Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Asus ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Asus ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

Enjoy a full HD experience with the ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD flat panel Monitor. This high definition computer screen puts out a full 1080p HD resolution, so whether you're working or watching movies you won't miss a thing. ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.541 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation95%70 out of 74reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

Great Overall Product

08/14/2010
By ,
Norfolk, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this monitor/TV! The only issue I have is that no remote is included. Two HDMI ports would be nice but for the price, I can't complain because just recently I purchases a X-Box 360 from Wal-Mart which in turn gave me a $50 Wal-Mart gift card. I sold my old 19" LCD monitor for $50 so basically I purchased this unit for only $95! Kudos to Wal-Mart.com for keeping tech items at great prices!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 2 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

Asus VH242H

06/15/2010
By ,
Destin, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good monitor, great value. Only complaints are that the built in speakers are really not great and the stand seems a little flimsy.
As with any monitor make sure that you stress test it by leaving it on for the first 48 hours that you have it. If nothing breaks you can be assured that you have a pretty good product that will last awhile under normal usage; if something does break, well it's still under warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 3 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

Nice and Bright

05/10/2010
By ,
Bloomington, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice monitor. Sharp and clear, negligible shipping costs ($0.97). Thinking of buying anohter one for work to replace two 19in 4:3's LCD's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 4 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

disappointed

07/12/2010
By ,
Minnesota
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Problem #1 was my own fault. I mis-read the resolution as 1920x1200 but it was only 1920x1080.
Problem #2: It is much harder to read anything on it compared to my previous 22" monitor (A Synaps that I also bought at WalMart)
Problem #3: When the screen blanks due to the screen saver turning on, about 10% of the time the screen won't show anything when I press a key or move the mouse. I didn't have this problem with any of my previous monitors on the same PC. I've turned off the screen saver to avoid this, but I don't like that I now have to worry about screen burn-in and a shorter monitor life.
Problem #4: Unless you are looking at the monitor directly from the front (not slightly from the side or below) small text will be nearly impossible to read (again, compared to my previous monitor hooked up to the same PC). So you definitely don't want to use this as a second monitor off to the side.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 5 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

The tricks of the trade?

10/08/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Simply put- I used this monitor to get the full HDMI-quality for my X-Box 360 Elite. The monitor I was using, a Dell 24-inch LCD with 1980x1080 resolution but only a DVI/VGA setup, I placed with my CPU, which had a 20" inch Samsung.
Needless to say, upon opening the box, I thought I was shipped the wrong Asus monitor. Now I know what "class" means. I think it's a bit tricky.
It really IS quite noticeable how much an inch can make with these manufacturers. With the Dell, I got what was advertised. THIS monitor is a 23.6 inch, not a true 24" like my Dell. It does have the full 16:9, HD, 1080p performance. It DOES have a striking picture. However, using the HDMI port, I was shocked at how low the volume was- even with a headset- making the speakers essentially useless, as well as the headset!!!
Fortunately, my X-Box Elite came to the rescue- a 1:2 audio-out adapter I placed in the headphone jack, and ran RCA cables to my stereo, where I now have astounding audio.
But, because the pricing was so low- for a true HD experience- Asus produced a nice product. But had I known the picture differential with the Dell, I would have got a 25.5 Asus as advertised by Wal-mart instead. Then I would have had a true 24" experience.
Shipping, even through severe weather- took one day, as usual- Wal-mart is superior in this regard.
Please learn the tricks of the trade before buying the new 'classes' of monitors. Things are NOT always as they seem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 6 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

Simply Gorgeous

07/10/2010
By ,
New Martinsville, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just cannot get over how beautiful this monitor is. The color, brightness, contrast, and tint are astounding. I do not get any "light bleed" from any of the sides or corners, and the clarity is unreal. I have not tried the VGA or DVI ports, only HDMI. I ran a 12 foot HDMI cable from the ATI video card in my tower to the back of this baby, and fired it up. Once the settings were all tweaked, I was truly amazed.
The only minor annoyance i've had with this monitor was setting my resolution to 1920x1080 (true HD 1080p) I was getting a black box all the way around my window. The aspect ratio was correct, and I fought for about a half hour to get this black box to go away. Lo and Behold, it did not have anything to do with my monitor, it was the "overscaling" with the video card properties. Once that was resolved, HD movies, games, even websites have never been so clear.
I have been a fan of Asus hardware for years, but the main things i have purchased were motherboards and optical drives. This is my first Asus monitor purchase, and I would like to say that i am VERY happy!
Recommend to Everyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

Great product for the price!

08/15/2010
By ,
Lewiston, ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this monitor and payed for express shipping ($15) and it arrived at my door 48 hours later. I run dual screens on a power ATI graphics card and at first this gave me some trouble. The second screen I use is a 20" (1600 x 900) and this second screen was causing the resolution on the new 24" to act strange... in order to remedy this I switched the new 24" screen to use the DVI cable and moved the smaller screen to the HDMI cable and wallah, problem solved. After some brigthness/contrast and color fixes it works great, its crips and clear. The default settings for me made the screen way to bright and very blue, but the on screen menu lets you adjust these easily.
Overall, for the money I saved, I'm very happy with this monitor. $200 to have a 24" HD screen delivered to my door in 48 hours, can't complain about that
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

Great Deal!

