Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Make the most of small spaces with the Contempo futon. Both versatile and stylish, this comfortable charcoal Mainstays sofa bed changes from a sofa to a sleeper in minutes. Perfect for lounging, entertaining and sleeping.
Average Customer Rating:
3.989 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(1772 Reviews) 1539
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
748
4 stars
619
3 stars
174
2 stars
100
1 star
131
Customer Recommendation83%1,469 out of 1,770reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
748
4 stars
619
3 stars
174
2 stars
100
1 star
131
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Need more foam

09/16/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I feel in some area in the sofa by Iron columns
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Looks nice, so uncomfortable

09/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great fit for small apartment, looks nice....but is the most uncomfortable thing I have ever sat on. Virtually no padding, you can feel every single bar/rod.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Tremendous Value

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For less than $150, you can't ask for much more. It's comfortable where there isn't a bar. The bars are located where the armrests come up, so they won't be a problem if the armrests are in use. Very easy to change positions. I use it in my college dorm, and it fits nicely and provides a place to sleep an extra person and to sit and watch tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Futon

09/13/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's a cheap futon, that if you don't want to spend a lot of money this would be a piece to look into. But if you are looking for something to last you a long time you may wanna look elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

great for a small dorm

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son uses in his dorm. He loves.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

I bought two... :)

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these to place in my 16.5 year old son's bedroom to replace his full size bed. He loves them because of their flexibility, how much they opened up his floor space. He often has several friends over to play xbox or watch movies on the weekends, and these instantly transform his bedroom into hangout space for multiple teens. We set them up against two adjoining walls, leaving one down as his bed, and the other as his couch. When he has company, by simply removing his sheet (and the extra padding we put down on the one he's using as a bed), he has two couches. I highly recommend these (with the extra for sleeping -- such as a thin air mattress or an eggshell mattress topper) if you have a teenager that likes to entertain and you live in a relatively small space, such as an apartment or condo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Just the right size!

09/13/2014
By ,
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, Good price, color, size. Very easy to assemble for one person.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Can't beat it for the price

09/13/2014
By ,
california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a futon for our guest room. I looked everywhere and didn't really like the look of most of them. I'm not a college student or anything so I wanted something that looked relatively like a couch but without paying a bunch of money for one. It's only going to be used once a year as a bed.
I liked this model because the sides can click up to 'arms' and it looks like a 60s sofa. It doesn't just look like a big bench, it has some style to it!
I found this one on sale and picked it out in the chocolate color.
It shipped slower than it said but shipping was free, can't complain having this delivered right to my door.
Set up was very easy, done in about 30-40 minutes. No special tools were required, it comes with one of those little wrenches and that'll do it.
The color is very nice and soft brown. The material is really soft and comfy.
So far it is very comfy as a couch. I've tested it briefly as a bed and feels firm and comfortable. It would need sheets of course because it has creases and things that may not be super comfy all night long.
I really like this futon and would recommend it to anyone looking for a lower priced model that still has some style
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Good product but... Missing parts

09/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product was good however I ordered a black futon and got a grey one. Also to top it all off it was missing 2 major parts to hold the two sides of the futon together. I had to go buy my own 3/4inch bar and cut it in half to put the rest of the futon together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Damaged

09/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well the item as a whole is exactly what i expected, but the cushion is torn and one of the screws was striped out on the preassembled part! other than that is is prefect!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Great versatile futon for the price!

09/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read many reviews about how uncomfortable these futons are, which made me skeptical about the purchase. After deciding to purchase one for myself I couldn't be happier. The adjustable sides free up a lot of space (which is essential when confined to a small dorm) and can also be adjusted down for extra seating. The futon itself is as comfortable as one would need (padded enough for sleeping and ideal for sitting) and with both sides down can seat up to four. I'm assuming the majority of those who buy this futon are satisfied and don't don't bother to leave reviews, leaving the select few who are unhappy to give the futon a bad overall rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Big guy great value.

09/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a grad student that recently moved to a new apartment for only a year and being a big guy (6'1" 250 lbs) I was wary of buying cheap furniture. I found this for $130 shipped to my door. The color is not bad, the cushions are a little thin but comfortable. For $130 i can't really complain. Setup was a breeze. Literally, 8 screws to attach the two sides together via 2 metal bars that slide between the frame underneath and then 2 screws for each leg. The futon itself is very light so setup took 10 minutes tops from opening it to sitting on it.
the backs fold up and down. has several positions, very comfy. The arms can fold up and down too. This is probably my favorite feature. I can adjust the armrests to whatever i like. When I have it in bed-mode i can adjust the armrest to my liking to act as a pillow. its fairly comfy for the price. i can feel the metal bars through the cushions, but if you move slightly over, you'll be fine. I can study on here for hours.
when in bed mode, it is long enough for me to lie on with my feet hanging off a little. with the arms folded up, the futon is about the size of a love seat, can only seat 2 people.
frame feels pretty solid. i don't feel any flexing or anything to worry me. another good feature is that in the back of the back-rests there are legs that can come out to give extra support for the futon while in bed-mode. great idea! it folds away and the backing zips up so you won't know it's there.
I would NOT recommend this as a bed every night as you can definitely feel the metal frame through the cushion. I wouldn't recommend it for greater than 2 people at a time. I don't know how sturdy the frame really is for >1 person as I live by myself. obviously don't jump on it. it is rated for 300 lbs.
overall, great value for $130 and I would definitely recommend this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

nice buy

09/11/2014
By ,
sandy springs, ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the futon sofa bed, the cushions could have been a little thicker, but overall it's comfortable for the price, I really appreciate the speedy delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

works out great in my office

09/10/2014
By ,
Dallas,tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for a good price. The shipping was free at the time which really helped.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Great futon for the value

09/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this futon for my son to bring to college. We brought it to college in the box and put it together with ease, in his dorm room. Very easy instructions and it comes with everything you need to put it together. It fits very nicely under his lofted bed. He states that it is very comfortable, as he uses for watching TV/gaming and slept on it once. It has support legs to use when you fold it out for a bed. We have only had for a few weeks, so not sure yet on the wearability.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Works for me

09/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is actually quite soft for how thin it is. It's not super comfortable because there are no fewer than 4 places where a folding part in the construction creates a gap in the mattress, but it's good enough for a night or two at a time and it looks pretty cool as a couch. You kind of have to fold up the "arms" to keep from sitting on the really uncomfortable hinges; I think it looks a little weird, but it is nice to be able to lean into the side as if you were on an actual couch. If it holds up, it'll hopefully be a fine couch/guest bed substitute for a couple of years and a great value.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

DO NOT BUY!

09/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor futon. Broke the first day.Not comfortable to sit in much less to sleep. Payed $150.00 and wouldn't pay $10.00 to buy it again!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Not that quality

09/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When look at this item in the website it's look brand new and very nice fabric
But it's in real definitely not, the fabric is not soft it's acceptable also if your weight above 100k absolutely it's gonna broken when stay on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Not comfortable at all

09/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
very easy to put together...... BUT, absolutely no cushioning effect. I seat down or lay and I can feel the steel beams thru the cushion. Returning it as we speak.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

helpful futon

09/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
comfort and nice futon
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 1,540 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  77 Next