Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Tetra Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

Add tranquility and beauty to any living space with the Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit. This five-gallon aquarium kit includes enrollment in Tetra's free TetraCare program to help you get started. The glass tank includes a hood light and power filter (complete with three-stage filtration) to help your aquarium stay clean. Plus, your Tetra Kit includes starter samples of TertaMin Tropical Flake Food and instructions on how to keep your fish tank extra clean. Welcome your fish family into their new home with AquaSafe water conditioner, so they breathe easy in their new fish tank.
Average Customer Rating:
4.318 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(129 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation87%112 out of 129reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

Great for newbies!

02/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had gold fish, snails, and bettas in your 1 gallon pentagon tank but this is my first time with a 5 and I must say I love it!!! I have a large leopard frog tadpole (Frogger), 3 neon tetras (Phineas, Ferb, and Perry), a black kuhli loach (Pangio), and an african dwarf frog (Drifter), and they all seem to like it! GREAT product!!!! very happy :) !!!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

Great Product, But Pick Up In Store!

04/22/2010
By ,
Central, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I ordered this item online it arrived shattered in the box. It was very poorly packaged for a glass aquarium. There was no bubble wrap or styrofoam for protection, only paper. If you want this aquarium I highly advise buying it at the store, and for the price its worth upgrading to the ten gallon. You will appreciate it later. I love this mini aquarium and it is well constructed for the cost. It includes everything to get started minus the gravel, etc. I currently keep my Betta fish Nerite snail, Otto, and several Ghost shrimp in this tank. I changed the stock incandescent bulb out with a 15 watt max CFL "Daylight" bulb that I bought from Lowes. This bulb makes a huge difference in the appearance of the aquarium and growth of the plants. I also spray painted the whole inside of the canopy gloss white for better reflection. This seems to have helped also, and the tank has turned out really nice. Excellent set-up for any beginner or experience fish enthusiast. Also makes a nice grow tank or quarantine tank.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 3 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

A Great First Aquarium!

03/21/2010
By ,
Camarillo, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this aquarium about 3 weeks ago. Set it up, and everything worked great. Only flaw is that the suction from the filter is way too strong for small fish. My angelfish fought the current every time it swam over to that half of the tank.. Had to pull up the tube about half an inch and wedge a piece of plastic underneath it. Slowed the flow of water a little, but doesn't bother my fish now.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 4 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

buy it at the store

01/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I received this tank & opened it, it was cracked all the way down the side so I had to return it the same day which was a bummer. :/ But it was cheaper at the store & I also got 2 free plants in the box! So far I like the aquarium, it's quiet & hopefully since the filter is so big it will stay clean and my little goldfish love playing in the waterfall. :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 5 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

Love it.

07/29/2010
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this fish tank. Its great for a begginer like me and was pretty easy to set up. I cant wait to add my fish.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 6 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

Awesome starter kit!

05/08/2010
By ,
Southern US
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this starter kit so me and my family can enjoy having some fish in our home. I found it to be cheaper in my store than online for some reason so i went to Walmart and bought whatever i needed for the tank. I called Tetra to ask a few questions about setting it up and they gave me advice on how everything should work. Luckily, my first fish was the Blue Gourami (Trichogaster trichopterus) which hasn't died until this day but i added more fish and now i may need a bigger tank. This tank was good while it lasted and now it's time for me to upgrade since i'm not an amateur anymore. I would recommend it to someone until they get the hang of things or if they just want a starter tank just to have one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

Nice tank!

07/30/2010
By ,
N.E. Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this tank and so does my betta!!!! EXCELLENT value for the money, IMO!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 8 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

The price is great for all you get out of it.

09/06/2011
By ,
Gooding, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tank is the best! I went to walmart to buy it for $32 but at my walmart it was only $27!! and it came with a filter, filter cartridge, light, and a lightbulb!! It was great for my betta, because he likes to just relax and so thats what he does. It was a perfect size too.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

GREAT Betta Tank!

