Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hard Candy Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Hard Candy Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Get a healthy, glowing complexion with Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer. Hard Candy Envy Primer, 1.6-oz, moisturizes skin for a smooth finish. Formulated with SPF 15 sunscreen, this Hard Candy Primer also helps protect skin from sun damage, leaving it looking fresh and youthful.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(128 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
18
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation83%106 out of 128reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 67 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
18
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Fantastic primer!

10/24/2009
By ,
San Francisco, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm so glad I bought this primer instead of the $100 one at Sephora. It does exactly what a primer should do: primes the skin's surface for easier makeup application.
I applied the primer on top of my daily sunscreen -- I couldn't believe how smoothly it glided across my skin. Next I applied a tinted moisturizer and mineral powder and was thrilled that there was no icky product pilling. Yay!
It lasted all day and gave my skin a little extra glow.
I have normal/combo skin that gets easily dehydrated. The primer was neither to greasy/shiny or drying for my skin.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Amazing drugstore primer!

06/26/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although it's small in size, don't let that fool you. The "little bottle" has lasted me more than a year, and I use it everyday.
The formula is amazing. It's a thick paste that smooths on effortlessly. It has no smell at all, which is a huge bonus, compared to the other Hard Candy primers. It has a smooth finish and feels great. It makes my makeup stay on longer than usual, and that's saying something, seeing as I live in Florida (which is CRAZY hot) plus, I have oily/combo skin-----double whammy!
I love the fact that although oil does seep through my makeup, my makeup doesn't run down my face or anything. It does stay intact.
I would recommend this product for anyone: whether you're oil/combo like me, or dry or normal---- it works for all! Great product! Keep it up Hard Candy!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Best Primer

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the great reviews on this product. This was my first primer ever and I love it. I put it on in morning and after my night treatment to get the added soft fresh look.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Great Primer for the money!

05/15/2014
By ,
El Paso,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to give Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer a try and it didn't disappoint.It went on smooth and kept my make-up looking flawless all day.It is a great product for a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Great product, better price

10/21/2009
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so excited to see Wal Mart carry Hard Candy cosmetics...it's been years since I have seen them anywhere. I bought this primer on a whim and it was definitely one of the best beauty purchases I have made. It creates a very smooth surface for make-up application and I feel that it makes my coverage last longer throughout the day (I use mineral powder foundation). It does not leave my face greasy or oily. At department stores you'll pay three times as much for the same type of product. I will definitely be purchasing this product again soon.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+148points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Great buy!

11/17/2010
By ,
San Jose, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the past 2 months I have been testing all types of primers, from high end expensive brands to low end cheaper brands. This is a great product for the money. For me it works as well as a popular name brand primer, maybe better (I have really oily skin). Just be sure to shake it before using as it tends to separate and pat on a pea sized amount of product. Using too much will make you greasy. I will definite purchase this again!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Money Well Spent

04/08/2010
By ,
Angleton, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This primer is silky smooth and goes on so easily. It makes my foundation stay on better throughout the day and best of all it's a great price.
I am just baffled by some of the other reviews saying that this isn't keeping their eyeshadow from creasing. It is because this is not an eyeshadow primer. This is a foundation primer. They don't work in the same ways so it's not going to work the same on your eyelids as the rest of your face.
Also there is no primer that is going to be a miracle and keep your foundation on all day long unless you don't sweat, don't touch it, aren't oily, don't have an itch on your nose, or don't hug someone and rub your makeup on their clothes. Primers are to extend the amount of time that you can wear your makeup for and this primer does exactly that.
I will definitely be repurchasing.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Fabulous product, I wish I had tried it sooner.

12/07/2011
By ,
Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finally tried this and I'm amazed by the difference! I have oily/acne prone skin and thought a primer would wreck havoc on my face - it didn't. I didn't break out and it stopped the shine! You only need a little to cover your face and down your neck a bit, give it 2 minutes to dry then apply foundation and set it with powder. I use a little more for an acne scar on my cheek, now it's almost totally smooth when I have make up on. I am sold on this product and definitely recommend it for anyone looking for smoother shine free skin.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Creates a nice slate

05/01/2010
By ,
Bayside, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This will leave your skin pleasantly primed for foundation, paving the way nicely by leaving the skin soft, smooth and healthy-looking. Looks good even if you elect NOT to wear foundation or powder. I am quite pleased with this purchase, and feel the price for it is very good too.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Upland, California
Good!
Posted 01/15/2012
I've been using Card Handy Primer for over a year now, I like it because when I apply it to my face, it creates a smooth canvas, make my foundation application much easier & makes my foundation last longer. I truly use this primer every time I go out, I am running low on it going to re-purchase it.. & By the way the price is a good value.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Love this primer!

