Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Clean your home and leave it dirt-free by using the Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac (M08230RED). It has a 16' power cord to give you flexibility and plenty of reach. This corded hand vacuum features a motorized brushroll with two speed options and a built-in crevice tool and stretch hose allowing you to rapidly switch cleaning modes. Use the revolving brush to lift pet hair and dirt from floors, upholstery and stairs. The item includes a bagged, microfresh filtration system: when the bag is full, simply discard it and install a new one. This unit has a four-amp motor as well as a cord storage strap and an on-board storage that hides the cervical tool neatly inside. This hand vacuum cleaner comes in red and has a lightweight, compact design for easy transportation around the house.
Average Customer Rating:
4.424 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(165 Reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation93%152 out of 164reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 101 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Pros and Cons

04/20/2010
By ,
CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Dirt Devil handvac works very well when using the main brush, but the hose "attachment" is a disappointment. Very little suction, and it's hard to fit into crevices. I ordered the "wand" separately, thinking this would be flat and narrow at the end, but it's the same as the hose. I still like this - it's great for things like stairs - but not so much for cleaning out your car.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
auburn
THIS LITTLE DEVIL
Posted 08/24/2012
STAY AWAY FROM THIS BOOGER. THE ROTOR BRUSH DOES NOT REALLY ROTATE, BUT JUST SITS THERE FOR SHOW. IT IS NOT BELT DRIVEN.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Best hand vac for stairs

09/20/2013
By ,
Hemet, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this hand vac! I have an upright vacuum with an attachment and my stairs never seemed clean enough. I have a medium length haired dog, and I was constantly finding hair even after I vacuumed. This hand vac has a rotating belt system which is what I wanted. I didn't want a dust buster style hand vac. I love the fact that this also has a hose attachment with the crevice tool. I can now get every piece of hair, dirt and crumbs out of my stairs. I also like the fact that I can vacuum the front face of my stairs. Best purchase I have made in a while.
The only down side is the fact that I have to purchase bags for this vacuum. I wish it had a small canister I could empty instead. You will not be disappointed with this vacuum. The cord is not an issue for me. I wanted something n I could plug in. I think the cordless vacuums don't have enough guts. The latch for the cord, to keep it tied up is of poor construction. Very cheaply made. I don't even bother with it. I simply use a cord clasp I bought a the big orange Home supply store.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Awesome

07/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vac to replace an old, old Dirt Devil that finally croaked. I loved that old one and this one is every bit as good....maybe better because of the hose feature. It's a little loud, but its effectiveness definitely outweighs that. Best hand - held vacuum ever!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Great vacuum

07/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this vacuum! I bought this for pet hair on my kitchen chairs and recliner in my living room. It works better than anything I have tried ever for pet hair
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Small, Portable and Efficient

05/18/2014
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The hose from an older Dirt Devil Hand Vac detached and I was able to use duct tape for a month but then I had the same problem so it was time to purchase a replacement model.
I always keep two of these Dirt Devils-one upstairs and one downstairs for small and quick jobs like bathroom floors, car interiors, steps, and catching insect and spider "critters." I love having the bags inside the vacuum as I have used bagless appliances before-yucky! With this vacuum, you just toss the bag and put in a fresh one. It always surprises me how long it takes to fill a bag. The cord is nice and long and it is a pretty powerful unit for the size. I use it frequently. This is a great Walmart price. I had mine sent site to store. It arrived in just a few days and I could track the shipment online. Thanks, Walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Not good!

