Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Oster Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

With Oster Expressbake Breadmaker fresh-baked bread is a favorite in every home, gently filling the air with an enticing aroma and satisfying everyone's taste buds. This electric bread maker bakes a 2-pound loaf in less than an hour with the EXPRESSBAKE cycle. Use the 13-hour delay timer for customized bake time. Includes a gluten-free setting as a healthy bread option. With the Oster brand, you can cook with passion and serve with pleasure.
Average Customer Rating:
4.392 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(209 Reviews) 182
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
138
4 stars
44
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation89%186 out of 209reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
68 Questions | 242 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
138
4 stars
44
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Great Bread Machine

01/30/2011
By ,
Arcanum, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bread machine is very easy. I was making bread shortly after opening the box. Their recipes are so simple for the basic white and wheat but also has many other kinds. I figured there would be a lot of prep for it but it all goes in the pan and mixes everything itself and off it goes. Most of the time it takes to make the bread is for the time used on mixing and rising. The only downfall I've seen is that it wobbles on the more heavy flour recipes. The good thing is that it smells great and makes other things like jam and pizza dough.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+158points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Love it!

06/04/2012
By ,
Kensington, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It wasn't as loud as I expected from what I read on the reviews. It is so simple to use! You just dump all the ingredients in the basket and you'll have a delicious loaf of bread 3 hours later or less!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

I use for gluten-free bread

01/26/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine before Christmas specifically to make gluten-free bread.
So far, I have not tried from-scratch recipes, but have had good luck with mixes for cinnamon-raisin and whole grain from B.R.M. The short cycles do not work for gluten-free bread. The mixes recommend the basic over 3 hour setting and that seems to work.
Even though the time is long, I can put in the room-temperature wet ingredients ( liquids plus oil and egg), then the dry on top with a hole in the middle for the yeast, set the machine and forget it.
One trick I use is to warm the water in the microwave before whisking with the oil and somewhat cold egg(s). That way I don't have to leave my eggs out of the fridge.
I'm hoping to graduate to from-scratch recipes, but the mixes are convenient.
I am a fan of whole grain. Never liked to eat doughy white bread, even before I discovered I needed to go gluten-free.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+104points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Great little friend

01/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this breadmaker as a Christmas gift for me, but i can't keep my husband away from it now. It makes awesome bread with no effort from our part. Set it and forget it.
All we have to do is put the ingredients in and watch the bread being "created".
The bread comes out SO GOOD!
I would most definitely recommend this product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Good help in kitchen!

05/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This breadmaker is very useful and helps me a lot in the kitchen. I failed the first time I used it, because I didn't fix the pan in the machine and it turned out to be a disaster. After I discovered the mistake, everything became very easy. I use it almost every day and the bread is soft and fluffy. It is also very useful to make dough for dumpling skin. Love it!!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Great Buy for gluten-allergics!

01/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a huge bread fanatic, I had been going through bread-product withdrawals after discovering my many food allergies including gluten, milk, and eggs. We have yet to find an edible store-bought gluten free bread, so this product was a life saver! It makes GREAT gluten free bread that even my wife admits is just as good as the regular stuff! (and her "bar" for good food hasn't been lowered like mine has due to a multitude of food allergies). My wife just throws in the flour mix, egg replacer, yeast, etc, turns it on, and a couple of hours later we have a mouth-watering loaf of bread! It does everything for you--you don't even need to mix the ingredients, and the only dirty dish you end up with is the pan which comes out quite clean actually when you take the bread out! We haven't yet tried making anything in it other than "plain" bread, but for that alone we both agree that this is the most worthwhile thing we've bought in years, and for a lot less money than most of the other bread-makers we've seen!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Fantastic!

