Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Make the most of small spaces with the Contempo futon. Both versatile and stylish, this comfortable charcoal Mainstays sofa bed changes from a sofa to a sleeper in minutes. Perfect for lounging, entertaining and sleeping.
Average Customer Rating:
3.991 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(1762 Reviews) 1529
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
746
4 stars
614
3 stars
173
2 stars
99
1 star
130
Customer Recommendation83%1,462 out of 1,760reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
746
4 stars
614
3 stars
173
2 stars
99
1 star
130
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Great versatile futon for the price!

09/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read many reviews about how uncomfortable these futons are, which made me skeptical about the purchase. After deciding to purchase one for myself I couldn't be happier. The adjustable sides free up a lot of space (which is essential when confined to a small dorm) and can also be adjusted down for extra seating. The futon itself is as comfortable as one would need (padded enough for sleeping and ideal for sitting) and with both sides down can seat up to four. I'm assuming the majority of those who buy this futon are satisfied and don't don't bother to leave reviews, leaving the select few who are unhappy to give the futon a bad overall rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Big guy great value.

09/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a grad student that recently moved to a new apartment for only a year and being a big guy (6'1" 250 lbs) I was wary of buying cheap furniture. I found this for $130 shipped to my door. The color is not bad, the cushions are a little thin but comfortable. For $130 i can't really complain. Setup was a breeze. Literally, 8 screws to attach the two sides together via 2 metal bars that slide between the frame underneath and then 2 screws for each leg. The futon itself is very light so setup took 10 minutes tops from opening it to sitting on it.
the backs fold up and down. has several positions, very comfy. The arms can fold up and down too. This is probably my favorite feature. I can adjust the armrests to whatever i like. When I have it in bed-mode i can adjust the armrest to my liking to act as a pillow. its fairly comfy for the price. i can feel the metal bars through the cushions, but if you move slightly over, you'll be fine. I can study on here for hours.
when in bed mode, it is long enough for me to lie on with my feet hanging off a little. with the arms folded up, the futon is about the size of a love seat, can only seat 2 people.
frame feels pretty solid. i don't feel any flexing or anything to worry me. another good feature is that in the back of the back-rests there are legs that can come out to give extra support for the futon while in bed-mode. great idea! it folds away and the backing zips up so you won't know it's there.
I would NOT recommend this as a bed every night as you can definitely feel the metal frame through the cushion. I wouldn't recommend it for greater than 2 people at a time. I don't know how sturdy the frame really is for >1 person as I live by myself. obviously don't jump on it. it is rated for 300 lbs.
overall, great value for $130 and I would definitely recommend this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

nice buy

09/11/2014
By ,
sandy springs, ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the futon sofa bed, the cushions could have been a little thicker, but overall it's comfortable for the price, I really appreciate the speedy delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

works out great in my office

09/10/2014
By ,
Dallas,tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for a good price. The shipping was free at the time which really helped.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Great futon for the value

09/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this futon for my son to bring to college. We brought it to college in the box and put it together with ease, in his dorm room. Very easy instructions and it comes with everything you need to put it together. It fits very nicely under his lofted bed. He states that it is very comfortable, as he uses for watching TV/gaming and slept on it once. It has support legs to use when you fold it out for a bed. We have only had for a few weeks, so not sure yet on the wearability.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Works for me

09/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is actually quite soft for how thin it is. It's not super comfortable because there are no fewer than 4 places where a folding part in the construction creates a gap in the mattress, but it's good enough for a night or two at a time and it looks pretty cool as a couch. You kind of have to fold up the "arms" to keep from sitting on the really uncomfortable hinges; I think it looks a little weird, but it is nice to be able to lean into the side as if you were on an actual couch. If it holds up, it'll hopefully be a fine couch/guest bed substitute for a couple of years and a great value.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

DO NOT BUY!

09/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor futon. Broke the first day.Not comfortable to sit in much less to sleep. Payed $150.00 and wouldn't pay $10.00 to buy it again!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Not that quality

09/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When look at this item in the website it's look brand new and very nice fabric
But it's in real definitely not, the fabric is not soft it's acceptable also if your weight above 100k absolutely it's gonna broken when stay on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Not comfortable at all

09/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
very easy to put together...... BUT, absolutely no cushioning effect. I seat down or lay and I can feel the steel beams thru the cushion. Returning it as we speak.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

helpful futon

09/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
comfort and nice futon
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

It is what it is

09/02/2014
By ,
Brooklyn NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My new apartment has a really narrow stairwell
and this couch fits through it because it comes unassembled.
It looks great and works for now, because I just moved and I don't have a lot of extra dough to buy a really nice couch.
I mean for 100 bucks I shouldn't complain, but it arrived with the back torn, which was a bummer.
When you sit on it the material is very thin so you can feel the metal structure underneath.
If someone ever sleeps on it, I'm going to get an extra mattress pad or foam pad for it.
I wish this couch was a comfortable as it looks.
I don't understand why someone would design and build a couch that isn't comfortable.
its like building a plane with no wings or a car with no wheels. It just doesn't make sense to me.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Ok for the price

08/31/2014
By ,
Wausau, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You get what you pay for. Easy to assemble and fine for a extra bed in my spare room. Not very comfortable. I was very disappointed in the color. I ordered the chocolate and it's the color of something brown that was left out in the sun making it look like a faded plum color. Should have ordered the black.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Cheap and nice but not super comfy

08/28/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very easy to set up. It looked more comfortable on the picture than what it actually is but you get what you pay for. I wanted a super cheap couch because I don't spend much time on it anyway. You can't beat the price. Happy about my purchase overall but if you look for a comfy couch, definitely get another one. Haven't tried to sleep on it yet...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

nice futon

08/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great futon for the price! easy set up!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

College student who needed some furniture

08/25/2014
By ,
Amherst, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read a lot of the reviews before I went a purchased the futon. To my surprise it actually is pretty comfy. I'm 5'6 and I can lay across it with my feet almost at the edge so that could be problematic for taller people. The kilck klack system is cool. I have had it for less than week and it has been pretty great so far. I sit on it everyday and the cushion is still in the shape from when I first took it out the box. I think its a great investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Great value

08/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Disappointed

08/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really wanted to like this futon but the mattress is only slightly more than 3 inches thick and not very comfortable. Since the mattress is attached to the frame we wouldn't be able to upgrade it without buying the entire futon. I am returning this product and starting a new search.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Easy to assemble, seems sturdy.

08/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble, seems sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Very easy setup, perfect for dorm

08/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a great product for a college dorm room. We assembled in a cramp place. Everything needed was included. Unsure how long it will actually survive with daily use. Would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Good futon

08/22/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good futon for the price. Took longer to put together than expected. Looks great. Decent size. Cushion could be a little thicker.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 1,530 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  77 Next