12/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I keep my red halfmoon betta in this tank along with my golden apple snail. They live very happily in this tank. One thing about the filter is it seemed to stress my betta because it was constently battling the pull of the current D=! One day, i was toying around with it and found if you slightly lift up the suction tube on the filter, it will reduce the current dracticly and the pull of the tube. Doing this, will sadly make you in need of more frequent water changes, but your fish will be much happier! Also, a friend of mine has this tank and the filter almost sucked up her guppy! She called me and i told her this trick.
All in all a great buy. I reccomend reducing the current and buying a flureccent bulb. Your fish will be extremely happy in this cute little table-top tank!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 10 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

Great starter tank and supplies

07/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looking for a small aquarium to brighten up your room? Look no further. This tank is exactly what I wanted, and my GloFish as well as little Neons seem to agree. Just remember not to overcrowd the tank--the rule of thumb is 1.5" of fish per 1 gallon of water. However, tetras do like to have a few buddies swimming around with them, so don't buy just a single fish of each kind- that's just cruel.
The water filter is functioning well, but as others have mentioned, you do need to purchase a heater-- I think mine was around $15 and I bought it on this site as well.
I'm uploading a picture of the happy campers in their newly set up "tent" :) I hope this helps!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 11 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons
06/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Today, i went out to buy this tank for my two turtles, one in which is a little Mississippi Map turtle, and the other is a painted turtle i found in the lake no bigger than a quarter. I couldn't put him in with my bigger turtles because they were really mean to him, plus they are in a 35gallon. I got home, put it together which literally took 5 mins. My baby turtles love it, and it's just the right size for them both right now until they get bigger. I also have a little floating dock that fits perfectly in it. My boyfriends mom, and his brother both have one of these for their turtles. They love it also, it's the perfect size to fit pretty much anywhere. Also, it looks very nice, and not cheap at all. The only thing is, if you're gonna have a turtle in it, make sure once the turtle starts growing.. and gets the size of your palm, he will need to be transfered to a bigger tank. They need lots of room to swim. Later on when my turtle outgrow this tank, it will be perfect for little fish or snails.. anything. I would recommend this fish tank to anyone just starting out, or with little time or space.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
This was perfect!!
Posted 06/23/2011
I saw this tank online and at first I thought it was too small at first but it's perfect for starter or breeding aquariums! I was going to purchase a 10 gallon but it didn't have anything but an aquaruim! I needed a start up kit too. This is a great price for what's in it. It says it's $32 but in the store it's like $27. I am throughly satisfied with this product. It's moderately sized and perfect if you love marine animals but don't have a lot of room to put a tank. I have two snails and four fish in my tank. They are (pardon my expression) happy as clams lol. I am willing to admit that this is probably the best quality tank and the price is unbeatable!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

WOW!!!

12/10/2009
By ,
HAWTHORNE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS FISH TANK (IT CAME WITH EVERYTHING EXCEPT THE HEATER) BUT THE PRICE WAS WORTH IT. IT CAME WITH PLANT, FOOD, FILTER) ALL I NEED TO GET IS A HEATER, BECAUSE I WANT TROPICAL FISH. WHO CAN BEAT THAT!!!. IT SAYS IT'S $33.00 ONLINE, BUT IN THE STORE IT ACTUALLY $29.97. THAT IS DARN GOOD PRICE FOR EVERYTHING IT COMES WITH. IT EVEN CAME WITH SAMPLES OF FOOD & A WATER TREATMENT PACK.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 13 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

Great Little Starter Tank

12/29/2010
By ,
Martinsburg, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this tank for my son for Christmas. It was delivered quickly without any problems (like being broken, etc.). It was easy to set up, and fits our needs perfectly. It would be nice if it came with some beta-friendly food and maybe a heater though. My son is excited to learn how to care for his new fish (which cost more than the tank itself), and it has made a lovely addition to our living room. This tank is definately worth the price!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

4 gallons

03/01/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great little tank for a betta fish. I have one betta and an apple snail happily living in this tank. The only thing is..once you add gravel or sand and a few plants it is truly only a 4 gallon tank.
However, that Still is not bad for just my betta and my snail. They are happy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

ok tank

01/06/2012
By ,
Fairfield, Ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i upgraded to this one from my 3 gal, because we got another goldfish and they need the room. the tank was fine for the most part but after about 6 months in one of the corners under the black lining the glue stoped working came out or cracked something had happened i never moved it once it was set up, but after 6 months it started leaking on one side and i couldnt find the leak. 6 months is to far to return it, and its really not worth the repair better off getting a new one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

Fantastic For Price!!!

