Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster Food Dehydrator

Oster Oster Food Dehydrator

You can dry spices, herbs, jerky, fruits, vegetables, and potpourri quickly using the Oster Food Dehydrator. It features a high performance heater in the center that offers even and optimum heat to dry food items faster. This electric food dehydrator comes with four adjustable and removable trays that help you to simultaneously dry different items. Its clear, vented lid allows you to easily monitor the state of drying without disturbing the process. This home food dehydrator comes with an electric fan that works to circulate hot air across the compartments and lessen drying time. Both the lid and the trays are dishwasher safe for easy maintenance. Further, the convenient one-touch operation makes it easy to use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.121 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation56%37 out of 66reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 83 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oster Food Dehydrator

Everyone must ask for one for Christmas

11/19/2010
By ,
Charleston, Wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well I got the dehydrator today (11-19-10), after getting it home and started my deer jerky that has been marinating for the last 2 days my house started to smell good and the jerky is getting done pretty quick too. I would like to let everyone know that if they are interested in making jerky this is the best one to get. it might look cheaop due to the low cost but it makes up for it in the quality of jerky it holds on the trays. Get it while supplies last. Trust a US Navy Veteran who knows a few things about quality equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oster Food Dehydrator

Died after 2 hours

01/05/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife bought this dehydrator for me for Christmas. I was all ready to make some beef jerky. Prepared the meat, put it in the dehydrator and ran it for 2 hours until it shut off by itself. The power wswitch was still lit. I tried unplugging it and replugging it in. It never came back on. I went online to check out reviews for it on several sites. They were all poor with the same problem that I had and a lot of them had the same problem with multiple replacements. I contacted the OOster/Jarden Company and was informed that they would replace it for me if they had one and to try back in 4-6 weeks and see if they are have them at that time. They said that they are usually dependable products despite all the poor reviews online. I bought a Nesco FD-75PR 700-Watt Food Dehydrator from Amazon for about $10 more than the Oster and recieved a far superior dehydrator that works absolutely perfect. I would not buy another Oster product ever again and would certainly never recommend them to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oster Food Dehydrator

This Thing Works Great

11/16/2009
By ,
Mineral Wells, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this Dehydrator 2 days ago and Tonight I just did my first batch of jerky after letting it marinade for 24 hours.. I started it tonight at 6:30 p.m. and as of 12:45 pm they were completely finished... and they are EXCELLENT!!.. I was a little afriad of buying this because there have been no reviews I could find anywhere and because theres SO many other dehydrators out there that cost way more & made me wander if this was a cheap buy I would regret.... I'll tell you this thing is great It met my expectations 100% And I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone who doesn't have alot to spend on a Dehydrator but would love to get one You will not regret it!!. In the next few days I will be doing dried fruit CAN'T WAIT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+136points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oster Food Dehydrator

Excellent Buy!

05/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent dehydrator for the price! I've done jerky and all sorts of fruits and I am very happy. Wasn't too sure it would be good since it was so cheap, but I have been pleasantly surprised. Cleans up very easily and is very simple to use. I would like a Hi-Lo setting, and I feel that's the only disadvantage, that there is only ON or OFF. Strong fan and puts out quite a bit of heat that really dries the food. I would HIGHLY recommend this dehydrator to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oster Food Dehydrator

Run away fast

02/27/2012
By ,
KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used this to make deer jerky for the first time. Worked great the one time that I used it. That was over a year ago. Warranty says up to 1 year too by the way. Just got it out earlier tonight after cutting up a ton of apples, including peeling them, and some carrots that I was going to try and nothing. The power light came on but that was it. This was only the second time that the machine had been turned on. My advice is if your thinking about it run away now. The good reviews also appear to be from people that have not had this machine that long either. My guess is that their feelings may change like mine have. I read some reviews that were mixed at the time and decided to try this one. Wished I had not. Most expensive jerky that I've ever eaten. At least I've got a new target to practice with.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oster Food Dehydrator

Great product for the price

11/27/2009
By ,
Choctaw, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the dehydrator at the store and so far have only dehydrated cilantro, but it dried it in just a few hours. It gets warm and the fan is pretty strong. I think this is a great product for the price and I recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oster Food Dehydrator

Buying two as Christmas gifts

10/22/2010
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had been looking for a new dehydrator and with all of the fancy, expensive ones out there I was a bit nervous when my husband brought this one home one day from our local Wal-Mart. We had an old dehydrator and it took forever to make beef jerky (plus it was a nightmare to clean) so I was skeptical about this one. But as it turned out I had nothing to worry about because this truly is a great dehydrator! I've had it now for a few months and we've made several batches of beef jerky as well as dried apples. It's fast, quiet, and blends in nicely sitting on the kitchen countertop. It cleans up well and so far has proven itself to be durable. Case in point, I dropped two of the trays on the floor, we don't have tile but vinyl flooring so.... but they didn't break, didn't chip.... no problems. I like this dehydrator so much and my husband loves the beef jerky it makes so much (the dogs and I enjoy the dried apple as snacks) that we've decided to buy two as Christmas gifts this year for the beef jerky lovers in our families.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oster Food Dehydrator

Great for Jerkey!

