Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Clean your home and leave it dirt-free by using the Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac (M08230RED). It has a 16' power cord to give you flexibility and plenty of reach. This corded hand vacuum features a motorized brushroll with two speed options and a built-in crevice tool and stretch hose allowing you to rapidly switch cleaning modes. Use the revolving brush to lift pet hair and dirt from floors, upholstery and stairs. The item includes a bagged, microfresh filtration system: when the bag is full, simply discard it and install a new one. This unit has a four-amp motor as well as a cord storage strap and an on-board storage that hides the cervical tool neatly inside. This hand vacuum cleaner comes in red and has a lightweight, compact design for easy transportation around the house.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(133 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
32
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation92%122 out of 132reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 95 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
32
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Pros and Cons

04/20/2010
By ,
CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Dirt Devil handvac works very well when using the main brush, but the hose "attachment" is a disappointment. Very little suction, and it's hard to fit into crevices. I ordered the "wand" separately, thinking this would be flat and narrow at the end, but it's the same as the hose. I still like this - it's great for things like stairs - but not so much for cleaning out your car.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
auburn
THIS LITTLE DEVIL
Posted 08/24/2012
STAY AWAY FROM THIS BOOGER. THE ROTOR BRUSH DOES NOT REALLY ROTATE, BUT JUST SITS THERE FOR SHOW. IT IS NOT BELT DRIVEN.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Best hand vac for stairs

09/20/2013
By ,
Hemet, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this hand vac! I have an upright vacuum with an attachment and my stairs never seemed clean enough. I have a medium length haired dog, and I was constantly finding hair even after I vacuumed. This hand vac has a rotating belt system which is what I wanted. I didn't want a dust buster style hand vac. I love the fact that this also has a hose attachment with the crevice tool. I can now get every piece of hair, dirt and crumbs out of my stairs. I also like the fact that I can vacuum the front face of my stairs. Best purchase I have made in a while.
The only down side is the fact that I have to purchase bags for this vacuum. I wish it had a small canister I could empty instead. You will not be disappointed with this vacuum. The cord is not an issue for me. I wanted something n I could plug in. I think the cordless vacuums don't have enough guts. The latch for the cord, to keep it tied up is of poor construction. Very cheaply made. I don't even bother with it. I simply use a cord clasp I bought a the big orange Home supply store.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Small, Portable and Efficient

05/18/2014
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The hose from an older Dirt Devil Hand Vac detached and I was able to use duct tape for a month but then I had the same problem so it was time to purchase a replacement model.
I always keep two of these Dirt Devils-one upstairs and one downstairs for small and quick jobs like bathroom floors, car interiors, steps, and catching insect and spider "critters." I love having the bags inside the vacuum as I have used bagless appliances before-yucky! With this vacuum, you just toss the bag and put in a fresh one. It always surprises me how long it takes to fill a bag. The cord is nice and long and it is a pretty powerful unit for the size. I use it frequently. This is a great Walmart price. I had mine sent site to store. It arrived in just a few days and I could track the shipment online. Thanks, Walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Hand Vac That Has Suction

02/05/2010
By ,
Lehigh Valley, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally A Hand Vac That Actually Makes A Difference After Running It.
Of Course You Can Not Over Power The Unit By Moving It Too Fast & Expect It To Remove Strings, Fuzz, Paper Clippings Etc. I Tried To Pick Up All Of The Above Items & Had No Problem.
We've Been Using An Older Version Of This Model, But After About 10 Years Of Use, It Was Time To Replace It.
Nice Touch With The Unit Being All In One & With The Flip Of The Door You Can Switch From Brush Roller Use To Hose Use. On Older Version,We Had To Remove Belt & Install Hose In Opening To Switch From Roller To Hose Use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+89points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

My second one

10/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love them, I use one on ash and debri around my wood burning stove and the bag makes it non messy to empty. The second one I keep in my garage and laundry room. They're great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

It's fine but not perfect

02/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this after many people highly recommending it and saying that they last forever. I thought it would be useful for vacuuming the stairs and for getting dog hair off of the couch. It has been useful for the stairs and it's way better than dragging the vacuum cleaner up and down. I cannot use it on my couch due to the couch's fabric (a leather blend). The brush rollers are extremely powerful and after one use I was afraid I'd soon wear right through the couch's fabric. It does have a hose, but it's not very useful. It's only about 8 or 10 inches long and only has one skinny attachment for it. Overall, I'm still pleased and will be glad I have it each time I need to vacuum the stairs.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Powerful little vac

09/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to clean my stairs, and it does a very nice job. The crevice tool is not too impressive, but it works. The cord is long enough to do 2 flights of stairs, and I'm impressed with the suction. Couldn't ask more for this price. It does have a bag which is so much nicer than spending forever cleaning the vac before you can use it and spreading dust all over. Hope it will last a long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

I guess I just like Dirt Devil brand

09/11/2010
By ,
Baltimore Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the Dirt Devil brand (the red vacs) and have the small hand held one for stairs and the floor vac for the rest of the house. They have always been reasonable in price and simple to use. I find they get the job done without all the bells and whistles of the more complicated high tech vacs. Over the years they are my choice also because I can take them apart easily for cleaning or belt replacement and don't have to "send them out to be repaired" -you can do it yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Super suction!

