Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nesco Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder

Nesco Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder

The Nesco FG-400PR Professional 380-Watt Cast-Aluminum Food Grinder is a time-saving tool if you prepare a lot of sausage, sandwich meats, spreads, relishes, or appetizers. Its powerful 380-watt motor grinds your meat and other ingredients at the rate of 2.9 lbs. per minute. This electric food grinder features a durable die-cast aluminum housing, metal auger, and feed tube. Its over-sized die-cast hopper has a capacity up to five pounds. The grinder comes with two varying-size sausage tubes. It has three sintered stainless steel plates with cutting blades to make a choice of fine, medium, and coarse grinding and shredding. This meat grinder sausage stuffer has an on/off switch with reverse function to safely remove blocked food.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation88%29 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder
07/14/2010
By ,
Plymouth, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used product twice so far. Grinding venison was easy. First time I have ever made sausages in my life and this machine made it easy. Everyone loved my venison sausages, even people who don't normally eat venison and I owe it all to the machine. Easy clean up!! I may have to give it 5 stars in every catagory as I get to use it more and see how well it can wear & tear. Others, say it is noisy but I don't mind because it is working and I had to work to keep up. Get it, use it, and enjoy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder

nesco food grinder

01/02/2010
By ,
South Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have used grind'g attch. on Kitchenaid mixer for years grinding beef and making sausage and hated every minute of it; it's junk. This grinder however is all alum or steel, powerful, well made and a pleasure to clean. Even with the large hopper, it's hard to keep up with the speed at which it operates. It's only drawback that I have found is that it is LOUD! If you're fortunate enough to be deaf you've got it made; the rest of us MUST wear ear protection. I'm keeping it because other than the scream of the motor it appears to be a really good machine for the money. Note: When making hamburger, (boneless chuck) grind large plate first and then medium plate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder
03/13/2010
By ,
Fresno, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this product twice since purchase and so far so good. I prefer to use a better grade of meat and grind my own hamburger or chili meat.
I feel that this product is a good value for what I paid for it. I used the site to store pick up and I like knowing that I can return it to the store if dissatisified.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder

Poor quality, broke after three uses.

12/28/2013
By ,
Los Angeles
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We initially were happy when we received it. Although loud and making rattling noises (which we thought was normal for the grinder) it did a decent job of grinding meat. On the fourth use of the machine, it immediately broke. The internal gears for the motor (driving the grinder blade) shattered and it became useless. Extremely disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder

Great machine

05/06/2012
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine gets the job done! I have used it three times so far. Each time I ground 30+ pounds of beef. It is loud, but no louder than my blender. I do recommend that you read the instructions and follow them. Cutting the meat properly before grinding, not running more than 15 minutes at a time to avoid overheating, proper cleaning and storage. It is solid, attractive and cleans up well. I am very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder

This Grinder Actually Works

08/25/2010
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a quantum leap from the hand grinder I was given by relatives years ago. I finally got a power food grinder and this one does great with venison and pork and beef. I combined my food processing with a vacuum wrap system and have great results. The grinder comes with three output sizes and a nice sharp blade. It doesn't clog up very quickly and is easy to use. It is fairly loud so I use ear plugs, but it makes short work of a big job. I am very happy with this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder

A Good Product with 400W motor!

03/22/2010
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was very easy to assemble and use. We use it every weekend to mince Chicken. It works fine without any trouble. Sound is reasonable compared to any other product with 400W or above motor. All are cast aluminium parts, and manual recommends hand wash and not dish washer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder

Great Grinder

11/15/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although this grinder sounds like a hair dryer on High it works very well, i grinded venison up last week, very fast. I am looking forward to making some sausage with the accessories it came with.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder

Fast and worth the money!

