Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singing Machine Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Singing Machine Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Become a sensation with Singing Machine CDG Karaoke System, SML385. An attractive home system, this model plays CD+G discs (as well as regular CDs) and will display the scrolling lyrics on almost any TV. This trendy Singing Machine karaoke system includes RCA-type A/V cables that connect it to your television for quality audio and video output. It also includes a microphone and a built-in speaker for clear audio output. This karaoke system with disco lights can certainly create a fun party environment.
Average Customer Rating:
4.084 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(570 Reviews) 507
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
160
3 stars
34
2 stars
18
1 star
60
Customer Recommendation85%483 out of 570reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
160 Questions | 301 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
160
3 stars
34
2 stars
18
1 star
60
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Karaoke System

02/18/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 3 year old grand daughter loved her birthday present from Nana. Her 16 month old sister would take the mic from her and say "uh" real loud and would laugh! They're both enjoying it and it wouldn't be the same without the disco lights flashing! Great gift!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sarasota, FL
Karaoke System
Posted 11/20/2013
Does this system already come with a CD with music? If so, how many songs are on it?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

My son likes it

01/22/2010
By ,
Montevallo, AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought it for my 12 year old's birthday. He loves to sing and play his guitar. It took a little longer that I liked shipping Site To Store. I did not think it would take that long and it took 1 week after his b-day party to get it. We had a little trouble with it and still do. After about 30 min on we have to turn it off wait a few min and turn it back on and we had trouble getting it to read the CD it came with. As long as it is on something and not our hardwood floor it does OK but if anyone walks too close it freezes up and we have to restart it. He thinks its great and plays with it all the time but as an adult and the one that paid for it I think it could have been better. If you are willing to do what we have to do or take the chance that it may have just been a not so good one then try it out. My son wants to keep it so I guess we will as long as he has the patients to deal with it. When it is working though it is pretty cool. I have just had trouble getting customer support from the Singing Machine on the phone or online. Hope this was helpful one way or another.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+190points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
CT
Non-working Christmas Gift for my Daughter
Posted 12/28/2013
I purchased the Stage 1 Singing Machine as a Christmas present for my daughter hoping that she would have tons of fun with it. Only, the opposite was true. After opening the gift, the Singing Machine did play the CD (it took a few times to try and read the manufacturer's provided CD) and the lyrics did show up on the TV. However, that was the the first and last time that it worked. I looked at the troubleshooting guide and the error code (UN) wasn't even on the guide??? My next step was to contact the product's customer service center. They were nice enough to provide a sheet of paper that stated in bold letters "Please Contact Customer Service First If You Have Any Issues With Your Singing Machine" but they failed to put a phone number to contact them! I guess for them, it was the thought that counts. This is a brand NEW product and it's pretty upsetting to know that it only lasted for one use. It's even more upsetting to know that my daughter wasn't able to enjoy her Christmas present! So, thank you Singing Machine, thank you for the gift you gave my daughter....NOT! Looking into purchasing a different product as it's apparent they don't want my business.
+1point
Customer Avatar
tn
Singing Machine CDG Karaoke System with Disco
Posted 08/17/2012
Just got the Singing Machine CDG Karaoke System with Disco in black love it works awesome the only thing i don't like is the karaoke cd that came with it kinda out dated songs on it not that great of a cd other then that very awesome & my friend has it in white i give it A++++++ worth buying one
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Works great for the money

02/19/2014
By ,
Suwanee, ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 2 year old who loves to sing and dance. I was skeptical about purchasing it due to some of the reviews however I purchased it anyhow since it was only for a 2 year old and it had the lights on it. Im glad i did it works great. I have had it for about 2 weeks now and have had no issues. I play regular CD's and it works just fine. I have yet to actually play a karaoke cd in it though. I like the fact that you can control how loud the mic is separate from the actual volume of the music. If you feel the mic isn't picking up your voice that much TURN IT UP. There is definitely a difference between the lowest setting and highest setting for the mic. It can get pretty sensitive to where it is picking up even light breathing. I also like the auto sound control which lowers the volume of the music automatically when you use the mic. It also has a control for echo but i have that turned off. I wouldn't say this is a top of the line machine but it is definitely great for the money. The only con is it doesn't come with a 2nd mic but you can purchase one for cheap.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Easy fun

