Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Make the most of small spaces with the Contempo futon. Both versatile and stylish, this comfortable charcoal Mainstays sofa bed changes from a sofa to a sleeper in minutes. Perfect for lounging, entertaining and sleeping.
Average Customer Rating:
3.997 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(1731 Reviews) 1498
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
738
4 stars
602
3 stars
166
2 stars
97
1 star
128
Customer Recommendation83%1,439 out of 1,729reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
738
4 stars
602
3 stars
166
2 stars
97
1 star
128
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Nice and Steady

08/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Package came home before time and the box was in little bad condition but everything good inside. very easy to assemble. look stylish in the living room. My only concern is the velvet kind of material was little dirty looking when we first opened it and once we clean with the rags and covered with the bad sheet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Good Value

08/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The sofa arrived several days early in good condition. It is just as described and meets the needs of the purpose we bought it for. It sits a little low for a sofa but makes a nice firm bed. We might get some foam to place on top for guests who don't like the firmness. Overall it is a good value at the low price we paid and should last a long time if not abused or used excessively.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

very good

08/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The futon arrived in good condition within a week after I ordered it. It was easy to set up and the dark brown color is beautiful. We like all the different sitting options of this futon and slept a few times on the bed already. The only concern I have is that it does not appear to be very durable and might not last for too long. But it does the job for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Liked it so much, I ordered a second one

08/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed a futon for a spare room. We were impressed with the product so much that we ordered a second one. Both of them were on special when we got them. I do NOT know how well it will wear -- but it is for an extra room that gets used only when guests come at holidays. The mechanism works great and looks great too (ordered the grey color). I just am not sure about the durability. Also, the company is Canadian -- but the product is from China. FYI. Assembly was VERY easy -- literally just 16 bolts (2 on each leg and 8 to connect the halves together).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Not great for long use.

08/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The cushion was way to thin and you could feel the bars underneath.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Love it!

08/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a good price and an awesome product! Works perfect
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Excellent value, looks great!

08/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We really like this futon. Great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Higher Expectations

08/03/2014
By ,
West Bend, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This futon was not expensive but I had higher expectations for the price I paid. It is not comfortable to sit on at all. I can feel the springs under me because there is little padding to cover them. It also sits so low to the ground that it is difficult to get on and off it. It is not difficult to set up and it changes to a bed very easily. In the end, the truth is I now wish I had spent the extra money for the click-clack model because I have sat on them and slept on them and they are way more comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

More like a couch

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVED this futon! I bought it in charcoal and it was delivered in 3-4 days. It was much more than I imagined it would be for the price that I paid. It is the main piece in my new sitting room and is so comfortable and adorable. I will probably get another one for my bedroom!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Very useful product for women n thin men

08/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The sofa is the best comfy product i ever bought and what more its free shiping from wallmart best compay they even send it to me early befor the due dates ❤️I just love this sofa alot when i want to study i just adjust it 3 position to fit my back or in reading pisiton or as adisck position. its too easy to return it back n sleep in comfy way . Just check if your trying to buy it as bed as well befor buying it if your not fat or so tall because its only suits thin bodies to feel comfy to sleep on it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Not comfortable

07/30/2014
By ,
Wendell, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The mattress is rather thin, and when you lay on it, you can feel the bars. I will be taking this back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Easy and Nice!

07/30/2014
By ,
Port Hope, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is NOT fine furniture. It is a futon sofa sleeper. It is a very nice futon sofa sleeper.
It arrived at the house in a huge, heavy box. I was a little worried about it, because it was going upstairs. But the box opened to reveal two halves and separate boxes for legs and hardware. It was easy for this 65-year-old to get the parts upstairs. Assembly was simple and easy. All the needed tools and parts were included. It took about 20 minutes from opening the box to flipping the completed sofa onto its feet.
Color me well-satisfied!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Meh...

07/28/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read the reviews and guess I was expecting more and got less. It's cute, I got the red one. It's big enough to sleep on. But, hard as a rock! Have to put a down comforter down for some level of comfort. Might as well have my guests sleep on the floor...and make sure it's up against the wall or it can tip over mid-sleep! (This was awkward for my friend)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Good for tv viewing with side arm elevation.

07/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Red is more orange red. Very low to the ground. Good for guests.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Futon

07/24/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this item for a teenager to use for sleep overs, it's much smaller and far less sturdy then it appeared it the pictures
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

easy set up, comfortable

07/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this bed for extra bedroom- sleepovers-etc- set it up in 20 minutes easily. I expected bed to be very uncomfortable but it really isnt bad- not a temperapedic but you can get a good night sleep on it. When not using for a bed- looks nice as futon/couch.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Nice looking futon - could have more cushion

07/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The futon looks exactly how I expected. Nice rich color, attractive design. Set-up was a breeze as well. The features are nice too - the arms and the ease of making it a bed. My only improvement would be the thickness of it. Particularly when you sit on a part that has metal right beneath it, you definitely feel it. Other than that though, it's quite nice. For an occasional piece, it meets our needs - especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

easy to put together. great color. love it.

07/20/2014
By ,
New Hampshire
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the money this is a great futon/couch. The red is nice. It looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

its a single bed not a double

07/20/2014
By ,
hesperia mi,
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
single bed no support for the back side when down, like every day bed you've ever slept on.You can feel the frame though the rather thin padding. howeve,r it fits the need I had for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Good for a basement play room

07/17/2014
By ,
somewhere in MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Futon arrived quickly. Very simple and easy to put together(~10 min). Color, material, and legs look lush, modern and attractive. The clicking mechanism is outstanding. Was surprised to see the arms fold up like arms to a couch-scored a bonus! We enjoy that. The only downside is the actual cushioning padding material. It is hard and thin. Feels very cheap, like it's not going to last. Not a comfortable couch to sit on. My 5' 8" 14yr old son slept on it one night and didn't seem to mind! But, down in the finished basement for the children(4), it's an outstanding price, look, and functionality. We are very happy with this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 1,499 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  75 Next