Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canwood Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

Canwood Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

The Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed is a stylish and attractive choice for any bedroom. The solid wood construction is complemented by the gentle curves, detailed mullions and wooden cap pieces of the elegant design. This product is available in a choice of colors to match any room.
Average Customer Rating:
4.566 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation94%78 out of 83reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 49 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

great bed for a great price!

09/14/2011
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my teenage son and had some reservations about it, but when we got it and put it together we found out that it is made with REAL WOOD not cheap pressboard, and it looks nice in my son's room. And we don't need a box spring because the support slats are the same design as a bunk bed. I even laid down on it and it supported me just fine. Great Bed, Great Value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

Awesomely Pleased!

02/17/2011
By ,
Lincoln, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What great quality these beds are! I bought two for my boys so they could have nice, matching beds. They are much more beautiful-looking in person than the pic shown on the website. They were also very easy to put together, and aren't that heavy at all. This bed comes with an allen wrench for you, you will need your own screwdriver however for the base slats (which are geniusly all attached to one another, so you just 'lay them' flat against the bed. If you have any doubts as to get this bed or not, let me tell you, I am pretty picky when it comes to quality vs. price, and man, this one takes the cake! Very pleased!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

Good but could be better structurally

07/05/2011
By ,
Mesa, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bed is OK. A plus is it has some good room underneath for storage, I'm a big guy (6'5" and 300 lbs) and can lay down under the bed. It put together pretty well except one hole wasn't drilled or was possibly filled. The outer frame is pretty solid but the part that you put down to hold the mattress isn't. It's some small slats of wood that are glued together and wont handle much weight or stress (ie kids jumping). I'm gonna try and run a layer of duct tape around each piece and see if it holds a bit better otherwise I'm going to replace them. It should be noted that we only have the mattress without the box spring on the bed so more stress is going directly to the frame.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

Sticker on a headboard

06/21/2011
By ,
MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bed we got has a non-removable sticker on the headboard, not on the footboard. I saw many photos of this bed and similar models before making a purchase, none of them had a sticker on a headboard.
I contacted the manufacturer with this issue. They sad if I want the new headboard, I have to pay for it and the shipping, and they cannot guarantee that it will be without a sticker.
Also, when I assembled the bed, I noticed that both headboard and footboard where marked as "B" (headboard should be marked with "A" according to assembly instruction). So I suppose they put that sticker on the headboard by mistake.
Very disappointed.
Otherwise than that, good bed.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
boston, ma
Great bed but also got a sticker on headboard
Posted 05/19/2012
i just purchased this bed for my almost 2 1/2 yr old daughter. i seemed very happy with the way it looked onlione and the price was great. however when my husband put it together he had some issues with the holes not lining up. when i went to look at it all put together i told him he must have put the headboard on backwards because i the sticker he said no. i immeadiatly thought of this review i read about the non-removable sticker. so dissapointed in this product now. i am hoping i will be able to somehow get the large stcker off without ruining the product.
0points
Customer Avatar
MI
Issue resolved
Posted 06/26/2011
We resolved the issue (the headboard was not assembled correctly). Bed looks great now! I would rate it 5 stars.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

Great Bed!

03/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this bed for our daughters first big girl bed. I figured for the price it would be ok for a few years. When we opened the box we were more than impressed with the quality of wood and how sturdy it was. I would recommend this bed to anyone. Great price and great quality!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

Terrific Twin bed!

04/17/2010
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed with this bed. It is very sturdy, nice wood and a rich look. Looks much more expensive than the sticker price, always a plus! We bought two for our girls' room and they look great! I am a very picky shopper and was unsure about this purchase, but met my expectations and more!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

Beautiful bed, awesome value!

05/18/2010
By ,
Madison, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bed arrived to the store for pickup in about 8 days. It is gorgeous wood! I would have expected it to cost a lot more than we paid. I saw something very similar for twice the price. We haven't bought a mattress yet, but if it holds up 1/2 as well as it looks, we will be very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

Railing Cracked

12/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first I thought these (I purchased two) were a good product with good value. However, at the 4 month mark (1 month past the return eligibility), my 11 year old sat down on the bed and that side's wood railing cracked ... not a little crack but a huge crack making the bed completely unusable. Will be contacting customer service to see if I can contact the manufacturer or order a new railing, but I think the wood itself is not durable.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry
07/24/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Well, I received the beds I ordered, but couldn't put them together because the wooden peg holes were not lined up right. So disappointed. We just moved to a new place and my boys do not have beds now. Hope the next beds are made better.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

Great bed, great value!

