Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

Get an intense, strength workout with the Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym. This pull-up bar not only helps you work your upper body with pull-ups, chin-ups, push-ups and triceps dips, you can use the Multi-Training Door Gym for sit-ups so you target your core. This Gold's Gym equipment easily attaches to most standard doors without any mounting brackets so you can quickly set up, work out and then take it down. The pull-up bar features soft, foam grip handles for comfort.
Average Customer Rating:
3.043 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
7
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation60%28 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
7
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym
01/12/2012
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this device everyday for the past 4 month's and it has yet to let me down. I do some serious pull-up exercises with it and i have yet to have any sort of issue. When assembling make sure that everything is aligned straight before you tighten the screws as this may be why some of you are having issues with it coming loose over time. I haven't had to tighten mine again so not sure if this helped. As far as the grips go and how some people are stating that the foam is starting to come apart, do what I did to save that foam and take a simple ankle high sock, fold it in half and then drap it over the handles. That way you are putting more of the friction on the sock which is saving the foam underneath. I also did the same thing on the foam ends that press up against the doorframe. That way my doorframe won't get damaged from any rubbing. Again, I have found numerous exercises that I can do with this unit that aren't just the boring pull-up and chin-up styles so be creative!! I would easily recommend!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

Works just fine

10/20/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works as expected but there was no DVD. However, I think the one with a DVD was $5 more. I really don't need the DVD so, no big deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

The bolts

01/16/2010
By ,
Indiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ok overall this is good pull up bar, considering the price. I bought this pull up bar to start my homegym, I been lifting for about 5 years and got tired to pay a membership. This bar is a good idea, but you have to consider that every one like "the guy in comercial" is going to use it, which means the people are gonig to weight over 170 pounds most of the time. Here is the cons, the bolts broke not one but three, two in the middle where you connect the two long flats bars together, and the third L shape so yes I fell down and my work out was over. The last con to this I think its bad for the door. The pros to this is it holds me very well and its stable, with that said it actually make you go slow and watch your form. It also seem that I'm not the first with the bolt problem, so yes I do remmomend that if you buy this bar that you should buy some bolts at the same time, even if your don't brake you can just return them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

01/17/2010
By ,
Illinois
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this product at Walmart and put it together. After only a few uses one of the bolts broke. I took it back to the store and exchanged it for another one. I put that one together and again the bolt broke. In one review it was wrote that instead of complaining about the bolts breaking, just replace them. That is okay, but why can't I expect the ones included in the package to work? Overall, I believe that the product is a good deal and sturdy for the price. Even with having to replace the bolts I think that it is. When it is up and the bolts are not breaking it does exactly what I expect it to do. I still would recommend this mainly because similar products are much more expensive. There is even one on another website that is identical to this one only with a different name and it is $10.00 more. It is worth spending a few extra bucks to replace the bolts if necessary.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

Does the job..

03/19/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this pull up bar to start my p90x workout.. works awesome.. very study and does the job. Will recommend to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

Extremely Poor Design

09/30/2010
By ,
Columbus, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is very poorly designed. The square-headed metal bolts are held in place (kept from turning) by soft plastic. The tool intended for assembly that was enclosed with the product is not well matched to the size of the nuts. (I would recommend using a socket set.) Once we had assembled this product it became clear that the bar would not fit on our door. However, due to the poor design, it is impossible to take apart and return to the store. The nuts would not unscrew from the bolts because the square indentations in the plastic had been stripped during assembly, so we ended up giving away the pull-up bar and hopefully someone else can use it. I cannot say how it would work once assembled since it doesn't fit our door, but I can say that the assembly was difficult and that disassembly is impossible.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

Limited applilcations

09/29/2010
By ,
Central Alabama rural area
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is nothing on the exterior of the box to tell you this and you find out only when you open the box and read the users manual. This device only works with doors that have a door frame width of 27.5 to 30 inches. All the doors in my home are wheelchair compatible and are 32 to 36 inches in width so I will be returning this item as it is not compatible with any of my door openings.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+49points
Review 8 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

product works fine

03/31/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product and it works fine, but then again I only weight 160 lbs . I don't recommended this product for anybody who is 200 lbs or more. Installation is very easy. Great product if your under 200 lbs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 9 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym
10/31/2009
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't know what to expect when I bought this, but I am very satisfied. It's sturdy and that's what matters most. I wish the foam were more secure, but that's my only complaint.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 10 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

