Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Clean your home and leave it dirt-free by using the Dirt Devil Ultra Hand Vac (M08230RED). It has a 16' power cord to give you flexibility and plenty of reach. This corded hand vacuum features a motorized brushroll with two speed options and a built-in crevice tool and stretch hose allowing you to rapidly switch cleaning modes. Use the revolving brush to lift pet hair and dirt from floors, upholstery and stairs. The item includes a bagged, microfresh filtration system: when the bag is full, simply discard it and install a new one. This unit has a four-amp motor as well as a cord storage strap and an on-board storage that hides the cervical tool neatly inside. This hand vacuum cleaner comes in red and has a lightweight, compact design for easy transportation around the house.
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(144 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
36
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation92%132 out of 143reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 96 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
36
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Pros and Cons

04/20/2010
By ,
CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Dirt Devil handvac works very well when using the main brush, but the hose "attachment" is a disappointment. Very little suction, and it's hard to fit into crevices. I ordered the "wand" separately, thinking this would be flat and narrow at the end, but it's the same as the hose. I still like this - it's great for things like stairs - but not so much for cleaning out your car.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
auburn
THIS LITTLE DEVIL
Posted 08/24/2012
STAY AWAY FROM THIS BOOGER. THE ROTOR BRUSH DOES NOT REALLY ROTATE, BUT JUST SITS THERE FOR SHOW. IT IS NOT BELT DRIVEN.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Best hand vac for stairs

09/20/2013
By ,
Hemet, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this hand vac! I have an upright vacuum with an attachment and my stairs never seemed clean enough. I have a medium length haired dog, and I was constantly finding hair even after I vacuumed. This hand vac has a rotating belt system which is what I wanted. I didn't want a dust buster style hand vac. I love the fact that this also has a hose attachment with the crevice tool. I can now get every piece of hair, dirt and crumbs out of my stairs. I also like the fact that I can vacuum the front face of my stairs. Best purchase I have made in a while.
The only down side is the fact that I have to purchase bags for this vacuum. I wish it had a small canister I could empty instead. You will not be disappointed with this vacuum. The cord is not an issue for me. I wanted something n I could plug in. I think the cordless vacuums don't have enough guts. The latch for the cord, to keep it tied up is of poor construction. Very cheaply made. I don't even bother with it. I simply use a cord clasp I bought a the big orange Home supply store.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Small, Portable and Efficient

05/18/2014
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The hose from an older Dirt Devil Hand Vac detached and I was able to use duct tape for a month but then I had the same problem so it was time to purchase a replacement model.
I always keep two of these Dirt Devils-one upstairs and one downstairs for small and quick jobs like bathroom floors, car interiors, steps, and catching insect and spider "critters." I love having the bags inside the vacuum as I have used bagless appliances before-yucky! With this vacuum, you just toss the bag and put in a fresh one. It always surprises me how long it takes to fill a bag. The cord is nice and long and it is a pretty powerful unit for the size. I use it frequently. This is a great Walmart price. I had mine sent site to store. It arrived in just a few days and I could track the shipment online. Thanks, Walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Dirt Devil

01/30/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product was delivered in a short period of time and works well. Thank you
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Power brushes and powerful suction

01/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this dirt devil hand held ,the best part about it has
a bag .the bag less hand held vacuum I hate have to clean after every use.this devil has powerful suction and it's has brushes .and I don't have to clean after every use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

not worth my money

01/21/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i purchased this over the holidays for my car and the vacuum does not pick up much of anything when you use the hose attachment to it. and plus the directions does not provide good instructions on how to change the bag in the vacuum. i used this only only one time and i am returning it back to the store. My regular vacuum with crevice tool does a better job than this.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Hand Vac That Has Suction

02/05/2010
By ,
Lehigh Valley, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally A Hand Vac That Actually Makes A Difference After Running It.
Of Course You Can Not Over Power The Unit By Moving It Too Fast & Expect It To Remove Strings, Fuzz, Paper Clippings Etc. I Tried To Pick Up All Of The Above Items & Had No Problem.
We've Been Using An Older Version Of This Model, But After About 10 Years Of Use, It Was Time To Replace It.
Nice Touch With The Unit Being All In One & With The Flip Of The Door You Can Switch From Brush Roller Use To Hose Use. On Older Version,We Had To Remove Belt & Install Hose In Opening To Switch From Roller To Hose Use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+100points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Small but powerful

