Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Coleman Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Coleman brings back a classic with this Coleman 54-quart steel cooler. Completely redesigned for today's active lifestyles, this Coleman stainless steel cooler has tremendous cold-keeping capability. In fact the Coleman steel-belted cooler can keep ice up for to three full days in temperatures up to 100 degrees Farenheit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.485 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation91%62 out of 68reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 28 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Very nice and at a great price!

05/20/2014
By ,
Corpus Christi Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Poplar Bluff, Mo
Save your money
Posted 09/07/2014
I bought one of these and it doesn't keep things cold. A 10lb bag of ice won't last more than a couple of hours if the temp is above 80 degrees with cooler sitting in the shade.
Don't waste your money.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

An Excellent Cooler

07/23/2007
By ,
W. Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler is the best! I've tested the cooler, leaving the cooler in my car during July with pop and ice in it until the ice was all melted, and it lasted over 4 days! And then the water inside the cooler was still cool, even though the temps in the car were around 100 degrees!
Since the outside of the cooler is silver (SS), it is very hot, so I cover it with a towel.
I highly recommend this cooler! The only negative I would have would be that it's pretty heavy, so I just put it in my car empty, then put drinks in it, then take it to get the ice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Great Cooler, Great Price

07/23/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler keeps ice frozen much longer than standard coolers. Our ice lasted in this cooler for four days. Walmart had the cheapest price of anyone we researched.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Best Cooler for the money

07/13/2008
By ,
Manchester, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second of this type cooler that we have purched. They are far better than any plastic or styrofoam cooler and keep ice loonger than most other metal coolers. Walmart is far cheeper then buying direct too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Perfect Cooler for home emergencies and trips

02/08/2014
By ,
Norcross, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this cooler for any event specially for trips. I found that it keep the temperature far longer than other coolers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

great cooler

02/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my boyfriend. Nice construction like the old metal ones. Keeps ice for a very long time if you keep it latched. We love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

keeps its cool!

01/10/2008
By ,
south Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We borrowed one of these and it worked so well that we wanted to get one ourselves. Stays cold much longer than our old cooler!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Keeps ice for days

05/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Box had no damage however cooler had dents in it. This means it was shipped with dents in it. But I will have to say it is an excellent cooler. Keeps ice for days!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Exactly what I thought it would be.

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeps ice for 3+ days in 100+degree weather. Sturdy, doesn't leak. Can handle things being stacked on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

There are better choices......

03/05/2013
By ,
Venice,Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ordered this cooler sight unseen online from Walmart for $137.88 + tax and received last night. Very disappointed in both the quality and features of this cooler. We had a Coleman steel cooler for many years and this new one doesn't even closely measure up to that. Sidewalls and lid are thin and flimsy and couldn't possibly contain enough insulation to keep items cold as long as claimed. It's very evident to see that Coleman cut too many corners here: There isn't even a lid strap to prevent the lid from opening too far and bending the hinges, and the hinges themselves are marginal at best. The drain is an unthreaded plastic snap on cap with no rubber seal to prevent leakage. No rubber feet on bottom to prevent sliding around in your vehicle or boat. This cooler won't last long in even mildly rough usage. This is basically a $29 plastic cooler with a stainless steel skin and lid and not a good value in this price range. $ 150 cooler with no lid strap, minimal insulation, no dry goods tray, etc etc. My advice would be to step up to a good quality cooler such as a Pelican, Igloo Yukon, or a Yeti any of which will outlast several of this model, or just buy a cheaper thowaway cooler. You get what you pay for. I'll be returning mine for a refund today.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Coleman Cooler Stainless Steel 54 Quart

01/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cooler in red for my husband and he loved it so much he wanted another one...so I got him the green one, too! It's durable, easy to drain water from, and we like the old-fashioned look the green and red ones have. I won't buy another brand of cooler but Coleman. The price was better at the Walmart website than others that I checked as well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Great Cooler

09/07/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is a GREAT cooler! It keeps items cold and holds ice great. My only problem was someone stole it while I was at the beach. : (
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Nice looking but does not hold ice long

08/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had one of these in green for about 18 yrs. The plastic finally cracked and yellowed. I always thought this was the best looking cooler so I bought another in red. No doubt these are the best looking on the market. Tested this and a coleman $20 3 day cooler at the beach in Texas. 3 HOT days !!. Coolers not in direct sunlight. Added ice each day.....The cheaper coleman cooler ice lasted each day while I had to dump large amounts of water from the steel belted cooler !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

The best wedding gift you can give!

09/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have owned Coleman steel belted coolers for decades.. They are the best, size wise in so far as they do not have to use real thick walls as other brands do to keep the ice as ice and not melted cold water. Inside, they have the most usable room of any cooler. We do not own the stainless steel model, because our steel belted cooler simply will not wear out.. That said, my wife wants to get a stainless steel unit to supplement our arsenal of coolers for when we hit the road. We just purchased this stainless steel unit for a wedding gift. Fouty years ago, we received a Coleman metal cooler as a wedding gift. It was the most usable, long lasting gift we received! Yes, this is a lot of money compared with other coolers, but this cooler is in a league of it's own. In the long run, it is worth every penny. While you're at it, buy one for yourself!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Cool cooler for a cool guy!

01/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cooler arrived quickly and was packaged well. No dents, scratches or blemishes to be found.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Great chest

01/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it!™ Retro.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

well built

12/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
everything has that feel like its built to last
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Gift

12/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a requested item from my brother-in-law and he absolutely loves it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

Pleasantly surprised

12/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item is exactly what I was looking for. Arrived at my home in record time. Will not hesitate to order on line in the future.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Cooler

classy cooler

12/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got it for my boyfriend for Christmas. Hope he loves it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1 2 3 Next