Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

GE GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

A great alternative to traditional gas burners, the GE Dual Burner Hot Plate cuts down the time you spend in your kitchen. The fastest way to cook your favorite dishes, this induction hot plate features solid die-cast heating plates, so better and even cooking is guaranteed. With non-skid rubber feet, this 1500 watt hot plate will never move out of place. Get this portable electric hot plate and save more on your time and money.
Average Customer Rating:
3.877 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(163 Reviews) 132
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
35
3 stars
13
2 stars
14
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation75%122 out of 163reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 153 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
35
3 stars
13
2 stars
14
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

It Does Boil!

08/03/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have gas ran throughout my house and have decided to go electric but cant afford a stove. When I seen this I read the reviews saying it didn't even boil water. So I went ahead and bought it to test and decided to test it before I threw the box away. I put a medium saucepan on the largest burner and guess what! It took just 10 minutes for the water to come to a ROLLING BOIL. I'm keeping the burner now that I know it does boil. Make sure you put a lid on the pot it helps the boiling process. I have to walk 300 yards to my mothers house to use her stove. Very difficult when you have three kids in tow and have to take every ingredient and utensil needed! This burner has saved me so much trouble
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

Cooking up a storm

06/20/2010
By ,
hawaii
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
at first i didnt know if the surface of the hot plate is supposed to be black ,but then i just turned it on and started to cook .
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

A rugged, easy to clean hot plate.

09/30/2011
By ,
Winooski Vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The GE Dual Burner Hot Plate is handsome, ruggedly built, and much easier to clean than other hot plates I've used. My only quibble is that the burners take longer to reach maximum heat than those on the old clunker I was using before.
It's well worth the price, and seems certain to last for years.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

Great deal for the money

08/29/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews on this hot plate and was a little concerned. I decided to get one and if it didn't work, return it.
The first day I needed to saute a bunch of vegetables and used a 12 inch frying pan on the large burner. I turned it to high and let the pan warm up first. It did an excellent job.
Then I wanted to do a water boil test, as some reviews said it wouldn't boil water. I put a 4 quart pot on the large burner set to high with 5 cups of tap water. I put a lid on, as I would on my regular stove, and set the timer. In 9 minutes I had bubbles on the top and at 14 minutes I had a rolling boil.
I then put a 1.5 quart pot on the small burner with 3 cups of tap water. I put a lid and set the timer. In 11 minutes I had bubbles on the top and at 14 minutes I had a rolling boil.
This more than meets my expectations.
I only have one negative comment and that is the entire unit gets quite hot and I need to move it with oven mitts right after use. I still give it 5 stars because this is a nit for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate
10/07/2010
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a retired single guy who lives in an RV at an RV resort in Florida. My RV operates on both propane and electric. Last Spring I ran out of propane. Being retired and lazy I did not want to go through the hassle of pulling out the propane tanks and getting them refilled so I went to Walmart and got the double burner. I am an avid cook and have done everything with the burner as I have always done on my regular stove. I have made everything from spaghetti sauce in a staneless steel pot to pot roast on a cast iron dutch oven. Boiling water? Yes, you can on both burners. All you need is a pot with a lid and it boils fast. Trust me. We have pot lucks dinners here at the resort once a month and I have cooked for 30 people with no problem. Last month I made a large pot of cachun gumbo. I will eventually refuel on propane for the RV heater, but I will continue to use the double burner to limit the propane use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+258points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

totally useful

09/22/2010
By ,
North American Heartland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These burners DO boil water, and actually can fry meats, contrary to what others have posted. Overall, the product works very well, but it does take a few minutes longer to boil larger (3-4 quart) kettles of water, than a burner on an actual full-sized stove. Common sense dictates that since the burners are 900w (larger burner) and 600w (smaller burner), the extra heating time is to be expected since real stove burners run 1250w on up to 2500w. The unit has to be below 1500w total current draw, in order to operate on any household electrical outlet without causing problems, (just like any other consumer electronic.) The unit is easy to clean, easy to use, seems durable enough, looks okay, and does the job well enough. I was surprised that it doesn't heat the surface it operates on much, so that is a big plus in my opinion. Of course, there's always room for improvement so only 4 stars overall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

It cooks!

