Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Singing Machine Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Singing Machine Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Become a sensation with this The Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights. An attractive home karaoke system, this model plays CD+G discs (as well as regular CDs) and will display the scrolling lyrics on almost any TV. This trendy portable karaoke machine includes RCA-type A/V cables that connect it to your television for quality audio and video output. The Singing Machine CDG karaoke system with disco light also includes a microphone and a built-in speaker for clear audio output. This Singing Machine karaoke system with its multi-colored disco light can certainly create a fun party environment.
Average Customer Rating:
4.052 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(537 Reviews) 474
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
277
4 stars
149
3 stars
33
2 stars
18
1 star
60
Customer Recommendation84%449 out of 537reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
114 Questions | 289 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
277
4 stars
149
3 stars
33
2 stars
18
1 star
60
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Karaoke System

02/18/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 3 year old grand daughter loved her birthday present from Nana. Her 16 month old sister would take the mic from her and say "uh" real loud and would laugh! They're both enjoying it and it wouldn't be the same without the disco lights flashing! Great gift!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sarasota, FL
Karaoke System
Posted 11/20/2013
Does this system already come with a CD with music? If so, how many songs are on it?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Works great for the money

02/19/2014
By ,
Suwanee, ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 2 year old who loves to sing and dance. I was skeptical about purchasing it due to some of the reviews however I purchased it anyhow since it was only for a 2 year old and it had the lights on it. Im glad i did it works great. I have had it for about 2 weeks now and have had no issues. I play regular CD's and it works just fine. I have yet to actually play a karaoke cd in it though. I like the fact that you can control how loud the mic is separate from the actual volume of the music. If you feel the mic isn't picking up your voice that much TURN IT UP. There is definitely a difference between the lowest setting and highest setting for the mic. It can get pretty sensitive to where it is picking up even light breathing. I also like the auto sound control which lowers the volume of the music automatically when you use the mic. It also has a control for echo but i have that turned off. I wouldn't say this is a top of the line machine but it is definitely great for the money. The only con is it doesn't come with a 2nd mic but you can purchase one for cheap.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

My son likes it

01/22/2010
By ,
Montevallo, AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought it for my 12 year old's birthday. He loves to sing and play his guitar. It took a little longer that I liked shipping Site To Store. I did not think it would take that long and it took 1 week after his b-day party to get it. We had a little trouble with it and still do. After about 30 min on we have to turn it off wait a few min and turn it back on and we had trouble getting it to read the CD it came with. As long as it is on something and not our hardwood floor it does OK but if anyone walks too close it freezes up and we have to restart it. He thinks its great and plays with it all the time but as an adult and the one that paid for it I think it could have been better. If you are willing to do what we have to do or take the chance that it may have just been a not so good one then try it out. My son wants to keep it so I guess we will as long as he has the patients to deal with it. When it is working though it is pretty cool. I have just had trouble getting customer support from the Singing Machine on the phone or online. Hope this was helpful one way or another.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+178points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
CT
Non-working Christmas Gift for my Daughter
Posted 12/28/2013
I purchased the Stage 1 Singing Machine as a Christmas present for my daughter hoping that she would have tons of fun with it. Only, the opposite was true. After opening the gift, the Singing Machine did play the CD (it took a few times to try and read the manufacturer's provided CD) and the lyrics did show up on the TV. However, that was the the first and last time that it worked. I looked at the troubleshooting guide and the error code (UN) wasn't even on the guide??? My next step was to contact the product's customer service center. They were nice enough to provide a sheet of paper that stated in bold letters "Please Contact Customer Service First If You Have Any Issues With Your Singing Machine" but they failed to put a phone number to contact them! I guess for them, it was the thought that counts. This is a brand NEW product and it's pretty upsetting to know that it only lasted for one use. It's even more upsetting to know that my daughter wasn't able to enjoy her Christmas present! So, thank you Singing Machine, thank you for the gift you gave my daughter....NOT! Looking into purchasing a different product as it's apparent they don't want my business.
+1point
Customer Avatar
tn
Singing Machine CDG Karaoke System with Disco
Posted 08/17/2012
Just got the Singing Machine CDG Karaoke System with Disco in black love it works awesome the only thing i don't like is the karaoke cd that came with it kinda out dated songs on it not that great of a cd other then that very awesome & my friend has it in white i give it A++++++ worth buying one
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Great buy

11/23/2013
By ,
Westvirgina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 7 year old for christmas. After reading some of the reviews i was worried that it may not work. So i opened it and plugged it in. Everything works great. My daughter is going to love this when she opens it on christmas morning. I bought the white machine and the lights glow so pretty. I think shes gonna feel like a rock star. The quality of the sound is also great. I have already reccomended that some of my friends purchase this for their little ones. Im very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Houston
Headphones
Posted 12/17/2013
Is there a headphone jack on the machine?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Great for one or two to sing away.

11/26/2013
By ,
VIRGINIA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have played it to see if it works. boy does it, bright lights, good sound to it. I have put my tape in and sang my heart away. HAHA! My grand daughter will really like this for a christmas present. Received it in 4 days of ordering, no batteries needed, can connect to tv for lyrics, if you have the right tapes. ordered an extra microphone so two can sing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
home
customer
Posted 12/01/2013
do karaoke machine come with two microphones ? if not how can i purchase one separately
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Great fun for the whole family!

