Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Oster Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

With Oster Expressbake Breadmaker fresh-baked bread is a favorite in every home, gently filling the air with an enticing aroma and satisfying everyone's taste buds. This electric bread maker bakes a 2-pound loaf in less than an hour with the EXPRESSBAKE cycle. Use the 13-hour delay timer for customized bake time. Includes a gluten-free setting as a healthy bread option. With the Oster brand, you can cook with passion and serve with pleasure.
Average Customer Rating:
4.379 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(235 Reviews) 208
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
154
4 stars
50
3 stars
12
2 stars
4
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation89%208 out of 234reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
75 Questions | 255 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
154
4 stars
50
3 stars
12
2 stars
4
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Bought for spouse, she was very unhappy with it.

01/28/2012
By ,
texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wound up returning this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Love it!

06/04/2012
By ,
Kensington, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It wasn't as loud as I expected from what I read on the reviews. It is so simple to use! You just dump all the ingredients in the basket and you'll have a delicious loaf of bread 3 hours later or less!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Great Bread Machine

01/30/2011
By ,
Arcanum, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bread machine is very easy. I was making bread shortly after opening the box. Their recipes are so simple for the basic white and wheat but also has many other kinds. I figured there would be a lot of prep for it but it all goes in the pan and mixes everything itself and off it goes. Most of the time it takes to make the bread is for the time used on mixing and rising. The only downfall I've seen is that it wobbles on the more heavy flour recipes. The good thing is that it smells great and makes other things like jam and pizza dough.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+148points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

I use for gluten-free bread

01/26/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine before Christmas specifically to make gluten-free bread.
So far, I have not tried from-scratch recipes, but have had good luck with mixes for cinnamon-raisin and whole grain from B.R.M. The short cycles do not work for gluten-free bread. The mixes recommend the basic over 3 hour setting and that seems to work.
Even though the time is long, I can put in the room-temperature wet ingredients ( liquids plus oil and egg), then the dry on top with a hole in the middle for the yeast, set the machine and forget it.
One trick I use is to warm the water in the microwave before whisking with the oil and somewhat cold egg(s). That way I don't have to leave my eggs out of the fridge.
I'm hoping to graduate to from-scratch recipes, but the mixes are convenient.
I am a fan of whole grain. Never liked to eat doughy white bread, even before I discovered I needed to go gluten-free.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+111points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Great little friend

01/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this breadmaker as a Christmas gift for me, but i can't keep my husband away from it now. It makes awesome bread with no effort from our part. Set it and forget it.
All we have to do is put the ingredients in and watch the bread being "created".
The bread comes out SO GOOD!
I would most definitely recommend this product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Good help in kitchen!

05/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This breadmaker is very useful and helps me a lot in the kitchen. I failed the first time I used it, because I didn't fix the pan in the machine and it turned out to be a disaster. After I discovered the mistake, everything became very easy. I use it almost every day and the bread is soft and fluffy. It is also very useful to make dough for dumpling skin. Love it!!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Great Buy for gluten-allergics!

01/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a huge bread fanatic, I had been going through bread-product withdrawals after discovering my many food allergies including gluten, milk, and eggs. We have yet to find an edible store-bought gluten free bread, so this product was a life saver! It makes GREAT gluten free bread that even my wife admits is just as good as the regular stuff! (and her "bar" for good food hasn't been lowered like mine has due to a multitude of food allergies). My wife just throws in the flour mix, egg replacer, yeast, etc, turns it on, and a couple of hours later we have a mouth-watering loaf of bread! It does everything for you--you don't even need to mix the ingredients, and the only dirty dish you end up with is the pan which comes out quite clean actually when you take the bread out! We haven't yet tried making anything in it other than "plain" bread, but for that alone we both agree that this is the most worthwhile thing we've bought in years, and for a lot less money than most of the other bread-makers we've seen!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Fantastic!

