Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sunbeam Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

 
Average Customer Rating:
3.095 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation57%12 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Great Humidifier - Exactly What I Was Looking For

12/27/2009
By ,
Attleboro, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a child who grew up in the 70's, my parents always used a humidifier that didn't need filters. I was looking for that again because I am fed up with using filters in humidifiers...they get moldy and old and I don't like spending extra money on them when my water that I fill the humidifier with is already filtered.
This humidifier is great! It is quiet, the moisture comes out of the top just like any other humidifier and it makes the room comfortable and not dry in the New England winter weather when the house is dry from the heat. I will be buying another one of these this weekend for my 1st floor. I'm glad to be back to basics!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 2 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Good Buy

12/29/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just bought this humidifier this evening after researching on the internet. Definitely a good buy for the money for a medium-sized room. Nice size and works well. No problems with leakage. Just read the directions and fill with cool water and tighten cap well before placing on the base. Saw misting almost immediately once I plugged it in. In fact worked so well, that I had to place further away from one of my wooden end tables, as it collected moisture with the humidifier sitting next to it on the floor. Quiet while running. So far so good...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 3 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Awkward and annoying

02/28/2010
By ,
Cleveland, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product is very difficult to clean, the passages where the vapor comes out is a small narrow tunnel that lines with film when it needs to be cleaned, you cannot fit a sponge or anything down there to clean it out, so when you run the device it smells like algae. The tank does not fit well in a kitchen sink, so you have to rinse, clean, and fill it in your tub, it does not sit upright so you have to hold it while it fills and bending into the tub, once you have filled the tank, you have to clean the base, the slightest move and you slosh water all over your floors and there are so many small tight spaces you can barely thoroughly clean the device at all.
Poor construction and poor design for a humidifer to be easy to use, especially for everyday use.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 4 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

great humidifier

01/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great humidifier!
It works well to add moisture to a large living room as well as smaller bedrooms. I have not had any problems with leaking. I do, however, recommend to place the unit on a towel so that as the air gets saturated it doesn't condense on the floor directly.
Highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 5 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

dust factory

12/07/2010
By ,
Hogwarts, WM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gist: Ultrasonic somehow produces dust in industrial quantities. To me mist is wet, dust is dry, so it was dust all right. I know that when you turn on your hum'er, humidity will change, and that may cause extra dust accumulation on surfaces. You clean it up and dust is gone for good. I bought 4 different ultrasonic Sunbeam units. All of them produced enormous amount of dust. Dust was everywhere - every surface, inside closets, inside DVD player trays, inside SLR body. I'd clean up dust and it would be back in a hour or so. It seemed that these units sucked in dust from outside. I'm still puzzled why ultrasonic would produce that effect - but dust was on every surface in the whole house.
Replaced ultrasonics with sunbeam warm mist units and the dust problem is gone. Same humidity and no side effects.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 6 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier
12/06/2009
By ,
Clearwater, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product leaked from the first time I tried it! I am returning this item as soon as I can! Seems there is not a tight enough seal between the base and the container.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 7 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Overall a good product

12/11/2009
By ,
South Fork, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Humidifier works well. Has more than adequate container for 24 hours of operation before refilling is required. Quiet operation means you can use it in your bedroom while sleepimg. Only problem is the size/shape of container makes it dificult to fill at kitchen sink. I recomend you use filterd water, it will increase the units life by preventing deposites to build up. Probably healthier, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

A Good humidifer

01/12/2010
By ,
Tulsa, Ok.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This humidifier is good for us. It immediately provided mist right out of the box. It took a while to get our room to a comfort level because it was so dry. My wife sneezes a lot less and we really enjoy this product. The price was nice as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

This thing is junk!

