Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Meco Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Meco Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Cook your favorite dishes in your own backyard with the Meco Charcoal Grill. This useful appliance has a large charcoal grill that will allow you to cook several patties or other pieces of meat at the same time. The Swinger Series square backyard charcoal grill has a 342-sq in cooking surface. It features a three-position nickel-plated cooking grid so you can simultaneously grill food from rare to well-done. It also includes folding side tables to keep your cooking utensils, ingredients and condiments within reach. This red and black Meco grill has an adjustable hood and bowl air vents to help you control charcoal usage and cooking temperatures. For easy mobility, it has rolling wheels so you can conveniently change locations when necessary.
Average Customer Rating:
4.517 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation90%54 out of 60reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black
11/30/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves this grill. We used to have the same grill with one table, he loves the two table. We also got the additional rotissorie with electric motor (great for cornish hens or other things to rotissorate). He cooks all year long, sun, rain. or snow! I reccommend this product to anyone who loves to cook over charcoal!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Great grill with easy assembly.

02/09/2013
By ,
wilson nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great grill with plenty of cooking surface.
The left and right grill rack adjustments are very convenient for temperature control.
Able to be assembled in about an hour by any moderately skilled person.
All in all two thumbs up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Height?
Posted 06/07/2013
Could you please tell me the height of the grill..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

The best grill out there

05/12/2014
By ,
Campbell, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this grill because it has been a proven performer in my family now through two generations. Once put together, this particular model more than met my expectations. Its design with a deep bottom, vented hood, side vents, and an adjustable grill is the best buy our there for the money. The fact that it is a charcoal grill is another big plus since gas grills do not give a barbecue flavor no matter what you do. I also found an especially great feature and accessory with this model are the two swing tables that come with it. The directions for putting the grill together, however, can be a little unclear for someone who is not mechanically inclined and needs things spelled out for them. I read someone's comment that this grill was "a piece of junk." NOT TRUE...my guess is that they got frustrated with the directions and couldn't figure out the proper fitting of the screws and nuts and some of the hardware. I discovered when it is put together correctly, this grill is indeed solid, steady and sure and is a top performer as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Excellent Retro experience

09/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Why spend so much on top rated propane models that disintegrate inside anyway? This is just right for the average size dinner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Great product!

03/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had at least a half dozen Meco grills over the last 25 or more years. Easy to use, good heat regulation and reasonably sturdy construction. Only limitation is the size of both surface area for cooking, and the height above the grilling surface for doing things like cajun drunken chicken. I just wish that the black covered models would become available again, since I prefer them over the ones with the red covers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
size
Posted 04/07/2013
that's a problem i noticed as well.. they say it's a 20 inch grill but that's the max size of the inside opening total.. on mine the way the cooking 'grate' is, it has openings around the edges, so I can only safely fit food on about a square of 14 inches or so.. going beyond that and you have to accept indirect cooking as you're no longer above the coals.. plus you have to watch for it not to fall through the edges..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

USA quality and functionality STILL available!

05/23/2011
By ,
Selmer, TN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great USA made product. Very functional and its overall quality is A1. Heat regulation and cooking super with its 3 grill levels available. Price is good and all of the parts and pieces were there as described. The only 2 improvements I see could be more gentle care in shipping, and the assembly instructions diagrams need to be bigger and clearer.
Go Maco! Go USA!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

GREAT Grill!

05/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this grill in order to return to that charcoal flavor I remembered as a child. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. I'd recommend this grill to anyone looking for a great Charcoal grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Good product for the cost. Love meco grills/

05/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fairly easy to put together and controls (vents and height adjustments) on this Meco model facilitate great cooking.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

BAR B Q

06/22/2010
By ,
SAN JOSE, CALIF
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS JUST THE RIGHT SIZE FOR ONE PERSON OR TWO. IT WASN'T ALL THAT HARD TO PUT TOGETHER. (HOWEVER, IN THE LIST OF STUFF THAT IS SUPPOSED TO BE THERE IT SAYS YOUR SUPPOSED TO GET ACORN LOCK NUTS AND INSTEAD THEY SENT SQUARE NUTS - BUT I HAD ENOUGH TO GET IT ALL TOGETHER.) HAVEN'T HAD A CHANCE TO USE IT YET BUT IT DOES HAVE NICE FEATURES WHERE YOU CAN RAISE THE GRILL OR LOWER IT AND A REMOVABLE ASH PAN THATS NICE. LIGHT WEIGHT AND EASY TO MOVE AROUND.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Excellent for the money!