08/07/2011
By ,
Shelby NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have made eight loaves so far of Whole Wheat bread with this breadmaker and every loaf has been the same.....Fantastic! The best whole wheat bread I could find off the store shelf had so much preservatives (one famous brand has a chemical similar to fertilizer) that I decided to make my own. The ONLY ingredients are Whole wheat flour, water, a very small amount of brown sugar, yeast and small amount of salt. The bread holds up well for several days, I eat a loaf every four or five days (2 lb loaf). The taste is wonderful. The texture is quite dense and the bread is heavy, so you can use thin slices. Very easy to clean, super easy to use, just dump in ingredients and wait three hours and enjoy. The loaves are slightly "stubby" so your slices might not go into a toaster. I toast mine in a toaster oven. I calculated the cost of a loaf about $1.60. I found King Arthur flour to be the best whole wheat flour. available at Wal Mart.
I love the machine and recommend it highly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Fresh home made bread

01/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the fact that i can choose the ingredients for my bread. First time for traditional bead it took 3.5 hours, chose the recipe from the manual and it was delicious
It is so easy to use, just pour in the ingredients in the order and quantities specified, close the lid, select crust type and press start, in 3.5 hours fress bread.
What i do not like too much is the noise. I used the delay time option yesterday night, to have bread ready at 6am. Around 3 am i woke up because of the noise (i had the machine on top of a vegetable cart, plan to chage the location and see if it helps). There are some beeps after around 20 minutes from start and other beeps at the end... Really loud that woke me up around 6am. Plan to close my bedroom door next time. I do not like the noise that each of the buttons make when you are setting the loaf size, crust type, delay time, bread type; Noise is too strong if done at 11pm when everybody is sleeping.
Gave it 4 stars because of the noise issue, but overall i like it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Make wonderful bread

02/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had our machine about 2 weeks, and I have been making bread right away in case there is any of the problems others have reported. So far, with about 4 loaves of complete bread, and using the French bread recipe on the dough cycle probably 7 times, we have been very happy. I only use the dough cycle for our French bread so I can use my long loaf tray, baking 2 1-lb loaves at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. All the loaves have been beautiful.
The only problem has been the paddle coming off in the dough, and the baked breads. Always the paddle has to be dug out of the dough, due to the stickness; there is a hook provided for that purpose. I suspect that leaving the bread in the machine for some cooling may eliminate that problem, or al least make the paddle extraction easier.
I borrowed a machine from my sister prior to purchase of my own. Her machine had a paddle spring-loaded in the pan. It stayed in place without coming out in the bread, but the hole was very large. This machine's paddle only rests on the pan's 3/4 round peg. Only once did it stay in the pan when I took out the bread, and the bread had been sitting about 15 minutes after completion. The hole is not large, and does not cause much disruption of slices.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Love this machine!

03/08/2010
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine was a gift for myself for Christmas and I've been making bread every other day since! Great machine. I use the user guide and other sources and this machine works 'em up just fine. Only issue I have had is when I made a dense loaf, the machine literally walked off the counter! I ran back into the kitchen, picked it up, plugged it back in and it finished the cycle and baked the bread into as beautiful a loaf as all the other recipes. Have tried all different sizes from 1, 1-1/2 to 2 lb loaves with no issues. This is a workhorse of a breakmaker. It's not my first machine. My first machine was a DAK back in the early 80's (very heavy machine) and I've had other makes since then. This is the best so far. Right size, right weight, pan easy to put in and take out of the machine and it doesn't pop out or dislodge like some others, display is easy to read. Suggestions for newer models: I like to remove the paddle before it bakes and would like a few beeps that it's ready for the final raising cycle. The user manual could use a little revamping in the recipe department. Other than that -- it's great a great product. Oh, used Walmart site to store -- awesome service. Hope it never goes away!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Bread snafu

02/17/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The machine works as intended. There is a plastic smell however and it comes from a very hot surface joined to plastic mountings. I would buy a metal one if given another chance.
Recommends this product? No
From Oster Brand Team02/18/2015
Thank you for taking the time to write in the review. The plastic smell is not a common occurrence in our bread maker. I would like for you to contact us at 1-800-334-0759, our hours of operation are Monday-Friday from 9am-6pm, EST. Oster
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

A good basic bread maker

11/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used mine every week for over a year to make a loaf of honey whole wheat malt bread for sandwiches and this machine has performed reliably every time. Here's the recipe that I use for some really good bread for sandwiches or toast.
375 gm King Arthur White Whole Wheat Flour
125 gm King Arthur Whole Wheat Flour
300 gm distilled water
7 tbsp honey
3 tbsp unsalted butter
2½ tsp salt
2½ tsp Fleischman's Active Dry Yeast
2 tbsp Vital Wheat Gluten
1 tbsp Diastatic Malt powder
1 tbsp Non-Diastatic Malt powder
Make a sponge out of 1 cup of the flour and 3/4 cup of the water, all the yeast and half the honey in a bowl and cover with plastic wrap, and set it aside for an hour or so. Dump the rest of the ingredients in the bread maker (liquids on the bottom). When the sponge has doubled in size dump it on top of the rest of the ingredients and start the bread maker on cycle 3 with dark crust selected, 2lb size. This makes a moist, sweet, flavorful, delicious loaf that could have been store bought. Slice in thin slices because the protein content is high.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Satisfied

