Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Oster Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Cook a wide range of fried foods easily at home with the Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer. You can cook anything from cheese sticks, fish fillets, apple fritters, funnel cakes, doughnuts, to onion rings, and French fries. This user-friendly cool touch deep fryer can cook for 2 people and if needed even for a big crowd (up to 1.5 pounds food) at a time with its 4 liter extra large oil capacity. This professional deep fryer has 1700 watts immersion element that offers quick preheating and fast oil recovery time. The Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer offers a durable performance with its steel housing and sturdy lid. The automatic fall and rise fry basket with a cool-touch folding handle makes handling easy and safe. The removable deep fry basket allows you to take out the cooked items from the electric deep fryer easily. The locking lid in this professional deep fryer features dual filters that reduce the cooking odors to a great extent.
Average Customer Rating:
3.564 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(149 Reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
71
4 stars
23
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 star
34
Customer Recommendation65%97 out of 149reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
71
4 stars
23
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 star
34
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Horrible

11/26/2012
By ,
Hernando Beach, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought one and returned it few weeks later. The temp. dial got so hot, it melted. Second one purchased (identical) and this one not only melted the temp. dial but the electrical cord at the wall was so hot, I had to disconnect from the fryer and let it cool down before I could touch it. FIRE HAZARD!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chippewa, Pa
Defect
Posted 03/14/2014
The same thing happened to mine, except the black plastic directly down the side started melting a quarter size hole and smoke was coming out it. I had to use a potholder to turn the temp dial off and then I immediately unplugged it. I can't return mine- 3 to 4 years old. But I had no problem with it heating up. Cooked good. But also had the grease leaking out some where onto counter lately too. Wasn't a problem before. I will look for another brand 1st before I buy a 2nd. I have had other brands that last 10 years.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 62 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Total Garbage

10/24/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the first time I have written a review on any product. The unit was so deplorable I was compelled to write this review. Too many negatives to list. I have owned a couple of Deep Fryers over the years. I bought this one yesterday afternoon and I am returning it today!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 63 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Oster Rocks

08/06/2012
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good Oster product. This is my first deep fryer but so far I like it. The lid seems to rock a little but its more trouble to take back than to just keep. It doesn't seem to interfere with the way it works. I guess the cleaning is about the same as any of the others. I don't like to leave the oil in it so I drain and strain it each time I use it. No more work than cleaning my black and stainless stove.
I doesn't heat up very fast, I may have to check other reviews and see what they say. I'd say it took about 5-10 minutes to heat up to 375. I like the size and shape of it, I'm limited on counter space so that's a plus. I have to use it where there are no cabinets above because of the steam that comes off of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 64 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Lid won't stay shut!!! Don't waste your time!

01/10/2010
By ,
Reedsburg WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was really excited when I found this deep fryer. It looks great, has a large basket and all of the features that I was looking for. I took it out of the package and found it easy to assemble but before I could even get the oil in, we ran into a problem. THE LID WILL NOT STAY CLOSED!! I checked the instructions to see what I was doing wrong but there was no help. I packaged it back up and returned it to the store where the store csm fiddled with it for about 15 mins. and was finally able to get it to stick until we popped the button and tried again only to get the same results. I assumed that I had recieved a faulty one and agreed to take in trade the only other one the store had. I made the associate take it out to try it in the store but they did not remove all of the packaging material from around the basket.It took a couple of trys but they got it to stay down. When I got it home and unpacked it, I ran into the same problem. I tried bending the heating element slightly got get it to fit better and it stayed closed until the first time I heated it up. The lid popped open and would not stay closed. I had to put something heavy on top to keep it closed until the food was done. I couldn't even hold it down with my hand because the lid gets very hot. I have had other deep fryers and this is the worst. Another annoying detail that I found was that the cord was too short and comes loose too easily. I could have dealt with this,if it hadn't been for the other problems. LOOKS CAN BE DECIEVING!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 65 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Great Product

03/07/2010
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this fryer every day, 4-5 hours a day, and all day Saturday with constant cooking for 6 months out of the year at a time. Can't say much for the lid due to we took it off. Have never had the cord pull off, can't say I move a fryer full of hot grease around when cooking anyway. If it can take this much and work GREAT, I'm sure it will work great at home. Also, Easy to clean..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 66 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

don't waste your money

04/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is not a good product, the lid won't stay closed unless you put something on it. I checked the manual and still couldn't fix that. I used it maybe 2 times a month and only lasted about 5 months before it quit working. Cooks really well but still not worth all the other problems. Save the $10.00 and get the GE frier
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 67 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

very cheap for the price

07/31/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the lid i almost lost my screws that i didn't have to screw in when i got it, the front part that comes out that has the burner, the basket handle keeps getting caught on it and bringing the whole front up, also the basket handle wont lay right and my lid wont shut right. i emptied it and now it works great but i'm still taking it back, i shouldn't have spent $50 on something that has a very cheap flimsy lid
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 68 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Horrible design