02/28/2011
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't usually leave reviews but I was so impressed with this bed that I wanted to let everyone know! As other reviews stated, we too were nervous that the price dictated the quality. We quickly realized that this is a nice looking bed with a sturdy wooden frame. My husband assembled it in about two hours...took longer than usual because he glued and screwed the pieces just to give it extra strength (but not necessary.)
The instructions were good...only problem we had was that the head right and left posts were mis-labeled so we had to take them back off and switch them...must have been a Friday at 4:30 on the assembly line!
My big question was would this be an o.k. bed if a grown up needed to sleep in it or was it too low to the ground...would it feel like a toddler bed. Answer: This bed would be fine for a grown man...my husband slept all night in it and said it was very comfortable, and I think it is the same height as any other regular bed (maybe a little shorter).
P.S. We also purchased the Slumber brand mattress in a box and it is very comfortable. I thought we would need to buy a foam topper for extra comfort but my daughter said she doesn't need one.
Hope this helps you decide!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

Great beds

10/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought these beds for out 2 and 4 yr old boys. They look great in their room and are holding up well to their jumping! We were looking for simple beds but made of solid wood. Also nice that we only had to buy a top mattress (we chose the 6" Dorel Signature series also sold by Walmart for $99). These beds were easy to put together and are very sturdy. I did a lot of research and found the exact same beds on other sites for $160-$180, so we saved a bundle! We are very pleased!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

Excellent Bed

08/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I are both very satisfied with this bed. The color and quality of the wood meets our expectations. It was very easy to put together. It looks like a much more expensive bed. We bought a bed for our daughter that was double the price, harder to put together, and didn't look as nice from a mall department store. I recommend this bed to anyone who wants quality on a budget. We also bought the five drawer dresser. Our son's room looks amazing!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

Horrible!! Don't buy from this company

08/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Finally got the bed. After unpacking both boxes, while looking for the assembly instructions, we noticed that one box says twin base camp bed, (this contains the head board and foot board) the other box says "mate" bed double size.
So first of all, they sent only half of the bed correct. The whole second (HUGE & HEAVY) box they sent is half of a totally different bed. I would like to think a company would be competent enough to be able to send 2 boxes that actually match up.
Second of all, the delivery took a long time- I paid extra for quick delivery, if they don't offer this, it should not be an option.
Third, neither of the boxes contain any instructions on assembly OR hardware to put the bed together. Honestly, who sends just a big box of parts of a bed with NOTHING ELSE?
So I now have a bunch of random pieces of wood around our small apartment, a toddler that has to sleep on the floor, the company's website is completely useless (try to click on "download assembly instructions" and nothing happens, same for "watch product demo")
I tried to get through to them on the phone yesterday and could not get through to anyone.
Of course today and tomorrow they are closed.
Now I should have to pack up all this heavy wood, and ship it back? It won't even fit in my car, that is why we ordered online!!
I am extremely dissatisfied with this company.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

Great first bed.

10/17/2011
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as my daughter's first bed instead of a toddler bed. The color is perfect and it looks great. One downfall is that it came with a fine hairline crack in the headboard. This was not large enough to make us take it back. We bought a bunkbed/daybed matress to go with the bed and works nicely for now but I would like to put something softer on her bed as she grows. The bed rail that I have on the bed works but is not ideal so just keep that in mind if this is being used as a first bed. Overall I am happy with my purchase and glad I didn't waste my money on a toddler bed that she would only be in for a short peroid of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

Beautiful

09/26/2010
By ,
Marysville, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Put it together in about 15 minutes, the color is very nice and it seems pretty sturdy. We took a piece of the bed to Lowe's and they were able to match the stain of the wood to go together with another piece of furniture I had sanded down. Very happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry
10/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two beds and they are nice and sturdy. The finish was very smooth and the color of the wood grain is very nice. The directions were clear and easy to read. There is a warning sticker on the headboard but I had no problem removing it. This bed has lots of slats so I didn't need a box spring but I did put a piece of plywood on it just in case my boys jump on the beds. I put a 9in matress on it and it was not too high for my 4yr old. My kids love their beds. I love Walmart site to store. The boxs were in perfect condition with no damage. There were no missing parts or screws. I would highly recommend this bed. If you are looking for a good quality solid wood bed for your kids get this bed. *tip* put it on some square furniture sliders so it's easy to move to change the beddings.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

Kid's Beds

05/21/2011
By ,
Baltimore, Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought 2 of these beds for the kids and they are wonderful, the beds were bigger than the picture which is a plus and now they will have the beds probably up until middle school hopefully, but i would suggest this beds to other parents.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

Great Value

05/18/2010
By ,
Waukesha, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed was easy to assemble and looks great! I am very impressed with the quality of the bed.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

Very nice bed

02/19/2013
By ,
Salem, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I, too, had issues with the stupid sticker on the middle of the headboard. My solution was to cut a thin board to the correct size, paint it wall color, and stencil my son's name on it. The board was then screwed to the headboard. Looks cute & covers up the sticker. Other than that issue, it's a great bed. Very sturdy for a Wal-mart product and very cute.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Canwood Base Camp Twin Bed, Cherry

Nice looking, quality bed

08/28/2011
By ,
Cleveland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shipped very fast -- less than a week. It is for my four-year old son and is exactly what we were looking for. It's very nicely made and looks great. You'd never know by looking at it, sitting on it or getting up close to it that it was so affordable. It looks like a much more expensive bed. Highly recommend. Even though, it says cherry, I don't think it's as dark of a stain as most cherry wood is. I really like the wood slats and that you don't need to get a box spring or board to put underneath, just one mattress! Husband said it was packed nicely and simple to assemble, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next