Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Remington Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

Remington Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

The Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw makes gardening a lot easier and helps eliminate the need for hiring a professional cutter to deal with those pesky branch growths. This device can cut branches as high as 15 feet above the ground without the need for a ladder. The hex-shaped inner pole of this electric pole chain saw is made from aluminum for durable strength and rigidity during extended-reach operations. With a 10-inch low kickback and chain, this saw provides you with a safe and comfortable working experience. This outer pole is made from fiberglass, which is meant to last for years. The head of the Remington pole saw can be removed easily from the pole itself and can be used separately as a handheld device. The adjustable pole also has a flip lever to make it lock easily. The trigger lock-off mechanism prevents accidental starting, making it safer to use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(178 Reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
50
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation98%173 out of 177reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
57 Questions | 182 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
50
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

Love it!

01/31/2010
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in San Jose which at one point in history was filled with orchards! I have an orange tree, and a n Apricot tree. They both need trimming and it used to be a hassle with the old method of a ladder and trimmers! This tool cut my time in half and no ladder was needed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

Great little guy

03/30/2011
By ,
Bridgport, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was working 4 hours cutting down two trees app.10" diameter. This saw is amazing. Without the pole is too light and little shaking.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

This is a great piece of equipment for a homeowner

05/13/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it,,, I cut down the branch that was troubling me and took and separated the saw from the pole and cut up the other part of the branch,,my neighbor go,,,,can I have those wood blocks,,they would be right for my fireplace..........:-)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

Worked great for awhile

03/29/2014
By ,
San Antonio, Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Glad we bought the 2-year replacement warranty. This one lasted 14 months before the chain kept falling off, it looks like the pin that holds the chain in broke off. I only use this for our residence and we have 3 mature trees that we have cut twice in the time since we bought it. A little iffy on whether I'd recommend it, definitely get the warranty if you do, it's well worth it.
We don't have to return the saw, we were given a UPS label but still have to drive the label to a local UPS center in order to get our Walmart gift card emailed to us. We did have the option of getting a check refund but chose instead, to purchase another saw. Maybe even this one, WITH warranty.
Walmart's customer service on the warranty call was quick & easy, not long at all to process. That alone I would recommend. We should get our gift card in 24-48 hours so we'll see and report back. Stay tuned...
Overall, it's a really good pole saw, trimmed two different oaks & an ash quite well during the first year.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

Good Product

07/06/2012
By ,
Somerset, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product is very good as it is. Lightweight and easy to use, unlike other chainsaw that I have made in other country [this one is made in USA], after just a few use the tension adjustment give way. Tried to look if I can repair the tension clamp, unfortunately its made of plastic and can't find where can I buy the part. I cut only a few six/eight inches branches of trees and now it's collecting dust. :(
This Remington chain saw is worth for the money. All I need to do is add the oil and ready to go. Chain tension is factory pre-set so no need to adjust for now; maybe to the future. Other good thing in this chain saw is, it can cut more than ten inches in diameter [all you need to do is turn yourself around the trunk of the tree and cut my fourteen-inch tree that lean toward my house]. Very good product.
Shipping date is in the time frame given. Shipping is free to the store I chose. With in five minutes of waiting, the associate got the chainsaw and I'm done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

Good and sturdy pole saw

07/12/2014
By ,
Texas Gulf coast
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First took the saw out of the box and thought it was a little lightweight. Used it without the pole and thought it was OK - a little rough on starting the cuts as compared to a gas powered saw. But, it didn't have any problem cutting through the 5-6" branches on my oak tree. Then I attached it to the pole (easy) and the light weight nature came in real handy because it got pretty heavy the further out I went with the pole. The pole is easily adjustable and strong. I cut some more oak branches 10-12 feet off the ground. It was really hard to get the initial cut under the branch because it was pretty heavy (I'm working with a bad elbow), but the weight of the saw worked to my advantage when cutting down. I just set the saw on top and let the weight do the work. Watch where you stand when you cut and predict where the branch is going to fall.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

Good for price, but it's breakable plastic.

02/03/2014
By ,
Liberty Hill, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the third Remington I've owned. The first thing to break is the pole clamp-down on the handle. The plastic used to make the device is so thin it is guaranteed to break after modest use. I solved this problem by using a small vice grip pliers to hold the pole in position. The second, was the plate that holds the saw on the pole. I replaced this with one I made out of scrap sheet steel. The last thing to break was the coupler that holds the pole extensions together. I couldn't come up with an alternative fix so I bought another.
The pluses: It's a lot cheaper than those that are better made. It's a foot longer than it's similarly priced competitors. It's light weight in comparison to gas powered models. Plus, if you have near access to an electrical outlet, you don't have to worry with the gas engine not starting. I have used mine up to 250 feet from an outlet.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