03/25/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in an area that can get power outages during storms. Since my kitchen stove is electric, I needed a way to cook dinner, when power is out. I have a small generator that can provide enough electricity to power things like this hot plate.
So, I bought it, hoping I could cook with it. The owner's manual says its "not for braising, frying, etc", and suggested it was only intended to "boil water". So, I was concerned that this hot plate wouldn't get hot enough to cook.
As a test, we turned it on, and was able to cook bacon and fried eggs with no problem (using the larger burner). There is no doubt that this hot plate can cook hamburgers, steak, or whatever you may need to cook.
So yes, it works fine!
It is a little slow to get hot at first, but that's to be expected with a 1000W 120V burner.
The body appears to be made out of metal, and the entire unit seems sturdy. As others have said, the cast iron hot plates do seem solid, and retain heat quite well. No, the surface won't get "red hot" like your kitchen stove, but it is hot enough for small cooking jobs.
There are indicator lights on the front, to let you know that a burner is turned on. There are no detents in the control knobs, so it could be easy to turn a burner on, by accidentally touching (moving) the control knob.
Overall, very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

Convenient traveling stove

12/23/2009
By ,
Saginaw, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The dual cookers are nice, but water boils only on the larger one. Can be taken on road trips and the dual burners helps me to do more than make just one-pot wonders. The price is pretty good, the additional burner's only $10 more than the single ones (and they're smaller anyways). It's fairly portable, pretty lightweight, and gets the job done. I've used it for about a half a year and haven't had any problems to date.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+99points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

Love it

12/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a hot plate burner for about 2 monthes and came across this one online at Walmart. I read and reread the reviews and I was sold. I got it about 2 wks ago and have used it everyday since. I love it, it does a awesome job of cooking and heating up food and it is very attractive looking. It came when they said it would Iwas so excited when I came home and it was there I cooked on it that night. Tks Walmart, I am a customer for life.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

ge double burner hotplate

11/05/2012
By ,
longview, texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i also have the cheaper two burner hotplate with the open elements,and it doesn't even compare to this one for only about another 10$ ,it's even coat over elements makes it safer from fire and spreads the heat very even,so well that at 900 watt on main eye it does better than the open eye type at 1000 watts,, heating same amount of water on both eye types this hotplate heated the water 3 times faster,and at 100 watts less ,,that is a considerable savings on electricity,,it will pay back the extra 10$ in no time at that rate,,and i did do this test accuratly measured water and timed,,also used same pot from cold ,,this is a very good buy ,also another good feature is that this plate is grounded unlike cheaper ones that are not grounded,,for an extra 10$ it adds much safety with the covered even spread heat cover,and the added security of being grounded!!! big pluses especially since the electri savings will pay for itself in just a few uses!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

Well worth the money

02/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read several negitive reviews on this product. Just wondering if they had it plugged in?? This brought partually frozen chicken stock to a rolling boil in 15 minutes. That was on the big burner. I had onions frying on the small burner. Average out the reviews folks. There are some people you just can't please.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

Both burners easily boil full pans of water

07/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do not understand any negative reviews of this outstanding product. Both burners easily boil full pans of water. This unit is just a bit slower than our full size range. Dollar for dollar you cannot go wrong with this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