12/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter receive as a birthday gift and loves it. The sound is good and is easy to hookups to the TV. It is a great product. I got an extra microphone so her brother can play long as well. You can't go wrong with this item.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

disco fever and learning tool

12/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first was not sure about this gadget, we figured our three year old daughter would not be interested, well we were wrong. She sings and humms along to reggae and disco beats that quite frankly would bring a smile to the faces of the likes of Bob Marley and Donna Summers. More important, this karaoke system is a affordable way to incorporate a significant learning tool can make learning fun, we call it learning ABC and numbers with a disco twist.
We are very pleased with this product, the only exception is that the speakers could be of a better quality, but for the price, this machine is still a good deal. you will need extira microphones because you will also find yourself singing and laughting along with your children and his/her friends.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Christmas

12/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my lil singing grandkids, I am not sure how it works yet, but the ordering of the product was very easy
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Wow... Much Fun...

09/21/2014
By ,
Deltona, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WoW... My daughter, Alyssa with Autism, turned 15 this month and this was her gift. What more can I say...she loves it. It is very easy to put together and operate. At first the echo effect scared her but once she got used to it all was good.
My only problem is the free 5 CD+G downloads that's being advertised / promised...I was unable to get it. Very dissappointed. Other than that my Alyssa is probally in her room having a ball right now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Great product

11/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this item for my daughter's birthday she loves it and so do I. It works well my flat screen. Also the price was a catch!! Thanks walmart.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

No flex zone

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great choose I'm really enjoying it and I'm 38 years of age.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Great product for a great price

10/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased a portable karaoke machine from Seventh Avenue. I spent $169 on it. The sound quality was awful. So I sent it back and purchased this one from Walmart for $59. The sound quality is so much better than the more expensive one! It's very easy to hook up and to use. My 8 year old daughter absolutely LOVES it! The flashing disco lights is the icing on the cake! This was SO worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Great buy

11/23/2013
By ,
Westvirgina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 7 year old for christmas. After reading some of the reviews i was worried that it may not work. So i opened it and plugged it in. Everything works great. My daughter is going to love this when she opens it on christmas morning. I bought the white machine and the lights glow so pretty. I think shes gonna feel like a rock star. The quality of the sound is also great. I have already reccomended that some of my friends purchase this for their little ones. Im very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Houston
Headphones
Posted 12/17/2013
Is there a headphone jack on the machine?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Not bad for the price

10/18/2014
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Volume is low...mic is poor quality...disco light is a waste of time (not bright) but hey, I got this piece as a birthday gift for my 10yr old daughter, She loves it and that's all that matters.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Great for the kids

12/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this as a Christmas present for my soon to be 2yr old. I took it out and hooked it all up to make sure it worked and works fine. The bright lights really give it a fun-to-play-with appearance. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it has 2 microphone holders but came with only 1 microphone.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights
07/29/2010
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for a group of girls between 11-12 yrs old, it was a big hit. The only problem is finding the Karaoke CD's they are somewhat extinct or the songs are just so old the girls don't even know them. Not all Karoaoke CD's work on this machine, so be careful not to order tapes until you read specifications to make sure they'll work in the machine. Overall very happy with it, it has been used several times and always good for a laugh.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+260points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rohnert Park, CA
Darla
Posted 07/01/2011
Hi, I read your comment, thought this info might help locating cd g s for your girls. You might try: doowop.com for disks or if you want to purchase songs individualy, you can even go to itunes.com and sign up for a free account. you just search the songs by title or artist, once you locate the song scroll down to see if it is available in (karaoke) :besure it is the correct artist that you want. Each song runs about average 99 cents to 1.29 per song. but this way you get exactly what your looking for. Hope this helped. Darla
+9points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

great sining machine with lots of fun

12/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have bought this for my children.
Nice looking with long microphone cable enough for children to enjoy.
Light effect was pretty and cute!
Delivery time was decent(a week).
Definitely recommend!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

This is amazing

12/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is really fun I brought this for my 12 year old daughter and she love it.With this you don't need karaoke on demand it is way better than that
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

so much fun

12/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this will be a winner.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

great gift

12/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My baby love it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Granddaughter's Dream

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a Xmas gift for our Granddaughter. She loves to entertain us with her singing. I'm sure she will think she's Elsa and all of the other singing Disney characters.
Can't wait to entertained.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

I love this thing

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So fun and works well with CDG and DVD style karaoke discs. With the ac input, you can play sound out of your TV or sound system speakers. The mic is not a good quality though - at all.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 508 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  26 Next