Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Oster Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Cook a wide range of fried foods easily at home with the Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer. You can cook anything from cheese sticks, fish fillets, apple fritters, funnel cakes, doughnuts, to onion rings, and French fries. This user-friendly cool touch deep fryer can cook for 2 people and if needed even for a big crowd (up to 1.5 pounds food) at a time with its 4 liter extra large oil capacity. This professional deep fryer has 1700 watts immersion element that offers quick preheating and fast oil recovery time. The Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer offers a durable performance with its steel housing and sturdy lid. The automatic fall and rise fry basket with a cool-touch folding handle makes handling easy and safe. The removable deep fry basket allows you to take out the cooked items from the electric deep fryer easily. The locking lid in this professional deep fryer features dual filters that reduce the cooking odors to a great extent.
Average Customer Rating:
3.546 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(143 Reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
21
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 star
33
Customer Recommendation64%92 out of 143reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
21
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 star
33
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

GREAT Deep Fryer!

08/01/2012
By ,
Belfair, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this fryer after shopping for the best deal. The fryer works fine for our family of 6. We've had NO problems with it at all. The lid latch works fine, it heats rapidly, and cleans easily. I recommend this fryer to anyone, particularly those with 'large' families.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 62 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Great fryer!

05/17/2011
By ,
Palmdale, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product far exceeded my expectations. It is easy to assemble and use. Does a terrific job keeping temperature steady. I cleaned it for the first time last week and it was very easy to disassemble, clean and reassemble. We have had a lot of fun using it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 63 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer
11/19/2011
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lid never stays close, takes forever to heat up and leaks all the time. Tonight cooking with it and it boiled over all over my counter and floor. Will never buy an oster product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 64 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

A GREAT HOME DEEP FRYER

08/01/2011
By ,
BARDSTOWN, KENTUCKY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HAVE USED SEVERAL TIMES AT ARE HOUSE HAS HELD A GOOD AMOUNT OF PRODUCT AND DEEP FRYS TO A GOLDEN BROWN. IS WELL WORTH HAVING AS A HOME APPLIANCE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 65 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer
04/16/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm sooo happy we bought this deep fryer! We have saved $50 already just cooking our wings at home.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 66 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

04/18/2011
By ,
Tucson AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Be sure to read the directions before using, you may get yourself in trouble if you do not.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 67 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Awesome

05/16/2011
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deep-fried Shrimp and fish, no odor in the house and no mess. Absolutely love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 68 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Great product

01/01/2010
By ,
Adrian,Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for the price and the durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 69 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

love the product

12/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love how it works and cooks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 70 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Absolutely Horrible Product

01/07/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this product. I bought it and I am returning it immediately. I took it out of the box and hooked up as the instructions told me. Right away I noticed that the power would not turn on after I had closed the top completely. Yes, I plugged it in and followed the instructions very carefully. After messing with it for a few minutes, the power finally turned on and then it went down again and would not stay on. After about 30 minutes, I quit. This is not rocket science, I'm not creating a something novel, so either they didn't do enough R&D or the product just stinks. Horrible product. Save yourself the hassle of returning this and don't buy it in the first place.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Review 71 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Disappointed

03/13/2010
By ,
Hemingway, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this fryer with great ecpectations. I bought it on 3/12/10, used it that night. The lid would not stay closed. I read the reviews on how to close the lid, no matter what I did, it still would not close. Another problem was the power and ready light stays on in the OFF mode. I am taking it back today. Later for the aggravation of "trying to keep" a lid closed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 72 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Horrible

11/26/2012
By ,
Hernando Beach, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought one and returned it few weeks later. The temp. dial got so hot, it melted. Second one purchased (identical) and this one not only melted the temp. dial but the electrical cord at the wall was so hot, I had to disconnect from the fryer and let it cool down before I could touch it. FIRE HAZARD!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chippewa, Pa
Defect
Posted 03/14/2014
The same thing happened to mine, except the black plastic directly down the side started melting a quarter size hole and smoke was coming out it. I had to use a potholder to turn the temp dial off and then I immediately unplugged it. I can't return mine- 3 to 4 years old. But I had no problem with it heating up. Cooked good. But also had the grease leaking out some where onto counter lately too. Wasn't a problem before. I will look for another brand 1st before I buy a 2nd. I have had other brands that last 10 years.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 73 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Top does not stay closed

