Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sunbeam Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier

 
Average Customer Rating:
3.895 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation68%13 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier

Meets all expectations

12/20/2009
By ,
Boulder City, Nv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, I was surprised at the size, which is great for water capacity. I set the speed on A2 to start the first few days. Now it is on A1 and runs 24hrs before filling again. There is no 'white' mist like some others leave. I live in the desert and plan on using this through the summer months as well, as humidity runs about 8-10%. The humidifier definitely has helped with my breathing. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a decent humidifier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 2 for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier

Holds 2.5 gallons of water

11/18/2009
By ,
Santa Fe, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been looking for a humidifier that holds enough water that I don't need to fill it everyday - this one fits the bill. I run it on the lowest setting and it is fairly quiet. I live in the high desert of New Mexico, so a humidifier is a necessity in the winter.
I have found it is very difficult to determine how much water any humidifier holds as the companies that make them no longer put this information on the box or any other descriptions. This is the 3rd one I bought before finding one that is big enough for my purposes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Review 3 for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier

A good product

12/12/2009
By ,
Omaha, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this product for a couple months now and it's been running almost the whole time. It has not broken yet but I have noticed that the humidity reading is off a bit. Says it's 40 but doesn't feel that way, I usually just bump it up until it feels better in the house. Lately it feels like it isn't spitting out as much humidity but I can't be sure of the machine not working or if the air just got that much drier which is a possibility. It's quiet on the "1" or "A1" settings but gets louder the higher you turn the fan. It's very easy to maintain and overall I am happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 4 for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier

Humidifier

12/28/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reasonable up front cost, easy to run and large capacity tank. Per the instructions, you are to thoroughly cleanse the item daily (vinegar) and then weekly (with bleach). The filter indicator seems to work well, and the color indicator on the filter corresponds, with the filter needing replacement after 2 months. New filters are $10 each or less if you buy in quantity, down to $5/filter if you buy 20. So there you have it, cheap up front but costly in time and money to maintain, great for Sunbeam.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier

Does the job!

12/25/2009
By ,
mountains of NE GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have tried many different humidifiers and this one beats all the competition. It is a perfect size, easily doing 2 rooms in our home. It is easy to refill and the digital control is easy to program. We love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier

erratic

01/03/2010
By ,
Washington, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
On any of the automatic speeds (A1,A2, or A3) the fan will start up for 1/2 second, then stop. Then fan will immediately start up again and runs for 5-10 seconds and stops. If I leave it off for a few hours, and the room humidity drops, then it will turn on and run until desired level is reached, then this on/off/on cycle starts all over again. This occurred right out of the box. Different humidity levels have been tried with the same results. Not sure if humidifier is defective or not.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier

Very Good Value

01/28/2010
By ,
St Joseph, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
During these winter months, my house was so dry, after seeing a line of current running between my finger and the ceiling light switch, I had enough. I researched the various cool mist humidifiers (as I do not want to deal with daily cleaning from warm mist humidifiers) on the market from units ranging well over $200 to the cost of this unit.
I bought two of these units and they run continuously. Happily, I am no longer shocking the cat or myself with the flip of a switch and the air is much more comfortable.
I found if you use the automatic settings and the unit's humidity reading is at the specified setting, it will turn on and off again repeatedly. Either raise the level of humidity or take it off of automatic and keep it manually set. I keep my units at 2, rather than A2. At night, it runs fairly quiet when you have the unit set at 1 or A1. I believe you would need to buy the most expensive unit on the market to have a humidifier run quieter.
There is no white dust from this unit.
Whenever I change the water, I flip the filter which gives the filter a much longer life. I always add two capfuls of Holmes Bacteriostat and one capful of Holmes Water Treatment Solution (for hard water) when filling. Add the treatment solution after filling your reservior, or you will create bubbles.
The water lasts me 24 hours or less according to whether I am using 1 or a higher setting.
I am sure it is not accurate in its humidity readings, regardless, my house is much more comfortable after using the two units and I would recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier

Disappointing

01/10/2010
By ,
WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After researching humidifiers and reading all the reviews, I decided to purchase this one. I felt it fit our needs, and people seemed to be satisfied with it.
Sat it up and plugged it in, and turned it to the high position. I adjusted the humidity setting, to where I wanted it to be. Our humidity was at about 30% before starting it up (we have a humidity gauge other than the one on the unit, which was relatively spot on). I let it run wide open for 24 hours, and our humidity in the small dining room/living room actually dropped to 28%. Unacceptable. A pot of water boiling on the stove quickly ups our humidity to 50-60%, so there's no way this thing was working properly. It goes back to the store today for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 9 for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier

It works, but....

