Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canwood Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

Canwood Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

The Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed will be ideal for your childs room. You can use this Canwood Whistler loft bed instead of a traditional loft or bunk beds as it will consume less space. By keeping this furniture in your kids room, you can actually make the room spacious. This Canwood junior loft bed can also provide the storage space where you can keep clothes, linens and the required items for your child. When it comes to design, the junior loft bed looks elegant in its solid wood construction and multi-coat finish. To use the product, you need to assemble it using metal fasteners but its easy and the ladder comes included. The natural wood loft bed is available in a variety of colors and can perfectly fit a standard sized mattress.
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation92%59 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 118 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

Perfect bed for a five-year-old

11/24/2012
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So pleased with this bed! My daughter loves it and has created a little "club" in the space underneath. The bed was very easy to put together, all the parts were provided, and all the pieces matched up perfectly. I like the lower height for her age, that it's solid wood, and feels quite sturdy. I highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

life saver

09/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our daughter was almost 4 when we bought this bed for her. She NEVER slept in her crib and was always in our bed. We thought if we got her a bed that elevated her in the air and had a play/ storage area under it that she would like it. Well we bought it in February 20011 and it's now September 2011 and Trinity hasn't slept 1 night in our bed since. We love it. It does take time to assemble but to us it was worth it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

great bed

05/27/2010
By ,
Marlton , NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the loft bed and whistler desk in cherry for my 10 yr old son. It was not too difficult to assemble(about 2 1/2-3 hours) Desk is great but does lack final proper instruction for mounting under bed. There are no pre-designated holes in bed to attach desk slider brackets. I got under the bed, held the desk up with the top of my head, and marked out my bracket holes.This is the part where I broke a sweat and gave the desk a piece of my mind. I crossed my fingers as i screwed the brackets in. I slowly slid the desk into it's final destination and voila! perfect...This bed and desk is great for small rooms with lower ceilings. His room is 9x9. Amazingly after the bed and desk there's still room for some other furniture, toys, etc... I also bought most of the zone collection. Comforter, wall decals, floor cushions, whiteboard, wall hooks, and zig zag shelf. My son LOVED it. He spent half the night building blanket forts underneath it. Great bed for the money. solid construction...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

Good for the low price

12/20/2012
By ,
Fraser, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item is worth the low price we paid. It was fairly easy to put together. All items were present, but a couple were mislabeled- nothing we weren't able to figure out. Took about an hour to an hour and a half to assemble. Color is lighter than I had anticipated. Wood appears to be solid. My only disappointment was how LOW this actually is. I read the height on the description, and knew I didn't want the Super tall loft beds, as this is for my 4 year old, but we could barley even fit a toy box underneath. My daughter is super short and still could barely sit under the bed. Defeated the purpose of this saving us much room on space in the room. We ended up purchasing a set of natural wood risers to steal an extra few inches. Overall- my daughter LOVES this bed. She is excited to go to sleep each night and even naps. So in the end- I still say worth the money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

Great price, great bed!

04/04/2012
By ,
Honolulu, HI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I am extremely pleased with this bed. I had been shopping for a few months for my three year old son and found similar beds but living in Hawaii shipping is outrageous. I was pleased to find this bed, very similar to an Ikea bed I really wanted. The bed arrived a couple days earlier than I expected it, which was pretty cool. Altogether the cost of this bed was the same just to ship similar styles from other vendors.
I am really impressed at the quality of wood. No pressed composite, which is nice and the finish seems like it will wipe down easily, a plus. All the parts were included and nothing was damaged, impressive for the distance it traveled.
I was able to put it together by myself easily in about an hour while my son slept in the same room- no noisy power tools required. The instructions were easy to read and the illustrations were helpful. The only down side to this product is that the dowels on the longer sides of the bed don't match up to the holes, so in the end I was left with four extra dowels. I'm not too concerned about it since there were enough of the other dowels to make the sides secure and sturdy.
Also the final step to secure the stairs involves placing a screw close to where my son would be placing his hands to climb up, so I ended up screwing two screws on the bottom sides in more appropriate locations. Both of the issues I've named are easily fixed with a little common sense.
My son awoke to see his new bed and has been SO happy with it since. He plays underneath and LOVES to take a nap, which is pretty awesome. We've had it for three weeks now and I have no complaints. My friends and family have all commented on how wonderful the bed is and it's actually helped my son learn how to climb safely and sleep all night in his own "big boy bed."
I used to be one of those people who hated Walmart for killing the local businesses, but the cost and quality of this bed blew the local competition out of the water.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

my 6-year-old son loves this!

07/27/2013
By ,
Roanoke, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
He loves to sleep in here. Sturdy enough! Perfect matching w/ his IKEA stuff! Lovely!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

bed with missing screws

12/07/2011
By ,
ny
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
when i ordered this bed i was so excited to see how great the reviews were so i ordered the bed. when i recieved it opened it up and more than half the screws n dowels were missing. my question was how do u send a bed with basically no screws? n no1 could answer that for me. the bed is white it came with scratches it could of had more coats of paint on it (sloppy painting). so i called customer service for canwood and they were so rude there telling me its gonna take about 3weeks for me to get screws when the bed should of came with it. i asked to speak to a superviser they told me they dont have 1 i have to write them lol. i will never buy from canwood again horrible horrible customer service. it really wasnt walmart's fault because they dont open the box they tryed to resend me another 1 but the color i got was sold out. overall i could of delt with the lousy paint n scratches but 3weeks for screws was horrible n the customer service was horrible
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

bought for grandson

03/25/2014
By ,
Marrero, La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 6 year old grandson and he loves it! Assembly took about 1 hour, with 2 people putting it together. It was easy and all of the pieces were in the box. It is the perfect height for a train table on wheels to slide under. It seems sturdy enough , it has been being used for a few weeks with no problems. Great price!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