Older model saw RM1015P shipped, outdated

08/10/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wal-Mart shipped last years model of saw RM1015P. This saw has been updated and replaced by the RM1015SPS which has better oiling and D shaped handle and better pole handling.
Wal-Mart as always, was fantastic in its customer return policy. Could not have asked for better services. Make sure you order the udpated version of this saw. Prior model had some annoying deficiencies that were corrected in the RM1015SPS model.
Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

nice saw

11/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This saw fit my needs perfectly.
I have a gas saw - a real monster. But I wanted to cut down a bunch of branches, some of them quite high, on 3 of my trees. Visions of operating my saw while standing on a ladder were nightmarish. So I got this tool. I was able to do the job easily and safely.
A couple of notes. First, my tool preference is always gas over electric because an electric cord is restricting. But the importance of freedom of movement for a saw is significantly less important than, say, a leaf blower. Because I only worked on 3 trees, movement was minimal so the cord was a non-factor. And when you consider a gas motor needs maintenance (spark plug, filter, carb adjustments, etc.); this electric saw, at this price, was ideally suited for my project.
Second, this saw proved to be both versatile and a real powerhouse. I had a few low, thick and long branches to cut. My original plan was to cut these branches in segments; using the pole saw higher up where the branches were thinner, then turning to the gas saw for the thicker base. (Without segmentation, cutting these branches would have proven dangerous due to its size and weight.) I ended up using the pole saw, w/out the pole, for the base as well. Removing it from the pole was a snap. And it went through the thick base just fine.
If your needs are similar to mine, I would highly recommend this tool.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

Easy way to prune high branches

12/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We did a lot of research on this type of tool, since we have several trees that need regular pruning. It arrived in excellent packaging, was "dirt simple" to prepare for use, and worked flawlessly out of the box. It is by far the best product in this class, and not very expensive, compared to other options. The only negative factor is the need for dragging a power cord along, and the fact that the assembled tool is heavy for small people (like my wife). I had hoped to make her the primary user, but apparently I will have to perfrom this chore! Remington, great job on this product!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

Little Saw - Big Job

12/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered this online and delivered to my house - good experience. Little saw that worked great trimming rather large limbs on my oaks and maple trees. $90 saw saved me hundreds of dollars since I did it my self.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

Much better than expected!

06/08/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The saw far outperformed my expectations. One problem though, the chain was installed backwards at the factory (cutting edge facing back) so if you buy one be sure to check this. Just a little monster of a saw!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

Paid for itself on first use

12/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A handy tool that that I will use regularly. Very good value. One problem is that the saw-to-pole electrical plug connection vibrates open during use, repeatedly, bringing the saw to a stop. A retainer is needed.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

Works great.

06/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for tree trimming for limbs two to seven inches. Hard to read the oil level through the window on the side. I had to remove the cap to keep checking the oil. Easy to use for a woman even when using at the full 15 foot extension.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

More than worth the price

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this saw last week and used it to trim some limbs from an oak tree. It was easy to assemble and cut well. I was a little disappointed that the oil will leak out after use. But it does use standard 10W-30 oil. In the future, I will try to fill the oil tank with only as much as I need for each use. For the price I paid, I think it is a good deal.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

We love this saw!

05/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Remington 10" 8-Amp Pole Saw for my husband as we had several trees and large old shrubs that needed to be trimmed. My husband is 75 years old and his power saw is heavy and really designed for a much younger person. He loves this saw. In fact, he has offered to help our daughter trim her trees when he is finished with our lot. Being electric is a slight handicap if you have a large bit of property, but it works just fine on our 100-foot cord. The long pole is the best feature. It is heavy enough to reach those higher branches but doesn't wobble all around as we thought might happen. I like the feature of removing the pole for limbs that are lower. All around, we love this saw.
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

Remington Pole Saw

11/03/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used it once, and only as a pole saw. It performed okay. My biggest complaint at this time is that it's designed specifically for a right-handed person. The safety button needs to be depressed before pulling the trigger for the saw. Unfortunately, you can't really do it if you're left-handed so I had to use my right-hand. It would be nice if the button were on top, then either thumb could press it while pulling the trigger making it easier for those of us who are left-handed.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

well worth the money

04/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my dad and i have several pcs. of equimpent from auto repair tools to carpentry,lawn mowers,chain saws,weed eaters etc. this product was a very nice addition to our tool chest! you will be very surprised what you can do with this little guy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

Great Item

11/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Item works great. It was easy to assemble. Item is sturdy and easy to handle.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Remington 10" Electric Pole Saw

Did the job nicely

11/22/2013
By ,
Allen, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used this for 2 cutting sessions over a 2 week period. Only complaint - socket/plug connection between saw and pole comes loose. Had to secure with tie wrap. Would be nice if this was a twist-lock or some other connection that could be quickly secured/unsecured.
Otherwise this did the job, and the price w/free shipping was the best I found. Had to trim one large live oak on my property, and had to use this off a ladder for several cuts (yes, I know this is not safe or recommended), but by being careful my son & I finished with no issues. Even got a complement from a professional tree trimmer working next door! Diameter of cuts made was 4" and less, although it can cut limbs a good deal larger. Be sure to oil the chain (via manual pump) after every major cut.
Due to the leverage issue, when more than about 25 degrees from overhead it takes a little strength to hold after cutting through the limb, especially when fully extended. At full length it will flex & wobble some. Did not have any issue with the extension locking mechanism, but we only used this for one tree, and about 30 cuts total.
Being able to use the saw without the pole to cut up the trimmings was a nice feature as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 157 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next