Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Weider Weider Total Body Works 5000

Weider Weider Total Body Works 5000

Designed for a total body workout, the new and improved Weider Total Body Works 5000 is perfect for both upper and lower body workouts. It strengthens muscles and enhances flexibility. The Weider Home Gym features an incline bench with wheels that can be adjusted to the desired position with the help of pulleys on both sides. By adjusting this bench, you can increase or decrease the weight resistance suitable to your body weight. The Weider home gym features a compact space-saving design that makes it the perfect full body workout equipment for home use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.581 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(558 Reviews) 482
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
379
4 stars
146
3 stars
15
2 stars
14
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation97%539 out of 557reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
116 Questions | 576 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
379
4 stars
146
3 stars
15
2 stars
14
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Excellent

12/09/2012
By ,
Memphis, Tn.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very convenient piece of equipment. With the exception of sort of wimpy "power cords", it eliminates the need for many other pieces of cumbersome equipment in an apartment or small home. With some movements it tends to "squeek or grind" on the runners, so one might need to use a bit of wheel bearing grease to prevent premature wearout of the rollers and scraping of the main runners. Item came virtually pre-assembled in the box and took only a few moments to set up and be ready to use. Not suitable for "Bodybuilders" except as a warmup tool. Also, adjusting the height of the unit is somewhat awkward and almost requires two people to avoid minor injury. Once you get used to it , it is fine. You can buy this for under $150 or opt for the Celebrity endorsed "Total Gym" for about $1000 and get the same thing--DUH !!! No, thanks, Chuck, this will do just as well !!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Nice to have around

06/29/2012
By ,
Midwest, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't use it nearly as often as I should but it's quiet, runs smoothly, and holds a good 300 lbs. comfortably. It comes with a poster with the various exercises you can do and it can be stood up on its end to take up very little space. I think it's a wonderful buy and I don't regret it for a moment!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

great product -great price

03/04/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this purchase. It was easy to set up, only 3 bolts and 4 pins. the only issue I had was the directions were not clear in regards to pulling the pin out under the bench and then pulling the bench support out to allow the bench to move up and down. I had to have my husband help with this part as the unit is made of steel and very heavy. I like the extra resistance bands which I use for squats. I am a beginner exerciser, 53 yrs old and I am using this unit to help build up muscle in my arms and legs. I feel this is the perfect way to do so. This unit has a great price and walmart ships directly to your house. the fed ex guy even brought it into my garage, so no issues with hauling it. I do wish it had a sample workout included with it. however, I found videos on YouTube showing the different exercises and also a sample workout on the Total gym website.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

thrilled

11/20/2009
By ,
New york to North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble
Easy to use
It has different levels of strength building areas- from the beginning to advanced
It is better or at least as good as the Total Gym and have more features
I am very happy with the Weider Total Body Works gym- I have owned the total gym and used it regularly for over 20 years and the features that are in this product were in the original Total Gym and now they charge you for every thing I chose Weider because I knew what I wanted and did not want to pay almost $500. for Total gym
Weider Total Body Works gym is versatile and had all the things I had become accustomed to I had it delivered to the store and the associate loaded it in my SUV I took it home and assembled it and used it immediately
Just what I needed! I am 63 years old and my muscles and are trying to contract This is what I needed to be proactive against revolt of old age I am building muscle strength and building stronger bones I am thrilled with Weider Total Body Works gym
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Versatile product

12/11/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Helpful in doing many excercises for any part of the body. Good for even those who have had surgeries instead of going to the Gym or Physical therapy to recover from home and not cause more pain but gentle movements as for each one's convenience. Ideal for those with back problems. My back hurts doing excercise with any machine but not this one. Doesn't feel like I am using my back or core but actually I am working those muscle. Ideal for those with knee problems too as pain in knees prevents you or is a excuse that you can't excercise or tone your muscles or lose weight. Unlike other machines this helps with my knee strengthening without causing pain. No longer can my knee prevent me from excercising with this product. Let it be upper body or core or lower body or cardio all kind of excercises are possible with it for everyone. Can adjust resistance based on your capacity. A big thumbs up for this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Great Product - Great Value

02/05/2014
By ,
Cincinnati, Oh.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 58 years old and in decent shape. I have been working out regularly since I turned 50. This is a great product that adds for me another dimension to my workouts. Another way to vary routines. I really like it. It is fun, yet it really does give you a good workout if you push to get that extra rep or two. I wish that it had a little more resistance, the 50 extra pounds is just not quite enough for certain exercises. Some exercises, even with the resistance, I find myself doing over 50 Repetitions. Most exercises though do work within an acceptable range of repetitions. Be careful to position yourself on the board so as not to pull the board all the way to the pulleys or you will tear the vinyl at and / or near the corners. This is a great value and appears to be well built. I recommend it, even for people that are already somewhat fit. It would be terrific for beginners. If you are looking to get started working out, or just looking to vary a routine, buy this product. I believe that if you are serious enough about getting in shape, you will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Charlotte, North Carolina
Does this machine work on legs and thigh's??
Posted 03/23/2014
Hello,
I am very interested in this product, however, does this work on legs and thigh's?? I don't see how it works on lower body in the video?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Poor Craftsmanship, Loud and Wobbly