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very powerful for it's size. Great for tight areas and hard to reach places a regular vac won't go. Corded, so it never runs out of power. Works great for stairs.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Seems to be great

01/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only been using this a week but it seems to be a great handheld vac. Love to use it on steps. It is powerful, yet easy to carry along on carpeted steps. Attachment helps to get in cracks and tight places. Even though a cordless may be more handy, this gives so much more power than any other cordless I've owned.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

replacement

01/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Needed to replace my dirt devil handheld vacuum from the past which is very similar to this one that I just purchased. This new one actually gets closer to the edges of areas then the old one also has a hose attached which doesn't have enough suction to pick up. I wish it didn't have this that is a disappointment but I just won't use that part of this vacuum otherwise I like what this vacuum does for what I'm using it for.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Best hand held vac I have ever bought!!

01/11/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really was recommended to me by a friend like this hand held vac. It has great suction. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is it is very loud ( a lot louder than my full size vac).
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

It's fine but not perfect

02/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this after many people highly recommending it and saying that they last forever. I thought it would be useful for vacuuming the stairs and for getting dog hair off of the couch. It has been useful for the stairs and it's way better than dragging the vacuum cleaner up and down. I cannot use it on my couch due to the couch's fabric (a leather blend). The brush rollers are extremely powerful and after one use I was afraid I'd soon wear right through the couch's fabric. It does have a hose, but it's not very useful. It's only about 8 or 10 inches long and only has one skinny attachment for it. Overall, I'm still pleased and will be glad I have it each time I need to vacuum the stairs.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

I guess I just like Dirt Devil brand

09/11/2010
By ,
Baltimore Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the Dirt Devil brand (the red vacs) and have the small hand held one for stairs and the floor vac for the rest of the house. They have always been reasonable in price and simple to use. I find they get the job done without all the bells and whistles of the more complicated high tech vacs. Over the years they are my choice also because I can take them apart easily for cleaning or belt replacement and don't have to "send them out to be repaired" -you can do it yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Not so bad

12/21/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Dirt Devil works much better than the other hand vac they make. This one has a wooden beater bar that is belt driven. The suction is ok but not awesome. If Dirt Devil put the suction of their non belt driven model into this one they'd have a real winner. This one does work fairly well. It seems well built and I did like that it isn't very heavy. It does require the ongoing purchase of bags but that's not a huge drawback, as long as I can find them. It does come with one bag. I could not find that tidbit of info anyplace. I would suggest giving this model a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Love it

01/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

GREAT VALUE & DEPENDABLE

07/18/2011
By ,
Yantis,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought This Dirt Devil after trying all the cheaper models & brands about a month ago.NOTHING can compare to the good price,actual usages it provides,& power it has in such a compact vac. It does everything as advertised & more. I live in a 5th Wheel trailer & space is always a problem but not with this one.Fits perfect in cabinets. I highly recommend this one!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Dirt Devil Hand Vac

11/18/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one great little hand vac for the money. I saw in other reviews that the hose doesn't have much vacuum. They must not have closed the door over the brush area or something, because this little guy works great.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

glad to find

12/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I checked a lot of other stores and could not find this particular model of Dirt Devil. I'm glad I found it at Walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

Always A Dirt Buster!

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had an early generation Dirt Devil that just recently bit the dust however, it gave me several decades of happy service. When it stopped working I was not sure what/where I was going to find a dependable hand held vacuum until I searched Walmart. I received my new Dirt Devil in no time online and much to my surprise it has not changed much in appearance or dependability. It comes now with two(2) speed settings -- ( moderate & high) and it is easy to switch from the sweeping brush to hosed application. Dirt Devil has made its product a little more efficient as it was always a good choice for a compact handheld vacuum. I just need to see if there are a few more necessary attachments available...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dirt Devil Ultra Bagged Handheld Vacuum, M08230RED

A great little vacuum cleaner

05/13/2011
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the greatest vacuum cleaner for doing the stairs carpeting. This newer model is loud and the plastic material seems low quality but it works well. It is light weight and easy to handle. The crevice tool really does not work too well but I don't need it. The cord is long. I just hope it lasts 20 years like the last one I had. The low price makes it a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 119 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next