Cheaply Made

01/07/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product so I could to pull/chin ups at home. I assembled it and even read the manual like a good boy. The manual states that this pull up bar is not to be used by anyone over 250 pounds. I weigh 155 pounds, yet I somehow managed to bend one screw and completely break another, THE VERY FIRST TIME I USED IT, rendering the bar useless. I went to Gold Gym's website to inquire about replacement parts, but you can't get anywhere withought the product and serial numbers, neither of which are printed on the bar, manual, or box. This was a total waste of money and I would not recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Coral Springs, FL
Good Value
Posted 09/12/2011
I bought this instead of the "Iron Gym" since my local store had this in stock. The product comes with a screw driver and a wrench. I was able to assemble it in minutes and it works great. I do not know where these complaints are coming from. This product is as good as you can imagine. It comes with a poster showing all of the exercises that can be done with the product.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

Excellent pull-up bar

02/01/2012
By ,
Kent, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a excellent pull-up bar. I thought that it was kinda funny that, in the instructions/manual, they kept calling it a 'door-gym'. This pull-up bar is well constructed, and I have had no problems, except for the fact that the grips on the pull-up bar hurt your hands. They are made of foam. There are 3 positions that you can do a pull-up in: Neutral, Normal, and the wider, harder version. You can also do chin-ups, sit-ups, dips, planks, and more. (Golds Gym includes a full color thingy that shows you TONS of exercises). It might just be me, but $19 seems like a lot for something like this. I guess that it is exercise equipment, and stuff like that always sells way overpriced than the amount that you would have to pay at say, a garage sale of something like that. Despite my complaints, this is an awesome product, hence my high rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
Review 12 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

Very Limited

01/09/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not fit in any door of my home. Tried to give it to a friend, but it did not fit any of the doors in his apartment.
Not a single note on the box about the dimension requirements. My doorways are not uncommon, and neither are my friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Review 13 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

Great for the money

02/19/2011
By ,
Chicago, Il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this about a week ago. I didn't expect much from it since it was so cheap. I put it together and gave it a whirl. I was pleasantly surprised how sturdy it was. I seen several identical ones for more money. Worth the $20.00 indeed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 14 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

helpful

03/13/2010
By ,
Blackwood, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First use of this item was the last. Connecting screw separated in mid-pull up causing me to go down with gravity.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 15 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

What a waste

04/20/2012
By ,
Lawrenceburg, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this one because it was cheaper. Should have spent the extra money. It wouldn't even fit on my doors. The width is fine, which was the complaint of a lot of people on here. But if you doors are more than about five inches deep, including the trim, it simply won't work. Apparently your wall must be paper thin in order to be able to install this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 16 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

Great value

01/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great. Very convenient to use and sturdy.
In regards to the review stating the hardware broke - just replace the bolts. There is no special hardware required and the included bolts are strong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

Great pull-up bar

03/10/2012
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't know what to expect when I purchased this. I couldn't understand how you could do a pull up if it were not to be attached permanently. I am very satisfied with this product! We keep it on the door way entering the kitchen as a reminder to use it, but it can be removed if we are having guests.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

Plastic bar broke?

01/04/2017
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I dont know if this was just the one i got but the plastic bar broke...i dont weigh anywhere near 200 lbs either. i was really confused when it broke!!!
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 19 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

Excellent value in a functional piece of equipment

11/14/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Extremely good value in a combination pullup bar/pushup assitant. It works with just about any conventional doors or even the end of hallways with moudling. I know - I have tried it both ways.
The dip function and situp function are pure gimmick - as they don't really enhance doing those workouts without this equipment.
Pullups chinups with hands placed wide, narrow, and with the hands rotated 45 degrees off from the classic pullup/chinup position emphasizes different muscles. I tried doing pushups with this and it was immediately evident that it made this rote exercise more challenging.
Far better value than buying a ton of worthless and expensive equipment. Costs less than joining a gym. And it breaks down into a suitcase for use in hotel rooms on business travel. Hard to beat combo!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Gold's Gym Multi-Training Door Gym

only good enough for the money..

03/21/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this product was suppose to come with a DVD but none came with mine which is kinda annoying....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1 2 3 Next