Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baby Trend Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

Baby Trend Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

If there is a young or newborn baby at home, the Baby Trend Diaper Champ Deluxe will come in handy and be a great accessory to have. It will help you dispose of all used diapers and keep them out of sight and out of mind. The Baby Trend diaper pail features a large capacity and is designed to hold up to 30 diapers before having to be emptied out. For maximum control and comfort, use it with Diaper Champ refills or alternatively with any 13 gallon trash bags. The Baby Trend Diaper Champ Deluxe comes in pleasant white and blue colors that will not only brighten the room, but add a sense of cheerfulness. No assembly is required, and the item is easy to use so you can get rid of messes quickly and keep the room clean. This odorless diaper pail also helps you eliminate the unpleasant smell of diapers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.236 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation89%79 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 26 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

No Smell Finally!

03/16/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I have a two year old and a new baby boy. For our older child we received the Diaper Genie pail. I have had nothing but problems with that thing. It was bulky and cubersome, the smell never seemed to stop. Plus the cost of the refills added up way to quick.
On our registry this time, all we wanted was a diaper pail not named Genie. My mother bought us the DIAPER CHAMP! Finally my dreams are fulfilled.
There was no smell...seriously none at all. One time I tried to put a diaper in there but the lid wouldn't rotate. I thought it was broken. Nope just full. There was over a week's worth of a two year old and a newborn's diapers and there was no smell, so much so I thought it was empty.
Take it from someone that has been burned in the past with the refill bags, it does add up. The Diaper Champ does have it's own bag, and it's an awesome thick bag, but here's the cool thing. If you run out of refill bags you can use any bag in your house.
It's nice to have the thick sturdy bag but its great to know that in a pinch I can use a grocery bag or a regular trash bag.
Completely worth the price and I will never again utter the words Diaper Genie
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

Good outdoor dog waste container

10/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With two dogs we have a daily need to clean up our backyard. However, putting the "stuff" in the regular trash made opening the trash can lid a horrifying proposition even though we bagged the waste in standard tied dog waste bags. The aroma easily penetrated the bags and the smell never left the trash bin starting with the 1st deposit. Aside from our own discomfort we feared the trash collectors would one day justifiably burn our house down.
We decided a diaper pail that could contain the aroma until right before trash pickup would be a plausible method to keep the yard sanitary, keep our own noses undamaged and shield the trash collectors from something way worse than waterboarding.
Yay! It works well. The only point that remains unpleasant is the bag exchange time before trash pickup but that's only a couple of minutes and unavoidable unless you own a Roomba from the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

ALERT YOUNG THRIFTY MOMS: Best Choice Overall

10/01/2011
By ,
White Salmon, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lot of people complain about the pale smelling anyway, but ALL diaper disposals smell. The Arm and Hammer one has a special baking soda dropper but the pale is so tiny and hard to remove the bag from. I have a second child on the way and a broken Diaper Geni II Elite. I received it as a gift, and I received a Diaper Champ as a hand-me-down. It's a little small but that's because its the right size that when it's full- TAKE IT OUT. Don't know if people realize that if you just keep adding diapers they weigh ontop of each other and eventually squeaze the bottom ones like a sponge. Next thing you know, the reason your pale smells is because the bag ripped and there's waste spilling into the pale. I've had it happen and it's not fun to clean. Plus no one wants to carry heavy dirty diaper bags. Its amazing for when money is tight and you need to use grocery bags as a last result which we do A LOT. Also, smell bothers you? Deal with it quick and easy! You can buy scented body powder or even just plain baking soda and shake a tiny bit into the top before closing it. I use Lavender and it works like a pro! Plus that box or bottle you buy last FOREVER. Mine it still going after two years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
milwaukee
to stinky!
Posted 11/16/2012
this is the worst diper pale ever it stinks up the whole room worst buy ever!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

No smell!

