Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ziploc Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Ziploc Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

The Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit with Three Quart Bags and One Pump protects your frozen food and keeps it fresher longer. Vacuum sealing helps prevent food from spoiling, which saves you time and money. These single-use Ziploc freezer vacuum bags can be used to freeze meat, vegetables, leftovers and more. You can easily remove the air from these bags with the specially designed one-way valve of the air-removal hand pump. The pump can be taken apart for easy cleaning and requires no batteries to operate.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation81%22 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Ziploc seal bags

11/16/2009
By ,
Trout Creek, Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the procuct but couldn't find the bags after I purchaced the procucts. It is so neat. I can reseal the bags even when I have taken an item from them. And I put my lettuce in the gags and seal and don't loose any lettuce anymore. It is really great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Does a respectable job...

06/29/2014
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I see many reviews stating the bags don't hold the vacuum seal. Yes, here and there you get one that won't hold a seal...but, seriously, for the price you can't beat it. Far and away, most all the bags do a great job, if you make sure the zipper is closed and rub your finger over the valve after pumping all the air out. I can put fresh baked bread in these and remove the air, and they will keep for about 10 days in the fridge. Now, anyone who bakes fresh breads knows, it only takes about 3 days to see mold on your loaves, so this is a great product for stuff like that. I also seal up meat, cheese, veggies, fruit, you name it. I think the best thing I've found so far to do with these bags would be 1. freezing on sale bananas for my morning smoothies. Just peal, freeze overnight on a sheet pan. Load the large zip loc with about 6 or so and pump the air out. You can open, remove desired amount and reseal with no problems. And 2. marinating meats. You'll be surprised at how deeply your marinade/bourbon/wine, etc, penetrates the meat when it's done in a vacuum sealed bag. And since the pump is easily cleaned, I don't worry about a little marinade/meat juice getting on it. All in all, a very good value for your hard earned grocery dollars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Inexpensive and effective food storage tool.

06/27/2011
By ,
Owasso, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Ziplock Vacuum Starter Kit to replace my battery-chomping Reynolds Handi-Vac food storage system. The Reynolds bags were becoming difficult to find and that's not the case with Ziplock. It's less expensive, available, and just as effective for sealing and storing food.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

extremely disappointed

01/13/2014
By ,
Bemidji, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking for a way to keep my food from getting freezer burnt all the time because it seems like I am constantly throwing out food if I don't use it fast enough, I read a blog that suggested getting a vacuum sealing machine, (well I don't have the money for that right now.) Then I saw a comment that was along the lines of "why pay all that money for an expensive machine when you can get the ziploc vacuum sealer pump and bags for just a few dollars?"
Next time I went shopping in walmart I came across these, so I bought the starter kit plus a box of each bags, quart & gallon. I was very excited to try them out when I got home, I used them all on the new food I just bought, I checked them out about 2 days later and almost all the seals had came undone. Extremely disappointing. I tried to fix the problem by putting tape over the valves so air couldn't leak out, I checked the next afternoon and once again, most of the seals still came undone. I will try once more by taping up the edges of the bag in one last desperate attempt to save my food, but after that I'm just not gonna buy any more freezer food or this product until I have the extra cash on hand to get a better system.
I'm sad that I wasted my money. This is a product I would have kept on buying, I hope they can fix the issue someday.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Nifty little gadget

05/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to remove air from Mason Jars/Lids for juicing. It is very quick and easy and was the cheapest alternative to purchasing a vacuum sealer unit. Plus, it is small and doesn't take up any room on the counter. Not to mention the noise level with a vacuum sealer unit! After punching a small hole in the lid with a push pin, just place a small piece of electrical tape over the hole and remove the air with the Ziploc Vacuum Sealer unit. It keeps the air out until we are ready to use it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

GREAT!!!

06/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These bags work great, their fast and easy use and keep food safe from freezer burn
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

This vacuum pump really keeps food fresh longer.