04/10/2014
By ,
pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this for my steps and some other areas where it's harder to drag a big vacuum around. This is perfect!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Not so bad

12/21/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Dirt Devil works much better than the other hand vac they make. This one has a wooden beater bar that is belt driven. The suction is ok but not awesome. If Dirt Devil put the suction of their non belt driven model into this one they'd have a real winner. This one does work fairly well. It seems well built and I did like that it isn't very heavy. It does require the ongoing purchase of bags but that's not a huge drawback, as long as I can find them. It does come with one bag. I could not find that tidbit of info anyplace. I would suggest giving this model a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Good Value

09/19/2014
By ,
Alamo Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Dirt Devil Hand Vac is great for vacuuming the car interior and picking up small debris on the carpet. I couldn't find vacuum bags in my local Walmart so will have to look online.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

GREAT VALUE & DEPENDABLE

07/18/2011
By ,
Yantis,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought This Dirt Devil after trying all the cheaper models & brands about a month ago.NOTHING can compare to the good price,actual usages it provides,& power it has in such a compact vac. It does everything as advertised & more. I live in a 5th Wheel trailer & space is always a problem but not with this one.Fits perfect in cabinets. I highly recommend this one!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Dirt Devil Hand Vac

11/18/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one great little hand vac for the money. I saw in other reviews that the hose doesn't have much vacuum. They must not have closed the door over the brush area or something, because this little guy works great.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

it's the original one

08/20/2011
By ,
Littleton, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one of these for over 10 years before it just gave out. When I went to buy another, I couldn't find this exact one ANYwhere. So, I bought a Shark that looked like this Dirt Devil. Rotating brushes, a couple of tools, etc.. It was horrible!!! After vacuuming one set of stairs it was so hot on the outside that you couldn't hold it in your hands AND it didn't even clean very well. I had to get online to find and order this Dirt Devil. Now I've found that I will have to get back online to order bags for it because I can't find those in any store either. It might sound like a hassle, but it's worth it if this one lasts as long as the last one did. The brushes on this Dirt Devil rotate quickly (2 speeds) and really picks up all the cat and dog hair off the stairs and other things I use it on. Cleaning is easy because of the bags. No big "poof" of dust when you empty it into the garbage bag. It's powerful, easy to use, not too heavy and has a nice long cord. I really missed it when I didn't have one. My stairs especially are back to looking really clean.
Pros: Suction, Cord Length, Ease of Use, Design
Cons: not sold in stores anywhere
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Seems to work great

07/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got this and have only tried it out, but it seems perfect for a handheld vac. We were very tired of the major dust storm when emptying a bagless one we have, so bought this one with a bag and expect that will be a huge improvement. Good price at walmart.com with free ship to store, but it would also be nice if walmart stocked the bags for it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

A great little vacuum cleaner

05/13/2011
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the greatest vacuum cleaner for doing the stairs carpeting. This newer model is loud and the plastic material seems low quality but it works well. It is light weight and easy to handle. The crevice tool really does not work too well but I don't need it. The cord is long. I just hope it lasts 20 years like the last one I had. The low price makes it a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Good vacuum for stairs

12/06/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good little vacuum for the price. It has a long cord and the suction is pretty good. The only thing I was super impressed with is the attachment because the suction isn't as good when your are using the attachment. But overall it was a good buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Much better than the Power Reach

08/19/2010
By ,
Norcross, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having first purchased the Royal Dirt Devil Power Reach model years ago and being terribly disapointed with it, I am so much happier with this Ultra model.
This model's brush is directly driven by the motor unlike the Power Reach. This is important if you want to vacuum carpeted stairs, the main reason for my purchase. Power Reach's brush would stop when barely touched to the carpet, totally useless for my purpose. Definitely get this Ultra model to do carpeted stairs. Now if they would make it more powerful like the Power Reach it would be perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

very disappointed

02/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has a very good brush, but no suction. When using the hose there was not enough suction to pick up lint.. Returned it to the store.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac, M08230RED

Makes cleanups a snap.

11/03/2013
By ,
Avon, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best little hand vacuum around. Beats all others in the marketplace. Can be very difficult to find the replacement paper filters.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 108 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next