Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber

Make the most of small spaces with the Contempo futon. Both versatile and stylish, this comfortable charcoal Mainstays sofa bed changes from a sofa to a sleeper in minutes. Perfect for lounging, entertaining and sleeping.
Average Customer Rating:
3.968 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(1814 Reviews) 1581
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
760
4 stars
627
3 stars
178
2 stars
107
1 star
142
Customer Recommendation82%1,492 out of 1,812reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
760
4 stars
627
3 stars
178
2 stars
107
1 star
142
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Red Microfiber.

Poor Quality, not built to last

12/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We recently moved into a much smaller home & had to downsize; my son saw this item online & decided it was just what he wanted for his new room. The click clack mechanism that allows the bed to become a couch broke within a month, springs started popping up within a few months & then eventually a bar broke from one of the side click clack mechanisms snapped digging into his back when he slept, making it no longer usable. He only owned the futon for 5 months! If I could upload pictures I would.. We did use the Manufacturers warranty & ultimately did receive a full refund. However we were greatly disappointed & in the meantime my son had to sleep on the floor.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 42 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Red Microfiber.

Poor quality

12/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This sofa has a great price but because of the price, you get what you pay for. I've this sofa in black for a year and a half. It worked perfectly for a few months then the sofa became flat and now is uncomfortable. Don't waste your money. Save up for something better.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 43 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Chocolate Microfiber.

Decent for the price

12/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my apartment, only 600sf, needed a sofa that is also a sleeper. Yes the bars in the seat are not comfortable IF you sit on them, the springs may squeak a little, but it does look nice and functions great. I am 6'2 and the legs make it low for me, but my wife fit the height just fine. There is an easy fix for all the complaints about how it feels when converted to the bed - buy a $20 mattress pad - very comfortable and you do not feel the bars and the frame. Put a fitted sheet on top and feels like a "regular" bed. Like everyone says, "you get what you pay for"!! What do you expect when you buy a $160 sofa from Walmart?
PS easy to assemble
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 44 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon, Multiple Colors.

Awful!

12/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all the bar in the middle hurts so bad, forget sleeping on it. If you do you will surely awaken to the sound of its creaking.. The "click clack" one day decided to stop locking in place and fell completely limp, I had to set it against the wall so the back wouldn't fall down. For someone that only weighs 120 pounds this is ridiculous and flat out horrible quality. Oh and I forgot.. There was white plush fibers continuously coming through the fabric, looked like hair. Gross. Don't buy!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon, Multiple Colors.

Eh. It's halfway decent...

12/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this as a primary sofa/bed after I moved and my room has little space. It looked amazing (and as a couch, it is). Don't let the looks fool you..
While it serves its purpose as a couch wonderfully (I love how the sides come up to form arms at the end), it is not a suitable futon to -ever- sleep on. It's uncomfortable, thin, and cheaply made.
On the back of the sofa there are two zipper compartments that hold the two back legs. You unzip, extend them, and lower the back to make the bed. That's the problem... The two back legs are horribly thin and do not 'lock' into place. This bed is HORRIBLE on hardwood floors (or anything other than carpet) as the back two legs slide outward (or inward). Unless you have someone weighing 40 lbs laying on the 'back' portion of the bed, it's VERY unstable and the smallest movement has the legs sliding out of place (and you rolling out of the bed).
Again, as a sofa, it's wonderful. But if you have ANY plans to EVER sleep on it... You'll be miserable. I've almost found it more comfortable to sleep on the floor (yes, it's hard, but you don't have bar after bar digging into your body) <- and this is only after having it a week.
The idea of it is fantastic, it's just very poorly designed.
If you're looking for a sofa by day, bed by night sort of deal, I would definitely NOT recommend this!
In fact, I will be returning it soon (once I have the means to transport it back to Walmart).
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

easy set up n looks good

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item was easy to set up. not very sturdy, but for a guest room, it is good
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon, Multiple Colors.

good sleep

12/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It sleeps well. Could be a little longer though.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Great for the Price

12/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick shipping, Easy assembly, Looks great in my Den.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Compact

12/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This futon fills all the requirements on my list for my student's apartment: small, modern, build with good materials and to provide good support when I take naps!. I can't be more happy, It was really a smart shop.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Size is not what was expected.

11/28/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The length of this futon sofa bed indicates it's 72 inches and it is definitely not. It is not long enough to be an oversized double twin or full size sleeper. I'm 5'2 and it is long enough for me to sleep on like a bed. My fiancé is 5'9 and his feet hang off the edge some. For the price I paid for the futon sofa bed. It's what you can expect.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Worth the money

11/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good item for the price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon, Multiple Colors.

Good

11/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great extra couch
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon, Multiple Colors.

Futon Frenzy

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The futon was exactly the style, quality and size I was looking for to complete my living room. Excellent.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

It was what I wanted

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fill full expectations
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

A futon of one's own

11/17/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The futon arrived amazingly fast. It was easy to assemble and now looks quite spiffy in our family room. It is comfortable for sitting or lounging. No one has slept on it yet but with the holidays coming, somebody will! And we'll be doubly glad we bought it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon, Multiple Colors.

NOT comfortable, POOR quality!

11/17/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VERY uncomfortable, you can feel the metal bars from the frame. Cushion is NOT thick. We have had this item for less than 2 months and the seams are splitting and torn and it is used just for casual sitting in my teenagers room!!! Would not waste your money on this one. You get what you pay for
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon, Multiple Colors.

perfect fit

11/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty hard, but my son sleeps on it and that's how he likes it. I like the fact that the bed is 6ft long, so it fits my son without him hanging over. I like all the different positions you can put it in.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon, Multiple Colors.

much more than i ever expected

11/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this futon is stylish, comfortable, best of all a snap to assemble
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon, Multiple Colors.

I haven't slept on this bed.

11/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It looks great. I have a plan for this unit. It fits well in my small bedroom. I didn't know it was made in CHINA! Easy to put together.One person can, install all the screws. Kind of low to the ground?
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Charcoal Microfiber
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon, Multiple Colors.

great for the price

10/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to set up looks nice and is comfortable, Not for two big people too sleep on and I'm 5"11 and at times my feet hang off but they look nice and are really great for the price and light enough for easy movable convenience.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 1,582 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  80 Next