06/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this vacuum pump. It is quick and easy to use and it keeps my food fresh longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Great idea. Doesn't work

12/02/2013
By ,
Minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The little hand pump isn't the problem. it pulls out a lot of air,but maybe one bag in ten holds for any length of time. I won't be buying again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Good for a starter item

10/20/2014
By ,
Harrison Valley, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked how the item worked and think it's a good value for the price. My only disappointment is that it doesn't work well with items that have liquids. You have to have it flattened and on a flat surface and with liquids it just draws the liquid out instead of the air. A screw or snap sealed connection that allows for vacuuming out the air with the package upright would improve this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

IN STORE

04/22/2014
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'd like it even better If I could get the bags in my store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

nice n easy

02/06/2012
By ,
Port Saint Lucie, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very simple way to protect food from freezer burn. No electric, just a few pumps and the air is gone. The bags are sturdy and seem well equipped to handle the job. Time will tell, but so far I'm very pleased with this whole system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

A simple concept

10/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Such a simple idea. What a find. I used it to package my cupcakes. It worked great. I checked back in a few days and they were completely frost free. It seems like sturdy plastic. Easy to use. I just wish the bags were reusable
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Great for Storing Food in Fridge

07/18/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second purchase so I have an extra vacuum pump to use with the bags. I use these vacuum bags to store produce and keep it fresh, to seal up cheese and keep it from molding, and to freeze fresh veggies from the garden. Using the hand pump is easy, effective, and uses no batteries YET you can still get all the air out through the vacuum suction area of the bag. Have bags in both sizes so can use for small or medium size items.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Saves Money On Food Spoilage

09/14/2014
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These bags DO work in spite of the fact that some of the other reviews state otherwise. I have used these since they first became available. They are so simple too. If you want to save a head if lettuce, left over avocado, etc, just use the appropriate size bag, be sure there is no food is IN the zipper itself. Then before pumping double check that the zipper is securely closed. Pump tight, throw in fridge and your done. The pump has a simple assembly and is lightweight and small. The ONLY downside I have found at all is that for freezer use they do not hold seals for long periods if time. This is most likely due to riffling through the freezer throwing foods around and small pin holes getting in bag. However, the very same issues occur with expensive electric pump systems. I had one. They do not work any better for freezer use. I wanted this because it takes NO counter space, which I do not have to spare. Finally these bags can be reused MANY times. In fact I read a tip that says when the bags zipper wears a bit and doesn't want to seal, just rub a bit of oil (veg., olive, etc) on the zipper itself and it's like new. I've yet to try that but many on the forum agreed it works. Please do not be deterred by neigh-sayers. This system works well and it's very inexpensive. I gave $10-$15 per roll (depending on roll length) for the electric pump system plastic and believe me, there isn't much on one roll! This is so very much less expensive. Give it a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Neat pump but bags don't hold a seal.

12/29/2013
By ,
Asheville, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very simple but functional manual vacuum pump. However, the bags as provided in the starter kit are poor at holding the vacuum. Only one of the three bags in the starter kit held the vacuum seal for 24 hours. One of the three would not hold for a single hour. I ordered two extra boxes of bags with the kit. I will continue to try more bags from each box, but so far I am quite disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

BAG DOES NOT HOLD SEAL

01/01/2014
By ,
Chicagoland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THE BAGS DON'T HOLD THE SEAL FOR MORE THAN A WEEK.
I even tried sealing the pump seal and zip-lock ends with 2 inch transparent tape.
BAGS STILL LEAK AIR. THESE ARE A WASTE OF MONEY.
I think the good reviews came from people who did not wait to see how well these hold.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Money Saver

02/01/2013
By ,
Baton Rouge
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much more convenient that a vacuum machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Handy little tool

03/28/2013
By ,
DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this just for the vacuum sealer to jar salads. It was more expensive than I wanted to pay for just the sealer and it didn't have many bags in it at all. The shipping was more expensive than the product and so I feel I wasted money buying it online. But then, it was nowhere to be found in my regular wal-mart so I had to settle for ordering it online. The sealer works great. Its a little hard to tell if the jar is sealed completely or not, but it seems to do a great job
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt
01/03/2012
By ,
Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second time to order this product. Had no trouble with first order. I ordered 3 the second time. Two were for gifts. Not sure if they worked but the one that I ordered for myself did not work & too much of a hassle to return/exchange.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Amazing!

05/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You cannot beat this product for the job it does and the price!!
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1 2 Next