06/04/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The thing has no power. The brush stops turning when you lay it on the carpet. This model is less effective than the last, which was less effective than the original model. I still have attachments from my first and second models, but none of them can be used with the new model. Why didn't they keep the original design? It worked great for 5 years, until the motor finally burned out. My second model also lasted 5 years before it gave up the ghost. This one is a piece of junk, and is going to my wife's rummage sale this weekend. I will be lucky to get $5 for it. I already purchased a Eureka Rapid Clean hand vac for $45 to replace the Dirt Devil. Don't waste your money like I did. Start with the Eureka.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Hand Vac That Has Suction

02/05/2010
By ,
Lehigh Valley, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally A Hand Vac That Actually Makes A Difference After Running It.
Of Course You Can Not Over Power The Unit By Moving It Too Fast & Expect It To Remove Strings, Fuzz, Paper Clippings Etc. I Tried To Pick Up All Of The Above Items & Had No Problem.
We've Been Using An Older Version Of This Model, But After About 10 Years Of Use, It Was Time To Replace It.
Nice Touch With The Unit Being All In One & With The Flip Of The Door You Can Switch From Brush Roller Use To Hose Use. On Older Version,We Had To Remove Belt & Install Hose In Opening To Switch From Roller To Hose Use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+111points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Dirt Devil

06/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is great for those little jobs, we use it for our RV.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

corded hand vacuum

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum works well for stair carpet in the home and auto floor carpet.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Exactly what I wanted

06/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had one of these years ago and needed one to clean the carper runners on my boat. Many people complained about it being noisy - they are all nuts. This thing is quieter than an electric drill. The pull out hose is perfect for little spots and the crevice tool gets 10 stars. I would have easily paid $90 for this little vacuum. In fact I am ordering 2 more.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Good little machine

06/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new hand held Dirt Devil Vacuum . That it has its tool convientlity on it self is such a help and it picks up very well
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Excellent

06/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great on steps
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Not as good as the original

06/07/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had one of these dirt devil vacs for years. It was sturdily built with quality plastic.
This one is made with flimsy cheap plastic.
There was an improvement to the original design so that the attachment is easily placed. This was a definite plus.
Suction is good but not like the original version.
If you have never had one of these it might fit your purposes. Does stairs and
small areas very well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

I guess I just like Dirt Devil brand

09/11/2010
By ,
Baltimore Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the Dirt Devil brand (the red vacs) and have the small hand held one for stairs and the floor vac for the rest of the house. They have always been reasonable in price and simple to use. I find they get the job done without all the bells and whistles of the more complicated high tech vacs. Over the years they are my choice also because I can take them apart easily for cleaning or belt replacement and don't have to "send them out to be repaired" -you can do it yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Not so bad

12/21/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Dirt Devil works much better than the other hand vac they make. This one has a wooden beater bar that is belt driven. The suction is ok but not awesome. If Dirt Devil put the suction of their non belt driven model into this one they'd have a real winner. This one does work fairly well. It seems well built and I did like that it isn't very heavy. It does require the ongoing purchase of bags but that's not a huge drawback, as long as I can find them. It does come with one bag. I could not find that tidbit of info anyplace. I would suggest giving this model a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

dirt devil cacuum

06/11/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the vacuum worked great on my stairs. wish I had bought it sooner.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Dirt Devil Hand Vac

11/18/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one great little hand vac for the money. I saw in other reviews that the hose doesn't have much vacuum. They must not have closed the door over the brush area or something, because this little guy works great.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

It's fine but not perfect

02/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this after many people highly recommending it and saying that they last forever. I thought it would be useful for vacuuming the stairs and for getting dog hair off of the couch. It has been useful for the stairs and it's way better than dragging the vacuum cleaner up and down. I cannot use it on my couch due to the couch's fabric (a leather blend). The brush rollers are extremely powerful and after one use I was afraid I'd soon wear right through the couch's fabric. It does have a hose, but it's not very useful. It's only about 8 or 10 inches long and only has one skinny attachment for it. Overall, I'm still pleased and will be glad I have it each time I need to vacuum the stairs.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

great product

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had one like it 20 years ago and this one is just as good and lots of power.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

GREAT VALUE & DEPENDABLE

07/18/2011
By ,
Yantis,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought This Dirt Devil after trying all the cheaper models & brands about a month ago.NOTHING can compare to the good price,actual usages it provides,& power it has in such a compact vac. It does everything as advertised & more. I live in a 5th Wheel trailer & space is always a problem but not with this one.Fits perfect in cabinets. I highly recommend this one!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 140 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next