Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hard Candy Hard Candy Lash Tinsel Mascara

Hard Candy Hard Candy Lash Tinsel Mascara

Hard Candy Lash Tinsel Glitter Mascara is a gel-based mascara with serious sparkle that creates full glittery lashes. Hard Candy Lash Tinsel creates lashes that are full of brilliant glitter for an all out glam-tastic look. Use it alone or layer over your favorite black mascara to make eyes twinkle.
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation71%10 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hard Candy Lash Tinsel Mascara

Really pretty, fun and subtle. I love this stuff

11/29/2012
By ,
Mountains of So Cal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't understand the bad reviews for this stuff. As others have said, it's not a stand alone product but I think that's pretty much a no brainer considering it's consistency and what it is. When I bought this stuff I was looking for a little something to glam up my eyes, but nothing to make me look like I am going to the night club or trying to be a teen again. I am in my early 30's so I wanted something subtle but pretty and this stuff is it! I used my regular mascara and put some of this stuff on and my eyes had a very subtle "pop". In fact, it almost does not look like glitter but instead makes lashes look glossy and angelic almost. When the lights hit my lashes in a certain way they just have this wonderful subtle sparkle. No one really seems to be able to point out exactly what I am doing differently they just say, "Your eyes look pretty". I was thinking that the glitter would end up on my face after a while, but it seems to stay put on my lashes. All and all this product was a pleasant surprise for me and is so fun to use.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hard Candy Lash Tinsel Mascara

Cute, but not IT

11/28/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've been looking for a good glitter mascara for some time now, and I've yet to be impressed by anything.
The colour in the tube is gorgeous; black glitter with silver glitter in a clear base. But it stopped amazing me there.
This stuff doesn't do much as a mascara -no lengthening or volume, and very little darkening- on it's own; it just adds a bit of glitter factor. Very subtle, so if you're looking for a way to make an outfit a bit more playful without making a big change, this is the product for you.
If you put on a black mascara of your choice under it, you get different problems. If you try to put on this glitter mascara over it before it dries, the colors meld and you hide the glitter. If you put on the glitter mascara after the base dries, you have a hard time getting it to no clump; you might be able to get over this problem with a thin mascara that mostly colours for an undercoat, but i personally don't like them.
The other problem I got was that the glitter is a bit too chunky, so if you put multiple layers on, you get a chunky-clumpy look on your lashes.
what I've found works best for a dramatic glitter lash look is actually another product from Hard Candy, the Walk the Line eyeliners. First you put on your favorite basic mascara, and let it dry. Then take the eyeliner in whatever colour you want -there is a big selection of all sorts of colours, but Lace is the glitter silver, and Dream Girl is the glitter gold- and run the brush on your lashes.
I ended up giving this to one of my friends who rarely wears lots of makeup, and is very happy with the super subtle look of it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hard Candy Lash Tinsel Mascara

Sparkle Eyes

03/24/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this mascara a few years ago and it was time to get a few new bottles. Works great. I use the applicator brush tip to glide the glitter mascara across my lashes. The traditional wand method doesn't give the full effect. A great product for sparkling standout eyes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hard Candy Lash Tinsel Mascara

Pretty sparkles

01/28/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got both the gold and silver a while back just for fun, I don't use it very often but I do love them both. I am surprised by the bad reviews though, it's pretty obvious that this is not meant to replace your actual mascara, I do agree that it can be tricky to get the application right, if you are not careful it can clump up on you. I find that if you apply it after your regular mascara by just pressing the wand against your lashes works the best. Don't try to apply it like you do your mascara that's how you run into issues, but if you just press it on you can layer the glitter without the mess. Hopefully those who didn't like the product because of these issues will try playing with it again, it takes a little figuring out the technique but it's worth it really, such a fun product, in fact I am going to have to wear them this week!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hard Candy Lash Tinsel Mascara

Gold, yes, Black, no

12/26/2010
By ,
Columbus OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used both colors of this, and I loved the gold glitter. It was very thick and visible when I put it on, and although it was a bit clumpy, it was awesome looking when it was on. I would have given it by itself a 5 star rating.
I did not have such good luck with the black glitter. It was barely visible on my lashes, and something about it really bothered my eyes. I would guess falling glitter, but I am not certain. I still use it, but for things like glittering my eyebrows. It shows up well there without irritating my eyes.
Bottom line, if you are considering lash tinsel, stick with the gold. The black needs to be thickened up and made more like a conventional mascara.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hard Candy Lash Tinsel Mascara

So Fun!