01/17/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these humidifiers the same evening for my daughters rooms. I used them for about a week and then all of a sudden we had soaked floors in each room. both of the water reservoirs had cracked on the seams and leaked out. JUNK!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 10 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

water all over

12/27/2013
By ,
Reading, Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product leaks!
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

NOT FOR EVERYONE

03/13/2011
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this product for the entire winter season in Wisconsin and have become disillusioned with the ultrasonic operation. The unit DID increase the humidity level dramatically, quietly, and quickly. However I intend to return it and buy a humidifier that uses filters after all.
I bought the ultrasonic unit because it promised no filters and quiet operation. DONE!
Ultrasonic humidifiers produce the phenomenon variously described as "dust" or "powder" deposits in the household. It's WAY WORSE than that. My keyboard feels unclean to my fingers and is "tinted" with white residue that needs to be dusted daily and I just hate it.
The "talc-like" powder (calcium?) forms throughout the house even in rooms away from the unit. It can be fairly easily cleaned but do you want to do this EVERY SINGLE DAY? I don't. I tried it, I put up with it until today. I have had enough. The dust gets into your CD/DVD drives, your tape players, your glasses, everything. I am totally done with that and I will get rid of this unit and go to a "filtered" unit and pay the cost for the "wick/filters" like before.
DON'T BUY THIS UNIT UNLESS YOU HAVE SOFT WATER OR FILTERED WATER in quantities to run the thing on a daily basis. SPEND YOUR MONEY ON A NON-ULTRASONIC HUMIDIFIER. Or buy this thing and learn like I did; THE HARD WAY.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Very Satisfied

01/05/2010
By ,
Dallas, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this humidifier about a week ago and I'm very pleased so far with it. Never had one before. I have it in my master bedroom not far from my bed and desk which is where I spend most of my time. I have horribly dry skin, and the winter aside from having to run the central heat really tears my skin up. Since I bought it my skin has stopped flacking & my lips aren't cracked in the morning. You do have to empty it every day as a certain amount of residual water will gather in the base as the instructions stated. I waited two full days before emptying and the base was 3/4 full so be sure and read, then follow the instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Buy only if you have good water!

01/18/2011
By ,
Canton, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ultrasonic humidifiers appealed to me because it is newer technology and doesn't require a filter. Unfortunately I have very hard water so it spewed a fine white powder into the air. This chalk clogged up my nasal passages and sinuses which gave me the worst headache I've ever had in my life. After 5 days I finally figured out what was causing my poor health and once the unit was removed the headaches went away. I still think this is a cool unit and it definitely raises humidity levels. Just be sure you have soft water or water that's not full of chemicals like mine here in Canton.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Huge difference with my sinus headaches

06/27/2010
By ,
Buffalo, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this for my birthday as recommended from my doctor. Huge decline in sinus headaches and sinus infections as well.
Pros: Does not leak, quiet, one fill lasts about a week (8 hours a night).
Cons are you have to turn it upside down to fill (but I think that is standard with all humidifiers) and a bit of a pain to clean.
I also notice it leaves a weird white film on my tv after a few days. Not sure if it's mist combined with dust but it's such a pain to clean cause my TV has a very rough texture.
Oh and it gurgles every now and then but no biggie!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

I Love It!

01/24/2010
By ,
Friendswood, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this product about a week now and find that it is an excellent product. I have had no problem at all with leaking, nor do I have any problem with moisture accumulation. I have it sitting on the counter top between my kitchen and living room in an open space room that is about 800 sq ft. I have a very low tolerance for central heat and this unit has really helped keep moisture in the air and my sinus able to breath.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Early Opinion

01/18/2011
By ,
Winchester, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is same as Holmes HM495-UC humidifier. It has Sunbeam name and product number is SUL496-UM. Both sell for $42.00. We have used it just one night. I took it out of box, rinced the tank, filled with water, and turned it on. It worked perfectly. No water spilled or leaked. So far, completley satisfied. Should any problems occur with product in future, I will be back to notify anyone interested.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Never Even Worked

01/07/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Opened up and followed directions. Didn't work. Called company they told me it was a broken transducer and to return it. So I did. Sad when you can't even buy a working product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Review 18 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Didn't work..

12/12/2009
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this humidifier more than a month ago and I do not noticed a difference in humidity in the room. I thought using the new technology- "ultrasonic" that it would be great. The machine is quiet though and I could sleep with it on, but I did not notice any difference in the air-
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 19 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

01/29/2010
By ,
Damascus, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very satisfied. Quiet, easy to clean and care for. Volume of water container is very adequate and provides a terrific flow of air at low and high settings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Sunbeam Ultrasonic Humidifier

Very Quiet

01/05/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This humidifier is very quiet, and really seems to do the job! Would definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next