Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canon Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Canon Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

Everything about the Canon PowerShot Digital Camera is easy. The Smart Auto feature makes every shot picture-perfect. An impressive 10x optical zoom with optical image stabilizer keeps pictures sharp and steady. The Canon PowerShot also includes an Easy Mode that makes shooting super simple, too. Note: Memory card not included. Purchase of an additional memory card is highly recommended.
Average Customer Rating:
4.383 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(389 Reviews) 361
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
241
4 stars
99
3 stars
19
2 stars
17
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation87%339 out of 389reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
241
4 stars
99
3 stars
19
2 stars
17
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200
04/29/2010
By ,
Buda, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very happy with this camera except for one thing. It's my fault since I should have paid more attention when looking at it in the store. The quality of pictures is great but it drives me crazy that I have to manually open the flash. I was used to the flash just being on the front of my other cameras but you have to flip it up on this one. Not a huge thing but I don't think I would have gotten this camera had a noticed it at the store. Other than that it really is a great camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 42 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

Great buy!

05/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose this camera out of 3 in the same price range. I primarily wanted a 10x or more zoom. This camera exceeded my expectations. It DOES take really good pictures, and is easy to use. I highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 43 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200
03/17/2010
By ,
ALA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
battery door sticks, very hard to open, scared I am going to break it in regular usage!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 44 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

great camera

02/22/2010
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very user friendly. great pictures, and does a really good job on video clips
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 45 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

Such a Shame

06/01/2010
By ,
NH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This camera took really nice photos and Canon always makes a great Canon. I was never disappointed til now. Such a terrible set up of buttons on this camera. It is a heavy camera and so if you want to use two hands to hold it, good luck. If you hold it with fingers on the top left and bottom left you cover the microphone. If you hold it with your left hand on front and back you get your fingers in the way of flash and sensor. The display screen is so nice to have but without the option to use a viewfinder to save batteries then you will be constantly filling your landfill with AA batteries. I returned this camera but got another Canon camera that I love and the one before this was a Canon and the one before that was a Canon.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 46 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

Cost of batteries is breaking the bank!

05/11/2010
By ,
kearney, ne
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In general, this camera would be okay... the size and style are nice, the zoom works well and takes pictures at max zoom quite nicely... HOWEVER... In one week of owning, I went through 10 AA batteries! There is a new trend to operate cameras with batteries again instead of a plug in charger, and honestly, is a bad idea for a digital camera that sucks battery life using the 10X zoom and flash. I also have children, and processing of a picture takes way too long! In the end, I had to return. For the price, I just cant justify having to carry a 10 pack of batteries with me everywhere I go.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 47 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

Easy Sale

08/21/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I personally own this camera and love it. The 10MP shots are crisp and clear and all you need for your basic camera needs. The zoom is extroardinary for the price. You can purchase camera's with a higher number of megapixels with 3.x-something zoom in the same price range, but with the zoom lens and the massive 3" LCD screen, this camera is still a top competitor and an easy sale when shown to customers.
Another thing I love about this camera is that it FEELS like a camera and not a toy that you can accidentally break. It's very durable.
My only complaint is that the video could be a tad better. However, that's always a secondary option for cameras anyway and it gets the job done when it's needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 48 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

Needs viewfinder

06/26/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The camera takes great pictures. I constantly take pictures of my kids in their various activities, and the vast majority come out crisp, clear and with vivid color. The one problem with the camera is that the continuous mode is just about useless without a viewfinder. My kid is streaking down-field with the soccer ball, and I'm trying to shoot in continuous mode, but without the viewfinder, I have no idea where the ball is. Some of the shots cut off the head, others cut off the feet. The screen in the back shows the last picture, so you can't see what is currently happening. Using the 10x telephoto, the slightest movement or misalignment spells catastrophe.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 49 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200
02/23/2010
By ,
Saint Petersburg Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I own 3 different canon camera's and I thought this one would be a great addition to the collection. First off it eats batteries like crazy, the flash you have to put up in order to use it, and there is no view finder.
The pictures for the most part were good, I own a Canon A2000IS and I have to say that it match's this one and is a better camera. Its also very heavy to hold in your hands, and the controls are hard to understand. My suggestion is either buy the Canon A2000is or the canon A1000is both are excellent camera's, much better than the SX-120
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 50 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

Good one!

01/06/2010
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really good camera, easy to use, takes great pictures. If you turn off the 'view picture' or 'display picture' after its taken, you can take faster pictures. It will take several in a row, if you don't view the pictures right after they are taken. Only slow thing about the camera is when the flash is on (so if you don't need it, don't use it) because it does take several seconds for the flash to recharge. I like the fact that you can buy this camera and start taking pictures right way, it has a memory card included (in the box) that holds about 750 pictures, it also has batteries included. Give it a try I think you'll like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 51 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

great for the price

08/28/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice camera Lots of features. optical/digital zoom. You can take a picture from a long distance and it will look great. Really easy to use. It does shoot video but not in HD. It still looks good for SD.
Cons Has a problem focusing upclose. You can set it to manauel to get the shot. No internal hard drive so you have to have a card. The camera does come with a small card. If you want to shoot video you will need a much bigger card. No touch screen if you are in to that. The screen is large and bright even in the sun.
I got it in a package deal with a 4 gb card and case. I love it overall. Way better than my last digital camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 52 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

Terrible Camera

12/02/2009
By ,
Kansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would not recommend this camera to anyone! I have two small kids and it takes a very long time to capture them and actually take the picture with this camera. It also has a huge delay between pictures and produces very dull images. The pictures are fuzzy and discolored and I have used each setting to troubleshoot. I am not a fan of this camera- very disappointing product. We will be returning this camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-5points
Review 53 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

