Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Singing Machine Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

Singing Machine Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

Become a sensation with Singing Machine CDG Karaoke System, SML385. An attractive home system, this model plays CD+G discs (as well as regular CDs) and will display the scrolling lyrics on almost any TV. This trendy Singing Machine karaoke system includes RCA-type A/V cables that connect it to your television for quality audio and video output. It also includes a microphone and a built-in speaker for clear audio output. This karaoke system with disco lights can certainly create a fun party environment.
Average Customer Rating:
4.069 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(547 Reviews) 484
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
284
4 stars
153
3 stars
33
2 stars
18
1 star
59
Customer Recommendation84%460 out of 547reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
123 Questions | 291 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
284
4 stars
153
3 stars
33
2 stars
18
1 star
59
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

Karaoke System

02/18/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 3 year old grand daughter loved her birthday present from Nana. Her 16 month old sister would take the mic from her and say "uh" real loud and would laugh! They're both enjoying it and it wouldn't be the same without the disco lights flashing! Great gift!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sarasota, FL
Karaoke System
Posted 11/20/2013
Does this system already come with a CD with music? If so, how many songs are on it?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

Works great for the money

02/19/2014
By ,
Suwanee, ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 2 year old who loves to sing and dance. I was skeptical about purchasing it due to some of the reviews however I purchased it anyhow since it was only for a 2 year old and it had the lights on it. Im glad i did it works great. I have had it for about 2 weeks now and have had no issues. I play regular CD's and it works just fine. I have yet to actually play a karaoke cd in it though. I like the fact that you can control how loud the mic is separate from the actual volume of the music. If you feel the mic isn't picking up your voice that much TURN IT UP. There is definitely a difference between the lowest setting and highest setting for the mic. It can get pretty sensitive to where it is picking up even light breathing. I also like the auto sound control which lowers the volume of the music automatically when you use the mic. It also has a control for echo but i have that turned off. I wouldn't say this is a top of the line machine but it is definitely great for the money. The only con is it doesn't come with a 2nd mic but you can purchase one for cheap.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

Great product for a great price

10/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased a portable karaoke machine from Seventh Avenue. I spent $169 on it. The sound quality was awful. So I sent it back and purchased this one from Walmart for $59. The sound quality is so much better than the more expensive one! It's very easy to hook up and to use. My 8 year old daughter absolutely LOVES it! The flashing disco lights is the icing on the cake! This was SO worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

My son likes it

01/22/2010
By ,
Montevallo, AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought it for my 12 year old's birthday. He loves to sing and play his guitar. It took a little longer that I liked shipping Site To Store. I did not think it would take that long and it took 1 week after his b-day party to get it. We had a little trouble with it and still do. After about 30 min on we have to turn it off wait a few min and turn it back on and we had trouble getting it to read the CD it came with. As long as it is on something and not our hardwood floor it does OK but if anyone walks too close it freezes up and we have to restart it. He thinks its great and plays with it all the time but as an adult and the one that paid for it I think it could have been better. If you are willing to do what we have to do or take the chance that it may have just been a not so good one then try it out. My son wants to keep it so I guess we will as long as he has the patients to deal with it. When it is working though it is pretty cool. I have just had trouble getting customer support from the Singing Machine on the phone or online. Hope this was helpful one way or another.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+181points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
CT
Non-working Christmas Gift for my Daughter
Posted 12/28/2013
I purchased the Stage 1 Singing Machine as a Christmas present for my daughter hoping that she would have tons of fun with it. Only, the opposite was true. After opening the gift, the Singing Machine did play the CD (it took a few times to try and read the manufacturer's provided CD) and the lyrics did show up on the TV. However, that was the the first and last time that it worked. I looked at the troubleshooting guide and the error code (UN) wasn't even on the guide??? My next step was to contact the product's customer service center. They were nice enough to provide a sheet of paper that stated in bold letters "Please Contact Customer Service First If You Have Any Issues With Your Singing Machine" but they failed to put a phone number to contact them! I guess for them, it was the thought that counts. This is a brand NEW product and it's pretty upsetting to know that it only lasted for one use. It's even more upsetting to know that my daughter wasn't able to enjoy her Christmas present! So, thank you Singing Machine, thank you for the gift you gave my daughter....NOT! Looking into purchasing a different product as it's apparent they don't want my business.
+1point
Customer Avatar
tn
Singing Machine CDG Karaoke System with Disco
Posted 08/17/2012
Just got the Singing Machine CDG Karaoke System with Disco in black love it works awesome the only thing i don't like is the karaoke cd that came with it kinda out dated songs on it not that great of a cd other then that very awesome & my friend has it in white i give it A++++++ worth buying one
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