12/17/2011
By ,
Raymore, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A nursery is NOT complete without a diaper pail! I chose this one and not the Genie because you can use any trash bag you want. I use regular 13 gallon trash bags and there is NO ODOR! I've read other reviews and here is what I can say:
-There is absolutely NO ODOR with the use of this pail. My husband CANNOT stand the smell and he even says he can't smell anything. I don't even install the trash bag according to directions, I just lift up both the top and the blue/pink insert and wrap the trash bag around the actual can itself and then close and use...and still no smell.
-If you are having an issue with the trash bag leaking, then double bag or get a thicker made bag.
-There is an odor, OBVIOUSLY, when you have to open it up to change the bag. It's not like it seals the diaper when you dump it in there! And there is a bit of an odor even after the trash is taken out, but I'm sure a good bleach water run and complete air out would do just fine to contain it.
-I have a newborn baby and only have to change this trash about twice a week. So I would say, on average, it will hold about 25 diapers. BUT, keep in mind, we wrap the dirty wipes inside the dirty diaper and fold them up in a ball and seal with the tabs when disposing them.
-To help contain the smell outside of the diaper pail after being taken out, I take out all of the house trash at the same time, therefore, I place the tied diaper pail bag inside our office trash bag and tie, then place that bag into the kitchen trash bag and tie, and then place in our garbage can. That's a triple tied and triple bagged diaper mess that won't stink up my garage!
All in all, I would recommend the Diaper Champ. It's one of the few products I WOULD NOT do without in my nursery!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

Does its job, but fills up quickly

11/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it is intended to do, but wish it was bigger. Much smaller than I had expected!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

Best diaper pail

09/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this over all other brands because you can use regular garbage bags and aren't stuck buying expensive refill bags.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

Convenient

09/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Doesn't have to use only liners. Convenient to be able to use regular 13 gallon trash bags.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

Just as good as the diaper genie

10/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let's face it folks...none of these diaper pails on the market today seem to be perfect. They all seem to have something desirable from them, but are never perfect. They all seem to let the stink out at some point. It's just the nature of dealing with dirty diapers. Our diaper genie broke and I replaced with the diaper trend. It was nice that the genie had the foot pedal, but ultimately, that is the part that broke after only having it for two years. Then we couldn't get it open anymore. Frankly, it was a pain to empty and I had to buy expensive cartridges that made an awkward diaper worm to drag to the garbage can. It still stank, much like the baby trend diaper pail. I have not found one that doesn't stink when you open the lid to put a diaper in or to empty it. •The thing I like about the diaper trend pail is: 1.) I don't have to fight with the opening to get the diapers in. It's really easy to open and close quickly releasing less stink into the room, especially if you are quick about it. 2.) I can use a regular garbage bag instead of expensive cartridges. 3.) It's real easy to empty. 4.) It holds an adequate amount of dirty diapers. :o) •Downfalls: 1.) My son is two and he likes to put his toys in it occasionally. It's magically warping his toy somewhere, but no where good. 2.) When my son uses the diaper pail to magically warp his toys to somewhere that's not good, we have to unleash the stink to get the toys back. :o(
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

Love it!

10/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love that this is cost efficient and that I can use the bags I already have.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

Would buy this again - no question

11/24/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have the Diaper Champ for my son's room. He is 14 months old and we have used it since he was born. We have not had any issues with odors (even though he has stinky, "real" diapers now). Don't get me wrong, it STINKS when we open the lid to change the bag, but that's to be expected. When you open/close the handle to drop a diaper in, sometimes you smell a little, but you'll be so quick with that action that it's not a big deal.
We empty the can 1-2 times per week. We use the exact same bags as our kitchen trash can (so awesome because I do not need one more thing to remember to get from the store). We put a little Arm & Hammer tablet in the bottom of the can. However, I never remember to switch it out, so I'm pretty sure I have only changed the baking soda once in the 14 months we've been using this.
No that my son is walking around and exploring everything, we have had to turn the can around backwards with the handle facing the corner of the changing table and the wall. He figured out how to open it and was putting toys in it. Gross haha. Turning it around backward has worked...for now. ;-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

Wonderful product!