not what I'd hoped for

02/04/2012
By ,
Newport, RI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this product because we're currently without a real kitchen, and wanted to be able to boil water, and do some other basic top-of-the-stove tasks. I carefully read reviews and looked for my best option. Can I do those things? Yes. Can I do them the way I want? Not really - my expectations were probably too high. While other reviewers have clearly had a different experience, I've found that it's very slow to boil water, and is definitely not a portable real burner. Since we can only use one appliance of this type at a time (without causing the breaker to go), this has been somewhat of a disappointment for me. I tried using is a lot in the beginning, but now find that I'm using my microwave and electric skillet far more, using my Keurig to make a cup of hot water, and not really using this product as I'd expected, or even much at all. Down the road, when I have a kitchen again, I'll probably use it on a sideboard to keep things warm, or I'll give it away.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate
06/29/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought I was purchasing a hot plate that I could actually cook on but what I received was a warming plate. Once the hot plate reaches a certain temperture it cuts off leaving the food you are cooking to sit and and wait until the hot plate comes back on. The description on Walmart website does not tell you that the hot plate is not meant for cooking. I did not find this out until I actually use it then notice in small writing that the manufacturer had it written in some paperwork that was inside the box. I think I should have been told on the website that this product can not be used for cooking or frying.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

not what I expected

07/08/2012
By ,
New Jersey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to use as a stove top burner since my range is not working so until I got another range I was going to use this to make meals. All the reviews were so good I figured it would do what I wanted which was to boil water to make a pot of spaghetti or pasta and to just do regular things any stove top would do....including sauteing chicken or boiling eggs or frying anything ( not deep frying ) but just regular pan sauteing. But after waiting for water to boil for over 25 minutes it was clear to see this is just not powerful enough to use as an every day cook top burner. I guess its ok if you want to just heat things up like a small pot of soup or keep things warm but it will not get hot enough to cook pasta or make a real dinner. It wouldn't even boil a pot of water to make hard boiled eggs. I returned it and got my money back.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

No it does NOT get hot enough!

07/31/2011
By ,
Houston, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After buying this when we lost use of our stove for 12 days, we thought it would work in conjunction with our electric skillet to enable us to cook the meals we are used to cooking. Did not see until unpacked that the instructions state not for braising, frying or browning, only for gently simmering. Decided to try it anyway and they were correct! Although others have posted it does boil water, we were never able to get it hot enough to do so. Did try several different pots and several different foods. Nothing worked. Tried with and without lids. Will be returning to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

Very good product

02/21/2011
By ,
Old Bridge, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a friend who is a divorcee now living on her own. She does not have a stove yet so I bought her this product. It is an excellent product according to her and my friend does NOT mince words. Just like everyone said you should put lids on your pots if you are looking to boil water etc. It does a very good job and she was quite pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

Good product for the money

09/29/2011
By ,
Tarentum, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use this product several times weekly. I live alone, and got rid of my full size stove. After reading other reviews about the product not getting hot enough to boil water, I only half agree. Yes it does boil water. If I want to make hard boiled eggs, I always use the largest burner and keep a lid on the pot until it boils. takes 25-30 minutes to come to a boil. The smaller burner works fine for heating up canned goods. I keep it on top of a microwave stand, but usually put a metal tray underneath it when using, to keep the wooden stand from getting too hot. It is attractive and looks nice in my kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

Excellent value

12/09/2010
By ,
Southern Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hot plate meets all my needs and I'm really very pleased with it. Some people have complained about water taking too long to boil, but that's a non-issue - the water boils fast enough for me! I'm also pleased that the blue light that indicates it's plugged in serves as a safety feature, reminding me to unplug it when not in use. I highly recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GE Dual Burner Hot Plate

Does Not Work for General Cooking, OK for Buffet

11/30/2010
By ,
rochester
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CONS: If your intention is to cook with it, it is underpowered from my experience. I tried boiling 5 cups of water on the large burner in a copper bottom stainless steel pan. After 15 minutes it showed bubbles but still had not come to a full boil. I tried 3 cups on the small burner and in 15 minutes it still had not boiled. This appliance would likely be OK as a warming device for a buffet or for heating a can of soup but it is not adequate for cooking. The picture on the box shows a pot of spaghetti ready to be made on the large burner and a pan of sauce on the other. Forget that. The entire appliance gets very hot so you have to be careful. PROs: It is very attractive with 2 burner lights and a hot surface light and seems sturdy and well built. 2 year warranty with return to Walmart if it breaks. It may be that another type of pan would work better with it but I did not try. I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 133 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next