Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE GE 4-Slice Toaster

GE GE 4-Slice Toaster

A good breakfast is a healthy way to start a day. But in all the hustle and bustle of getting ready for work, we often don't take the time to prepare breakfast. You can toast four thick slices of bread at a time using this bread toaster. It's self-centering guide helps hold the bread slices in the right position for even toasting. There are seven browning options offered in this four-slice bread toaster, so you can toast the bread exactly the way you like it. This toaster includes function buttons for reheating and defrosting from frozen . This bread toaster comes with a slide-out crumb tray that prevents crumbs from falling on the kitchen counter. The three-foot power cord lets you move it around on the counter with ease. Non-marking rubber feet ensure that no scratches are left on your countertop. Attractive styling, four large toasting slots, durable construction, and consistent toasting make this four-slice toaster a good addition to anyone's kitchen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.092 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation78%51 out of 65reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 31 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE 4-Slice Toaster

Bread Doesn't Fit ???

06/01/2010
By ,
Pa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While this may be an attractive looking appliance and have nice features, I am surprised that something as simple as being able to accommodate an average sized slice of bread was overlooked when designing it. If you push down on the bread slice to try and make it fit, good luck getting it back out ~ So remember to bring your tape measure to the market when buying your bread.
When speaking with G.E. to offer them some customer feedback, they said they were not aware of that and had not received and complaints about it. However 3 out of 21 reviews here complain of it ~
I was told by G.E. I could return it even without my receipt and original packaging, but another reviewer here said they wouldn't take it back under those conditions. We'll see
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GE 4-Slice Toaster

Best Deal !!

02/06/2010
By ,
Orange Park, FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually went "out" and looked at toasters before I bought this one. It has all of the features that you find on the ones costing fifty or more dollars. This is not the cheapest game in town for a toaster ,but you get alot for your money. This toaster is made for walmart by GE so dont bother trying to get it cheaper somewhere else. It has a two year warranty through walmart, BUT !! you have to keep the box and BOTH!! of the reciepts to take it back for a new one. Two weeks of constant use and so far so good!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GE 4-Slice Toaster

THIS is the one!

01/05/2010
By ,
Lakin, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the years we have purchased many brands of toasters and had yet to find one that met my expectations...like toasting on both sides!! I told my husband that I was going to go to Wal-Mart, put every toaster I could find, get a loaf of bread and go to the service desk and just start making toast until I found the right one!! When I saw this one online, I liked the way it looked so decided to try it. It's THE one!! We love it and would recommend it to everyone. Can't go wrong with this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GE 4-Slice Toaster
12/27/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This toaster is very nice looking and matches with my coffee pot perfectly. My main disappointment from this piece of equipment is that the slots for bread are not long enough for a standard piece of bread. I have to put the bread in horizontally and then flip the bread to toast the other side. The bread gets too toasted in the middle. I do like that the toaster toasts very quickly and evenly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GE 4-Slice Toaster

Works Good

03/08/2011
By ,
Cleveland, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this for our camper, so we use it mainly on weekends during the summer. It toasts evenly, and the cancel function is nice in case of overbrowning. We normally use a wheat bread, which is wider than most common white breads, so it does not fit in the slot correctly. I have no problem turning the bread on its side and toasting that way. This is the reason it doesn't get 5 stars. It does a fine job for what it is intended for the price. Nice appearance also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GE 4-Slice Toaster

Great product

05/28/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this toaster for about 6 months
and during that time it has given pretty
much a flawless performance. I had to
do a few experiments before I found the
perfect toast setting. Unit is easy to keep
clean and I like that you can remove the crumb
trays for easy clean up. I like that you can toast
bagels or use the reheat option. Very good product
for what I consider to be a reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GE 4-Slice Toaster

GOOD TOAST - 2 CONS!

02/25/2010
By ,
Buffalo, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use this toaster for my job demoing, 3 days/week, about 5-7 hours/day. So I guess I give it a lot of use! It makes great toast, is lightweight, has wide slots, great size, easy to clean crumb trays, and the cancel button is a nice feature.
The negatives are that the toast doesn't pop up high enough.....I noticed if you lift the toast presser bar up a bit, it helps, but if the bread is smaller, you really need wood/silicone tongs [which I have] to get the toast out - something that's not that big a deal to me. However, the cord length is another con, being pretty short in length - the toaster has to be fairly close to the outlet. I frequently HAVE to use an extension while in my stores, but I don't think the average person wouldrelish that idea. Except for those two points.........I still love it for realiable toasting @ a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GE 4-Slice Toaster

Great if all you eat is wonderbread

03/31/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
You would assume that GE would be able to make a good toaster since they are a global technology company. You would also assume that when a company makes a toaster they would actually test it using different sizes of bread.
But you know what assuming does....
This toaster works, but unless all you eat is wonderbread it might not fit your bread. Even wonderbread barely fits in this toaster if it is standing upright. And if you buy bread that is in a loaf larger than wonderbread be prepared to cut off the edges or flip it a couple times to get the whole surface toasted.
I should have brought some bread with me when I was toaster shopping.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GE 4-Slice Toaster

Great & inexpensive

03/14/2010
By ,
Monroe, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a toaster with 4 slices. I looked & looked. I found a couple of what I wanted, but the prices on the other were too high. Wal-Mart's price was almost too cheap, which is something I love! If it wasn't good, I wouldn't have lost that much, I ordered it & it is great! I use it every morning. Thank you Wal-Mart!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GE 4-Slice Toaster

The perfect toaster

09/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This toaster works amazingly for everything I could possibly use it for. I absolutely love the frozen feature, as it works well for when you have to break out a loaf of frozen bread or using for waffles, toaster streudel, etc. It looks great and is a steal for the price. As for everyone's complaint I have found that you can put a 'normal' sized piece of bread, orowheat etc, with a minor bit of pressing on the long sides, with no issue.
I loved this toaster so much that when my boyfriend and I broke up and I moved out, I bought the same model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GE 4-Slice Toaster

I think it's great!