07/16/2013
By ,
lillian, al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this to make home made keibasa. My old grinder/stuffer broke one link into a 17 pound stuffing session! Glad though, as this machine worked very very fast, and the reverse was great as the pork tends to clog up the grinder a lot. Made it so much easier to use than our old KitchenAide. Cleaned up easily and overall great performance. May actually try to use it for other uses, such as grinding beef, etc... once I check out the options.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder
04/08/2013
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a meat grinder since mine pooped out. I could not find one in any store, other than a hand crank at a specialty food store at the mall. I looked up meat grinder at Walmart.com & had read a review, watched a utube demonstration of the product & thought I'm going to get this. I had it shipped to my house because frankly I was exhausted running around to all the major retailers & not finding an electric grinder. I Used the grinder for the first time to make turkey salad. Having owned at least 4 other grinders in my lifetime, this Nesco far exceeded my expectations by far. Sturdy, easy to assemble & disassemble. Works like a charm, I am very happy with this & you will be too...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder
08/31/2013
By ,
New Braunfels Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This meat grinder is very powerful. I like to make my own ground beef and pork sausage. I am sure it will do just as good on other types of meat. So far I have only ground about five pounds of meat at a time with it. I have the meat already cut in small pieces, about 1 inch square, and very cold. This amount of meat only takes a few minutes to finish. I use the medium grinding plate and the texture is excellent. I read other reviews where they recommend using the large plate first and then regrinding the meat with the small one. I have not found this to be necessary. The only thing I would like to warn anyone about is that the grinder is fairly loud while running. It works well and is easy to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder

Excellent purchase, well worth the money.

02/15/2012
By ,
Dover Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I expected much less when I read other reviews about this product and am surprised at how sturdy this unit seems to be. Works great, easy clean up, and way cheaper than I planned to spend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder

grinder - perfect for home

12/12/2009
By ,
Millington, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We found that this grinder was perfect for grinding deer meat - it wasn't really needed to use the small blade. Didn't have the other ingredients needed to make sausage, but will use the ground meat for meat loaf, burgers, spaghetti, chili, etc. Kept some cut up deer meat for soup/stews and of course, the usual great tenderloin slices. Added just a very little beef fat in with the meat ground for burgers. Very much satisfied with the performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder

Not worth the money

02/20/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used this product to grinder pork meat the first time and it grinds very well, torwards the end of processing, I turned off the switch and the motor burned. The second time I tried to use it to grind some beef, the meat was jam and hunged up and won't even grind. I constantly tried to changes blades unplung and reassemble the machines and it still don't work. Good thing walmart have a 90 days return or exchange. I am going to return it and maybe look for another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder

Nice machine for the $

02/09/2011
By ,
St. Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to clean and strong, at an affordable price.
It's a little noisy, but if you want one that's quiet and does the same thing? there's one out there for about $400.00 -"I don't use it that much".
Now I know whats in my ground meats, less fat and no preservatives for starters.
Hands down, I can make better breakfast sausage than anything at the supermarket.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder
04/23/2012
By ,
Thousand Palms,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the meat grinder for about two weeks. I made homemade fresh polish sausage and lithuanian sausge and I have been grinding my own ground chuck for hamburgers and other dishes. No red slime for me. I recommend this product to those, who wants to know what goes in to food.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder
02/21/2012
By ,
minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thi product is durable and quiet. The only thing I have done with hit is make sausage links but it worked well. Cleanup is very easy to do and does no require mch effort.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder

Excellent machine!

04/05/2012
By ,
Youngstown, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a 200 Watt grinder but it took too long to get the job done and constantly clogged. The Nesco profesional is grinder heaven. Grinds and stuffs to beat the band.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder

screw or something loose inside

11/11/2013
By ,
Pocatello, id
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Worked awesome while it worked which was like 5 pounds of moose worth. Then the auger quit turning and could hear something loose inside like a screw or?? Returned to the store and got a refund. Bummer, looked nice and worked great til it fell apart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nesco Professional 380-watt Food Grinder

Hamburger Helper

01/15/2011
By ,
Rockville, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than expected. Easy to use, easy to clean. Noisy but no more so than a blender or food processor. Can't rate durability as I haven't owned it that long. Now I can control what's in my ground meat. Great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next