12/26/2009
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Much like another reviewers said. When the deep fryer heats up the lid pops open. The cheap stainless frame expands and the little plastic clamps open up. There's no way they didn't see this if it was tested. This is my first Oster product and I'll never buy another one. We'll be taking it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 69 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Junk

03/06/2012
By ,
Kerrville, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have taken this item back 3 times, now I just switched to a different brand from a different store. This one seems like the sturdiest one walmart has to offer, and I liked all the features like the timer and folding handle. But it keeps breaking! The last one I got I fixed some of the things as they broke. Like the lid latch and eject button (All three of them had the same problem). Now the power cord cannot touch the contacts to make an electrical connection because they have worn down. I have used this fryer about 1 to 2 times a week. The first one I purchased in December of 2011 and its March 2012. Three fryers in 4 months = JUNK!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 70 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Not Happy

01/09/2010
By ,
Howard City MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i recieved this product for xmas from my husband, and the 1st time using it the lid wouldnt stay shut, once it started warming up is when the lid popped up and now it wont stay shut, i am now dumping the oil and taking it back.....very disappointed....DO NOT BUY THIS.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 71 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Good fryer

10/04/2011
By ,
Lewisville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good fryer. It is a decent size and I can fit a good amount of food in it. I have a family of four and this fryer works great. My only complaint is that it does seem to take a little while to heat up but it cooks food fast and evenly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 72 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Great Fryer

01/11/2011
By ,
Navarre, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product about 4 months ago, works great, easy to clean, doesn't take up much storage space when not being used. I liked it soo much I bought one for my parents for Christmas. Great Deep Fryer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 73 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Bought appliance in 4/12 and now it's Sept. 2012

09/27/2012
By ,
Franklinton, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No problems with the cooking or lid popping open like some of the reviews I've read but after only having this fryer for approx. 5 months, it will not heat the oil at all and the power light doesn't come on, I've checked the power cord and the inside components, I can't figure out why all of a sudden there is no power at all. Otherwise I love it I can fry a whole chicken at one time and it's wonderful for french fries, but I think it should last a whole lot longer than 5 mos. before completely breaking. I'm going to return to the store for an exchange... Maybe I'll get a different brand or model?????
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 74 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Exceptional value and does the job right!

08/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this fryer to cook for a group of picky seafood eaters. The unit worked beautifully and cooked the shrimp perfectly golden and quickly. I would recommend this fryer for anyone wanting to have the end result turn out to be more than expected. Plus it was shipped to my door on time. What more can you ask?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 75 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Love it!

12/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this deep fryer for almost a year now, and it still works well. I use it probably about once or twice a month to make a wide range of fried foods. I bought it because it looks nice (stainless steel appearance) and was a good price. It has turned out to be a really great product. Easy to use, has a built in timer, temperature is accurate. My only complaint is that it is kind of inconvenient to clean because there doesn't seem to be a drain for the oil. Then again, not sure if any other fryer has one either. I guess I just have to suck it up and turn it over to dump out the oil.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 76 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Great Fryer

12/14/2011
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this unit for about 6 months, and use it for everything, from tater tots and fries to taquitos. This unit is much larger than previous units I have purchased, and I can cook enough of whatever I am making for my entire family at one time. The basket being raised and lowered with the top closed is a wonderful safety feature. If directions are read and followed, this unit is very reliable, and with everything but the element being dishwasher safe, clean up is easy. This is great for preparing snacks, or sides, in a quick, easy, and safe manner. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 77 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Lid wont close

03/12/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very bad design on the lid... will not stay closed !
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 78 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer
05/19/2010
By ,
Louisiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cannot find replacement filters for this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 79 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer
03/18/2013
By ,
Wilmington,De
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My spouse and purchased one of these products around Christmas time and it has been anything but a delight. The lid does not stay ajar on its own nor does it lift wide enough to lift the basket out without having to do a little maneuvering. After use I find oil that has seeped out from the bottom slots on the counter top. The name plate fell off after the first few uses. The handle to the basket does not stay in the secure position when adding and dumping food. My over all evaluation of this product is the manufacturing is poor and it needs to be redesigned
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 80 for Oster 16-Cup Professional Style Deep Fryer

Best Deep Fryer a person could ever own.

05/07/2014
By ,
Seattle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great Deep Fryer, I just ordered a new one because mine finally wore out. I have given one to each of my kids, my Aunt, and a friend as a gift. It is fast, easy and big enough for a family serving. We make our own homemade chicken strips, onion rings, donuts. They are fresher, and better for you. This is my second one since 2001, could not live without it. Highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
61-80 of 124 total reviews