08/07/2011
By ,
Shelby NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have made eight loaves so far of Whole Wheat bread with this breadmaker and every loaf has been the same.....Fantastic! The best whole wheat bread I could find off the store shelf had so much preservatives (one famous brand has a chemical similar to fertilizer) that I decided to make my own. The ONLY ingredients are Whole wheat flour, water, a very small amount of brown sugar, yeast and small amount of salt. The bread holds up well for several days, I eat a loaf every four or five days (2 lb loaf). The taste is wonderful. The texture is quite dense and the bread is heavy, so you can use thin slices. Very easy to clean, super easy to use, just dump in ingredients and wait three hours and enjoy. The loaves are slightly "stubby" so your slices might not go into a toaster. I toast mine in a toaster oven. I calculated the cost of a loaf about $1.60. I found King Arthur flour to be the best whole wheat flour. available at Wal Mart.
I love the machine and recommend it highly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Love this machine!

03/08/2010
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine was a gift for myself for Christmas and I've been making bread every other day since! Great machine. I use the user guide and other sources and this machine works 'em up just fine. Only issue I have had is when I made a dense loaf, the machine literally walked off the counter! I ran back into the kitchen, picked it up, plugged it back in and it finished the cycle and baked the bread into as beautiful a loaf as all the other recipes. Have tried all different sizes from 1, 1-1/2 to 2 lb loaves with no issues. This is a workhorse of a breakmaker. It's not my first machine. My first machine was a DAK back in the early 80's (very heavy machine) and I've had other makes since then. This is the best so far. Right size, right weight, pan easy to put in and take out of the machine and it doesn't pop out or dislodge like some others, display is easy to read. Suggestions for newer models: I like to remove the paddle before it bakes and would like a few beeps that it's ready for the final raising cycle. The user manual could use a little revamping in the recipe department. Other than that -- it's great a great product. Oh, used Walmart site to store -- awesome service. Hope it never goes away!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

A good basic bread maker

11/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used mine every week for over a year to make a loaf of honey whole wheat malt bread for sandwiches and this machine has performed reliably every time. Here's the recipe that I use for some really good bread for sandwiches or toast.
375 gm King Arthur White Whole Wheat Flour
125 gm King Arthur Whole Wheat Flour
300 gm distilled water
7 tbsp honey
3 tbsp unsalted butter
2½ tsp salt
2½ tsp Fleischman's Active Dry Yeast
2 tbsp Vital Wheat Gluten
1 tbsp Diastatic Malt powder
1 tbsp Non-Diastatic Malt powder
Make a sponge out of 1 cup of the flour and 3/4 cup of the water, all the yeast and half the honey in a bowl and cover with plastic wrap, and set it aside for an hour or so. Dump the rest of the ingredients in the bread maker (liquids on the bottom). When the sponge has doubled in size dump it on top of the rest of the ingredients and start the bread maker on cycle 3 with dark crust selected, 2lb size. This makes a moist, sweet, flavorful, delicious loaf that could have been store bought. Slice in thin slices because the protein content is high.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Really Nice!! Would Highly Recommend!!

12/25/2009
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to make homemade bread by scratch. The kneeding dough part was particularly time and strength consuming.
It is so nice to just load the ingredients and let this breadmaker do all the work!
It comes with recipes and utensils, (tsp/tbs, measuring cup, etc). Since their cup measured 3/8 inches, I use that one and put a small piece of electrical tape at the line to see it, (old eyes), but use my glass cup for the other measurements.
Another customer mentioned the machine jumping around the surface its on when kneeding. I found that to be true the first time. However, I think it all has to do with measuring and placement of the ingredients because it hasn't happened since.
When I mean placement, I mean making sure that it's evenly distributed, (the flour), in the baking pan.
And, as directions say, making a hole for the yeast. They want everything room temperature and I think that is also key in a good loaf of bread.
All and all, we love it. We've baked 1 loaf a week and it's getting better and better.
Highly recommend this product for those who don't want to spend a lot of money, but want a really yummy loaf of bread.
Can't top the aroma of baking bread in the house either. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

The best

11/17/2009
By ,
east dubuque, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this bread maker 2 weeks ago we use it everyday. we make white bread, banana nut bread, dough for pizza, everything. it comes with a recipe book. it is very easy to use. the settings are perfect you just hit the setting you want then walk away it beeps when its done. the pan is very deep we make bread and then cut it in half because the pieces are twice the size you would buy in the store. the loaves are rectangular shaped. it has a window so you can see exactly what it is doing. My husband loves this thing he cant stop making bread it's awesome we have bread in the freezer because we don't eat this much bread he makes it faster then we can eat it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+169points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Love it!