02/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to clean. I used fresh bread flour from local mill, medium crust setting, 1 1/2 # loaf setting, and the following simple bread recipe: 1 c. warm water, 2 Tbs. white sugar, 1 pkg. active dry yeast, 1/4 c. olive oil, 3 enriched flour, and 1 tsp. salt. Crust golden and held bread shape. Taste toooo good! Rose as expected to nice size loaf. Only problem is top fell. Haven't experimented with quantity of salt yet. The hole left by paddle is smaller than that of our old Sunbeam. Would like to have buzzer at end of second kneading cycle in order to remove paddle before baking. Made changes to recipe: used 1 c. of whole wheat flour and 2 c. white flour; increased salt to 2 tsp. Result: top did not fall, size of loaf smaller but still airy texture, whole wheat taste. Liked the info in recipe book on the exact length of cycles.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Defective

02/22/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I opened the box the bread maker came in, read the manual several times and proceeded to make some rye bread. Everything was going as planned until it came time for the bread maker to bake the bread. Less than 5 minutes into the bake cycle the unit turned itself off. I wasn't able to get it working again for at least 15 minutes. The bread was ruined. Thinking I had done something wrong, I attempted another time (still with the rye recipe). I watched the entire process this time. At the time it was to bake the the nicely risen bread dough, it shut itself off again. I returned the bread maker to my nearest Walmart store for a refund.
Recommends this product? No
From Oster Brand Team02/25/2015
Thank you for writing in this review and informing us of the malfunction of our bread maker. I can assure you this is not a common occurrence. I would like for us to be able to better assist you today. Please contact customer service at 1-800-334-0759. Our hours of operation are Monday-Friday from 9am-6pm, EST. Oster
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Love it!

04/07/2011
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this as a gift for Christmas and have not bought a loaf of bread or jam since! I make a couple of loaves a week and have made jam twice in it. My 4 year old tells me I am the best bread maker in the world! I have manipulated some of the recipes that come with the machine to reduce the fat and eliminate the sugar and they have turned out great!
Some helpful hints- The blade is fairly small so I find it doesnt always mix up the dough enough during the kneading cycle, so if you check after a few minutes, stick a spatula in and scrap the flour of the edges it will then mix (a little annoying but not a huge deal)
For making jam put some foil over the pan and put a few small slits in it. The jam splashes quite a bit and will get all over the inside of you machine if you don't.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Great deal on a bread maker

05/02/2010
By ,
Seneca, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bread maker at my local Walmart for just $30 yesterday. The red sale sticker on the box said $35, but it rang up for $30. I made bread last night and it came out perfect. I followed a recipe from Allrecipes.com that said to put the yeast, warm water and sugar first, then the flour, salt & veg. oil. I did a 1.5 lb. loaf on the basic setting with medium crust color. I used all-purpose flour not the bread flour that it called for. The bread came out soft with a flaky crust perfectly baked. I will try the method (liquid ingredients, then the dry ingredients, then the yeast on top) as stated in the manual next time to see if that works. Also, I will try with bread flour in the future to see the difference. Definitely a great product for the price! It seems to be sturdy, easy to use, and easy clean-up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

The best

11/17/2009
By ,
east dubuque, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this bread maker 2 weeks ago we use it everyday. we make white bread, banana nut bread, dough for pizza, everything. it comes with a recipe book. it is very easy to use. the settings are perfect you just hit the setting you want then walk away it beeps when its done. the pan is very deep we make bread and then cut it in half because the pieces are twice the size you would buy in the store. the loaves are rectangular shaped. it has a window so you can see exactly what it is doing. My husband loves this thing he cant stop making bread it's awesome we have bread in the freezer because we don't eat this much bread he makes it faster then we can eat it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+173points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

breadmaker

02/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was fun to watch the process and even better that the machine did all the work. Now I can make bread and not have to worry about keeping watch.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Amazing machine...love it!!!!

02/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first when the machine was first starting to kneed, it was looking like it was sticking to the sides, so I left hoping it would work itself out and it did. It makescamazing bread, is quiet, super easy. Now if only I can keep my kids and hubby from eating it all the minute it's done would be great! :)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 194 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next