Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singing Machine Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Singing Machine Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Become a sensation with Singing Machine CDG Karaoke System, SML385. An attractive home system, this model plays CD+G discs (as well as regular CDs) and will display the scrolling lyrics on almost any TV. This trendy Singing Machine karaoke system includes RCA-type A/V cables that connect it to your television for quality audio and video output. It also includes a microphone and a built-in speaker for clear audio output. This karaoke system with disco lights can certainly create a fun party environment.
Average Customer Rating:
4.086 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(571 Reviews) 508
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
299
4 stars
160
3 stars
34
2 stars
18
1 star
60
Customer Recommendation85%484 out of 571reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
160 Questions | 301 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
299
4 stars
160
3 stars
34
2 stars
18
1 star
60
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Good Value

11/24/2009
By ,
Phila pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this item for my 5 year old and he enjoys it very much. The only problem would be the sound does not go very loud which is great because he can then use it in his bed room with out disturbing the rest of the house. I had to purchase another mike but was able to grab one from another store for 2.00. Only other thing was the delivery. The box was open when it came and it was supposed to be a surprise. I am not sure if that was Walmart's fault or UPS. Either way My son loves and enjoys using it and I even get a kick out of using it also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Doesn't work

12/27/2011
By ,
New Windsor, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Music plays, disco lights flash, words scroll on TV but MICROPHONE DOESN'T WORK! The whole idea of a Karaoke machine is to sing along with the music. Trying to reach customer service for Sing Machine is close to impossible. 5 phone calls and each one gives you your status on line to speak with a customer service rep ends with, "All customer service reps are busy, please leave a voice mail message." They go on to sasy "User mail box can't accept any more messages. An error has accured. I'm sorry." Click, end of call. I was even first in line and got the same message. I would be happy to write a different review if customer service ever rectifies the situation and we get a working machine, but for now I wouldn't buy this machine nor would I order on line with Walmart again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Overall great product

03/18/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this product as a birthday present for my 4 year old. We planned a sleepover for her and this machine was a great hit. The words showed great on the screen and the kids loved it. The only down side to having karaoke for such a young age group is the available cdg music selection. I did find a Disney princess cd and also 2 more where they only knew like 3 songs off each disc. But for the most part children and adults alike enjoyed this machine. And the lights look really cool in the dark...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Great Value!!

03/02/2011
By ,
Upstate, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read many reviews on karaoke machines for a birthday gift for my 9 year old daughter. Choose this one for features and value and was not disappointed. It was a hit at my daughter's music theme birthday party. Purchased an extra microphone so my daughters could sing together. The option of downloading songs from the Singing Machine site is a bonus. I am however having some difficulty burning the graphics for those songs onto a CD. Overall a great purchase and would definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Broke immediately.

05/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item broke right after taking it out of the box. Very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Works GREAT!

07/16/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter's 7th birthday party. After reading the reviews, I was a little nervous about it breaking before or during the party. I purchased 2 of them so I could have a backup machine. However, we did not need it. This machine worked perfectly! I was pleasantly surprised and would definitely recommend this machine. I did buy a second microphone, so two people can sing together. The lights are really NEAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Arrived Broken - Very Dissapointed 8 year old

01/09/2011
By ,
MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a Christmas morning gift for my 8-year old daughter.... A karaoke machine was all she wanted for Christmas, so imagine her dissapointment (and ours) when we got it all set up and then it wouldn't read/play the sample CD it came with nor the two she had received in her stocking. There was a clear plastic piece on the inside of the CD player that was loose and appeared to never have been attached in the first place. Apparently that is part of lazer that reads the CD's. Also as a side note, you have to be very careful to buy the "right" CDG's or it will not play/read them... They need to have a certain logo on them in order to work with the machine. Wasn't really an issue for us, as it was broken anyway... However, it would have been nice to know ahead of time as one we purchased did not have the required "logo".
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Grandkids love it!