07/19/2011
By ,
El Paso, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So I agree with the other reviews about it not being a stand alone product. I actually really like using the black with silver sparkles mascara from covergirl from the Eyelights collection. So I saw this in spellbound (black) and was thinking it would be a great top coat for that because it looked like I would be making something a already shimmery a bit more dramatic. The lash tinsel is just like the name. its the tinsel on your tree. It worked really well for me because i was just putting bigger sparkles on my eyelashes. My first mascara is pretty thin. But if you put too much your lashes might clump. I didnt get any wierd chunks, just my lashes stuck together a little bit. The end result was very pretty with a smokey eye. I would recommend this for going out.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hard Candy Lash Tinsel Mascara

glittery mascara

05/30/2014
By ,
Tualatin Or.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love it.....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hard Candy Lash Tinsel Mascara

Love!

12/30/2012
By ,
Griffith,IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the reviews, I was hesitant to get this product, but I love it! The perfect amount of glitter and it looks amazing. I got the silver and I'm so glad I got this glitter mascara. Use with your everyday mascara and coat it with this silver glitter mascara and it will look GREAT! :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hard Candy Lash Tinsel Mascara

Beautiful Glittering Eye top coat

09/17/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this mascara. It is great to add to very tips of my lashes or sometimes i comb it through my hair to add a glitter when going out in the evening. the comb is perfect for adding a light top coat over my lashes. Great product for a over the top night club look.
love it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hard Candy Lash Tinsel Mascara

Rare Product.

04/06/2014
By ,
TITUSVILLE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this not expecting much and it has exceeded my expectations. I have been asked if I have fake lashes on because it looks so good. I put them on the bottom and a lil on the side on top and they give my eyes a sort of dreamy twinkle. I will be stocking up because I have looked and I do see the glitter liner but no other glitter mascara out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hard Candy Lash Tinsel Mascara

Love it, but use a primer first!

09/25/2013
By ,
Ft. Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the color, I got the purple, but it barely showed, even on my light colored lashes. I'm not crazy about the wand brush, it doesn't seem to have a brush on the wand, just a straight wand that is a little bit wider at the end. But it actually does apply the mascara well. And then I learned that with a colored mascara you should use a white primer first, to make the color show. I ordered Hard Candy 1000 Lashes Fiber mascara and it's fantastic. I apply it first, let it dry for a minute and then put a couple or more coats of my purple or blue or gold mascara and you can really see the color. And the fiber primer gives more volume and makes the lashes longer!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hard Candy Lash Tinsel Mascara

Thin and watery - yuck

12/01/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mascara with glitter is just about the best idea I can think of. It combines 2 of my favorite things. That's why I was SO excited when I saw this at Walmart.
As soon as I got home I had to give it a try. As soon as I pulled out the brush I knew it wasn't going to be good. The mascara was literally liquid. It actually splashed into my sink when I took the wand out of the tube. It was so thin I didn't even try it on. I don't know if I just got a bad one or not but this experience was enough to keep me from giving this a second try.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hard Candy Lash Tinsel Mascara
07/14/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this last night. It was not on sale like it is on the website. I paid $6 for this bottle of junk.
If you're thinking this is actual mascara, you're wrong. All it is is a bottle of glittery goo without an actual mascara wand. It's just a stick that collects glitter for you to rub on your lashes. I could have easily created that out of other products I already own.
Definately no value for your money here.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hard Candy Lash Tinsel Mascara

Big Disappointment

06/11/2012
By ,
Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a tube of this for my prom night thinking it'd be a fun addition. It looked so pretty and glittery! Looks really can be deceiving though. It clumps like crazy, is very thick and doesn't distribute evenly. I've made some bad investments in makeup but this was one of the worst! It's really a shame. I've tried other products made by Hard Candy and they have been great but this stuff was just an epic fail.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per year
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.