12/23/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So, I open the package and fill it up and turn it on. I could immediately feel the difference in the air. As I looked closer at the needle which tells you if the filter is still good or not, the needle was to the left of the knob (that tells you it is time to change the filter). Meaning the needle would not move to the right (or where it says filter is good). I had to pop off the plastic piece and move it to the other side.
The humidity indicator doesn't seem to work too well. I doubt it is close to what it is actually saying. I have seen it jump up and down in seconds.
Other than that, the humidifier actually works well and I can feel a difference in the air.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier
01/26/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It leaks very bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 11 for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier

Perfect for large rooms!

01/31/2010
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love this one. I had a smaller one from another company that I just didn't like. This one has plenty of levels that you will find the perfect one. I actually have mine under where the heat vent is. It takes a lot of the dryness out. If your room gets hot, you can turn this up and it levels it all out lol. I love it. And the fan is low. It isn't loud at all. I really like it. Plus it is more stylish that the others onthe market.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier

Love this humidifier

07/13/2010
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two previous humidifiers that only lasted about 2-3 months each. This one has been hanging in there for at least 6 months so far. The water capacity is huge and easy to refill. The read-out makes it easy to see what the humidity level is and set it to a constant level. I also have very hard water so I really like the gauge that tells when it is time to change the filter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier

Good buy

01/31/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First thing, read and follow the directions! If the ones who've rated low on this would have read the directions they may not have rated it so low.
I do have one thing to point out. When this product is set on auto and it reaches the set point, it does keep turning on and off. But putting it on A3 it works fine. You'll get use to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier

Love the capacity

02/02/2010
By ,
Navarre FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the large capacity of this unit. I also like the two handles on the reservoir which make it easier to handle a full tank. My only complaint is in Auto mode because it uses the built in hydrometer it cycles on and off frequently. I have found myself using it in the timed and manual mode.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier

Noisy

01/15/2010
By ,
Summerton, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for our bedroom. It works really well,
but even on low, it is noisy. I have a large floor
humidifer that is not this noisy. I am a light sleeper,
and I kept waking up when the fan turned on. If you are a heavy sleeper, this is a really good deal.
Sadly, I am returning it today.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier

Sunbeam Cool Mist Humidifier

02/03/2010
By ,
Meridian, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit replaces a comparable item made by Bionaire that wore out. The new Sunbeam unit is very quiet and seems to do the job. Haven't had it long enough to make any more observations. I hope Wal-Mart will carry the replacement wick filters.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 17 for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier
01/20/2010
By ,
Mesa, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Instructions a little hard to understand, but works great. Easy to fill compared to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier

Can't hold its own

01/10/2010
By ,
Indiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Oh, well. It bought it to replace an over the register humidifier that was leaving me at 16% RH. After a day, this unit left me at the same RH--in a 12x15 room--which is half the rated capacity. Hmmm.
So I put it on the table. Not preferred and it's taking up space. It finally got up to 26% RH after two days and about 15 gal. of water. Where'd they get the 48 hr. rating? It must be for slow automatic and very low humidity settings.
The carry handle on the fill side feels cheap and I keep waiting for it to crack, but it has held up when full--four days now. This machine uses a LOT of water!!
The meter is accurate--within 1%--as verified by external humidistats in the same room.
Although the manual says it will show from 21% to 90% as its limits, mine flickers between 20 and 21 when it gets in that low area.
The filter shows good for about a day then goes to replace, but that meter is misleading. I take it out, rinse it off and replace upside down from the last time and it is fine. The meter goes back up. Adding a small amount of vinegar or lemon juice to the water is mnimizing lime build-up.
The automatic settings will not let you go to the acceptable humidity range bottom edge. Although 25% to 40% RH are considered acceptable (above 45 you start getting into a dust mite/mold spore problem) the automatic settings do NOT go below 30% RH!!
I'd love to get to 40% and saveon heatng bills, but this thing, after three days, has only reached 26%--one time. It was doing pretty well to hold 24% yesterday, but after an all night run on A3 (fast) it was back down to 20% this morning.
OVERALL
It's still better than the floor, over-vent was able to do--maybe. This will not get over 16% either when on the floor; and, consumes more electricity and water to do so.
It is normal for humidifiers to handle rooms half their rated size. This one does not. Perhaps if it was totally sealed, but what good would that do? This is the dining room.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sunbeam Digital Cool Mist Humidifier
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5