Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Orion Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Orion Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

From Orion, this black 4-shelf bookcase holds not only books but also collectible items that you might want to display. The bookcase also has a protective kick plate.
Average Customer Rating:
4.036 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(166 Reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
64
3 stars
17
2 stars
10
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation86%140 out of 163reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
64
3 stars
17
2 stars
10
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

Good, but not great.

04/21/2012
By ,
Mesa, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a small bookcase to go next to my bed that wasn't too deep. This one fit the bill! It's the perfect size and is affordable, however, I was disappointed that the laminate flakes off quite easily. The shelves look great but the side panels have the particle board showing along the edges. Overall though it was worth the price and I am decently happy with it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

Great pricing on a great bookshelf

04/03/2012
By ,
So Cal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered 2 of these when doing a room makeover. The price did make me wonder if the quality would be there, and it was.
Takes about 30 minutes to do each bookshelf. I am very pleased with my purchase!
As you can see I put quite a lot of stuff on each shelf and they are working out great :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 3 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

Great Item at a Great Price!

07/02/2011
By ,
Atlanta,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Despite the fact that my first purchase of this item was somehow lost in transit and had to be refunded, this item immediately became available again within 1 week. After picking the item up from the store (the longest part of the entire process), I was able to get the bookcase together in less than 30 minutes - not bad for someone who can rarely get the most simple furnishings together:) I am so loving this item!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 4 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

Great bookcase for the money.

01/10/2012
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hesitant about getting this because I believe you get what you pay for. This bookcase was a pleasant surprise. It only takes about 30 minutes to put together and the instructions are simple. We bought this to hold our kids movies, books and games and it's a nice addition beside our other black Better Homes bookcase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

easy to assemble

12/31/2011
By ,
Springfield,MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
purchased this to fill space in an office, it was very easy to put together and it looks nice. it has plenty of room
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

Poorly made and many parts damaged or missing

06/28/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For $25 each I guess I shouldn't have expected swedish quality. I ordered four of these. Many of the pieces arrived dinged up with the particleboard showing through to the front. While assembly was fairly easy, the main set of bolts were very cheap and stripped easily. The boxes do not come with an allen key as they state they will, and trying to use a standard screw driver often resulted in stripped screws, because the holes often didn't line up between sides and top or bottom. With that said, assembly was quick - it took me about 15 minutes per bookshelf to get it together (though using my own screwdriver and my own nails). Most of the four different bookshelves I got did not come with the finishing nails required to secure the back to the frame. Poor quality. I had to take a sharpy to them to hide the imperfections.
They will do their job fine for the next few years but I don't expect these to survive a move from this home to our next one, the way our Swedish made ones have done for 8 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

It's made out of FLAKE-a.k.a. Fallaparticle board

01/26/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's looks good when it's finished (if you don't stand too close!) Remember to buy a black marker to touchup the spots where the flake has flaked apart. Also the back panel is a piece of cardboard that you need to nail onto the back of the bookcase. You must keep in mind that you only paid $25 for it and "YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR"
Other people may tell you it looks good. But I can't get over being annoyed at the condition of the materials they give you to start with. Also I bought an electric screwdriver because I had trouble screwing it together. When I used the electric screwdriver, the screws went in a little better, but still not all the way. I went to Lowe's and bought a set of both big and little screwdrivers and then I had to dig into the wood deeper because the holes that they drilled in the factory had not been deep enough! Finally I had the darned thing completed! I put books inside and it serves its' purpose. I had somehow almost forgotten the aggravation factor involved until Walmart asked me for this review!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 8 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

serves its purpose

06/01/2010
By ,
Boston, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was looking for a bookcase with at least 4 shelves that wasn't more than 2' wide -- couldn't pass up this price. The quality isn't great (I hear my mother saying "you get what you pay for") but if you're in the market for a small shelf not meant to hold a lot of weight, this will suffice. I do notice it rocks a little more than I'd like on the carpeted floor but up against a wall it's sturdy enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+51points
Review 9 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

Excellent for the price

04/28/2011
By ,
Jersey City, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It might be smaller than it looks in the picture. But its nice and sturdy. Meets my expectations. Can easily tolerate heavy books on all shelves.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+84points
Review 10 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

Missing Parts, Low Quality & Damaged

01/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Received this after waiting about a week & a half to 2 weeks for it to arrive, & when I opened the package it had absolutely zero hardware (no screws, no nails, no allen wrench, etc).
To top it off, the shelves had scratches & pits all over, & the veneer over the MDF was put on very badly, so it was hanging off one side & didn't cover all of the other side. The drill holes broke through the sides of the bookshelf as well, so it looked like it had already seen better days before it was even used. VERY LOW QUALITY product. I would normally say you get what you pay for, but in this instance you get WAY less.
Ironically, the booklet says that it is "carefully inspected for quality assurance". If this is the case, I'd hate to see what products look like that escape this quality assurance step.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Review 11 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

Not bad!

