Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lionel Lionel Lines O-Gauge Ready-to-Run Train Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Lionel Lionel Lines O-Gauge Ready-to-Run Train Set

The whole family will love this classic Lionel train set. The Lionel Lines O-Gauge Ready-to-Run Train Set includes everything you need for the complete train set experience - track, transformer, and an authentic Lionel train. The powerful headlight, puffing smoke, and an authentic train whistle add to the fun!
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation94%15 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lionel Lines O-Gauge Ready-to-Run Train Set

Not what I was expecting for the money

12/30/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a relatively expensive train (in my opinion). I have to take ours back at some point... the whistle doesn't work. After paying that much, I want EVERYTHING to work... including the dumb whistle. Just seems like a pain to box it all up to take it back. :o( The engine is very good quality... but the other cars seem kind of cheap to me. Not really impressed for the price. I got this for my son... he really doesnt' seem over-impressed with it, either.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Lionel Lines O-Gauge Ready-to-Run Train Set

big smile

12/23/2009
By ,
jersey shore
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lionel name means quality and it was.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Lionel Lines O-Gauge Ready-to-Run Train Set

Good starter set for 6 year old

12/25/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great starter set for a great price! You can get stronger engines, fancier sounds, and fancier freight cars, but you'll pay twice as much (over three hundred). Paying twice as much doesn't make playing with it twice as much fun.
O-scale trains are good for clumsey 6 year olds because they're big and relatively durable. "The smaller the hands, the bigger the train", according to our local train store.
"Fastrack", Lionel's propietary large gauge track with the built in roadbed, is sturdy and my 6 year old can take it apart and reassemble it.
My 6 year old son is used to wooden train track. It's a learning experience for him, because this is a model train, not a toy train. A simple oval of track is boring and doesn't have a lot of "play value". You have to get imaginative to add play value.
Add "play value" with a siding or loop. Buy a switch and extra track to make the siding for parking cars. Use legos and cardboard boxes to build stations, bridges, tunnels, etc. I bought a toy fork-lift (not to scale) and made packages for loading. We downloaded 'Card Models" from the internet and made cardboard crossing towers, stations, loading platforms, etc.
Doing the layout and building things together is the fun part, not just running the trains. Have Fun!
Just a note: The knuckle couplers on the freight cars don't open; they can't be operated remotely. However, if you buy a couple of cars with operating couplers, these cars are compatible with them. Alternate these cars with cars with operating couples. Then you can couple and uncouple them on a siding for increased "play value"!
I gave the set only 4 stars because it's not a "top of the line" set with top of the line features. But it's still a great set for half the price of the fanciest sets. And it's got 99% of the "play value" of a more expensive set.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Lionel Lines O-Gauge Ready-to-Run Train Set

Includes unique boxcar

12/22/2009
By ,
Hillsdale, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I especially enjoyed the unique boxcar with graphics from Lionel's 1950 catalog. I found this set a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 5 for Lionel Lines O-Gauge Ready-to-Run Train Set

GREAT BUY

12/28/2009
By ,
Harlingen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great buy. I had been looking for a Lionel Train set for a long time, but didn't want to pay over 200 dollars for one. When I say the price Wal Mart had it, I bought it right away. It was just what I was looking for. My daughter and I love this train. It will last forever. Thank you Wal Mart. I would recommend this train to anybody.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Lionel Lines O-Gauge Ready-to-Run Train Set

Laying tracks

12/23/2009
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice its Lionel of course. I liked Price especially and free shipping. Wanted more of the same plus accessories. Try to have more next season.
Arrived ahead of schedule and good condition. Had time to set up and run. Hope to reset up tomorrow night for grandson.
thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Lionel Lines O-Gauge Ready-to-Run Train Set

LIONEL AND WALMART

12/24/2009
By ,
Long ISland,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, Lionel Makes the best stuff and walmart has great prices, can't beat that combination. (Oh, Thats brothers 3 Pools Slogan)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Lionel Lines O-Gauge Ready-to-Run Train Set

train owner

12/09/2009
By ,
davie,florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i now own 2 lionel trains love them ,im also 49 yrs old
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Lionel Lines O-Gauge Ready-to-Run Train Set

Much Better than we thought

12/30/2009
By ,
Cortlandt Manor, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had been looking for an electric train set for a couple of years for a reasonable price, but only found battery operated ones. This one I found on Cyber Monday and I thought it was a great deal, then I comparison shopped online and no one could beat the price. I bought it and had it delivered to our local Wal-Mart. The ordering process was easy, the following e-mails giving order status and delivery were prompt and pick up was easy. We bought this for our 5 year old grandson to begin a tradition of assembling it every Christmas. The quality is better than I thought it would be. I like the Lionel name. Assembling the track was easy. We love it. So does he, but he still might be a little young for it (he wants to put his big trucks on the track and have the train ram into them!) We are very happy with our puchase
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Lionel Lines O-Gauge Ready-to-Run Train Set

On the Right Track!

01/24/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this train set for my husband as a Christmas Gift! He loved it, he was like a little kid in a candy shop! The train set is of excellent quality and without breaking the bank! Great Product! I recommend this train set for established train collectors as well as beginners! Have Fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for Lionel Lines O-Gauge Ready-to-Run Train Set

Lionel Ready to Run Trains

12/22/2009
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent beginners set with easy to read instructions which all make sense. The packaging was great and everything came unbroken and exactly as expected. A really good value for the first time buyers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Lionel Lines O-Gauge Ready-to-Run Train Set

Nice Train set!

12/22/2009
By ,
New Orleans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for around the tree. Good quality and great deal, we got it on line for $130 during the holiday sales. Does NOT have a bell, but the control panel has a button for it. Can use control panel for other train sets with a bell. Whistle is quiet and it has to run a little before starting to smoke. That's normal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Lionel Lines O-Gauge Ready-to-Run Train Set
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5