Great Camera for the $$

04/24/2010
By ,
Westminster, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always been a fan of the Canon Powershot series. I was looking for something with a little more options. Couldn't be happier! The shots are fabulous. While my previous camera had an Auto setting, I found that changing settings was easier to get the shots I wanted. This camera - the auto is all I really need. It detects (and tells me) the different settings and on auto I can go from taking pictures of kids, to plants, to a bug on a leaf, to the sunrise, without ever turning the dial. Each picture turns out as clear as the last. Love it. Definitely a great camera for a low-middle budget novice photographer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 54 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

The Deal

03/03/2010
By ,
VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OKAY IM GOING TO KEEP IT REAL WITH YOU GUYS AND SAY YES THIS IS A GOOD DEAL ...IT MAKES YOU FEEL LIKE A PRO..THE SETTINGS ARE EASY TO FOWLLOW...AND FOR 200 ITS WHAT U WOULD EXPECT FROM A 200 DOLLAR CAMERA...THE BATTERY LAST LONG ..JUST MAKE SURE U GET GOOD BATTERIES.THE MARCO IS GOOD YOU JUST HAVE TO FOCUS ..ON TAKE YOUR TIME ..THE LIGHTING IS GREAT NIGHT SHOT IS GREAT . GREAT FOR PARTIES WEDDINGS KIDS..PETS ..YOU NAME IT ..ITS JUST LIKE BEIN A PRO ..AND THE ZOOM IS EXCELENT ...ALL I CAN SAY IS ITS A GOOD PRICE AND WHAT U WOULD EXPECT .....
ANY CONS....------HARD TO GRIP A LITTLE BUT FUNCTIONS GOOD .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 55 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

Better than expected

08/18/2010
By ,
Coos Bay, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched digital cameras through Consumer Reports. This was highly rated. Last digital camera we had was 5+ yrs ago and had 6 mgpxl and 3x zoom. This far exceed it and we bought it for trip to Grand Canyon on an extended driving trip in Sept. Easy to learn how to use; I am trying camera w/AA batteries as tired of buying Lithium Ion for old camera. Will update in Nov. after back from trip. Bought compatible Canon battery charger and NIMH batts. Practice photos looked clear and very much better than on my old HP digital. I was pleasantly surprised. You can't go wrong with this camera for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 56 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

Awesome Camera

03/11/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera is so easy to use and is small enough to carry in a purse. I like everything about this camera. It takes videos and has a built-in microphone. The pictures are clear and has a large LCD screen. I'm very pleased with the 10X Optical Zoom.
The program that comes with the camera is a great program. For those of us who have a problem reading small text in the owners manuals, the owners manual comes with the program and is automatically placed on the computer desktop. The text can be enlarged for easy reading.
I'm still practicing with the camera and haven't found anything I don't like.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 57 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

Great Product for What You Pay

04/13/2010
By ,
Mount Airy, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got my camera 4 days ago. The camera feels pretty solid & takes wonderful pictures. The clarity and rich color is beyond what I expected. So far, I haven't experimented with all of the shooting options, but things work really well with the camera set to AUTO.
The only con I have experienced is an occasional 3-4 second "processing" message after taking a couple of pictures in quick succession. Other than that, I am very pleased with my purchase, and recommend the PowerShot SX120-IS to anyone who wants a nice camera, but isn't ready to spend big bucks on a DSLR just yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 58 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

GREAT ZOOM

07/02/2010
By ,
Huntington Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Canon has an AWESOME zoom but yet is still on the smaller side of cameras with a big zoom. It is bigger than my previous cameras, but I could not get close enough with most pictures, especially if I wanted a scenic shot of something on the beach, or of my kids at school as they got an award on stage, just for a few examples. This camera went over and above my expectations when it comes to the zoom. We were just on vacation in San Elijo and I was able to zoom in to my kids on the beach from standing up on the campsite/cliff. When I put the pictures on the computer they were not distorted as soon get when you zoom in too close. The 10x zoom is worth every penny. This is the second Canon I have owned in 1 year. My previous one had issues with the lens and it finally got jammed. I mailed it in and because the camera has some scratches on it (wear and tear from being in my purse) they would not replace it under warranty and wanted $100 to fix. I went and upgraded and bought this camera for $199 with case and memory card. I think it was a blessing in disguise that my old camera bit the dust. I was just very unhappy on the fact that Canon would not fix it less than a year later because of the scratches which had nothing to do with the lens jamming. My Kodak cameras I owned before lasted longer, so I hope I have good luck with this Canon. I do love the camera, just not the "warranty" that they supposedly come with.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 59 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

Will not take good pics of anything moving!

08/28/2010
By ,
Tennessee
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I tried this camera out and although it takes great looking pics it will not take a pic of a moving object very well. I would try to take pics of my kids cuz that's what I got it for....but all the pics were blurry no matter what setting I had it on.
Pros: Fast shutter on burst mode, clear pics, zoom is nice very clear (if it is a still object)
Cons: blurry pics if anything moves :(
if it wasn't for that Id keep this camera and take back my slr, but I have to have something that will take pics of moving objects.
So that's why I only gave it 3 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 60 for Canon PowerShot SX120-IS Black 10MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Zoom, 3" LCD, ISO 3200

Nice camera

01/14/2010
By ,
colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a gift for my husband. He had one with a lot of megapixals, but inadequate zoom capabilities. I already have a cannon...and I love it. It's about 2 years old and works great, which is why I decided to go with a cannon again. The only issue I've noticed is the hinge for the battery compartment. It seems to stick a little on this camera. However, the hinge on my cannon is made the same way and it seems to be holding up just fine with many repeated openings. I would recommend this camera. They take wonderful pictures and are very well priced.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
41-60 of 152 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next