04/07/2011
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this as a gift for Christmas and have not bought a loaf of bread or jam since! I make a couple of loaves a week and have made jam twice in it. My 4 year old tells me I am the best bread maker in the world! I have manipulated some of the recipes that come with the machine to reduce the fat and eliminate the sugar and they have turned out great!
Some helpful hints- The blade is fairly small so I find it doesnt always mix up the dough enough during the kneading cycle, so if you check after a few minutes, stick a spatula in and scrap the flour of the edges it will then mix (a little annoying but not a huge deal)
For making jam put some foil over the pan and put a few small slits in it. The jam splashes quite a bit and will get all over the inside of you machine if you don't.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Great deal on a bread maker

05/02/2010
By ,
Seneca, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bread maker at my local Walmart for just $30 yesterday. The red sale sticker on the box said $35, but it rang up for $30. I made bread last night and it came out perfect. I followed a recipe from Allrecipes.com that said to put the yeast, warm water and sugar first, then the flour, salt & veg. oil. I did a 1.5 lb. loaf on the basic setting with medium crust color. I used all-purpose flour not the bread flour that it called for. The bread came out soft with a flaky crust perfectly baked. I will try the method (liquid ingredients, then the dry ingredients, then the yeast on top) as stated in the manual next time to see if that works. Also, I will try with bread flour in the future to see the difference. Definitely a great product for the price! It seems to be sturdy, easy to use, and easy clean-up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Great Product

12/29/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my wife, as she has always been an excellent cook, and she was looking for an easier way to make bread. This bread maker has multiple useful settings, so you just add ingredients and set it, then it leaves you to do other things. It makes clean-up easier too. We have the only had this since Christmas, and have already enjoyed several loaves of bread, and a pizza made by this product.
Since this was our first venture at purchasing a bread maker, I didn't want to spend too much money, only to have it not be used very much, or for it to break down right away. I think the small investment was very wise, and I plan on enjoying the bread my wife makes for many years to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Good Breadmaker

10/22/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the breadmaker. It is smaller than my previous one so it takes up less counterspace. One note, during the initial kneading cycle the user needs to scrap the flour from the sides of the loaf pan so that everything mixes up properly. The bread is delicious and the maker is easy to program and use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Amazing Machine

02/25/2014
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Oster Expressbake bread machine is THE BEST. I was a little hesitant about ordering a bread machine, because I had never used one before. Let me tell you, this machine is SO easy to make bread and it comes out perfect everytime. I love making bread at home and this machine is one of the best investments I have ever made. Highly recommend this machine to someone looking for a top-notch bread machine.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

The bread was okay - jam maker a disaster

10/31/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have made (3) loaves so far and they are edible but crumble when sliced. The jam maker made the worse mess imaginable. As it went through the jam making cycle it splashed jam all over the inside of the unit. The recipe was for three cups of jam but I ended up with less than one cup. It tastes great but the most expensive cup of jam I have ever had.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Great Gift

10/30/2009
By ,
Kremmling, Co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this breadmaker for my 82 year old Mother that loves to bake. Thanks to the easy directions and simple receipes, she is back in the kitchen.
We have found it to be better than the previous machine and look forward to many tasty treats from the kitchen
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
okeechobee fl.34974
AWWW that is sooo sweet you just melted my heart!
Posted 02/21/2012
as a
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Reluctantly Recommend

03/30/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is my first breadmaker (owned three days). I have trouble removing the breadpan. It doesn't lift straight up and out easily. Other than that, the basic white bread recipe turned out great! I like the size of the machine, the display panel, user friendly settings with nice range of options and window on top to watch bread making process.
Although I find the breadpan itself difficult to remove, the bread comes out of the pan very easily due to nonstick coating.
Would like to give a higher rating but uncertain due to breadpan removal issue. Will try contacting the Company again which wasn't accepting calls due to heavy call volumn. Yikes!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oster Expressbake Breadmaker

Pennsylvania

09/09/2010
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This works great for gluten free breads.
Measurements have to be exact.
Worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 171 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next