Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Coleman Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Coleman brings back a classic with this Coleman 54-quart steel cooler. Completely redesigned for today's active lifestyles, this Coleman stainless steel cooler has tremendous cold-keeping capability. In fact the Coleman steel-belted cooler can keep ice up for to three full days in temperatures up to 100 degrees Farenheit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.414 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%52 out of 58reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Very nice and at a great price!

05/20/2014
By ,
Corpus Christi Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Poplar Bluff, Mo
Save your money
Posted 09/07/2014
I bought one of these and it doesn't keep things cold. A 10lb bag of ice won't last more than a couple of hours if the temp is above 80 degrees with cooler sitting in the shade.
Don't waste your money.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

The best wedding gift you can give!

09/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have owned Coleman steel belted coolers for decades.. They are the best, size wise in so far as they do not have to use real thick walls as other brands do to keep the ice as ice and not melted cold water. Inside, they have the most usable room of any cooler. We do not own the stainless steel model, because our steel belted cooler simply will not wear out.. That said, my wife wants to get a stainless steel unit to supplement our arsenal of coolers for when we hit the road. We just purchased this stainless steel unit for a wedding gift. Fouty years ago, we received a Coleman metal cooler as a wedding gift. It was the most usable, long lasting gift we received! Yes, this is a lot of money compared with other coolers, but this cooler is in a league of it's own. In the long run, it is worth every penny. While you're at it, buy one for yourself!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Bought as a gift.

09/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cooler is very nice. Bought as a birthday gift for our son. My only complaint is I paid for shipping ( instead of free shipping which would have taken longer to arrive ) and the cooler did not arrive on the Walmart promised date. Had to give the gift after our son's birthday. Walmart should
deliever as promised or offer to refund the shipping charges.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Nice looking but does not hold ice long

08/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had one of these in green for about 18 yrs. The plastic finally cracked and yellowed. I always thought this was the best looking cooler so I bought another in red. No doubt these are the best looking on the market. Tested this and a coleman $20 3 day cooler at the beach in Texas. 3 HOT days !!. Coolers not in direct sunlight. Added ice each day.....The cheaper coleman cooler ice lasted each day while I had to dump large amounts of water from the steel belted cooler !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Great cooler for the money

09/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had several steel belted coolers over the years, some new and some hand me downs. They have always kept our food good and cold for longer than expected. The coolers are strong and durable. Other coolers have had handles break but not this one. We have had to replace a front latch on one but the cooler was well over 10 years old. Bought this new one for our kids, who do a lot of camping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Keeps ice for days

05/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Box had no damage however cooler had dents in it. This means it was shipped with dents in it. But I will have to say it is an excellent cooler. Keeps ice for days!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Good Looking Cooler

08/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a pretty solid product. The cooler looks pretty solid and has a nice appearance. It will keep ice for about 48-52 hours in 92-93 degree heat so that is pretty solid as well. I think the product is probably a bit over priced but I do like the final product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Exactly what I thought it would be.

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeps ice for 3+ days in 100+degree weather. Sturdy, doesn't leak. Can handle things being stacked on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Perfect Cooler for home emergencies and trips

02/08/2014
By ,
Norcross, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this cooler for any event specially for trips. I found that it keep the temperature far longer than other coolers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

An Excellent Cooler

07/23/2007
By ,
W. Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler is the best! I've tested the cooler, leaving the cooler in my car during July with pop and ice in it until the ice was all melted, and it lasted over 4 days! And then the water inside the cooler was still cool, even though the temps in the car were around 100 degrees!
Since the outside of the cooler is silver (SS), it is very hot, so I cover it with a towel.
I highly recommend this cooler! The only negative I would have would be that it's pretty heavy, so I just put it in my car empty, then put drinks in it, then take it to get the ice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

not the retro cooler

07/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AI guess I expected the quality of the retro coolers. This seems like an igloo cooler with a flimsy metal wrap. A piece of junk IMHO.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Great Cooler, Great Price

07/23/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler keeps ice frozen much longer than standard coolers. Our ice lasted in this cooler for four days. Walmart had the cheapest price of anyone we researched.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Best Cooler for the money

07/13/2008
By ,
Manchester, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second of this type cooler that we have purched. They are far better than any plastic or styrofoam cooler and keep ice loonger than most other metal coolers. Walmart is far cheeper then buying direct too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

awesome throwback

06/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was a gift! he loved the throwback look to it! reminded him of scout campouts when he was younger! cooler also arrived 2days earlier than expected! luv that
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Great Cooler!

07/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent cooler - items stay cold for 48 hours. Very durable and easy to clean!
Ease or ordering was excellent. Shipping was at no charge. Cost was somewhat high compared to other offers, but the product was in stock and shipped quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Did not keep ice

07/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were very disappointed that this cooler did not keep the ice for even 24 hours in a 70 degree camper! We returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

keeps its cool!

01/10/2008
By ,
south Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We borrowed one of these and it worked so well that we wanted to get one ourselves. Stays cold much longer than our old cooler!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Looks classy… works well… hopefully will age well

07/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Coleman cooler looks great, with classic styling, space age materials, works really well dispite surprisingly thin walls, good locking device, nice handles, hopefully it will age well as it's bound to get dings and scrapes from our use over many years. It is also very light weight so pretty easy to carry around but we just use it on the deck and as an overflow cold storage for home parties. Is we were needing to take it any distance, I might search for a product like it with wheels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Wonderful

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Put ice and soda in it and on the 4th day added ice and drained excess water but still had ice from the first day still in it! We love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Excellent product

07/14/2014
By ,
Piedmont Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was perfect for what I wanted to do with it. Great price and excellent quality. Would recommend to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next