12/10/2009
By ,
VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great dehydrator. I've been making jerkey using my stove for a few months and I decided it was time to try a dehydrator. It gets the meat dried out quickly (takes 8 hrs for a batch) and gets it done evenly. Afterwards clean up is easy too. It's the right size and doesn't cost you much either, great pick!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oster Food Dehydrator

WORTHLESS

03/08/2010
By ,
Syracuse, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was purchased for me as a last resort after searching my city for a dehydrator. Well, it worked great for about 48 hours. Around the 48 hour mark, it shut off in the middle of making a fruit leather. Thinking that perhaps the fan had simply over-heated, I just the system off overnight. Upon waking up, I tried to turn it on once again and still nothing.
Searching the internet for a solution, I have found multiple reviews on this product and other people having the same problem. Had I know, I wouldn't have bothered.
Also, you have no way of knowing the temperature that the dehydrator is heating your food to, since the booklet and the product site do not tell you.
NOT RECOMMENDED FOR SOMEONE WITH A RAW DIET. You have no idea what temperature you are heating your food to, but I can guarantee it is above 104 degrees.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Omak WA
Posted 09/20/2012
sad to hear this. It must have been a faulty produck but mine is excellent and never failed. I was surprised to hear there were those of you that had a bad experience. my friends and I use mine for tons of fruit and vegetables for homeless here. it works amazing and has never quit..........dries in half the time of others and evenly.
0points
Customer Avatar
Florida
Fellow Raw Foodie
Posted 10/24/2011
I am so glad I came across your review. I am new to the raw vegan lifestyle and I have yet to get a dehydrator. This one looked great from the reviews I was reading, until I came across yours. It's always possible that you might have ended up with a "lemon" (except that it seems a pretty common occurrence for this model?), but the fact that it doesn't tell you the temperature it heats up to is definitely a concern for me!
Do you have any recommendations for a good dehydrator that isn't too expensive?
Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Oster Food Dehydrator

It does it's job and dehydrates

06/23/2013
By ,
moberly,mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does it's job and dehydrates food,, have used it a lot have owned it going on 2yrs now. During garden season it barely gets to turn off always dehydrated something, and in the fall use it to make jerky. So has gotten a lot of use and it works great.
Only downside I have had is it doesn't have a temp setting , just one switch on it on and off so if you have to dehydrate something on a certain temp you just have to figure out if it needs to be on a bottom tray for higher heat or on top tray for lower heat. I usually have to rotate items through out the dehydrating process to make sure that the bottom tray doesn't get over done.
Wish walmart sold extra trays for these or the fruit trays for them have had trouble located those. If I new it was going to get so much use I might of spent a little extra money and found one with more heat settings and one that was easier to get addition trays and fruit leather trays,, but all in all it has done it's job and I am pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oster Food Dehydrator

totally awsome

09/04/2010
By ,
sisseton, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ok never before have i ever used a dehydrator or ever made jerky even though i love jerky but because of how hard it is to find soft chewy jerky anymore and the prices i figured what the heck. so went to my fairly local walmart and was surprised to see this one on clearance which was awesome. so i grabbed this and the Oster beef jerky kit which was sitting next to it which comes with the gun and 5 spice packets and 3 tips. brought it all home cleaned everything by hand and let it air dry since i don't have a dish washer. i defrosted 2 lbs. ground beef 80/20. after defrosted i mixed two of the packets of seasoning and mixed it in with the meat. thanks to a friend who makes jerky all the time i knew to spray the trays with cooking spray. i used the long wide tip on the gun and filled all of the trays making sure to leave space between everything then loaded up the machine and put the lid on and turned it on. every half hour i blotted the meat and put the top tray to the bottom. i started the meat at 8:15 am and by 1:15 pm the meat was perfect for me since i like soft and chewy. so pulled the mean off and layed on paper towels and then covered with paper towels and let sit for over an hour. all i can say is i have never had such awesome jerky though next time im gonna make the 2 lbs meat with only one spice packet since it is a bit spicy fo my taste but still so moist and chewy. even after reading all the reviews on this product i still tried it out and i am very pleased with it. anyone who is like me and never done this kinda stuff should give it a try its so easy but god the smell i was craving my jerky all the time it was cooking. the dog was going nuts lol.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Zephyrhills,Fl
Dehydrating is GREAT!!
Posted 03/18/2012
I bought my Oster dehydrator about 6 years ago, and it is still just as strong today as was brand new. I feel it is time to upgrade to a new one though and have been looking at this model as well as 2 others online from Wal-Mart. Vixenkitsune, try using London Broil, Bottom Round or the stir fry meat wal-mart carries. The stir fry is 1/4" thick and about 5 or 6 inches long, all cut for you and ready to marinate. If you want to slice the meat, freeze it for about 10 min and that makes it easier. The Nesco season packs are great, you must use one complete pack with a 1/4 cup water and marinate for 8 - 24 hrs. Ground beef\chuck is ok to make similar to slim jim's. I make raisins,banana chips, fruit roll ups, apple chips, etc... I would recomend the Oster brand to anyone anytime.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Oster Food Dehydrator