Wow... Much Fun...

09/21/2014
By ,
Deltona, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WoW... My daughter, Alyssa with Autism, turned 15 this month and this was her gift. What more can I say...she loves it. It is very easy to put together and operate. At first the echo effect scared her but once she got used to it all was good.
My only problem is the free 5 CD+G downloads that's being advertised / promised...I was unable to get it. Very dissappointed. Other than that my Alyssa is probally in her room having a ball right now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

Not bad for the price

10/18/2014
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Volume is low...mic is poor quality...disco light is a waste of time (not bright) but hey, I got this piece as a birthday gift for my 10yr old daughter, She loves it and that's all that matters.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

Great Machine for Kids!

09/16/2014
By ,
Twin Falls, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all my lovely boys and girls love to sing. This is an inexpensive machine does its job! I am a happy dad to watch my kids sing and dance and make them not to play video games! Thank you for the great product! I am considering to buy another one for the upcoming holiday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

Great buy

11/23/2013
By ,
Westvirgina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 7 year old for christmas. After reading some of the reviews i was worried that it may not work. So i opened it and plugged it in. Everything works great. My daughter is going to love this when she opens it on christmas morning. I bought the white machine and the lights glow so pretty. I think shes gonna feel like a rock star. The quality of the sound is also great. I have already reccomended that some of my friends purchase this for their little ones. Im very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Houston
Headphones
Posted 12/17/2013
Is there a headphone jack on the machine?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black
07/29/2010
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for a group of girls between 11-12 yrs old, it was a big hit. The only problem is finding the Karaoke CD's they are somewhat extinct or the songs are just so old the girls don't even know them. Not all Karoaoke CD's work on this machine, so be careful not to order tapes until you read specifications to make sure they'll work in the machine. Overall very happy with it, it has been used several times and always good for a laugh.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+237points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rohnert Park, CA
Darla
Posted 07/01/2011
Hi, I read your comment, thought this info might help locating cd g s for your girls. You might try: doowop.com for disks or if you want to purchase songs individualy, you can even go to itunes.com and sign up for a free account. you just search the songs by title or artist, once you locate the song scroll down to see if it is available in (karaoke) :besure it is the correct artist that you want. Each song runs about average 99 cents to 1.29 per song. but this way you get exactly what your looking for. Hope this helped. Darla
+9points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

Great fun for the whole family!

11/11/2013
By ,
Oak Ridge, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is easy to set up and is awesome. It comes with a demo disk and 1 microphone. The display scrolls along the words making it easy to sing along even if you don't know the song.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lawrenceburg, KY
Just checking
Posted 11/22/2013
Thank you for saying this is great fun for the whole family. Everyone on here keeps saying they bought it for their child but you say this is great fun for the whole family. Everytime I've seen one of these things, the family is using it. I just wanted to make sure that this is that type - a family machine and not just a child's toy. If anyone answers, I would appreciate it.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

Great for one or two to sing away.