11/11/2013
By ,
Oak Ridge, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is easy to set up and is awesome. It comes with a demo disk and 1 microphone. The display scrolls along the words making it easy to sing along even if you don't know the song.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lawrenceburg, KY
Just checking
Posted 11/22/2013
Thank you for saying this is great fun for the whole family. Everyone on here keeps saying they bought it for their child but you say this is great fun for the whole family. Everytime I've seen one of these things, the family is using it. I just wanted to make sure that this is that type - a family machine and not just a child's toy. If anyone answers, I would appreciate it.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

like

07/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun with familyi
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights
07/29/2010
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for a group of girls between 11-12 yrs old, it was a big hit. The only problem is finding the Karaoke CD's they are somewhat extinct or the songs are just so old the girls don't even know them. Not all Karoaoke CD's work on this machine, so be careful not to order tapes until you read specifications to make sure they'll work in the machine. Overall very happy with it, it has been used several times and always good for a laugh.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+233points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rohnert Park, CA
Darla
Posted 07/01/2011
Hi, I read your comment, thought this info might help locating cd g s for your girls. You might try: doowop.com for disks or if you want to purchase songs individualy, you can even go to itunes.com and sign up for a free account. you just search the songs by title or artist, once you locate the song scroll down to see if it is available in (karaoke) :besure it is the correct artist that you want. Each song runs about average 99 cents to 1.29 per song. but this way you get exactly what your looking for. Hope this helped. Darla
+9points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Not real durable

11/14/2013
By ,
NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for my 6 yr old son with Autism, he loves music & "pretty" lights. After about 4 months the mic broke, within 9 months it would skip & only sometimes read the disks, & within 11 months, the machine stopped reading disks all together. Good thing I bought the 2 year replacement plan. (online purchase) It's too bad it wasn't more durable bc my son LOVED it while it lasted!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
OR
Have you ordered the replacement for the warranty?
Posted 11/22/2013
Just wondering if it was a hassle to get the replacement and if worth it all together. Sounds like it's a 'meant to be broken' design???
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Excellent music system for the the price

07/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My friend paid 4 times what I paid no lights, action and it was not worth the price. I Love It!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Karaoke System

11/18/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one pretty attractive wrt cost. My son is 4 years old and wanted something where he can sing and talk. To encourage him to talk more in front of others and pretend like Sid the Science Kid.....he is the science kid in our house....so I got a wireless mike along with this system. This system comes only with one mike set. One thing which this product must have included to make it easy for parents is to have a converter from the mike wide cable opening to the one that is compatible with any other speaker system or laptop. This way we can even record the singing. This system would have been a complete package of fun with this converter which only costs couple of dollars. Overall awesome product.
Recommends this product? Yes
+104points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

fun

12/07/2010
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gift for my 7year old on her bday. She is very much into singing and performing and I figured this would be great. I read all the previous reviews and was pleased and decided on getting it. Well it has been a HUGE hit with my daughter and her friends. She LOVES it and uses it all the time. I have even joined in the fun. The lights are super cool and she thinks shes a real "star". I would highly recommend this product. Its fun, easy to set up and easy to use!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Great product!! My seven year old loves this toy!!

07/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Highly recommended!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Bad product

11/29/2013
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased for my daughter for Christmas last year. There was a problem with the mic cord. There was a short in it or something because it would only work sometimes. Returned it for a new one within 30 days. Purchased a New one and same thing happened. waist of money I would not recommend to anyone. I went through 2 machines within 4 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Cool little machine!

02/15/2014
By ,
Ligonier, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter for her 9th birthday. I saw some negative reviews so I was a little skeptical, but this one seemed to have better reviews than others I looked at.
That being said, she loved it! The lights are bright, and it does look pretty cool. The only issue I have is that sometimes when you are singing with a CD, the sound on the music kind of cuts out off a second and all you can hear is the person singing, not the music. We adjusted the voice control, and that seemed to help, but I don't know if we will have that issue agin or not.
My daughter loves it, so even of it has some minor issues, it's not that big of a deal to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

My grand children love it

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Broke immediately.

05/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item broke right after taking it out of the box. Very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Have only tried it out once. Works as expected.

11/25/2013
By ,
Farmdale, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as a Christmas present for adults with developmental disabilities. I did try it out and it seems to work as expected and is quite easy to operate. Which is exactly what I wanted.The only thing is the demo CD-G with the unit is made for 2 to 3 year olds, and the music is not the tunes that I grew up with. I will have to pick up some that are more appropriate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

karaoke machine

08/18/2012
By ,
tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i just got this karaoke machine in black & iv'e only had it for two days & it started to mess up and it get hotter then it should be): & it don't want to play any of the karaoke songs it just keeps running & it won't read the lyrics on the scree it makes them mess up all the time it keeps runing & it's always hot when it's on and now i have to take it back to walmart don't get a black one they don't work at all the white one work perfect my frind has a white one & there is nothing wrong with it if you do get a black one you will have to take it back to walmart it pays to get the extra cover on the karaoke machine if anything goes wrong they fix it this made me not happy at all always read the Reviews before getting anything at walmart it pays ..... trust me hope my review helps all of you who want to get one
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

My Daughters 9th Birthday Great Gift

06/26/2014
By ,
San Tan Valley,AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the white one and the LED colored lights are beautiful. Sounds Great! My Daughter was very Happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 475 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next