09/19/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PROS: Inexpensive, easy to assemble, a lot of exercise options, good for beginners
CONS: Loud, wobbly, doesn't glide smoothly, not challenging enough for advanced users
OVERALL: I normally don't write reviews but I want to take a moment to express my disappointment in this product. When I ordered this machine, I did so because of the good reviews but after the first usage I'm really sorry I went through with purchasing it. I have worked out consistantly for about 10 years at a lot of gyms, using a number of different lines of equipment (Life Fitness, Free Motion, Techno Gym, Hammer Strength). Don't expect to get the same feel from this $150 machine that you would from any of those manufacturers. It's incredibly noisy, wobbly and doesn't glide smoothly. It is a good concept and could be a really nice piece if more effort, time and money was put into the craftsmanship of it. If you are used to working out at a gym or if you are at a fitness level of intermediate to advanced, I would skip this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

After doing research....

10/03/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE IT LOVE LOVE IT!!!!! I hate the gym so I look for what I can do from home that does everything...THIS IS IT.
Ordered ship>home on Sunday night, Fed Ex delivered on Thursday, 4 days later, waaay early. Get this product and NOT Total Home Gym. This has a better price, weight resistance bands, and the pullup bars at the top. Very sturdy and actually doing the excercises are relaxing, just laying there rowing back, rowing forth. I wanted to isolate my chest muscles (pecs) and after one workout, chest was sore for 2 days. Goodbhye pushup and pullup bars I had used. Assembly is quick and easy - maybe 3 bolts and 4 pins. Will need a wrench though. 13mm or equivilent, or vice grips. The price is a steal, and I would pay more for it. Go for it. BTW, I've worked out all my life, in the gym, with the military, on the high school wrestling team etc. I know a thing or two about workout equipment and this is a top home piece.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Sturdy

04/19/2014
By ,
Cloquet, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heavy but I only dragged it from my porch into my living room where I set it up in front of the TV. I am in my 70s but wanted something to help me stay fit. Was easy to assemble by myself. Could of used more padding for us seniors. It was well built and had an excellent price with free delivery to my doorstep. Adjusts to decrease pull tension or add to it. Works with your own body weight and bungy cords. Bench slides easily with your body on it. Have only used it a couple of times so cannot comment on its durability but given the heavy assembled pieces I would guess it would last a long time. It is quite long extended about 7-8'. Folds down but would not be easy to move around because of weight so pick a spot where it can stay. Similar type systems sell for a lot more. This was a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Just got it and excited to really put it to work!

01/11/2014
By ,
Red Oak TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hefty but easy enough to move around. Quite sturdy and compares well to other brand similar product. I had the other brand for yrs and loved it and dont see much difference with this one. I'm over 250 lbs and it holds my weight well. Great part is that for an even better more intense workout as u get in better & better shape not only is the incline gonna work u but u can also add resistance bands. I went to the Weider site and u can NOT beat this price Plus it came with a mat to protect your floors even though its not really needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

I love this product!

01/12/2010
By ,
Pleasanton, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Weider 5000 is the answer to my muscle building dilemma. I bought a treadmill that is really fun and I enjoy using it. But I had never come across a weight machine that looked like any fun or that was affordable. This pully system is great and a lot of fun. There are so many different moves that can be on the machine. I hung the poster that has all the moves right next to the machine for easy reference. Some of the moves are not very natural feeling (not like a gym weight machine or free weights) but that does not bother me. (Another negative is that it takes up more space than I had anticipated it would, so if space is an issue I recommend getting the specs and seeing if this will fit in your space).
When I first got it I only did a few reps of a few moves and the next day my muscles were REALLY sore (upper body and torso). It really works (at least for me)!!Plus I find it a lot of fun so I am using it 3 times a week. I love it and I am so happy I found this. And you can't beat the price!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Great Bargin

03/05/2014
By ,
connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking at the total gym for my husband for Christmas and it was very expensive. I found this unit and the reviews were all positive so I decided to get it. We are extremely happy with the machine. It is sturdy and does everything the total gym can do. Would definitely recommend it. It did not come with the workout guide so I called Weider and they sent me one at n/c under the warranty.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

good value

10/15/2013
By ,
Buford, Ga.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the bundle of the total works 5000 and puzzle mat because it's actually a bit cheaper than getting just the machine. While it says it takes two people to assemble it, I was able to do it myself quite easily. Two people may have been a bit easier but it was no problem by myself. As far as the machine goes, it seems to be a very good value, especially if you compare it to the total gym, which is a lot more expensive. I find this machine to be quite fine as far as the functionality goes. It is not excessively noisy and so far seems to be a good machine. I just turned 50 and wanted something I could use easily and inexpensively and so far this fits the bill. The only drawback is that it does not come with a workout chart, but you can go online to find an array of exercises you can do with these type of machines.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