07/20/2010
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My fish LOVE this tank!!! My light bulb came in shattered into little piecies but can eaisly be replaced. There was ALOT of sealing calk exposed. But over all a GREAT AWSOME tank!!! Highly recomend it!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 17 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

great for a beginner

05/29/2011
By ,
Sandpoint, ID
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a a great tank to start with, esp for goldfish. It comes with all the basics. You'll need to add gravel, plants, decorations, a thermometer, ect., and a heater if you plan on having tropical fish. The filter is quiet and does a good job of keeping the water clear. My only problem with this kit is that the hood comes with an incandescent light bulb, which puts off a lot of heat. If we leave it on for more than a couple hours it heats the water to between 76-80 degrees, which is WAY too hot for our goldfish. We keep our house very cool, so that's not contributing to the extra heat. I could keep tropical fish in this tank without a heater, just by leaving the light on.
Also, since it's a "starter kit", it would be nice if it came with a net and a thermometer.
Other than that, I am very happy with this tank, esp since I had to buy it, spur of the moment at midnight, after my son won a goldfish from the carnival. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 18 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

Excellent products for excellent price

08/31/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this at a Walmart store and it was better than I expected. For merely 30 bucks, you get pretty much all you need for fish, besides buying a heater which you can do right on their website (the heater works great too). The tank is a great size for placing beside your desk and takes very little effort to clean. The people who are giving the tank low ratings are not considering the package they are getting. The filter works great and makes NO noise. It cleans the water well and is in fact a very strong filter. You can lower the intensity by moving the tube up from the filter. The light bulb provided is also very bright. All in all, a great buy and great starting aquarium. I have been a fish keeper for over 3 years I have no complaints and I have actually switched from a 20 gallon to this 5 gallon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+91points
Review 19 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

Great Value!

12/31/2009
By ,
Houston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product exceeded my expectations. I bought everything I needed for under $40 (with tax)with this tank starter kit. It doesn't include the heater true, but it at least tells you that on the box to remind you to purchase one. Which they sell the perfect size one you need at walmart or on the website. It also came with two green plants! Like a 5 dollar value! The starter kit it self is cheaper in stores by like 3 dollars. And I didnt want to wait for it to come by mail so I just went ahead and bought one in-store. I had to go to 2 different Walmarts because one of them was out of stock. It is a very popular product! I absolutely love my new small easy to clean, everything I wanted aquarium! All the replacement bulbs and filters and conveniently sold at walmart too, so I can just pick some up when I grocery shop. I would Def recommend this product to anyone. Great starter fsh tank. Great for a spoiled pet Betta. Or even a small gold fish (until he outgrows it), or a few tiny fish like mollies. Perfect size for a desk aquarium too. THANKS WALMART!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 20 for Tetra Aquarium Starter Kit, 5 Gallons

Great Buy!!

05/28/2010
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I debated for a few days on whether or not i wanted to purchase this tank...i am so happy that i did!I absolutely love this tank!!I have female Betta fish that live in this tank together and they love it as well!!Some people say the water pressure coming out of the filter is too strong..all you have to do is pull the black tube up a little and the pressure gets slower.Overall i'm definitely pleased with this great little tank!!Definitely worth the money!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+116points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Altamonte Springs, Fl.
Fish Tank
Posted 09/23/2011
I have one of these works Just Great,
The light is really good, I just had to get an Air Pump
and a filter that is all. WalMart has the filters for about $10.00
that work just great.
I currently have five small God Fish in it.
When they start getting big, I just put them in the pond outside.
I get them at Pet Smart they are only 27 cents each.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next