04/23/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this product to replace a Presto Fry Daddy because I wanted a fryer that cooked while covered. This was the largest deep fryer with a cover available in-store. As long as the fryer was cool the lid would stay closed. Once it had been heating for a while the lid would pop open. We were using it to fry a large amount of lumpia for a family re-union.
This did not happen the first 3-4 batches. By about the 5th batch it was opening all the time.
It works great otherwise and if covered frying is not a requirement by all means buy this fryer.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 74 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Total Garbage

10/24/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the first time I have written a review on any product. The unit was so deplorable I was compelled to write this review. Too many negatives to list. I have owned a couple of Deep Fryers over the years. I bought this one yesterday afternoon and I am returning it today!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 75 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Oster Rocks

08/06/2012
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good Oster product. This is my first deep fryer but so far I like it. The lid seems to rock a little but its more trouble to take back than to just keep. It doesn't seem to interfere with the way it works. I guess the cleaning is about the same as any of the others. I don't like to leave the oil in it so I drain and strain it each time I use it. No more work than cleaning my black and stainless stove.
I doesn't heat up very fast, I may have to check other reviews and see what they say. I'd say it took about 5-10 minutes to heat up to 375. I like the size and shape of it, I'm limited on counter space so that's a plus. I have to use it where there are no cabinets above because of the steam that comes off of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 76 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Lid won't stay shut!!! Don't waste your time!

01/10/2010
By ,
Reedsburg WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was really excited when I found this deep fryer. It looks great, has a large basket and all of the features that I was looking for. I took it out of the package and found it easy to assemble but before I could even get the oil in, we ran into a problem. THE LID WILL NOT STAY CLOSED!! I checked the instructions to see what I was doing wrong but there was no help. I packaged it back up and returned it to the store where the store csm fiddled with it for about 15 mins. and was finally able to get it to stick until we popped the button and tried again only to get the same results. I assumed that I had recieved a faulty one and agreed to take in trade the only other one the store had. I made the associate take it out to try it in the store but they did not remove all of the packaging material from around the basket.It took a couple of trys but they got it to stay down. When I got it home and unpacked it, I ran into the same problem. I tried bending the heating element slightly got get it to fit better and it stayed closed until the first time I heated it up. The lid popped open and would not stay closed. I had to put something heavy on top to keep it closed until the food was done. I couldn't even hold it down with my hand because the lid gets very hot. I have had other deep fryers and this is the worst. Another annoying detail that I found was that the cord was too short and comes loose too easily. I could have dealt with this,if it hadn't been for the other problems. LOOKS CAN BE DECIEVING!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 77 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Great Product

03/07/2010
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this fryer every day, 4-5 hours a day, and all day Saturday with constant cooking for 6 months out of the year at a time. Can't say much for the lid due to we took it off. Have never had the cord pull off, can't say I move a fryer full of hot grease around when cooking anyway. If it can take this much and work GREAT, I'm sure it will work great at home. Also, Easy to clean..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 78 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Great item alt great price.

12/08/2013
By ,
Milford,MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did own the same item over 4 years. Still working but time to replace of course for the same one.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 79 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

don't waste your money

04/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is not a good product, the lid won't stay closed unless you put something on it. I checked the manual and still couldn't fix that. I used it maybe 2 times a month and only lasted about 5 months before it quit working. Cooks really well but still not worth all the other problems. Save the $10.00 and get the GE frier
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 80 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Junk

03/06/2012
By ,
Kerrville, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have taken this item back 3 times, now I just switched to a different brand from a different store. This one seems like the sturdiest one walmart has to offer, and I liked all the features like the timer and folding handle. But it keeps breaking! The last one I got I fixed some of the things as they broke. Like the lid latch and eject button (All three of them had the same problem). Now the power cord cannot touch the contacts to make an electrical connection because they have worn down. I have used this fryer about 1 to 2 times a week. The first one I purchased in December of 2011 and its March 2012. Three fryers in 4 months = JUNK!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
61-80 of 124 total reviews