Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Altus Athletic Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

Altus Athletic Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

The Altus 40lb Weighted Vest is a high-quality vest that is mainly designed for people undergoing police training. This adjustable conditioning vest has blue reflective stripes and electronic pockets to store required things with ease. In addition, it allows users to easily add or remove pockets. This weighted workout vest is comfortable and help develop speed, power, and agility. It comes with a comfortable foam fitting design and improves cardio and strength. Its adjustable size makes it ideal to fit most sizes. This breathable weighted vest has temperature control as well. This sturdy vest makes a perfect choice for workouts, hiking, running in local hill trials. Find a training guide included with the vest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.062 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation75%36 out of 48reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 53 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

Great vest

09/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vest seems to be well made. None of my sandbags leak. The vest fits good and is adjustable. I have used it while riding my bike on training runs and it provides good resistance. While the vest is big, it isn't so bulky that it is uncomfortable to wear or throw you off balance as you try to move around. You can add or remove sandbags to adjust the weight. I would not advise running while wearing this as the weight could be too much on your joints. Overall, I am happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

Nice addition to workout routine

06/15/2010
By ,
Southern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this to help me get more of a workout during walks with wife as well as hiking/running on local hill trails. Not making a fashion statement with this thing so tend to use it for walks in non-busy areas. Works well during runs however does bounce around especially when going fast. No issues with the materials and everything looks well made.
Great value compared to other vests that don't hold as much weight (this one goes to 40 though I have only gone to 32 to date) while a lot of others go to 20 for around the same cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

Altus 40lb Weight vest

09/07/2010
By ,
Hagerstown, Md.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this vest about two months ago and love it. It is a little big for me (medium build @ 5'6" 165 lbs) but it works. I got it to add "a little" intensity to my workouts :) It is a little bulky, but its a weight vest, its gonna be. I like the pocket for a mp3 player and the reflectors for running.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

Weight vest

03/17/2010
By ,
Orlando
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great vest high quality, the weights are individual sand bags but seem to be very sturdy; have trained with it for about a week and all the seems are still holding well. no malfunctions to report
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

Great vest

03/15/2011
By ,
Greeneville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a well made weight vest. It is great for working out in. I would not suggest is for running since it is so bulky and long. It is not as snug as a 20lb vest I have tried but that is partly because of the extra 20lb difference. It holds up well and I have not had any problems with it. I use it mostly for adding weight to body weight exercises like pushups, chinups, and squats. Works perfect for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

Not worth the time for serious athletes

05/02/2012
By ,
Covina, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a mountaineering junkie and i bought this weighted vest to help intensify my workouts, firstly this vest is BIG! I couldn't imagine walking into my gym with this vest on without getting stares from my fellow gym goers. The vest is also clumsy and not good for really anything but walking. If your just looking to help intensify your evening stroll then this vest will be perfect for you. But for people like myself who just want to workout without worrying about being hit in the knees by this clumsy vest look somewhere else. I just got back from returning this vest and literally just ordered a new brand (70 pound ZF0 vest) which may be more expensive but already from the pictures looks 10 times more satisfactory, all in all I wouldn't wish this vest on my worst mountaineering rival. Pay the extra cash and buy a more solid vest, I've decided to not let price be a drawback again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest
09/15/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vest is very comfortable & very easy to wear/workout in. The quality though is not as nice as the 20-lb Gold's Gym one sold in the store. This vest is nice, but the make-up of the vest is thinner than the 20-lb vest & since I have used both, I can compare & say that the Gold's Gym one is a thicker more quality vest. This 40-lb vest is nice & works find, I just hope it lasts.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

Good Price.....So-So design

07/13/2011
By ,
Oceanside, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall this seems to be a pretty good weight vest....But it could be allot better. I am an average size male at 5’9" and 180lbs. I figured the “One Size” would be no problem, but this vest, even at its tightest still is "sloppy" on me. I would like it to fit a bit more snug as I intend to wear this while running. Also it is a bit bulky, the shoulder area hangs over my upper arms and the removable weights seem very large for the amount of weight they represent. It feels like each of the small bags are filled with sand, if they had used lead shot the weight bags could have been much smaller.
Pros: Prices
Cons: Bulky on small to average size people. Weights are too large for the amount of weight they contain.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

Good

02/23/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over all the vest is very good, putting the weights in takes a bit of time! but well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