01/05/2013
By ,
Glendale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Karaoke system for Christmas for my 3 grandkids (9, 6 and 3 yrs old). They love singing and dancing to the tunes. I also bought an additional mic to minimize "who's turn" arguments! It's even a good way for the 3 yo to learn to read! The downside, of course, it that they want to use it all the time and it's driving their parents crazy - payback is wonderful!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights
11/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my 4 year old for christmas. She of course has not seen it yet, but the mother has tried it and thought it was pretty cool! ( the disco lights are so awesome!) I sang into it, played a cd and it worked well. I did not plug it in to the tv yet, but I am sure it will be just perfect. I did notice that it did not play burned cd's but it did play regular cd's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Great gift for future stars!

01/03/2013
By ,
New Orleans, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gift for my 6 and 11 yr old nieces since they love to sing and dance. They immediately opened it and started dancing and singing to it. It was very easy to setup and attach to their television. Now they are spending countless hours in their room dancing and singing. It was the best investment and helps little girls to imagine being rock stars!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights
04/02/2012
By ,
Hampton, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter received this for Christmas. She has enjoyed many hours of singing and dancing with family and friends! She has put on many shows with the disco lights. The system allows you to add another microphone. This cuts down on fussing and everyone is able to sing at the same time. A great karaoke system! I would recommend this a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights
11/30/2011
By ,
Cedar Falls, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this to any grandparent that has a grandchild who loves to sign and pretend with a microphone (which is included). I couldn't have bought a better Christmas gift. It's great and what a great price! Very popular!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights
09/10/2012
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this singing machine to replace a plastic microphone/stand I got for my 10 year old daughter for Christmas. She uses the singing machine much more than the microphone. I like that you can hook up 2 microphones so more can play. The sound quality is also very impressive for the money. So far we've had hours of fun!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Fun had by all

12/29/2009
By ,
Grafton, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this product on- line cheaper than I could find anywhere else (even e-bay). The product works great and we have already had loads of fun with it. My daughter who is 7 loves it as much as me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights
12/28/2012
By ,
Milwaukee,WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy this for a Christmas gift but after my mom open it and use it the mic work but the cd dose not work..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

It did not come with a cd and will not play cd's

02/27/2014
By ,
San diego, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It did not come with a cd and will not play cd's. I'm disappointed and annoyed. I could play music through my phone using an auxiliary cord. The sound quality is low unless you connect it with external speakers or an audio box. The mic is ok. The lights are ok. This is good for children not adults using it for reasons other than fun and games.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

It's what I was looking for my little girls.

11/06/2013
By ,
Rutherford, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What can I say, I love it !!!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Trust the reviews!

12/30/2012
By ,
Youngstown, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My daughter received this karaoke machine from her grandpa for Christmas, and was ecstatic! I had read the reviews and though it had MANY negatives, I recommended this one was the one to buy! It worked great for two sessions of fun, but the next time she wanted to "jam out", she was GREATLY DISAPPOINTED! It no longer worked! The "light show" flashed on & off rapidly, but that was it! I quickly boxed it up & returned it to Walmart. It is only available online, not in our store. I received store credit, which I used to order a DIFFERENT karaoke machine that I hope works & mends my daughter's broken heart! TRUST THE REVIEWS & STAY AWAY FROM THIS ONE!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

helpful

08/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

The Kids love it

12/26/2010
By ,
Lexington,KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this for my 2 girls ages 10 and 7 for Christmas and they haven't stopped playing with it since. The disco lights are really neat and look great in the dark. Microphone is of good quality although if you have 2 kids then you will need another mic and they are additional 25.00. This unit only uses the CD+G or you can play regular CD's without using the lyrics. I've spent about 50.00 on CDG's. You can download more songs online from the Singing Machine.com at about 1.49 each. The songs with lyrics can run into some money but the product is wonderful and would be great for parties etc. If it's for kids I recommend a soundproof room!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 509 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  26 Next