Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ziploc Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Ziploc Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

The Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit with Three Quart Bags and One Pump protects your frozen food and keeps it fresher longer. Vacuum sealing helps prevent food from spoiling, which saves you time and money. These single-use Ziploc freezer vacuum bags can be used to freeze meat, vegetables, leftovers and more. You can easily remove the air from these bags with the specially designed one-way valve of the air-removal hand pump. The pump can be taken apart for easy cleaning and requires no batteries to operate.
Average Customer Rating:
4.342 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation84%31 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Ziploc seal bags

11/16/2009
By ,
Trout Creek, Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the procuct but couldn't find the bags after I purchaced the procucts. It is so neat. I can reseal the bags even when I have taken an item from them. And I put my lettuce in the gags and seal and don't loose any lettuce anymore. It is really great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Ziploc Vacuum starter kit

06/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a good price for a starter kit. I also purchased another box of vacuum sealer bags. Some bags sealed good others didn't which probably doesn't matter if you are going to freeze the bag right away. I wanted to use the bags to store dry food. I ended up using jars poking a small hole in the lid and making a simple valve of a small piece of rubber cut from a rubber glove and taped it to the lid over the hole. I used a very small amount of bee's wax to help seal the rubber. So far so good, that seal does not leak.
Overall I'm satisfied with this item. It works great for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Does a respectable job...

06/29/2014
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I see many reviews stating the bags don't hold the vacuum seal. Yes, here and there you get one that won't hold a seal...but, seriously, for the price you can't beat it. Far and away, most all the bags do a great job, if you make sure the zipper is closed and rub your finger over the valve after pumping all the air out. I can put fresh baked bread in these and remove the air, and they will keep for about 10 days in the fridge. Now, anyone who bakes fresh breads knows, it only takes about 3 days to see mold on your loaves, so this is a great product for stuff like that. I also seal up meat, cheese, veggies, fruit, you name it. I think the best thing I've found so far to do with these bags would be 1. freezing on sale bananas for my morning smoothies. Just peal, freeze overnight on a sheet pan. Load the large zip loc with about 6 or so and pump the air out. You can open, remove desired amount and reseal with no problems. And 2. marinating meats. You'll be surprised at how deeply your marinade/bourbon/wine, etc, penetrates the meat when it's done in a vacuum sealed bag. And since the pump is easily cleaned, I don't worry about a little marinade/meat juice getting on it. All in all, a very good value for your hard earned grocery dollars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Happy with the product. Quality is good.

06/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quite easy to use. Works very well and fast.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Glad I found it on line

06/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It always works great but the stores stopped having them so I am so glad WalMart online had the product. It's a pretty wonderful gadget to save your food from getting freezer burned.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

better than my 2 electric ones

06/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
there great why don't you have them in the store
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Inexpensive and effective food storage tool.

06/27/2011
By ,
Owasso, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Ziplock Vacuum Starter Kit to replace my battery-chomping Reynolds Handi-Vac food storage system. The Reynolds bags were becoming difficult to find and that's not the case with Ziplock. It's less expensive, available, and just as effective for sealing and storing food.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

I love the ziplock vacuum . It is so easy to use.

06/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ziploc vacuum is a wonderful kitchen tool . It is so easy to use. I would recommend buying this item to all my friends.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

GREAT!!!

06/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These bags work great, their fast and easy use and keep food safe from freezer burn
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

extremely disappointed

01/13/2014
By ,
Bemidji, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking for a way to keep my food from getting freezer burnt all the time because it seems like I am constantly throwing out food if I don't use it fast enough, I read a blog that suggested getting a vacuum sealing machine, (well I don't have the money for that right now.) Then I saw a comment that was along the lines of "why pay all that money for an expensive machine when you can get the ziploc vacuum sealer pump and bags for just a few dollars?"
Next time I went shopping in walmart I came across these, so I bought the starter kit plus a box of each bags, quart & gallon. I was very excited to try them out when I got home, I used them all on the new food I just bought, I checked them out about 2 days later and almost all the seals had came undone. Extremely disappointing. I tried to fix the problem by putting tape over the valves so air couldn't leak out, I checked the next afternoon and once again, most of the seals still came undone. I will try once more by taping up the edges of the bag in one last desperate attempt to save my food, but after that I'm just not gonna buy any more freezer food or this product until I have the extra cash on hand to get a better system.
I'm sad that I wasted my money. This is a product I would have kept on buying, I hope they can fix the issue someday.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

sealer

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this item works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Nifty little gadget

05/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to remove air from Mason Jars/Lids for juicing. It is very quick and easy and was the cheapest alternative to purchasing a vacuum sealer unit. Plus, it is small and doesn't take up any room on the counter. Not to mention the noise level with a vacuum sealer unit! After punching a small hole in the lid with a push pin, just place a small piece of electrical tape over the hole and remove the air with the Ziploc Vacuum Sealer unit. It keeps the air out until we are ready to use it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Great Product

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works better than the battery powered ones
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Great for Storing Food in Fridge

07/18/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second purchase so I have an extra vacuum pump to use with the bags. I use these vacuum bags to store produce and keep it fresh, to seal up cheese and keep it from molding, and to freeze fresh veggies from the garden. Using the hand pump is easy, effective, and uses no batteries YET you can still get all the air out through the vacuum suction area of the bag. Have bags in both sizes so can use for small or medium size items.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Great idea. Doesn't work

12/02/2013
By ,
Minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The little hand pump isn't the problem. it pulls out a lot of air,but maybe one bag in ten holds for any length of time. I won't be buying again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Keeps meat from freezer burn

02/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these bags, they keep meat and vegies from getting freezer burn. I buy meat in the family size packs and break it down into individual meals. These make it so convenient, meal time is so easy. Just take out what you need and let thaw in the fridge.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

BAG DOES NOT HOLD SEAL

01/01/2014
By ,
Chicagoland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THE BAGS DON'T HOLD THE SEAL FOR MORE THAN A WEEK.
I even tried sealing the pump seal and zip-lock ends with 2 inch transparent tape.
BAGS STILL LEAK AIR. THESE ARE A WASTE OF MONEY.
I think the good reviews came from people who did not wait to see how well these hold.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

Neat pump but bags don't hold a seal.

12/29/2013
By ,
Asheville, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very simple but functional manual vacuum pump. However, the bags as provided in the starter kit are poor at holding the vacuum. Only one of the three bags in the starter kit held the vacuum seal for 24 hours. One of the three would not hold for a single hour. I ordered two extra boxes of bags with the kit. I will continue to try more bags from each box, but so far I am quite disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

nice n easy

02/06/2012
By ,
Port Saint Lucie, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very simple way to protect food from freezer burn. No electric, just a few pumps and the air is gone. The bags are sturdy and seem well equipped to handle the job. Time will tell, but so far I'm very pleased with this whole system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ziploc Vacuum Starter Kit, 1 kt

This vacuum pump really keeps food fresh longer.

06/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this vacuum pump. It is quick and easy to use and it keeps my food fresh longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next