10/05/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading a lot of the reviews.. i was skeptical. We wanted 2 bookshelves in a new playroom for our 3 kids. We had TONS of books and i wanted the top shelves to be "mine". I knew that they would be smaller than their appearance online.. and they are. but they are the perfect height. I dont fear the kids would try to climb them or that they would fall on them. The bottom 3 rows fit all the books and i have enough room on top for my stuff. Yes.. the wood isnt perfect. The bottom of the shelves are not painted black. And i will definately have to go over some spots with a sharpie. But online, i see other shelves going for 60+ dollars. For 25 dollars, it was perfect! Took only 20 minutes to put one together!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+9points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
shelf size
Posted 12/22/2011
Would you say these shelves nicely fit those clothe storage boxes?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

decent shelf at a decent price

12/02/2010
By ,
Boston, MA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought 2 book case to put on top of my dresser. Bought from Walmart online and had it delivered to the store for free. Product were well protected with extra packaging. Store bought shelfs were less protected and prone to be damaged.
Very easy to put together and not heavy. They are made of engineered wood, not solid wood. The 2 sides are covered in black wood veneer. The shelfs are veneer covered at the top and front but not the bottom. Top, middle and bottom shelfs are screwed permanent, 2 others are not. Since the wood is covered in veneer, you must be careful to not bump it against anything or it would damage the veneer and engineered wood underneath.
The back is made of thick black construction paper. The back does not cover the whole length of the book case, short by 4 inches because front of shelf have a 4 inch wide toe board which I did not install.
Not bad for the price but get what you pay. Not recommended for medium to high end office or high use/abuse situations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

Epic Buy!!!

05/19/2011
By ,
Sedgwick, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually bought this as a DVD shelf and it works great!! fits well over 200 DVDs. as for books, use for like manga or small books, the shelves arent tall enough to fit a lot of txt books, unless you were to take out a shelf.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 14 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

Very Nice for the Price!

06/01/2010
By ,
Auburn, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually bought two of these shelves, and have them in my living room. They are great for the price! Easy to assemble and look great for what I am using them for. They are mainly holding knick nacks and photographs! Would buy them again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+71points
Review 15 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black
08/24/2011
By ,
midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the bookshelf in black. It looks sharp! I read the reviews and I do agree that it takes approx. 30 min. to put together. But it is not difficult to put together, it just takes time. It is sturdy and holds all the books that you would like to put on the bookshelf. I found out that it is cheaper to buy this online than in the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 16 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

Functional and Affordable

06/08/2011
By ,
Goose Creek, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smaller than I was expecting, but came in excellent condition. After my husband put it together we filled it right up with heavy books and knick-knacks. Sturdy, even on carpet. Looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 17 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

Exactly as advertised

05/02/2011
By ,
Provo, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product was exactly what I expected it to be when I bought it. The only negative thing that I can say about this product is that the special allen wrench that was supposed to come in the package was not there. This wasn't a big deal though because a screw driver worked fine (probably even better than the missing tool). The back cover comes folded in thirds, but it pretty much straightens up when you nail it to the bookshelf.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 18 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

Great item for the price!

07/10/2011
By ,
Newark, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bookshelf. Box is fairly heavy - bring someone with you to help carry it if you can (unless you're super-strong). Looks great, holds up well, exactly what I was looking for. Only complaint is that one of the side panels had both edges unfinished (rather than one painted black), so I have to touch it up with a Sharpie. Not a big deal - seriously, it's a $25 bookshelf, and it's definitely worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 19 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

Defective

05/30/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product came in poor appearance. Cracks in the black finish.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Review 20 for Orion 4-Shelf Bookcase, Black

Bad product

06/13/2010
By ,
maryland
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cracks everywhere. Don't buy it!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next