Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canwood Canwood Bookcase, Espresso

Canwood Canwood Bookcase, Espresso

The Canwood Bookcase in Espresso is designed to match the Canwood Alpine II or Base Camp collections. This elegant espresso bookcase provides ample and accessible storage with spacious, open shelving. The Canwood Bookcase is available in a variety of colors.
Average Customer Rating:
3.444 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation56%5 out of 9reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canwood Bookcase, Espresso

Handsome bookcase

10/09/2012
By ,
kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bookcase was fairly simple to assemble, and is very nice looking. I looked long and hard for a bookcase that would fit in a narrow space, and this is perfect. Very high end appearance for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Canwood Bookcase, Espresso

Really quite a bad purchase!

01/09/2012
By ,
Washington, DC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The bookcase arrived sooner than quoted, which was nice. However, when it did arrive the back piece was missing and another piece was broken. My husband did not realize either issue until he was in the middle of putting it together. So basically he ended up with the front of the unit assembled but with no back to put on. He called the company who manufactured the piece, and once we forwarded a receipt and a few other details, we received an email stating it would take 4-5 days to process, plus shipping time, for parts they happened to have in stock. Of course, there was no mention as to whether the missing parts were in stock :-\
But it really did not matter anyway....the inside shelves were not wide enough and fell of the shelf pins and the pre-drilled holes did not line up so the unit was not at right angles. I measured it, and it was an 83/97 angle. So yeah....it leaned to the side. The customer service person said that it would "realign once the back was put on properly." We decided not to wait and took it back to our local Walmart. We decided it was not even worth our time to take it apart. My husband just hauled it in with the email receipt from the on-line purchase. The full purchase amount *was* refunded, and we did request shipping be refunded, too. And we did get the shipping refunded, thankfully.
I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS BOOKCASE. IT IS NOT STURDY, IT IS POORLY DESIGNED AND POORLY MANUFACTURED. PLUS THE RESPONSE FROM THE MANUFACTURER WAS UNACCEPTABLE FOR OUR EXPECTATIONS.
I truly suggest looking for a different bookcase!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Canwood Bookcase, Espresso
10/02/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It appears that, once assembled, this will be an attractive bookcase. However, it arrived with 4 shelves instead of 3 shelves and a "bottom". Had to return (re-packing was not easy!). Have re-ordered.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Canwood Bookcase, Espresso

great little bookshelf

10/15/2011
By ,
nyc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bookshelf because we needed somewhere to put our baby supplies in our small nyc apartment. This bookshelf is sturdy,heavy duty and has easily adjustable shelves,so if you need to adjust the height, its quite simple to do so. The color is rich and matches our davinci expresso mini crib perfectly, so oneday when our newborn has his own room everything can go in it and still look like a set & he can use it when he's older. It was also very easy to put together. its small but definitly efficient. my only complaint is that the shelves are not flush against the sides, but if they were they wouldnt be so easily adjustable wich I perfer. Also the price was just right, its not crazy expensive and its not so cheap that its junk. Overall a great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Canwood Bookcase, Espresso

Good Quality, Nice Size, Kind of Hard to Assemble

03/03/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think that the quality of this product is good. It is very sturdy, and it looks very nice. The color is very pretty. It is also a nice size.
The only downside to this shelving unit is that it was a little hard to assemble. I have assembled a lot of these kinds of shelving units, and this was the hardest. It seemed that a few of the holes that were pre-drilled were not actually large enough for the screw that was supposed to fit in them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Canwood Bookcase, Espresso
10/25/2012
By ,
nyc
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this item came w/o the shelving pegs. canwood says it will take at least 2 wks to get replacement pegs. we shall see!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Canwood Bookcase, Espresso
06/21/2010
By ,
Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its an ok bookcase. Tiny but cute for my kids' rooms.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Canwood Bookcase, Espresso
06/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Canwood Bookcase, Espresso
Based on 1 ratings-only review
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5