Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Dirt Devil's Ultra Hand Vacuum is the ultimate in power and convenience! The motorized brushroll is ideal for lifting pet hair and dirt from upholstery, stairs and car interiors. The crevice tool and hose are built in allowing you to rapidly switch cleaning modes. Clean the tightest spaces and switch back to the brush for floors and furniture.
Average Customer Rating:
4.388 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
31
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation92%106 out of 115reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 82 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
31
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Pros and Cons

04/20/2010
By ,
CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Dirt Devil handvac works very well when using the main brush, but the hose "attachment" is a disappointment. Very little suction, and it's hard to fit into crevices. I ordered the "wand" separately, thinking this would be flat and narrow at the end, but it's the same as the hose. I still like this - it's great for things like stairs - but not so much for cleaning out your car.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
auburn
THIS LITTLE DEVIL
Posted 08/24/2012
STAY AWAY FROM THIS BOOGER. THE ROTOR BRUSH DOES NOT REALLY ROTATE, BUT JUST SITS THERE FOR SHOW. IT IS NOT BELT DRIVEN.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Best hand vac for stairs

09/20/2013
By ,
Hemet, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this hand vac! I have an upright vacuum with an attachment and my stairs never seemed clean enough. I have a medium length haired dog, and I was constantly finding hair even after I vacuumed. This hand vac has a rotating belt system which is what I wanted. I didn't want a dust buster style hand vac. I love the fact that this also has a hose attachment with the crevice tool. I can now get every piece of hair, dirt and crumbs out of my stairs. I also like the fact that I can vacuum the front face of my stairs. Best purchase I have made in a while.
The only down side is the fact that I have to purchase bags for this vacuum. I wish it had a small canister I could empty instead. You will not be disappointed with this vacuum. The cord is not an issue for me. I wanted something n I could plug in. I think the cordless vacuums don't have enough guts. The latch for the cord, to keep it tied up is of poor construction. Very cheaply made. I don't even bother with it. I simply use a cord clasp I bought a the big orange Home supply store.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

It's fine but not perfect

02/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this after many people highly recommending it and saying that they last forever. I thought it would be useful for vacuuming the stairs and for getting dog hair off of the couch. It has been useful for the stairs and it's way better than dragging the vacuum cleaner up and down. I cannot use it on my couch due to the couch's fabric (a leather blend). The brush rollers are extremely powerful and after one use I was afraid I'd soon wear right through the couch's fabric. It does have a hose, but it's not very useful. It's only about 8 or 10 inches long and only has one skinny attachment for it. Overall, I'm still pleased and will be glad I have it each time I need to vacuum the stairs.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Super suction!

04/10/2014
By ,
pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this for my steps and some other areas where it's harder to drag a big vacuum around. This is perfect!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

very disappointed

02/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has a very good brush, but no suction. When using the hose there was not enough suction to pick up lint.. Returned it to the store.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

very easy for doing stairs

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I sure beats trying to lug my big vac up stairs to clean them!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Hand Vac That Has Suction

02/05/2010
By ,
Lehigh Valley, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally A Hand Vac That Actually Makes A Difference After Running It.
Of Course You Can Not Over Power The Unit By Moving It Too Fast & Expect It To Remove Strings, Fuzz, Paper Clippings Etc. I Tried To Pick Up All Of The Above Items & Had No Problem.
We've Been Using An Older Version Of This Model, But After About 10 Years Of Use, It Was Time To Replace It.
Nice Touch With The Unit Being All In One & With The Flip Of The Door You Can Switch From Brush Roller Use To Hose Use. On Older Version,We Had To Remove Belt & Install Hose In Opening To Switch From Roller To Hose Use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Good vacuum for stairs

12/06/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good little vacuum for the price. It has a long cord and the suction is pretty good. The only thing I was super impressed with is the attachment because the suction isn't as good when your are using the attachment. But overall it was a good buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

great vac

12/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vac is small, compac and effective.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Makes cleanups a snap.

11/03/2013
By ,
Avon, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best little hand vacuum around. Beats all others in the marketplace. Can be very difficult to find the replacement paper filters.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Good purchase for the money

02/12/2014
By ,
Vancouver, Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This little vac is great for your furniture. We just used the hose attachment on the fan in the bathroom and the suction, with the hose attachment, wasn't very strong. But all in all it's a great little machine for small tasks.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

I guess I just like Dirt Devil brand

09/11/2010
By ,
Baltimore Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the Dirt Devil brand (the red vacs) and have the small hand held one for stairs and the floor vac for the rest of the house. They have always been reasonable in price and simple to use. I find they get the job done without all the bells and whistles of the more complicated high tech vacs. Over the years they are my choice also because I can take them apart easily for cleaning or belt replacement and don't have to "send them out to be repaired" -you can do it yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Not so bad

12/21/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Dirt Devil works much better than the other hand vac they make. This one has a wooden beater bar that is belt driven. The suction is ok but not awesome. If Dirt Devil put the suction of their non belt driven model into this one they'd have a real winner. This one does work fairly well. It seems well built and I did like that it isn't very heavy. It does require the ongoing purchase of bags but that's not a huge drawback, as long as I can find them. It does come with one bag. I could not find that tidbit of info anyplace. I would suggest giving this model a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

better than all the last 3 bagless uprights

03/11/2014
By ,
KC, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Every year for the last 3, I have bought bagless uprights and they stop sucking (well kinda, lol) after a few months and then blow dust everywhere. This is an awesome little vacuum for the money! I was always on my hands and knees to clean up after the other vacuums anyway so didn't see much difference there (except now its cleaner).
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Hand held dirt devil

12/14/2013
By ,
Gracemont Ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well, a little loud.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

GREAT VALUE & DEPENDABLE

07/18/2011
By ,
Yantis,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought This Dirt Devil after trying all the cheaper models & brands about a month ago.NOTHING can compare to the good price,actual usages it provides,& power it has in such a compact vac. It does everything as advertised & more. I live in a 5th Wheel trailer & space is always a problem but not with this one.Fits perfect in cabinets. I highly recommend this one!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Dirt Devil Hand Vac

11/18/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one great little hand vac for the money. I saw in other reviews that the hose doesn't have much vacuum. They must not have closed the door over the brush area or something, because this little guy works great.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Hand vacuum dirt devil

02/28/2014
By ,
Redwood city ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
That was a very good deal, very convenient , buy online and pick up at store.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Good purchase

08/20/2013
By ,
lorain
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had previously purchased a hand vac by another manufacturer (Think of the movie Jaws and you can guess the company's name). I called their customer service dept and asked about the high pitched noise coming from the machine. It became so irritating I couldn't stand using it and my dogs fled the room for safety.
According to the company's rep, this was a common feature and that the engineering dept was aware of this. Returned the product.
Purchased the Dirt Devil and am so glad I did. Suction is powerful. Does the job and then some. The dogs no longer run for the hills, either.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

A great little vacuum cleaner

05/13/2011
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the greatest vacuum cleaner for doing the stairs carpeting. This newer model is loud and the plastic material seems low quality but it works well. It is light weight and easy to handle. The crevice tool really does not work too well but I don't need it. The cord is long. I just hope it lasts 20 years like the last one I had. The low price makes it a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next