08/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Great monitor! It has amazing quality, VGA, DVI AND HDMI ports, as well as an audio out port for headphones! I love it and am treating it like my baby. The blacks actually look black and the contrast is great. Don't get fooled by the lower contrast ratio, it's much better than my previous 21" Acer widescreen. It even comes with a built in speaker!
Cons: None really.. Except I kinda wish the speakers were louder. Not really complaining though since I usually have headphones in anyways.
Side note: I can't really complain but I wish there was a way to adjust the height of the monitor. I may just be getting a little greedy for the price, though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 9 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

Can't be beat for the price

07/10/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This screen is a great value for the price. It's not the highest quality monitor you will find though. The buttons are a little flimsy, and the color adjustments are difficult to use at times. Other than that, its a great size for a great price, I would definitely reccommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

Good Stuff

06/02/2010
By ,
Forked River, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is an amazing monitor have had no issues beautiful quality and great price will buy more!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H
02/13/2012
By ,
Cape Coral FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good monitor at a great price. Great for weatching movies and videos online. Built in speakers could be of a little better quality but over all very happy with ASUS product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

GET THIS YOU WONT REGRET IT!!!

07/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use the monitor for gaming, movies, normal stuff, etc...
I use it everyday for about 12 hours and the picture is just astounding
After buying a cheepo monitor with a serious backlight bleeding problem then switching to my tv then to this I know I will be getting another.
The monitor when set to its certain mode matching whatever your doing makes a huge difference over the already great image. For example playing bfbc2 looks better set to gaming mode than movie or general.
If your still pondering over that 30" in your other tab take a chance and trust me 24' is plenty big anything bigger is what you would call a TV!!!
I have a friend that uses his 50 inch sony in his living room and he prefers using my computer now over his.
Dont think, just buy this!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

Exceptional monitor for the price

12/30/2011
By ,
New England, US
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to use dual monitors on my Dell WinXp system with a GeForce 7200GS video card. This monitor is so big I rarely need to turn on the other monitor now. I have them both configured independently from each other (Dualview mode) but only seem to use the new ASUS monitor for web publishing and light gaming (Games that use DirectX9).
There are some drawbacks. On white screens you cannot see that some of the pixels are on, but on darker screens in 1920x1080 mode the pixels show as white. So far there are just 4 and they are spread apart. In other modes such as 1600x900 and 1024x768 I cannot see them.
I have not tested the 2 watt speakers yet.
The new size is impressive and for less 200 dollars I feel this was quite a deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

A good value

07/25/2010
By ,
Crestview, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has turned out to be a very good 24" monitor for the price. I only use my system for gaming and I'm not a technophile, and so far I have no complaints. Set up was a snap and the to-my-door delivery was extremely fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

So so

06/22/2010
By ,
Ashburn, Va
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not overly impressed. Screen is very blue (even post screen). Spent a long time trying to adjust (with the dumb adjust buttons located on the bottom of the monitor) but one way was too blue the other settings were too something else. No happy medium. Will see if there are any monitor color monitor calibrators that can help.
There is no vertical stand adjustment. Not a huge problem but seems like an cheap/easy thing to add.
Kind of cheap looking overall and stand is flimsy. But, hey, for less than $190 for a 24" monitor? I guess I shouldn't complain (but will cause I can). Wal-mart shipped for a buck and arrived in a few days. Painless.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 16 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

Great deal

08/13/2010
By ,
Glens Falls, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice monitor for the price! Easy set up, all cables included. sharp detail, easy to read text and pictures are very clear. I belong to Netflix and this screen is wide enough and big enough to watch movies on in comfort. Delivery was quick and only cost 97 cents! Very happy with the first one so I bought a second one for my other computer.
Good deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

Asus rules!

08/10/2010
By ,
Abilene, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I thought I would take a chance on a brand I knew nothing about because the price was too good to pass up. Come to find out Asus has been around for quite a while. This moniter is awesome. I like it so much I am planning to use an Asus motherboard, DVD burner and Video card in my first Gaming computer build. Thanks for the great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

best performances/value if you get it from Walmart

07/15/2010
By ,
Butte, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
True bright colors.
23.6" screen = huge.
Clear sharp image.
many kinds of setting available for you/suit you.
cool and beautiful design with high gloss finish.
can be rotate and adjust easily the angle of the screen to suit your taste.
it is a Really Phenomenal LCD monitor for that cheap price. Super great quality...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

Ok, so far

07/27/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This monitor has been ok so far. Some edges are a bit fuzz, but I think that's because I am using a VGA connection, not HDMI.
The other day it was making a faint noise. I wasn't sure if it had a fan or was thinking about dying. We'll see if it goes the distance. If it remains fine, it will be a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 20 for ASUS 24" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD Monitor, VH242H

making computer work easier

07/25/2010
By ,
rices landing, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this screen is great to work on. the only problem with it is the buttonsss are so very hard to see.there needs to be a better way for them to be on the screen, being down at the bottom makes it so very hard to see when trying to adjust volume or other things.rice
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next