01/13/2010
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been searching for a primer for awhile now. Sephora sent me a trial size of their primer, which I found to be too thick and outrageously expensive for a full size, which was about a half ounce. This Hard Candy primer from Walmart was only $8. The tube is a huge 2 oz. This will most likely last me over a year. It goes on like silk, and a tiny drop is all you need for your entire face. I put powder over it and it stays all day long until I wash it off in the evening. No need for a foundation. I use it on my eyelids and my eye shadow clings to it wonderfully. I would recommend this and will definately buy more. I hope they keep making it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Love it!!

01/08/2014
By ,
Anderson, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for months for a good drugstore primer. I had a friend recommend this one to me so I decided to give it a try. I went to my local Wal-Mart to pick it up and it was the last tube on the shelf and after using it for a day I can see why. I couldn't believe how smooth my face felt after applying it. It works just as good as the $36 primer I was using. I think I actually like Hard Candy better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

If you are having trouble with this product

05/16/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Its a decent product for the price, but you have to make sure you exfoliate and moisturize then when skin is dry and clean use this then wait! let it set till its dry then use your other products. make sure you clean your face of this product at bedtime and its all good from there.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Waste of money

03/05/2014
By ,
East Peoria, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recently decided to give primers another try so that makeup doesn't disappear off my face after a few hours. I tried this because of the great reviews I had read online. This primer did not do anything for my makeup. First, it felt like I was applying water to my face. Lightweight? Yes, that's great and all, but I expect primer to do something to my skin's appearance. It did not make my pores look smaller or any different at all. When I applied my foundation (after allowing the primer to dry), it made it blotchy. I could not get my foundation to look good on top of this primer no matter what I tried. After the 2nd attempt with this stuff, I gave up and washed it off my face. I am now using Revlon PhotoReady primer instead and it is way better than this stuff. I am hoping to get a full refund for this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Water & Oil Don't Mix
Posted 04/06/2014
This is a water based primer. It wouldn't work well with oil based foundation, if you happen to be using some.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Better options out there!

04/06/2012
By ,
Mississippi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First and foremost, DO NOT purchase this product if you have very oily skin and/or prone to sweating. I live in the South and due to our sweltering summers here, I sweat easily and this is a disadvantage to my already oily skin. At first it seemed to work well enough, I only applied a small amount each time I used it (per the other reviews) but I noticed after a few days that my skin would be extremely oily (even with foundation, powder, etc) by midday. This is definitely not something that I could wear w/o foundation or powder and the other day when I tried, I ended up walking around for an hour with white residue from the primer on my face! This product is definitely NOT worth the $8 I spent on it and I would gladly pay a little more for a primer that is more oil resistant and doesn't leave me scrubbing my face!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Absolutely love it!

01/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product first off, is not for someone with really oily skin. But if you have a mix of dry and oily it should work just fine. I love this product, all it takes is a little to do the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Excellent primer

11/09/2009
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried almost all primer on the market and I believe this is one of the best I have tried. The price makes it more appealing since it is a fraction of the price of the others on the markets
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Primer Separated

11/09/2011
By ,
Wisconsin
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had high hopes because my aunt uses Hard Candy products & love them.
The good: The price is sooo much cheaper than Smashbox. Similar to SB, this primer keeps my moisturizer locked in & my makeup on.
The bad: The texture! After a few weeks, the product separated into liquid & clumps. (This was in my house the whole time, not a sitting out in a car or anything either.) The texture was kind of gross actually! In order to use it I'd have have squeeze out double the product so I'd have enough of the liquid & clumps to mix it together.
It still worked, so if you'd rather save money & the runny texture doesn't bother you, I'd recommend it.
If texture would bother you, I'd highly recommend the Maybelline primer instead. It's the same price as Hard Candy, but comes in a smaller tube. (But it's still a really good value.) It works just as well as Smashbox & the texture is very similar. The pleasing texture & the amount of product & time I save not mixing is worth it to me. After I used that a few times, I tossed my Hard Candy primer.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

good dupe for Smash Box

05/28/2012
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have smash box primer and on youtube emilynoel83 compared this primer to hard candy so i got the HC and guess what they are very similar.
no more paying $$ i am hooked with hard candy.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

Really nice

05/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this primer, it leaves my skin silky smooth and ready for makeup
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hard Candy Sheer Envy Primer, 1.6 oz

I Love It!

10/08/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this primer. I put it on in the mornings and it keeps my makeup lasting all day. It goes on really nicely and I can't even feel it's there. It doesn't make my face greasy or oily or anything, and it makes a big difference, especially with my eyeshadow. It's a great product for a great price, and I would definitely reccommend it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Hard Candy Sheer Envy Tinted Moisturizer
4.4 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 117 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next