Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Singing Machine Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Singing Machine Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Become a sensation with Singing Machine CDG Karaoke System, SML385. An attractive home system, this model plays CD+G discs (as well as regular CDs) and will display the scrolling lyrics on almost any TV. This trendy Singing Machine karaoke system includes RCA-type A/V cables that connect it to your television for quality audio and video output. It also includes a microphone and a built-in speaker for clear audio output. This karaoke system with disco lights can certainly create a fun party environment.
Average Customer Rating:
4.099 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(698 Reviews) 635
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
376
4 stars
183
3 stars
44
2 stars
22
1 star
73
Customer Recommendation85%594 out of 698reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
170 Questions | 309 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
376
4 stars
183
3 stars
44
2 stars
22
1 star
73
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Karaoke System

02/18/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 3 year old grand daughter loved her birthday present from Nana. Her 16 month old sister would take the mic from her and say "uh" real loud and would laugh! They're both enjoying it and it wouldn't be the same without the disco lights flashing! Great gift!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sarasota, FL
Karaoke System
Posted 11/20/2013
Does this system already come with a CD with music? If so, how many songs are on it?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Volume way to low will not go up to hear it !!

12/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed with singing machine ,When volume does not go up loud enough to even hear what you are singing. That messes everything up and it's not worth even having, Very disappointed when my Grand daughter was trying to sing and she couldn't even hear what she was singing, worse thing I ever bought for a gift ,The rating and all read before I bought it made it sound like it was the best. If I would have know, I would have never bought it, A disappointed child that loves to sing and so was I You have to hear what you are singing, I have had plenty of them through the years never seen such a joke in my life. She is 2 years old ,and that's why I didn't get a adult one but thought this one for teens would be right for her. Made me feel so bad, I bought her something that you can't hear and to nothing with. This is all she ask for over everything. Wasted a lot od money for nothing worth using. If I take it back I will end up with same problem. Very Disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

My son likes it

01/22/2010
By ,
Montevallo, AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought it for my 12 year old's birthday. He loves to sing and play his guitar. It took a little longer that I liked shipping Site To Store. I did not think it would take that long and it took 1 week after his b-day party to get it. We had a little trouble with it and still do. After about 30 min on we have to turn it off wait a few min and turn it back on and we had trouble getting it to read the CD it came with. As long as it is on something and not our hardwood floor it does OK but if anyone walks too close it freezes up and we have to restart it. He thinks its great and plays with it all the time but as an adult and the one that paid for it I think it could have been better. If you are willing to do what we have to do or take the chance that it may have just been a not so good one then try it out. My son wants to keep it so I guess we will as long as he has the patients to deal with it. When it is working though it is pretty cool. I have just had trouble getting customer support from the Singing Machine on the phone or online. Hope this was helpful one way or another.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+191points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
CT
Non-working Christmas Gift for my Daughter
Posted 12/28/2013
I purchased the Stage 1 Singing Machine as a Christmas present for my daughter hoping that she would have tons of fun with it. Only, the opposite was true. After opening the gift, the Singing Machine did play the CD (it took a few times to try and read the manufacturer's provided CD) and the lyrics did show up on the TV. However, that was the the first and last time that it worked. I looked at the troubleshooting guide and the error code (UN) wasn't even on the guide??? My next step was to contact the product's customer service center. They were nice enough to provide a sheet of paper that stated in bold letters "Please Contact Customer Service First If You Have Any Issues With Your Singing Machine" but they failed to put a phone number to contact them! I guess for them, it was the thought that counts. This is a brand NEW product and it's pretty upsetting to know that it only lasted for one use. It's even more upsetting to know that my daughter wasn't able to enjoy her Christmas present! So, thank you Singing Machine, thank you for the gift you gave my daughter....NOT! Looking into purchasing a different product as it's apparent they don't want my business.
+1point
Customer Avatar
tn
Singing Machine CDG Karaoke System with Disco
Posted 08/17/2012
Just got the Singing Machine CDG Karaoke System with Disco in black love it works awesome the only thing i don't like is the karaoke cd that came with it kinda out dated songs on it not that great of a cd other then that very awesome & my friend has it in white i give it A++++++ worth buying one
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Works great for the money

02/19/2014
By ,
Suwanee, ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 2 year old who loves to sing and dance. I was skeptical about purchasing it due to some of the reviews however I purchased it anyhow since it was only for a 2 year old and it had the lights on it. Im glad i did it works great. I have had it for about 2 weeks now and have had no issues. I play regular CD's and it works just fine. I have yet to actually play a karaoke cd in it though. I like the fact that you can control how loud the mic is separate from the actual volume of the music. If you feel the mic isn't picking up your voice that much TURN IT UP. There is definitely a difference between the lowest setting and highest setting for the mic. It can get pretty sensitive to where it is picking up even light breathing. I also like the auto sound control which lowers the volume of the music automatically when you use the mic. It also has a control for echo but i have that turned off. I wouldn't say this is a top of the line machine but it is definitely great for the money. The only con is it doesn't come with a 2nd mic but you can purchase one for cheap.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Everything a Singing Kid Could Want!