Cheap

11/28/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had two of these. The first one worked two times and then it stopped working. No heat and no fan. The only thing that worked was the light on the on/off switch.
Took it back and replaced it with a new one. Came home, cut the meat and placed it in the trays. Turned on the dehydrator and it worked...for 15 minutes.
Save your money because it isn't worth the box that it came in.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oster Food Dehydrator

Motor stopped after 4 uses and 40 days

03/03/2011
By ,
Alameda, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had high hopes for a dehydrator that wouldn't be too expensive. I am making dog treats using sweet potatoes only and half cooking them before dehydrating. During my 4th time using, the motor no longer worked. I also think it takes up too much counter room - it's just too wide. Oster has always been a good solid brand and maybe I got a lemon but very disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oster Food Dehydrator

One more who has had two of these fail in minutes

05/29/2011
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this item yesterday, got it home put in a couple of ounces meat for jerky as "test run" as I had never used a dehydrator before. It worked for about five minutes then failed. I returned it for another one. I would have bought a different brand but it was the only available to take home at that time and I was impatient. Well that one failed in about five minutes. Only then (stupidly) did I read some reviews in detail and see that there were a couple of others reporting quick double failures and more reporting quick failures. A quick scan seems to show most 2011 reviews reporting failure. I mention this because I am at a loss to explain how this product could ever get a review that isn't bad considering my experience with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oster Food Dehydrator

Good value for the money

04/06/2012
By ,
germantown, wi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dehydrator works great for the money! These people probably didn't realize that a dehydrator cycles and yes, it does turn off after a little while, but it will turn back on. it cycles!! The only thing i wish it has was flat trays for fruit rolls ups and a temperature gauge (that you could change), but for around $40 you can't complain.. Worth the money when you don't want to spend over $150!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oster Food Dehydrator

Great for Dog Treats!!

01/18/2010
By ,
Red Wing, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this product because I wanted to make healthy treats for my dogs.
I made chicken wrapped apples, bananas, sweet potatoes, carrots ...etc and my dogs LOVED them all!!
The machine worked fantastic and has already paid for itself for how much I was paying for organic dog treats I can now make at home!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oster Food Dehydrator

there is def a problem with these things

12/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Brought it home. Prepared my not so cheap beef for jerky and got started. Before I new it the fan stopped blowing. I changed outlets, and unplugged for a few min and it started again. For about 5 min. Not sure if this was normal I started calling customer service. Closed. I left it on and it worked again for about 5 min then stopped I continued to leave it on and shortly the fan began working again....so far its still working but while trying to see if it was "normal" I came across the reviews on this site and it seems to be a very common problem. I am shocked at how many people bought more than one and had the exact same problem. I will be taking it back and finding a dif model/brand somewhere else since its the only one walmart had. Hopefully I will get this batch of jerky done. Bummed!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oster Food Dehydrator

stopped working

03/31/2011
By ,
Brandenburg, Ky.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used it once and it stop working befor it was finished! Now all that food will go bad, very upset. Do mot buy this item waste of money and time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oster Food Dehydrator

Piece of imported junk - poor customer service

10/05/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing lasted all of about 6 months . Oster has been a nightmare to deal with. They take forever to respond and ask for the same information I have already provided them. I wish I could find a dehydrator made in the USA.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oster Food Dehydrator

Cheap Piece of Junk, Move On!

11/09/2011
By ,
Arlington, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sometimes being the eternal optimist really bites you in the butt. I read all the reviews, and they all said the same: quickly breaks if it works at all. I should have listened.
This was the only food dehydrator our Walmarts carry. They used to carry Nesco, but not anymore. I bought this one, hoping that by now all the kinks would be worked out. They're not. I put in a couple pounds of beef for jerky and turned it on. Everything ran ok for at least the first couple of hours. The fan was running nice and loud (and I do mean loud), and the temperature was good and hot. I left it for a little while to do some shopping, and when I came home, the fan had shut off, and the temperature wasn't as hot. I turned it off then back on, and the fan started again, but at this point, I do not trust it. It is going back to the store from whence it came.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next