04/26/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Grill about a month ago. After opening the grill box, I discovered the bottom bowl was dented. I returned the item to Walmart and ordered another one. The 2nd one had a dented hood. I called the manufacturer and they said they would send me out a new hood right away. After using the grill it meets all my expectations. It's the only one I could find that was made descent. The rest were all really thin material, and I figured they would not last long. I really like this grill for the ability to close all the vents when done grilling to save charcoal. I recommend this grill over the cheap, thin material ones. Make sure you read the instructions while putting it together. Very important steps! You will be pleased with your purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

I <3 my Meco!!

03/17/2012
By ,
Minnesota!
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this grill for over 10 years and it has been well used. The adjustable height is wonderful. The space is ideal for feeding 4-6 people (depending on your meat choice, and whether you are doing foil packs as well), altho in the past we have fed 10 off of one round of grilling burgers. This grill has withstood moving to several different homes over the past few years, as well as several trips out to the lake, etc. The craftsmanship is better than I expected. This is a great charcoal grill!! I wouldn't buy or use any other brand. We are grilling tonight on it! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Excellent Grill

03/15/2014
By ,
Canton NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a excellent grill. It is very durable and works great. The only thing I have to say about it is that it is very hard to put together. There are so many screws and bolts etc and it requires a lot of different tools. It took a long time to put together and was very very difficult.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Product is made for a handyman.

03/17/2014
By ,
Edgewater, Fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product was time consuming, too many parts and pieces to put together. But after it's put together the product works like it should.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Great Charcoal Grill

04/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Meco grill. I bought this one to replace another one at another location. This grill's adjustable height rack that allows me to move the food closer or further away from the charcoals is absolutely necessary to good grilling. The vents in front, in back, and on the top allow me to control my heat. They also allow me to save my charcoal - just close them all up as soon as I'm done cooking and the charcoal smothers itself and is saved for next time. It's a good sized grill, fitting 12-16 good-sized hamburger patties. My only wish? I wish it was 1 foot taller at stove height. Great grill. Made in the USA!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Low cost, quality grill

04/20/2012
By ,
Jacksonville. Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for want I wanted and price. This grill retails for almost $130 on other sites. All pieces and nuts and bolts were there. I had a grill similar to this years ago and would still have it, if it wasn't taken by punks. Love the 3 level settings for searing or warming or semi smoking. It will last years if taken care of properly. Lump Charcoal is the only way to grill!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Best Ever Charcoal Grill

05/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using these grills for over 20 years. They last for years, fold down the side tables for easy storage and are easy to clean out. But the cooking is the thing. The grill can be lowered to sear food and then raised up for slower cooking. Additional heat control is available for smoking, just close off the air vents. If closed completely, the charcoal can be put out and saved for later use. The only negative is that they no longer use a SS grille. The plated grill doesn't last very long.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Missing Parts and manual was for another model

05/26/2014
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well made, but there were parts missing and the manual was for another model. Can't re-order since Walmart no longer has this model.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

This is a very good grill for under $100.00

07/19/2011
By ,
Dumas,Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this grill a couple weeks ago.I have grilled steak,hamburgers and pork chops.All came out great.The best part is the 3-way adjustable rack.Set low to cook fast or high to slow cook.I also like Made In USA factor.I look for things made in USA.Support our USA factories.Too bad Wal Mart doesn't sell these in their stores.A great grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Great classic grill

10/08/2012
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to go back to charcoal after using a gas grill for several years. I just wanted a good simple grill that had good ventilation control. The new chimney charcoal starters make it easy to use charcoal these days (My dislike of starter fluids and their effect on the taste of the food was one of the reasons I had moved to a gas grill). The side shelves fold down and I found a smoker cover for $10 at Home Depot that fits perfect.
This grill works great. It's good at preventing flare-ups so you don't have to babysit it like some grills, even on windy days. The only thing that I think is not as good as the old design is the grill/heat adjustments. The older design moved the coals up/down, to/from the grill. This unit adjusts the grill up/down instead but at least there is an adjustment unlike some other grills.
Another feature I like is the hinged lid design which I like much better than the detached Weber lid design. The ash tray is a nice addition making it very easy to empty the ashes and also shields some of the heat from the bottom.
Overall this is a great grill that is inexpensive and Made In USA.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black
06/14/2013
By ,
Chester, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The two new Meco Swinger Series Grills I just bought replaced two almost identical Meco grills I purchased ten years ago. The quality is still there.
The best feature is how simple it is to raise and lower the grill (three different settings) with two little wooden knobs. And, the folding side "wings" are great for storing plates and tools.
The only minor complaint I have is with the directions for assembly. Good overall, but the plastic handle included for the hood (and screws), did not match the written instructions which called for a wooden handle, standoffs and different screws. It'd be nice if the instructions were updated.
Also, the grills I bought ten years ago had a nice wooden tray between the legs about 3" off the ground. The tray provided a nice place to store things, and, it also gave support and strength to the leg structure.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1 2 3 Next