Useful item, if a little clumsy

05/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't fully used this vest to its full potential yet (after all, you should start low/comfortable and then work your way up), but I can tell you that this vest is actually very good to helping you exercise.
Now, note that this vest is big and clumsy, so you're not winning any fashion awards with it, and from the outside in, it may even look ridiculous, but what counts are results, so if you can look past outer appearances, you'll really come to like this (no dating puns intended).
Having an additional 10, 20 or 40 pounds on your shoulder really gets to you for the first week or two or three, depending on how often you workout with it, but I can guarantee you that if you use this on a regular basis, you'll feel light as a feather by the time you're done. (Please be aware that although I haven't fully used all 40 sacks of this vest yet, I used to have ankle and wrist weights, so I do know what I'm talking about).
As far as pricing goes, this was 70$, which is very good, considering that others are 40$ for 20 lbs. Since the weight on this behemoth of a vest is adjustable, this is a very good value.
So all in all, this is a very good choice as far as price/performance goes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

Almost great

05/31/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The biggest thing I do not like about this vest is that the clips are kinda cheap. I'm afraid I may break them one day. They also may come undone if you have the vest really tight on you and are doing some quick movements (I was doing some boxing). This vest is better for those who will plan to do movements like squats, pull-ups, or dips, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

Great Accessory!

06/26/2011
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great accessory to my workout routines. I use it to run a 3.5 miles cardio workout, and to do weighted push-ups, dips, chin-ups and crunches. It is very sturdy and I like the pocket for my iPhone to listen to music while I run.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

I'm glad I bought it.

05/02/2011
By ,
Northeast, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall, I’m pleased with this vest. I like that I can slowly add weight as my strength increases. It is bulky, but I don’t know how it could be more streamlined given the amount of weight it holds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

Cheap indeed.

08/29/2012
By ,
Annapolis, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this vest and worked out with it 12-15 times, and the sand or whatever it is is coming out of the little 1lb baggies that hold it, the packs that hold the weights are ripping themselves off of the vest, and the seams by the shoulders are ripping apart as well. The bottom of the vest is too long, and flops. It tends to hit me in an unpleasant place when I run with it. I asked for this vest for Christmas as a gift because it was the cheapest I could find. I had found a cheap on alright. I then emailed ALTUS about it and received no response. Just bought one from ZFO. Hopefully they do not let me down like ALTUS has. Rather ridiculous.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

Sore Shoulders

11/21/2011
By ,
New York City
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For walking workouts the problem with this vest is that all the weight hangs from the shoulders and makes them sore. This is a common problem with backpacks which is solved by using a hip belt and some type of frame to transfer the majority of weight to the pelvis. I suggest a small internal frame pack with a hip belt and a system of straps to compress the load (tighten the pack around weights) to keep it from slopping about when walking.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest
08/05/2011
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
no problems with this product so far. seems like a good value. easy to adjust weights, seems durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

Spend a little more elsewhere

07/22/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The fit on this thing is horrible and the material used is very uncomfortable...especially where it contacts the neck. I am 6'1 and around 170lbs. It is very loose for my frame. You need to be more round to prevent it from moving around so much.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

For a great workout!

01/25/2011
By ,
Toms River, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this product and within 5 days it was delivered! The single pound weights (sand) were in (2) small boxes within a larger box containing the vest. The box was heavy to say the least and not easily carried by the average person, but manageable.
I used the vest the following day with only (10) pounds of the sand as a test and found the vest to be strong and comfortable. Walked for an hour with these weights and felt the sweat rolling down my back. The walk was quite easy with only mild hills and mostly level ground. My legs and back felt real good after the walk, but felt a little soreness from the workout the following day.
The added weight does make a difference and my legs feel strong. I recommend this vest! It will give you a nice workout!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

Altus 40# weighted vest

09/28/2010
By ,
St Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compared to other similarly weighted vests, this one is a great bargain. I have seen this same vest priced at $100 at other retailers. The vest fits well, using the adjustable straps. The top and bottom of the vest have Velcro strips. The only thing that could be better (and this is a minor annoyance) is that it can get a bit difficult to snap the clasps together when the vest is loaded. But it could be that I pull them pretty snug. I don't run, I use it for walking appx 2 - 2 1/2 miles morning and evening, and the vest hangs well, with the weight distributed well. If you are wanting to burn more calories thru a more vigorous workout, this vest should serve you well. I also use it for doing my pushups. Good added bonus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altus 40-lb. Conditioning Vest

Not what I expected

12/24/2010
By ,
Lexington KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This weight vest seems to be of decent quality, but the sizing is off. Definitely not something to run in as it will "flap in the breeze". WIll return in-store and reorder a different one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next