Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Make the most of small spaces with the Contempo futon. Both versatile and stylish, this comfortable charcoal Mainstays sofa bed changes from a sofa to a sleeper in minutes. Perfect for lounging, entertaining and sleeping.
Average Customer Rating:
4.076 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
37
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation86%90 out of 105reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
37
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Very impressed

01/17/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exceeded my expectations. Easy to assemble but very sturdy. Attractive piece of furniture. Microfiber soft and comfortable - looks much classier than I thought it would. I like that the arms and back are adjustable. It completely changes the look. Elevate the arms a little and add some throw pillows and it looks like a "real" couch! Though I'm 99% certain it could sleep two adults without collapsing it isn't quite queen sized so it might not be the most comfortable. Still a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 42 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Great Futon

01/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to be used in my office/guest room. It doesn't get daily use, but is comfortable to sit on. I've had several guests stay overnight, who said that it was pretty comfortable for a futon, though you might consider getting a fluffy mattress top for extra comfort. It's nice that it is actually a full size cot when it is open. The gray color is not unattractive, but I would have preferred to get the red one, which was unavailable at the time. All said, a very good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 43 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Great Buy.

07/29/2010
By ,
Saxton, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Setup was very easy. It took me about 20 minutes to put it together by myself, only having to put in 8 screws. The futon is a lot more sturdy than I had imagined; I figured since it was rather small, it would move around or rock back and forth or something when sat on, but when you sit down it's very solid and stable feeling. It looks very nice and is very comfortable. I use this futon every day during the day, and I sleep on it. I have no problems at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 44 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

great for us

01/09/2011
By ,
Upper Penninsula Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed something for my 18 yr old son's room. He was returning from basic training and his bed had broke. It is small enough for the room to be spacious without clutter. Great for sleeping on and playing video games as a couch. My 11 yr old son has been sleeping on it for 5 mnths and really likes it. My son has moved out and took it for his guest room. I now am being asked to buy another for the younger son for his room. It is a great buy for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 45 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Excellent Buy

08/16/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The futon is firm, yet comfortable (at least to my guests and me). I use it every few days (to sit/lay on as I read) and have napped on it a couple times. I had an overnight guest sleep on it (2 nights), and while I forgot to survey him on his sleeping experience, there were neither complaints nor alternate sleeping arrangements requested :) It looks just like the picture. It was a perfect solution to our space and budget limitations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 46 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Great for the price

12/31/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was apprehensive about this product, pictures always looks good in ads. After receiving this futon I was delighted. It was easy to put together only took about 30mins. Hardest part was getting it out of the box. It is stable and I have sat on it for long periods and slept on it for a few weeks and have had no complaints. I was very impressed so I purchased another one. Can't beat it for the price. This would be great for anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 47 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Very Cool Futon!

04/04/2011
By ,
Long Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never ordered a futon on-line before, I needed a small couch/bed for my office and this is perfect! Great color, low profile and amazing price. The shipping was very cheap as well. I received it with in about a week. I would buy another one if I needed it. The color is nice too. A bit lighter gray than in the photo. Easy to set up, I got everything fixed up with in about a 1/2 hour alone. Pretty simple.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 48 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

It's just OK

02/16/2011
By ,
Orlando
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I think this product is worth about $150 and not the $179 I paid. It's just an OK futon. Nothing special about it. I'm using it for a guest room so won't be used much but is comfortable and sturdy enough. I wouldn't want to sleep on it every night but it's OK for the occasional guest. It's a much lighter grey than i would have liked. Kinda wish i would have gotten the black one instead.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 49 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Contempo Futon Sofa Bed

06/12/2011
By ,
Jersey,New Jersey
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted something that I can use as Bed as well as a sofa and the futon meet the expectation. However according to my experience, it is not built for heavy weight people (>=80Kilograms/175 lbs) as it is not as strong as i expected. It is perfect for kids under 12 years, that can be placed in their room. It is durable if you are not heavy weighted person.I hope it is helpful.Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 50 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Use it every day and it's really comfortable.

06/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this sofa because I needed something that was both in my budget but also looks good. And I got both in this futon. It was a breeze to assembly, its comfortable to sit on and it can support the weight of two people when in bed mode. I love the color its dark enough that it can pretty much match with anything. And the price just can't be beat I am totally satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 51 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Inexpensive Short Term Fix

08/03/2010
By ,
East Haven, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought for adult son to use while visiting. Wish I'd gotten one with a thicken cushion. Upper Right corner on the back was torn on arrival but for the price I decided not to complain. Surprisingly comfy to sit on, sleep on but still wish I had gotten thicker cushion for higher price...son though is very happy to not be sleeping on the floor. Fits nicely in apt. living room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 52 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

wow this was bad

01/17/2011
By ,
indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Well all the parts was there. Other than that it is very uncomfortable {bed or couch}! the sections are around an inch off {the back is an inch higher on one side the seat on the other. stay off when layed down as a bed} tried to contact the manufactor but 15 days latter no reply! stay away from this junk!!!!! can't wait till the next one i ordered gets here!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 53 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Modern, affordable, love it!

04/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this in Charcoal which turned out to be a nice color that blends well with every decor. I really enjoy the folding sides and the ability to flaten easily. This is a great piece for an office or a spare room and I would absolutely recommend it! Note - when adjusting the futon, the clicking reminds me of a folding lawn chair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 54 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

just what I needed

03/16/2010
By ,
Wynantskill, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just needed something I could nap on when needed and have as backup guest bed when my daughter comes to visit. I wanted something to sit on in my "dressing room" as well. This fits the bill perfectly. It was easy to assemble mostly by myself - only needed an extra hand for about 5 minutes. Very nice!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 55 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Good product for the money

02/21/2011
By ,
Athens, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading others' reviews, I went ahead with my purchase of this product. It is a great value for the money. It was purchased for a kids room for tv watching and gaming. It also opens out into a good size bed for temporary sleeping. The assembly was quick and easy. I would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 56 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Great value

07/02/2010
By ,
Putnam Valley, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to assemble, lightweight and comfortable to sleep on (as per my 16 yr old granddaughter). She has been sleeping on it for a week now. It is lower to the floor than I would like, but that is the only fault I have with it. The charcoal color is very nice and you can't beat the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 57 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

A good "transformer"!

10/16/2010
By ,
Wilmington, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We recently moved to a coastal area, and in anticipation of many overnight guests, we purchased this futon. The charcoal gray is a beautiful shade, more of a medium gray. It sits well and is cute with the flip-up arms. I was very pleased with the quality for the price. I would repurchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 58 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Really Like This Product!

01/28/2011
By ,
Orange Park, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to use mostly as a couch. My husband and I really like the fact that we can adjust the back on my side and his separately because he likes to sit up straight and I prefer to recline a bit. We have had it about 2 weeks and use it daily. Really like it. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 59 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

you get what you pay for

01/08/2011
By ,
Atlanta GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The description is right on. It folds down to a full bed. The material is a feax suede, if you're into that kind of thing. Sitting on it is a weird angle for tall people, it feels like you might slide onto the floor. My advice, go ahead and get the metal frame one.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 60 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Good value for the money

05/16/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you don't need a futon that's going to get constant use, this one should work just fine. I've only had for a week, but the few times I used it, it was comfortable. If you have kids, I wouldn't let them jump on it. Looks good and will do the job I need it to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
41-60 of 97 total reviews