit and bought this unit for my wife after her 10yr. old 30GB died. It holds a lot of items such as movies. No problems so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Good for music but no HD movies :(

03/23/2014
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HD movies take up twice the storage of standard definition, but the iPod classic does not hold HD Movies or videos. Apple needs to accommodate consumers with 160 gig of HD video portability.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 10 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Not sure about quality

04/05/2014
By ,
Sherman Oaks, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought an iPod Classic 160GB, I don't recall the generation, maybe 6th generation, a little over three years ago and used it almost entirely in the car I had just purchased a few weeks before. Recently when I brought it up to my office to sync a few new albums from ITunes for Windows, it wouldn't sync. Then, a couple of weeks later, it just stopped working. It is dead. I handled it very gently and kept it in a case. It looks like new. Shouldn't it have lasted more that three years? What about that stellar Apple quality I've heard so much about? Other than that I would have given it five stars and better value and meets expectations ratings.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Excellent iPod

11/06/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great iPod if you aren't looking for the touch screen and app downloads that the iPod Touch offers. This does not have those features, but since I have an iPhone that didn't bother me. However, with the 160GB hard drive you can store a ton of music and even videos and photos. I personally use it just for music and have all the space I need and more. This was an upgrade from the old 30GB iPod I've had for 6 years. The iPod itself is light, well built, bright screen, and the album artwork looks good on the screen. I highly recommend this to any music lover looking for a solid mp3 player with lots of space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 12 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

great Ipod

04/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I don't recommend having it shipped, it was not packaged properly and probably bounced around a lot during shipping, it did not work correctly when we received it and we had to go to the store to exchange it for one that did work
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 13 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Great bargain for music lovers!

01/10/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this iPod for husband so he could have his whole iTunes library with him. Let's just say that it barely filled up the iPod and he had to download complete discographies knowing that he doesn't have to worry about reaching a limit. Yes, it's a little pricey but for someone who is passionate about music it's worth the price! The only problem there is that the backing is so easy to scratch up but buying a case for it will solve that issue other than that everything is perfect. Compared to other iPod models out there, it is the highest GB and Walmart has it the cheapest with free shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)
11/11/2012
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have a large CD music collection and want to fit everything onto one device the iPod classic 160GB is what you want, period! I am old school and was still dealing my 1200 CD collection but I decided give the iPod a shot and I'm glad I did, I just wish I did it sooner. Having every song I own at my fingertips is awesome. I was a little concerned with the sound quality but the iPod classic has several equlizer settings so the it sounds great through head phones, car stereo, or my home stereo. You won't be disappointed if you get this product. Side note: It states 160GB but there is only 148GB available. I put 16,000 song on it and I still have 14GB left. Rock n Roll!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 15 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Nice

04/08/2014
By ,
Cincinnati
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It holds a lot of music and videos and a very good price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Good product except for one thing

03/31/2014
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this 7th generation iPod classic to replace my old, reliable 4th gen iPod which was starting to fail. I love the big capacity, slim profile and larger, color screen but my only grip is the track wheel isn't as smooth as my older model and tends to skip around which is annoying at best. Overall, it's not enough of a problem to return it so I'll be keeping it. The 2 day shipping was right on time and worth the few extra bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Best price for a Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation

11/08/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing some shopping around, Walmart ended up having the best overall price for a Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation. I would highly recommend Walmart to a friend looking for an Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB. It arrived in a timely manner as well. I am very pleased with my purchase from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 18 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Awesome capacity

03/18/2014
By ,
Independence, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ride motorcycles and get tired of jumping from radio stations that aren't very good quality in the first place. The fact that we can download our entire iTunes Library and have all our playlists available is a woderful thing! I haven't tested battery life yet or much of anything else really because I've only had this a couple of weeks. It is rated for 40K songs give or take and doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles otherwise. That was the appeal for me. I didn't want to check my email or use apps, I just wanted a lot of music availability and this is exactly that! Let's RIDE!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Review 19 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

I Pod Classic

03/30/2014
By ,
Temple, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose this product because I wanted to be able to download a LOT of music. I have other devices I can use for apps, videos, camera, etc. The other iPods have lots of frills but do not come close to storage so the choice was easy. AWESOME!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Apple iPod Classic 7th Generation 160GB (Black)

Good music player slow shipping

03/30/2014
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was fine however it arrived a day later than promised so I could not give it as a gift on time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
1-20 of 314 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next