Great bed for my 4 year old

03/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bed for my 4 year old, not too far off the ground
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

Solid construction, great value. :-)

12/30/2012
By ,
OKC, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were thrilled to find a solid wood bed at this price, and we love the junior loft concept. Our four year old daughter wanted a "stair bed," but we were afraid we would have to settle for a regular bed because of the high prices we saw. She was so excited when her daddy started putting her bed together! It did take him a couple of hours. I recall some frustration during the process. I would provide details, but we stayed out of his way. ;-) We have had this bed for two years now, and it's still in great shape. We used a memory foam mattress, so we did get some plywood cut to provide a flat surface for the mattress. We used a 6" mattress in order to keep out little girl well within the side rails while she's sleeping. We do use the space underneath for her toys. The manufacturer warns that the nook is not to be used as a play area, but we have had no problems. The extra space has been wonderful. I would buy this bed again, and I have already recommended it to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

Loft Bed

10/20/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bed! I purchased this for my 3 1/2 year old and from the first day i bought it, she has slept in her OWN big girl "ladder bed" as she calls it. Took about 3 hours to assemble, solid wood, great quality. LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

Not high enough for a 'nook' beneath

11/20/2009
By ,
Lake Zurich, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 9yo daughter desperately wanted a reading nook. We thought this jr loft bed was just the ticket - not so high as to put her head up next to the ceiling fan, but high enough to create a little hidey space beneath. We were wrong. It is not high enough to sit upright beneath. Also - our box came with 3 R posts and only 1 L. We'd have needed to order and wait for a replacement in order to finish constructing it. Frustrating.
I will say - it seems sturdy enough otherwise. As well constructed as your typical Ikea furniture, and as easy to put together, no tools required.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

you get what you pay for

11/07/2011
By ,
East Stroudsburg, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this bed for a little over a month now. I purchased the bed, desk, dresser and cupboard bundle for my 4 year old son.(this bed is for up to 165lbs) The bed it's self is sturdy and looks great, as well as the desk. However the dresser will NOT stay together. The boards were a little crooked and the drawers do not have enough space between to close without scraping each other. It is particleboard so I expected it to be cheap, but I was hoping it would stay together without a problem for at least a year. I am returning the dresser for another try. The cupboard is OK but the one knob hits the other door and falls off constantly. Putting it together one of the plastic screws broke and there were no extras, so be careful. There was also some glue spilled on some of the pieces that we had to file away in order to fit the pieces together. The desk is very heavy to pull out even on wood floors. The set makes a cool "cave" or extra storage underneath. My son loves the set. Look around but this is OK if you are on a budget and don't mind the hassle.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

MY TODDLER LOVES THIS BED!!

02/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bed for my 2 year old. She is tall for her age and had been determined to climb my sons full size bunk bed. Her room is small and so I was all about the space under this bed. After talking my boyfriend into this (he was worried she would fall out) we ordered! yay me! Well it only took him a couple hours to put together with only acouple cuss words lol My only recommendation is you dont get a regular mattress and get a bunk matress if this is intended for a small child. It offers more peace of mind because it gives her a few more inches of board in case she does get close to the edge. All in all I love it and she loves her new hide out under it! We set up book shelves a comfy chair and a large toy box and she still has room. **NOTE- she does have to duck under it again shes 2** Hope this helps :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

Great Buy

02/26/2014
By ,
Gilbertsville , PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 4 yr old son & he tells me every night how much he loves his new bed !! It was easy to assemble & couldn't beat the price :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

Very cool bed

02/21/2014
By ,
Sidney, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for our 4 yr old son and he loves it. Ended up ordering one for his sister. He can play underneath and store a lot of his toys. Great for a small room. We love the fact we can buy a dresser, desk and shelves later. Only problem is it didn't come with stairs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

really cute..space saver

12/29/2013
By ,
staten island ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed it nice . Wish it was a bit more solid and a little higher.works good in small places. Perfect color.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Baltimore
can a 31in H dresser fit underneath? Thx
Posted 01/24/2014
I have a 31in dresser I would like to put it underneath the bed, can you measure and post the height of the space (the height of the post sticking out not including the bed).
Thanks a bunch.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural
09/14/2010
By ,
St. Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome product for small rooms! My 7 yr. old daughter loves it! She plays underneath and stores her stuffed animals there too. I love the extra space! This has exceeded my expectations. We love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

Too wiggly, poor workpersonship!

01/06/2012
By ,
Seattle, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Arrived a couple of days ahead of schedule-- shipping was great! The holes were not drilled in the right places, nor was the ladder cut in the right places.... after some drilling and hand sawing of my own, the bed could be assembled. One of the bolts was not machined properly and there were no extras, so the bed was assembled missing a bolt. The bed LOOKS great and my son is thrilled, however, it is not a stable design. It is very wiggly, even when just one child is on it... I plan on adding more supports to stabilize the bed.
Next time I would go to IKEA and buy a cheaper, better quality bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Canwood Whistler Junior Loft Bed, Natural

Good buy.

10/12/2011
By ,
Chenango Forks, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product. Very easy to assemble compared to other items I have assembled in the past. Instructions were very good. Unsure as far as durability, but so far so good. The weight limit is low 165 lbs, so not good for cuddling, but it is nice that it is as at waist height for good night kisses and hugs. Seems to be built well, solid pine. We purchased this for our 4 year old daughter and she loves it. Especially the fact she can hide her toys under neath it. Makes for great storage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1 2 3 Next