06/24/2012
By ,
athens ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the reviews, I was hesitant to purchase this toaster. I was looking for a 4 slice stainless steel inexpensive toaster and figured I would give it a try. If it did not meet my needs I would simply return it. Well, I really like it. It cooks my bagels just the way I like it and my toast. I read the instruction pamphlet first, as you should with all purchases, and checked for problems that others have complained about. I wondered what these people were talking about. This is a simple toaster which, fortunately, I got my settings right on the first try. Was I lucky? Maybe, or maybe I don't expect too much from disposable products which is what "everything" is these days. Give it a try and if you don't like it, return it. I say good going GE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GE 4-Slice Toaster

Great toaster

03/20/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great toaster. I like the way it helps you get the toast or muffin out without having to unplug the toaster and get a wooden spoon. It toasts great. I like the button you can push to stop toasting to check it, but once you get the setting right it is always the same. Easy to get crumbs out. My husband bought this about 6 months ago and no problems. I love it. Finally a product that is worth buying. Thanks GE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GE 4-Slice Toaster

Very disappointing.

02/25/2011
By ,
Chesnee, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this needing a toaster with a bagel feature and the ability to toast 4 pieces at once. It looks to be a great toaster but the very first time I used it, the handle on one side broke. Come on, surely GE can make a handle that last. It does seem to have some good features for the price, but the sorry craftsmanship is a killer. It will be returned today and I won't be buying another GE product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GE 4-Slice Toaster

Great toaster

07/26/2011
By ,
Cincinnati
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good toaster, makes toast perfectly every time, easy to clean. Very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GE 4-Slice Toaster

English muffins, yes. Toast, no.

02/16/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This toaster does not have big enough slots for actual bread. We buy Nature's Own whole wheat bread and it will not fit in the slots. If all you buy is skinny white sunbeam, have at it. Or if all you toast are English muffins, this is the toaster for you. But if you want to toast a slice of BREAD, it will not fit. I am taking it back. Tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GE 4-Slice Toaster

Wonderful product

02/24/2010
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this GE toaster for my husband for christmas 09 and he loves it! He uses it all the time. The toaster is so easy to clean with the trays underneath you don't have to shake it very much to get the crumbs out of the bottom of toaster and you don't touch the coils when you shake it. That's good so you don't ruin the coils in which I like, the toaster will last longer that way. I wish I would got this earlier very nice toaster no problems with it. The toaster works like a charm :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GE 4-Slice Toaster

Love this toaster!

06/17/2012
By ,
Beautiful MidWest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First and foremost, having several children, it is nice to be able to toast more than 2 slices of bread at one time. Secondly, I LOVE the bagel option. We love bagels, and are always cooking them. I have always had single toasters, that wouldn't allow for toasting of bagels (holes too skinny), much less have a bagel option. This one does, and it's perfect! It is a very solid, yet attractive toaster as well.
IF I must list something that I don't care for about it, which is super minor, is that once you put something in, such as a bagel or whatever, you have to let it run it's course. I haven't tried to force the handles up while it's cooking but I have lifted carefully and they are down for the count. BUT nothing has yet to burn in this toaster, while I was always burning bread and other items in all past toasters that I have owned. (the only reason I even tried to lift the handles a few times, was because I was in a hurry, and for no other reason other than me being impatient, from starting cooking bagels or toast right before running out the door).
I love that it is sterling, it matches all the other items in my house, including my new sterling toaster oven that we use for pizzas, etc.
Definitely would recommend. I am so glad I purchased this great toaster. :D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EastCoast
About popping the bagels up!
Posted 08/07/2012
If you read the Q&A, one of the questions was how to get the bread to pop up early. Apparently there is a button on your toaster that lights up blue and looks like a piece of toast, and if you push it, your bread pops up. Just thought I'd let you know!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for GE 4-Slice Toaster

Lasted One Year and One Day

05/28/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Love the appearance, the features and the price. HOWEVER, one year and one day later, the middle element on one side is shot, leaving us unable to toast more than 2 slices at a time. Either we toast only two at a time or we have two perfectly toasted and two toasted on only one side. Not what we expected for the price and from GE.
Prior to this problem, we were very happy with the purchase. No problem with uneven browning and rarely found it too short to accommodate our bread/bagels/muffins.
Needless to say, no warranties carry past a year. Prior toasters of various brands and prices have usually performed well for 8-10 years and have routinely been replaced due to antiquity rather than non-performance. Is the toaster destined to become just another short-term, disposable small appliance?
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GE 4-Slice Toaster

Toaster Review

01/25/2010
By ,
Doerun, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This toaster works well for our uses, which are for toast and frozen hamburger buns. It heats quickly and well. It doesn't feel as "sturdy" as I would expect, but I'm hoping it will hold up for a while. We don't use it every day, either.
WalMart certainly didn't waste any packaging materials, though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GE 4-Slice Toaster
06/08/2010
By ,
Palmyra Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is very easy to use no special upgrades. I find that the less bells and whistles thers are the better the thing works. Would recommend this product to the Pope.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next