03/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a diaper genie elite which broke within a few months and the refill bags were so expensive. This product is so easy to use, definitely does it's job at blocking odors emanating from dirty diapers, and best of all? You can use regular 13 gallon trash bags instead of expensive refill bags. Love this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

Simple and Effective

09/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this thing! I actually use this primarily for cat litter, but I also deposit poopy diapers in it.
I really appreciate that you can line it with your own 13-gallon trash bag instead of buying something special for the unit. To use, just raise the handle, which slides open a large hollow space, drop in the diaper (or bag of cat poo), and lower the handle so that the diaper is chunked into the bottom, which is essentially a trash can. To remove the trash bag, just push in the button on the front and lift the top up. It's much simpler than a Diaper Genie. It's also sturdy and contains the smell very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

Fabulous Product!

04/11/2010
By ,
Vail, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The diaper champ definitely keeps the odor inside the pail. My daughter and I could be playing on the floor next to it and there is no smell at all. Even when you turn the handle to put another diaper in, no smell escapes. We've had it for 2 years now and it is well worth the money! As the other review said, the pail could be full of dirty diapers and you would never know it.
There is only one warning I have to give about using this product-
Because the smell is trapped so well inside, if you put really stinky diapers in there, you will get knocked over by the odor when you open it to change the bag. While our baby was nursing, this wasn't an issue at all. But when our DD started regular food and whole milk full time, we started putting only wet diapers in the diaper champ just because the smell while opening it was so strong. We also use the garbage bags that have the "odor-shield" just so it is a little nicer when we change the bag each week.
This is a great product and it makes having to do diaper duty a little easier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

Love this! Best diaper disposal!

07/06/2014
By ,
Morrisville, VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With my first son I had a diaper genie, and then a diaper genie II Elite because the first broke...well, needless to say so did the second! With my second, we decided to try the Diaper Champ. We LOVE it! You can use regular trash bags, one handed, and it keeps the smell out of the house (we live in a single wide mobile home, the disposal is in the kitchen, you can't smell a thing!) It also holds a good amount of diapers, but doesn't take up much room!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

Don't waste your time or money on this

08/14/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because it was less expensive than other diaper pails and because it didn't require special bags.
It was a complete waste of time and money because it did NOT control the odor at all.
It was hard to use - the way you are supposed to flip the top to deposit the diaper did not move easily and we were always fighting with it. We have finally replaced this one with the Arm & Hammer diaper pail and it's sooooo much better.
I have never written one of these reviews before, but i hated this pail so much, I just had to warn someone else who was looking at buying it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

Love this Product!!!

06/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already have one of these in pink for my daughter. I liked it so much that I'm getting one for my son as we'll.
I really like how u can use any type of trash bags, instead of spending extra money for a certain type of bags like the "Genie". There's no odor left behind.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

One hand use diaper pail.

06/04/2011
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the old style of Camp diaper pail for my son's baby. He said it was the best gift they received. He liked it much better than the diaper genie because of the "one-hand" operation and being able to use any size bags, even grocery store bags. When another grandchild was born, I knew just what to get, another Champ diaper pail. This is the 3rd one I've bought. I would recommend this product to anyone who has a baby in diapers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

A little smelly

02/26/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This isn't a containment diaper pail and I knew that before I bought it. The main reason I chose this pail is because you can use your own trash bags. So, as a result of this design, it doesn't have a tight seal and smells to permeate the pail. I recommend changing the trash bag every day to cut back on the odor. It does hold a fair amount of diapers. I would buy it again. If you're on the fence, check out the video on Youtube.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

2nd time around

05/14/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had the diaper champ with our first child (who is now 6 1/2 and loved it so I decided to go with it again this time around. It has changed a little and when this baby arrives in about 2 weeks we'll see how it does. The one big difference is in the height, this one is shorter than the previous one but I guess that will make us change it more often. The "plunger" only goes one way rather than back and forth like the old one so I am wondering what difference that will make. The biggest compliment I have for the diaper champ is that it uses regular kitchen bags and does not require specific refills. My sister also used the diaper champ for her two children and we both would recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Baby Trend - Diaper Champ Deluxe, Blue

Good diaper pale

05/20/2014
By ,
Brownsburg, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was recommended to me by a friend as you can use tall trash bags that have a fragrance to them instead of buying a special bag to fit; which saves money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next