Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Singing Machine Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Singing Machine Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Become a sensation with Singing Machine CDG Karaoke System, SML385. An attractive home system, this model plays CD+G discs (as well as regular CDs) and will display the scrolling lyrics on almost any TV. This trendy Singing Machine karaoke system includes RCA-type A/V cables that connect it to your television for quality audio and video output. It also includes a microphone and a built-in speaker for clear audio output. This karaoke system with disco lights can certainly create a fun party environment.
Average Customer Rating:
4.099 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(698 Reviews) 635
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
376
4 stars
183
3 stars
44
2 stars
22
1 star
73
Customer Recommendation85%594 out of 698reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
174 Questions | 310 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
376
4 stars
183
3 stars
44
2 stars
22
1 star
73
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Fabulous and Fun!

01/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This a wonderful karaoke machine. It has excellent sound, nice features, and is so easy to use....even my 4 year can operate it. The disco lights are a lot of fun. It's so easy to connect to the television for on screen lyrics. Note...it does not have a screen for lyrics on the machine itself, so you do have to connect to a tv or computer. It has 2 jacks for microphones but comes with one, so i purchased an additional for about 10 bucks. Well worth it, much more fun that way. Give it a try, you'll love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Terribly disappointed

01/09/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this machine for my granddaughter Christmas; it came on time But was damaged ;The Dial was cracked. Unfortunately She had 'no present' from us on Christmas morning.
So we ordered another ;it arrived this past week she used it "one" time and the dial would Not work from low to high for the sound.
I do not recommend this machine for anyone. Once I could tolerate But NOT TWICE.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Great Value!!

03/02/2011
By ,
Upstate, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read many reviews on karaoke machines for a birthday gift for my 9 year old daughter. Choose this one for features and value and was not disappointed. It was a hit at my daughter's music theme birthday party. Purchased an extra microphone so my daughters could sing together. The option of downloading songs from the Singing Machine site is a bonus. I am however having some difficulty burning the graphics for those songs onto a CD. Overall a great purchase and would definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Dead on Arrival

07/08/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Right out of the box the machine would not power on... Waste of time...
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

xmass gift

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my daughter for xmas and she loved it . Easy to use great sound .
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Very cute for young kids

12/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my Granddaughter for Christmas and she and her sister had such a good time singing with it, the sound is pretty good for the money,it comes with 1 microphone and a CD of children's songs. It was easy for her to figure out how to use she's 7 yrs old, the disco lights are cute and the kids liked them, If your looking for one for young kids it will work just fine but if your looking for one for older kids or adults you may want to spend a little more and upgrade to a better one. But don't get me wrong this one works just fine for kids
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

fun gadget to have around

01/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter feels like a rock star. The lights are a cool feature on this and the quality is decent for the price. Its a pretty lightweight item & my kids (4&7) transport it all around the house with ease. The CD It comes with is a sweet bonus for kids but we are going to have to add some more pop stuff for the big fun to really kick in. Nice buy overall.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

cool look, great fun

01/20/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
my 11 yr old daughter got this as a bday gift , she loves it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Hours of fun

01/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was the perfect Christmas gift for a young child. The product was easy to set up. The device was very compact.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Great for the money

01/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We gave our 8 year old daughter this for Christmas. She loves it!! It has worked fine and has plenty of volume for both the music and voices. Our 11 year old son is having a lot of fun with it too. We did splurge on getting a few CD-G's so they would have the true karaoke experience (words on the TV). We bought an extra mic as well and we recommend doing that if you are investing in this unit. They will have much more fun!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Loving this machine

01/19/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My grandson love this.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Great price, great item!!

01/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter for Christmas and she loves it. The volume is good and the lights are a nice added feature. I also bought an additional microphone for duets!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Piece of junk.. please don't buy

11/24/2013
By ,
KW, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THIS CRITICISM HAS NOTHING (ABSOLUTELY NOTHING) TO DO WITH WALMART. However, if you purchase it, expect to return it to Walmart within 30 days.
This is the biggest piece of junk product that exists. My 12 year old daughter had one; it broke in 15 minutes. Couldn't return it as it was a long distance gift (from an unreputable seller). Then, we received yet another of the same product. My daughter (for her 13th birthday) was playing with her friends. Broke after an hour. This time (at least) the seller's exchanging it.
Why only give one microphone if two jacks exist? (don't know). Do yourself a favor and buy a different machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

party time!

01/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 10 years old daughter love it! Great for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Good idea, Bad execution

01/06/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased two of these, first the white, then the black. Both of them are, to be quite honest, just plain awful. They are horribly made - very, very poor quality. And it’s very upsetting to know a company can try to sell this and make a profit. I can only imagine that the good reviews that came from these are from first time users that are too hyped up on the idea, and after they have used it more than a time or two they realize just how awful the product is and what a complete waste of money they are.
Right off the bat, you realize the poor craftsmanship when you go to open the CD door. You just lift a thin piece of metal; there is no click when you go to shut it or a lock of any kind. With both models, the disco lights worked fine - that was the only thing I found to work properly. With the white one, the CD portion of the unit did not work at all. It would not spin and there was no light in the display unit (we tried several CD’s including the one it came with). The microphone would mostly work, but kept cutting in and out. The black unit’s CD portion worked to a point. It would begin to play a song. However, when you tried to skip forward to a different song, those buttons (also very low quality), would only sometimes work. You usually had to hold the button in for awhile to get it to progress to the next selection. Then, after waiting an entire minute to move forward 3 songs, it would play a song for about 20 seconds and then go back to the beginning of the first song. This happened regardless of what song you were on - it would always skip back to the first song and it also occurred on different CD’s that otherwise have no problems playing or scratches. Also, if your youngsters touch the machine or pulls the cord to the microphone taut (just even slightly), the CD would just stop.
All in all, a great idea - especially for younger kids to even teens, however just VERY poorly executed.
I will also note that when I spoke with one of the Singing Machine’s employees, they didn’t bat an eye at the problems - it was as though I was already the 20th person to call that morning about their poorly made product with another 20 to go even before lunch.
I will also say that hopefully the third time is a charm - we ended up spending double the amount by going with the Emerson GF-827 Portable system. This unit is actually lighter and smaller than the Singing Machine’s SML-385. Now, in no means, do I mean to portray this is high quality, but I believe this unit will last awhile and the quality of the product seems to be much higher. Time will only tell.
Think twice about ordering this product. I would advise you to look elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Works GREAT!

07/16/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter's 7th birthday party. After reading the reviews, I was a little nervous about it breaking before or during the party. I purchased 2 of them so I could have a backup machine. However, we did not need it. This machine worked perfectly! I was pleasantly surprised and would definitely recommend this machine. I did buy a second microphone, so two people can sing together. The lights are really NEAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

I love to sing

01/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the singing machine more then my daughter..... It's a good item for family fun night , yes I would tell a friend to tell a friend about it.!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

was a wonderful gift!

08/11/2014
By ,
princeton wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my granddaughter loved it! it was a birthday gift for her 4th birthday!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Sing your lil heart out!

01/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my grandsons....and am very happy with it! They are going to love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Great Product

01/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loves this Karaoke System. I can't get her to put it down..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 636 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  32 Next