11/26/2013
By ,
VIRGINIA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have played it to see if it works. boy does it, bright lights, good sound to it. I have put my tape in and sang my heart away. HAHA! My grand daughter will really like this for a christmas present. Received it in 4 days of ordering, no batteries needed, can connect to tv for lyrics, if you have the right tapes. ordered an extra microphone so two can sing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
home
customer
Posted 12/01/2013
do karaoke machine come with two microphones ? if not how can i purchase one separately
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

fun

12/07/2010
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gift for my 7year old on her bday. She is very much into singing and performing and I figured this would be great. I read all the previous reviews and was pleased and decided on getting it. Well it has been a HUGE hit with my daughter and her friends. She LOVES it and uses it all the time. I have even joined in the fun. The lights are super cool and she thinks shes a real "star". I would highly recommend this product. Its fun, easy to set up and easy to use!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

Excellent karaoke for kids and adults of all ages!

01/13/2013
By ,
Clarksburg, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a fun machine for your family this is it. My kids are 1, 4, and they play with this nonstop. Yes even my 1 year old enjoys it. He loves the disco lights and dancing around while the older sisters sing. Easily hooks up to the tv to see the words if your kids are older or if adults want to do the "real" karaoke thing. Even when the kids aren't singing, I always turn it on just to play cds. You can control every volume (voice, mic and cd). The disco lights are really what makes this one special and very enjoyable. Has an extra mic plug too, so 2 people can sing at the same time. Very lightweight. My 4 year old can carry it by the 2 indented handles at the top from one room to the next. This will definitely be on the gift list for other family members. It is LOTS of fun. If you are expecting something that you would find out at a karaoke club, this is not it though. This is a good one for family fun at night :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

was a wonderful gift!

08/11/2014
By ,
princeton wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my granddaughter loved it! it was a birthday gift for her 4th birthday!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

it was a gift

08/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it as a gift for my step father
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

Karaoke System

11/18/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one pretty attractive wrt cost. My son is 4 years old and wanted something where he can sing and talk. To encourage him to talk more in front of others and pretend like Sid the Science Kid.....he is the science kid in our house....so I got a wireless mike along with this system. This system comes only with one mike set. One thing which this product must have included to make it easy for parents is to have a converter from the mike wide cable opening to the one that is compatible with any other speaker system or laptop. This way we can even record the singing. This system would have been a complete package of fun with this converter which only costs couple of dollars. Overall awesome product.
Recommends this product? Yes
+103points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

Not real durable

11/14/2013
By ,
NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for my 6 yr old son with Autism, he loves music & "pretty" lights. After about 4 months the mic broke, within 9 months it would skip & only sometimes read the disks, & within 11 months, the machine stopped reading disks all together. Good thing I bought the 2 year replacement plan. (online purchase) It's too bad it wasn't more durable bc my son LOVED it while it lasted!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
OR
Have you ordered the replacement for the warranty?
Posted 11/22/2013
Just wondering if it was a hassle to get the replacement and if worth it all together. Sounds like it's a 'meant to be broken' design???
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

Cool little machine!

02/15/2014
By ,
Ligonier, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter for her 9th birthday. I saw some negative reviews so I was a little skeptical, but this one seemed to have better reviews than others I looked at.
That being said, she loved it! The lights are bright, and it does look pretty cool. The only issue I have is that sometimes when you are singing with a CD, the sound on the music kind of cuts out off a second and all you can hear is the person singing, not the music. We adjusted the voice control, and that seemed to help, but I don't know if we will have that issue agin or not.
My daughter loves it, so even of it has some minor issues, it's not that big of a deal to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

Great for kids or adults!

08/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this for our 3 girls for Christmas and they used it pretty much every day until summer! We never used cd's with the words on it, but we did purchase the "Frozen" karaoke cd and it was perfect. Used for a party and had a blast
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Singing Machine SML385 CDG Karaoke System with Disco Lights-Black

Karoke machine

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for grandaughter she loves it, easy to set up, provided much fun at big birthday bash
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 485 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next