Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Meco Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Meco Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Cook all of your favorite barbeque dishes in your backyard with the Meco Swinger Square Charcoal Grill. This grill provides 342 square inches of cooking surface for flexibility. The square charcoal grill features a three-position, nickel-plated cooking grid so you can simultaneously grill food from rare to well-done. It features folding side tables to hold your cooking utensils, ingredients and condiments. The outdoor cooking grill has an adjustable hood and bowl air vents to help you control charcoal usage and cooking temperatures. It also has rolling wheels so you can move the grill easily when needed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.527 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation91%50 out of 55reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Great grill with easy assembly.

02/09/2013
By ,
wilson nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great grill with plenty of cooking surface.
The left and right grill rack adjustments are very convenient for temperature control.
Able to be assembled in about an hour by any moderately skilled person.
All in all two thumbs up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Height?
Posted 06/07/2013
Could you please tell me the height of the grill..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black
11/30/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves this grill. We used to have the same grill with one table, he loves the two table. We also got the additional rotissorie with electric motor (great for cornish hens or other things to rotissorate). He cooks all year long, sun, rain. or snow! I reccommend this product to anyone who loves to cook over charcoal!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Excellent Grill

03/15/2014
By ,
Canton NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a excellent grill. It is very durable and works great. The only thing I have to say about it is that it is very hard to put together. There are so many screws and bolts etc and it requires a lot of different tools. It took a long time to put together and was very very difficult.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Product is made for a handyman.

03/17/2014
By ,
Edgewater, Fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product was time consuming, too many parts and pieces to put together. But after it's put together the product works like it should.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Great product!

03/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had at least a half dozen Meco grills over the last 25 or more years. Easy to use, good heat regulation and reasonably sturdy construction. Only limitation is the size of both surface area for cooking, and the height above the grilling surface for doing things like cajun drunken chicken. I just wish that the black covered models would become available again, since I prefer them over the ones with the red covers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FL
size
Posted 04/07/2013
that's a problem i noticed as well.. they say it's a 20 inch grill but that's the max size of the inside opening total.. on mine the way the cooking 'grate' is, it has openings around the edges, so I can only safely fit food on about a square of 14 inches or so.. going beyond that and you have to accept indirect cooking as you're no longer above the coals.. plus you have to watch for it not to fall through the edges..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

USA quality and functionality STILL available!

05/23/2011
By ,
Selmer, TN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great USA made product. Very functional and its overall quality is A1. Heat regulation and cooking super with its 3 grill levels available. Price is good and all of the parts and pieces were there as described. The only 2 improvements I see could be more gentle care in shipping, and the assembly instructions diagrams need to be bigger and clearer.
Go Maco! Go USA!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

GREAT Grill!

05/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this grill in order to return to that charcoal flavor I remembered as a child. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. I'd recommend this grill to anyone looking for a great Charcoal grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

BAR B Q

06/22/2010
By ,
SAN JOSE, CALIF
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS JUST THE RIGHT SIZE FOR ONE PERSON OR TWO. IT WASN'T ALL THAT HARD TO PUT TOGETHER. (HOWEVER, IN THE LIST OF STUFF THAT IS SUPPOSED TO BE THERE IT SAYS YOUR SUPPOSED TO GET ACORN LOCK NUTS AND INSTEAD THEY SENT SQUARE NUTS - BUT I HAD ENOUGH TO GET IT ALL TOGETHER.) HAVEN'T HAD A CHANCE TO USE IT YET BUT IT DOES HAVE NICE FEATURES WHERE YOU CAN RAISE THE GRILL OR LOWER IT AND A REMOVABLE ASH PAN THATS NICE. LIGHT WEIGHT AND EASY TO MOVE AROUND.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Excellent for the money!

04/26/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Grill about a month ago. After opening the grill box, I discovered the bottom bowl was dented. I returned the item to Walmart and ordered another one. The 2nd one had a dented hood. I called the manufacturer and they said they would send me out a new hood right away. After using the grill it meets all my expectations. It's the only one I could find that was made descent. The rest were all really thin material, and I figured they would not last long. I really like this grill for the ability to close all the vents when done grilling to save charcoal. I recommend this grill over the cheap, thin material ones. Make sure you read the instructions while putting it together. Very important steps! You will be pleased with your purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

I <3 my Meco!!

03/17/2012
By ,
Minnesota!
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this grill for over 10 years and it has been well used. The adjustable height is wonderful. The space is ideal for feeding 4-6 people (depending on your meat choice, and whether you are doing foil packs as well), altho in the past we have fed 10 off of one round of grilling burgers. This grill has withstood moving to several different homes over the past few years, as well as several trips out to the lake, etc. The craftsmanship is better than I expected. This is a great charcoal grill!! I wouldn't buy or use any other brand. We are grilling tonight on it! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Best Ever Charcoal Grill