good for someone on a budget

01/25/2014
By ,
Wabash, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From other posts, I made sure the box was in good shape before I took this home. It was. Very easy set-up, only three bolts to install. Longest part was taking off all the plastic wrap. It was packed quite well with plenty of card board in all the right places. I never saw a picture with this machine in the exercise position and was concerned about range of motion. I am 5"11" and didn't have any range motion issues at all. This is a very solid machine. I expect it to last me awhile. I have a Weider Crossbow for over 15 years and it is still going strong. Since this machine telescopes instead of folding, it can be a tad difficult to change between exercise and storage positions since it is heavy. I've used it twice a week for four weeks and am quite satisfied with the purchase. Mine cost $111 and compared to $10 guest sessions at a gym, it will pay for itself quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Love it!!! Beats total gym!

10/25/2013
By ,
Kern county California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So happy with my Weider!! I had the total gym before, but when I moved the movers put it in my garage and I couldn't figure out how to get it back together in working order. So I went online to order another and found that the price had skyrocketed! I looked at the Weider, read specs and it appeared to be identical but extremely affordable! Certainly filled the bill!!! High quality and I put it together all by myself in under 1/2 an hour!!! Using it everyday feels just like the total gym only better!!! Highly recommend this as opposed to the Total
Gym!! Save your money!!'
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Excellent Value

01/22/2010
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Weider 5000 really is an excellent value. Its construction is quite sturdy, employs quality materials and was very easy to assemble. However, it is quite a bit longer than I anticipated. I have it in a basement workout room, so this isn't an issue. I think space would be an issue in some apartments. The workout is fluid, as challenging as you want to make it, and will do an outstanding job of toning your upper body. The range of exercises for the lower body is limited, suited more for the ladies who want to tone rears and thighs. This machine is not for creating muscle mass (though the added power bands provide great additional resistance and are an important aspect of the machine's value.) The workout chart is ok, but very limited. There is no video or web link that comes with the unit to piece together a 'routine.' You'll need to do that on your own. Stretching is not something that is featured in the marketing of the machine but it is something that happens quite well and naturally as you use the machine. This has been a very pleasant bonus. Overall, for the price it's an excellent, excellent value. I gave it 4 stars overall due to the lack of video / limited exercise chart but this is nit-picking as I am very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+133points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Great Surprise

03/20/2011
By ,
Queens, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hi,
I thought I was buying another "As seen on TV product". Early impressions, this this is solid. Works great, I have been using it about 2 weeks now, and everything is better than expected. I weigh about 250lbs and it really handles me with no problem. I really feel I get a good workout and build a pretty good sweat too. It takes a little more space than expected, stretches out to about 7-8 feet long but I work around it. (fyi to buyers have space ready) And be ready to be inventive on the exercises. It comes with a poster for exercises about 40 or so, but its not very descriptive, or detailed. Youtube is a good resource and imagination helps. Whats cool though is it keeps you thinking about how to create exercises that would meet your needs. But overall i am very pleased with the product and hope to have some great results.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

An inexpensive machine. Easy to install.

03/25/2014
By ,
Helotes, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall satisfied with the machine for the price. Durability still has to be established. Can feel the vibration while sliding up and down, probably because the wheels were not perfectly balanced and the surface of the 2 painted steel rods the wheels were sliding on were not as smooth as well polished stainless steel rods/bars as used in more expensive machines like those in the gym. Various exercise possibilities using the machine was printed on the box only. It should be printed in a brochure for easy reference.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

the perfect option

01/20/2010
By ,
Queen Creek, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used and wore out the Total Gym Pro before purchasing this product. It has all the same features the Total Gym had and more for less money. The resistance bands add more weight/resistance to the workout and the leg features improve my workout routine. I use this 4 x a week minimum. It makes for a quick and effective workout in a very short period of time. I would reccomment this to anyone but expecially to those overweight and older since it allows you to slowely get up to speed with its different inclines and resistance factors. With the proper diet and routine at the age of 47 I have lost 81 lbs and finally close to the same shape I was in high school.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+230points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

People reviewed it as fun... and it is!

11/24/2010
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Weider Total Body Works was delivered twice as fast as the shipping confirmation said. Luckily someone was here to bring it in. I started to put it together by myself, I'm 65 and I bought the machine because after hurting my back I decided I'd better strengthen my muscles so that a small exertion didn't do damage. When I wasn't strong enough to make the final adjustment, which extends the machine, my friend came and helped me. He tried the machine, and immediately was smiling. It is fun to use!!!
At first I couldn't get on the machine because my balance is extremely bad and I couldn't step over it to reach a straddling position. My friend suggested sitting on the side, then putting a leg over, and that worked. I've had it about two weeks and already my legs are stronger and my balance is improving.
I took digital images of the exercise poster that's provided, then cropped them and arranged the ones I most need to do on a single sheet, which I printed and put up on the wall. Later I made a second sheet with additional exercises cropped from the digital images.
It's amazing to me that I can do exercises on this machine that I used to do (years ago) at the gym. Happiness!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 483 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next