01/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this for my nephew, for his Christmas present and he couldn't be happier with it. His mother told me he loves it and so do all his friends. It's a great size, with tons of features and she says the colorful lights have a real disco effect. One of the features she liked most was the ability to increase the sound from the microphone independently from the canned music. Using that, you can make the singer's voice predominate or choose to make the canned music louder. You can also amplify and hear only the sound from the mike - she can't wait to use it to get his attention when she's downstairs and he's up! She likes the 2 input jacks as well, so that either two mikes can be plugged in or one mike and a guitar or other instrument. There are several ways to add additional songs to its repertoire, too. She says the controls are very easy to understand and use, even though it has a lot of different features. This is nice enough that you don't look at it and think, "That's a great kid's toy!"; you think, "That's a really nice home karaoke machine!" Walmart's price was very competitive, too. That's always a help.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Poor Quality

02/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first machine that we had given to our granddaughter came with a broken dimmer switch, then in a couple of weeks you could not select a song on the CD. We returned for a refund. The second machine also came with a broken dimmer switch. We returned for a replacement. The third machine came with a dimmer switch that works. We have not had a chance to give that machine to her yet, but hopefully it will work for her. As any small child they are upset when they get something that is broken and we only went to the extra trouble in trying to find one that works to make her happy.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

basic

02/24/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This machine does not have a record button, and it only comes with one cd of songs...all of which are for toddlers.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Got the job done

02/24/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It comes with a children's disc.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

rockin' grandgirls!!!!!

02/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is really wonderful, the lights and sounds are great, the grandgirls really love this product. They also play their cds in it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Good Value

02/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The machine works very well. I found no issues with it. It's a very good product for
the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Great buy

11/23/2013
By ,
Westvirgina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 7 year old for christmas. After reading some of the reviews i was worried that it may not work. So i opened it and plugged it in. Everything works great. My daughter is going to love this when she opens it on christmas morning. I bought the white machine and the lights glow so pretty. I think shes gonna feel like a rock star. The quality of the sound is also great. I have already reccomended that some of my friends purchase this for their little ones. Im very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Houston
Headphones
Posted 12/17/2013
Is there a headphone jack on the machine?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights
07/29/2010
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for a group of girls between 11-12 yrs old, it was a big hit. The only problem is finding the Karaoke CD's they are somewhat extinct or the songs are just so old the girls don't even know them. Not all Karoaoke CD's work on this machine, so be careful not to order tapes until you read specifications to make sure they'll work in the machine. Overall very happy with it, it has been used several times and always good for a laugh.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+262points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rohnert Park, CA
Darla
Posted 07/01/2011
Hi, I read your comment, thought this info might help locating cd g s for your girls. You might try: doowop.com for disks or if you want to purchase songs individualy, you can even go to itunes.com and sign up for a free account. you just search the songs by title or artist, once you locate the song scroll down to see if it is available in (karaoke) :besure it is the correct artist that you want. Each song runs about average 99 cents to 1.29 per song. but this way you get exactly what your looking for. Hope this helped. Darla
+9points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

too cute

02/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this machine works perfectly. My girls love the lights and they can sing a long with any of their favorite CDs. It took unusually long (almost 2 weeks) to ship to the store but It is a great bargain for the buy!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Excellent for sing-along, has many options

02/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You can connect it to you television and use the audio from both the unit and/or television. You can use your iPad or external device to input audio from YouTube video lyrics. It works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Wow... Much Fun...

09/21/2014
By ,
Deltona, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WoW... My daughter, Alyssa with Autism, turned 15 this month and this was her gift. What more can I say...she loves it. It is very easy to put together and operate. At first the echo effect scared her but once she got used to it all was good.
My only problem is the free 5 CD+G downloads that's being advertised / promised...I was unable to get it. Very dissappointed. Other than that my Alyssa is probally in her room having a ball right now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Very Nice Karaoke Indeed!

12/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I purchased this karaoke for my 11 year -old son after he became a hit star for singing Nicholas Jonas "Joy To The World" in the 2014 Christmas Play called "Bethlehem Inn & Spa." This machine is described as shown in the picture. It sounds as though you are singing before a live studio audience. You can balance the volume, echo, etc... Also, the lights are beautifully attractive and gives you that sense of feeling you are a singing star right on stage. This is a great purchase we had no problems with it. Love the design and all of the features that comes with it. :)))
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Excellent karaoke for kids and adults of all ages!

01/13/2013
By ,
Clarksburg, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a fun machine for your family this is it. My kids are 1, 4, and they play with this nonstop. Yes even my 1 year old enjoys it. He loves the disco lights and dancing around while the older sisters sing. Easily hooks up to the tv to see the words if your kids are older or if adults want to do the "real" karaoke thing. Even when the kids aren't singing, I always turn it on just to play cds. You can control every volume (voice, mic and cd). The disco lights are really what makes this one special and very enjoyable. Has an extra mic plug too, so 2 people can sing at the same time. Very lightweight. My 4 year old can carry it by the 2 indented handles at the top from one room to the next. This will definitely be on the gift list for other family members. It is LOTS of fun. If you are expecting something that you would find out at a karaoke club, this is not it though. This is a good one for family fun at night :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Easy fun

12/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter receive as a birthday gift and loves it. The sound is good and is easy to hookups to the TV. It is a great product. I got an extra microphone so her brother can play long as well. You can't go wrong with this item.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

Doesn't work

02/04/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very unhappy. Invested in this for a disabled child to help with speech. The microphone doesn't work AT ALL. Nothing works but the lights. Very unhappy. I got it for christmas so of course no receipt through all the hustle and bustle so can't return it. Now have a $50 piece of junk. Get anything but this!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights

I'm definitely in the minority

12/27/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this as a joint Christmas gift for three of my four kids. I purchased it based on the popularity of the product, as well as the great reviews. My kids were so excited on Christmas morning, and have used the machine A LOT over the last two days, but now, neither the mic that came with it or the additional one we purchased, are working. I would say, considering the reviews, that this is unique to the specific machine I got, and hopefully the next one will last longer than two days.
I gave it a "fair" rating based on my experience which, as stated above, was only two days. It was one of the best-priced units, but I'm calling it "average" consider the time and possibly money I'm going to have to spend in order to return the defunct machine and get a new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 636 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  32 Next