Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Coleman Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Coleman brings back a classic with this Coleman 54-quart steel cooler. Completely redesigned for today's active lifestyles, this Coleman stainless steel cooler has tremendous cold-keeping capability. In fact the Coleman steel-belted cooler can keep ice up for to three full days in temperatures up to 100 degrees Farenheit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.41 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation88%69 out of 78reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 28 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Very nice and at a great price!

05/20/2014
By ,
Corpus Christi Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Poplar Bluff, Mo
Save your money
Posted 09/07/2014
I bought one of these and it doesn't keep things cold. A 10lb bag of ice won't last more than a couple of hours if the temp is above 80 degrees with cooler sitting in the shade.
Don't waste your money.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Latching handle fell off on first use

06/03/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I paid a considerable amount of money for this cooler as I have always valued Coleman products. On the first use of the cooler when I closed the lid the latching handle broke off leaving the cooler without a method of securing the lid. I was on a vacation trip and have spent the rest of the time with a brick holding down the cooler lid. Second issue I have with the cooler is that there is NO tray for holding food above the ice. Some coolers have a removable tray that fits in the retainer ring at the top of the cooler body. This one does not and after calling Coleman, I was informed that they do NOT make such a tray. Poor planning Coleman. On the bright side, I called Coleman and after a prolonged discussion with a very incompetent customer service rep, I finally talked with a very nice guy (Cody) who agreed to mail me a replacement latch for the cooler. I do think the cooler keeps ice for a long time, but I am not very pleased with the two items mentioned above. You decide for yourself.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Doesn't hold ice

06/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We took this cooler to the beach last weekend. It didn't hold ice any better than the $20 cooler it replaced. We will be emailing Coleman about the poor performance of this cooler. We had to buy 20 pounds of ice every day. We kept it in the shade. Don't waste your money!
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Great craftsmanship, sturdy & very attractive!

07/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great craftsmanship, sturdy & very nice looking, esp in the stainless steel! Bought as a gift for Fathers Day--he is really happy with it!
It is working out well for our road trips! I found it by googling the product! This was the least expensive that I found it :)))
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Coleman cooler

07/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hubby loves it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

An Excellent Cooler

07/23/2007
By ,
W. Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler is the best! I've tested the cooler, leaving the cooler in my car during July with pop and ice in it until the ice was all melted, and it lasted over 4 days! And then the water inside the cooler was still cool, even though the temps in the car were around 100 degrees!
Since the outside of the cooler is silver (SS), it is very hot, so I cover it with a towel.
I highly recommend this cooler! The only negative I would have would be that it's pretty heavy, so I just put it in my car empty, then put drinks in it, then take it to get the ice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Coleman still has a vary good cooler well built

06/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worked well held ice vary well. 54 quart is a good handling size for the one or two day outing. well built should last a long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Great Cooler, Great Price

07/23/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler keeps ice frozen much longer than standard coolers. Our ice lasted in this cooler for four days. Walmart had the cheapest price of anyone we researched.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Displeased

06/11/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Apperance is great! Ice melts overnight. Doesn't seem to get a tight seal . Not worth carrying back to the store!!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Best Cooler for the money

07/13/2008
By ,
Manchester, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second of this type cooler that we have purched. They are far better than any plastic or styrofoam cooler and keep ice loonger than most other metal coolers. Walmart is far cheeper then buying direct too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Coleman Steel Coolers

05/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Living in Colorado & enjoying the outdoors, We have purchased MANY coolers over the years. No doubt, the steel Coleman coolers keep things cold longer than any other cooler we have either purchased or coolers purchased by friends & family.
We now own a mountain house, so live nearly 6 months in the mountains and 6 months along the Front Range in CO. So, we need our cooler for nearly every trip to "town" during the summer as well as several times a year "moving in" & "moving out". Our Coleman coolers require less ice to keep things cold longer than any other cooler we tried.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Really happy with this cooler

05/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After many years of using typical plastic (& yes, sometimes styrofoam) coolers, I decided to purchase this cooler. I did lots of research & figured out that this cooler would work out best for my use. I have had good luck over the years with Coleman products, & Walmart has the best price. With the Ship-to-Store option, I saved on the shipping, also. It works well, is easy to clean, & with the drainage spout really makes things very easy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Fantastic

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband uses this every day for work. He works outdoors but this item keeps his ice from melting all day and keeps his drinks cold!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Vintage look

05/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A top quality American classic! No extras like some other coolers, but am very pleased with a good looking, well-made model..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Perfect Cooler for home emergencies and trips

02/08/2014
By ,
Norcross, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this cooler for any event specially for trips. I found that it keep the temperature far longer than other coolers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

keeps its cool!

01/10/2008
By ,
south Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We borrowed one of these and it worked so well that we wanted to get one ourselves. Stays cold much longer than our old cooler!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

There are better choices......

03/05/2013
By ,
Venice,Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ordered this cooler sight unseen online from Walmart for $137.88 + tax and received last night. Very disappointed in both the quality and features of this cooler. We had a Coleman steel cooler for many years and this new one doesn't even closely measure up to that. Sidewalls and lid are thin and flimsy and couldn't possibly contain enough insulation to keep items cold as long as claimed. It's very evident to see that Coleman cut too many corners here: There isn't even a lid strap to prevent the lid from opening too far and bending the hinges, and the hinges themselves are marginal at best. The drain is an unthreaded plastic snap on cap with no rubber seal to prevent leakage. No rubber feet on bottom to prevent sliding around in your vehicle or boat. This cooler won't last long in even mildly rough usage. This is basically a $29 plastic cooler with a stainless steel skin and lid and not a good value in this price range. $ 150 cooler with no lid strap, minimal insulation, no dry goods tray, etc etc. My advice would be to step up to a good quality cooler such as a Pelican, Igloo Yukon, or a Yeti any of which will outlast several of this model, or just buy a cheaper thowaway cooler. You get what you pay for. I'll be returning mine for a refund today.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Keeps ice for days

05/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Box had no damage however cooler had dents in it. This means it was shipped with dents in it. But I will have to say it is an excellent cooler. Keeps ice for days!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Great Cooler

09/07/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is a GREAT cooler! It keeps items cold and holds ice great. My only problem was someone stole it while I was at the beach. : (
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Exactly what I thought it would be.

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeps ice for 3+ days in 100+degree weather. Sturdy, doesn't leak. Can handle things being stacked on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next