05/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using these grills for over 20 years. They last for years, fold down the side tables for easy storage and are easy to clean out. But the cooking is the thing. The grill can be lowered to sear food and then raised up for slower cooking. Additional heat control is available for smoking, just close off the air vents. If closed completely, the charcoal can be put out and saved for later use. The only negative is that they no longer use a SS grille. The plated grill doesn't last very long.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black
06/14/2013
By ,
Chester, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The two new Meco Swinger Series Grills I just bought replaced two almost identical Meco grills I purchased ten years ago. The quality is still there.
The best feature is how simple it is to raise and lower the grill (three different settings) with two little wooden knobs. And, the folding side "wings" are great for storing plates and tools.
The only minor complaint I have is with the directions for assembly. Good overall, but the plastic handle included for the hood (and screws), did not match the written instructions which called for a wooden handle, standoffs and different screws. It'd be nice if the instructions were updated.
Also, the grills I bought ten years ago had a nice wooden tray between the legs about 3" off the ground. The tray provided a nice place to store things, and, it also gave support and strength to the leg structure.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Great classic grill

10/08/2012
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to go back to charcoal after using a gas grill for several years. I just wanted a good simple grill that had good ventilation control. The new chimney charcoal starters make it easy to use charcoal these days (My dislike of starter fluids and their effect on the taste of the food was one of the reasons I had moved to a gas grill). The side shelves fold down and I found a smoker cover for $10 at Home Depot that fits perfect.
This grill works great. It's good at preventing flare-ups so you don't have to babysit it like some grills, even on windy days. The only thing that I think is not as good as the old design is the grill/heat adjustments. The older design moved the coals up/down, to/from the grill. This unit adjusts the grill up/down instead but at least there is an adjustment unlike some other grills.
Another feature I like is the hinged lid design which I like much better than the detached Weber lid design. The ash tray is a nice addition making it very easy to empty the ashes and also shields some of the heat from the bottom.
Overall this is a great grill that is inexpensive and Made In USA.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Low cost, quality grill

04/20/2012
By ,
Jacksonville. Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for want I wanted and price. This grill retails for almost $130 on other sites. All pieces and nuts and bolts were there. I had a grill similar to this years ago and would still have it, if it wasn't taken by punks. Love the 3 level settings for searing or warming or semi smoking. It will last years if taken care of properly. Lump Charcoal is the only way to grill!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Best charcoal grill

06/29/2013
By ,
Bay Village, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have used the same grill for over 30 years in both of our homes. It is the best and does a super job if you know how to grill with charcoal. My husband wanted nothing else but the Mecco 4100. We got the last one for his 75th birthday. A part was missing when we assembled it, and I called Mecco. They were extremely helpful and immediately sent the missing part. I was impressed and I can order extra parts from them in the future. Thanks.
Walmart delivered exactly when they said they would and I got an email saying it had arrived. The lady at the pick up counter was lovely and so nice. It was a very simple procedure. It was a huge box and one of the Walmart employees was in the parking lot and helped me put it in my car. A very nice touch. I will definitely order from Walmart again in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Sturdy, large cooking grill, easy to assemble

06/28/2013
By ,
Arkadelphia, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took me 3 hours (I work slowly) to assemble, but was fun as I listened to music. All pieces fit perfectly together. Little hard for me to tighten the "acorn" nuts, but I got it done. The dome raises and lowers perfectly. I used only a philips screw driver and pliers. Had NO HELP, so anyone could put this together. The side tables and lid handle are made of a synthetic wood-look material, I believe, but look great and will weather better than real wood. The side tables were already assembled, and I only had to install them with screws. All screws and nuts were included, without any extra. OVERALL, I ENJOYED PUTTING THIS TOGETHER. Now I'm waiting for the 4th of July to use it with my family over. Whooohoooo!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Missing Parts!!!

05/04/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Besides missing all 13 of the acorn locking nuts and two of the 2 1/4" bolts to mount the legs, this grill is very cheaply made. I just picked it up and assembled it last night, so I haven't had a chance to cook with it yet. I hope it works better than it looks and feels. It probably would not be a bad deal if it were half the price I paid for it. I am already regretting not getting a Webber.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Good grill, BUT it takes a long time to assemble!

08/16/2013
By ,
memphis tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had one of these MECO grills before. This one seems a little lighter weight steel and made with a little bit cheaper construction. It is really hard to assemble, and took me a couple of hours with trying to read the poor instruction manual. We really don't like that every time it rains, the grill fills up with water leaking through the air/smoke vent on the top, even when it is closed tightly. Rain just fills the grill and rusts everything, the grill pan and bottom. All in all, a nice grill but at almost $80 with tax and delivery, it is not a cheap price for the grill's only average quality overall.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

my last meco swinger grill has lasted 18 + years

10/02/2013
By ,
brunswick ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this grill because they are excellent cookers. The vent is in the center so you don,t have hot spots like the grills that have the vent off center. The lid is attached with hinges for easy use. You can lower or raise the grill to place the food closer or further from coals. There is just nothing not to like about this gril. YOU WILL REALLY LIKE THIS GRILL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Meco Swinger Series 342 sq. inch Square Charcoal Grill, Red and Black

Cooks great. Charcoal tastes better than gas.

06/30/2012
By ,
Greenville, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my third or fourth Meco Swinger. I think they cook WAY better than gas. This time I bought a grill cover. Maybe this will be my last one.
Assembly was more difficult than anticipated, but worth the effort. The side trays come in handy for tools and pans. Free delivery to local WalMart was very convenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next