Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Viore Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Viore Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

Enjoy TV programs on the go with the Viore 7" Portable LCD TV. The built-in ATSC tuner can receive over-the-air digital broadcasts. You can connect your digital media player to watch video clips or digital still via the USB port or insert a miniSD memory card to view digital photos. The A/V input connects to external devices, such as a DVD player or cable/satellite box. Includes high-capacity lithium-ion rechargeable battery for long playing time. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Viore 7" Portable LCD HDTV. Otherwise, the picture quality of an HDTV without an HD source may not be much better than that of a standard-definition TV. Please contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade to HD programming.
Average Customer Rating:
4.201 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(358 Reviews) 288
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
219
4 stars
73
3 stars
18
2 stars
15
1 star
33
Customer Recommendation84%299 out of 358reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
219
4 stars
73
3 stars
18
2 stars
15
1 star
33
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

7" Viore

04/15/2010
By ,
Denison, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The USB plug, is a bad fit, keeps loosing connection, and going back to the start menu, ggrrr.
(rubberband fix?)
doesn't have a good way to set up for viewing, I have two 7' 'Sylvania's that I mounted on tripods.
I do like that this tv will play .avi files, I just wished it had a better USB PORT connection..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 2 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

PLEASANTLY SURPRISED!

02/07/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frankly I did not expect much from this little tv. BUT now I do not know how I lived without it!! I bought this to watch at my office, located in a very isolated area without cable or DSL services available. Unbelievably, when channel scanned this tv receives 8 channels at this remote location. At home though, only 15 miles from Pittsburgh it receives only the 3 local channels that I watch. This tv holds a charge for about 1.5 hours. The speakers are adequate since you must sit pretty close to view. The menu display is very easy to use and navigate (you must channel autoscan for each different location before viewing.) The picture quality is excellent...just as good as my 42" HD LCD...even witout cable! I chose to buy this Viore after much research and reading many reviews on other websites. In the end I chose Wal-Mart so I could easily return it if it had no reception. I find myself using it at home more than I thought I would (with headphones when hubby will not relinquish the remote) and I love its sleek look. This tv has exceeded my expectations and is also a great value!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 3 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

Great product for the price..

11/09/2009
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received this today, and my expectations are were more than meet with this TV. I purchased it to watch our City Council channel at work. However, I may need to buy another for that purpose. I plugged it in, plugged in the antenna provided. Turned it on, did a channel search not expecting much. This is due to my search for local channels with my Dell HDTV, and the fact that it only found one over air channel. The one channel it did get was poor. This little TV found 6 channels with just the antenna provided. I have owned a portable DVD player in the past, and the picture is better. The sound is a little lacking with the default settings, but better after fiddling with it for awhile.
The really impressive thing, is it's ability to play movies. I had a few on a USB drive that I really didn't expect it to play. Wowsers, plugged it in to the included adapter, selected auxiliary and USB, and away they went! The format were DivX, but I'll try others soon.
Two things that they could add: 1) An adjustable stand. This would me to minimize the glare. 2: Include the mini-din audio and video cables.
That been said, I am very happy with this product thus far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+54points
Review 4 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

Awsome little TV/Video player

06/29/2010
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews and correctly assumed that some just did not read the booklet that came with the TV. For example, one wrote that the pictures occupy only 1/4 of the screen when viewing, well if you click on the OK button it will expend it to the entire screen and start a slide show of your pictures. I use the TV with the roof antena, and get all the channels, or outdoor and get many of them.
Regarding Video, the movies must be AVI file type and must be DIVX MP4 format. Here is how you do it. Download free the Divx from DIVX.COM, bring any video clip from any source, and use the Divx Convertor to convert it to that format. Then rename the file to be anymovie.AVI and it will work every time. I put the movies onto 4G SD, and it works like a little dvd player.
Buy it its great. The only drowback for me is the vertical resolusion with is 274 pix. which is a little bit low.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 5 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

Not bad for the price, but be aware of limitations

08/07/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My primary purpose in buying this unit was for aligning satellite dishes outside with the satellite receiver at the dish as well entertainment for my young daughter on road trips with movies on a USB or SD/MS/MMC card.
I have a few observations about this unit that may be helpful. Though the manual mentions needing an HD source to get the best performance, it does not display true HD - the number of pixels in the display are far too few to give true HD quality (this is true of most portable TVs and DVD players I've had). There is some difference in viewing SD and HD programming, but nothing like one might expect from a true HD display. In other words, it will handle HD programing but not display full HD quality.
The unit recognizes AVI and MP4 video file formats, though the MP4 videos play in slow motion and with no audio. I found no other video types such as MOV, WMV, VOB, TS, etc. are recognized.
The internal rechargeable battery life is rather short, "about 1.5 hours" as stipulated in the manual, though they refer to the battery as "large capacity" in the specifications on the web site. I guess that's subjective. That's not quite enough time for some movies these days, many running 2+ hours. I would recommend a cigarette lighter adapter for use in a car. (A major plus for me is the 12VDC input specification).
Don't expect high fidelity from the internal speakers, particularly at high volume. I recommend headphones or an external audio system to provide good fidelity and volume.
NOTE: There is one major drawback to digital broadcast TV reception that most people are not yet aware of. Though Viore, to their credit, mentions this in the Quick Start Guide, I was familiar with the issue before I bought this unit. You cannot reliably watch digital broadcast TV (ATSC) while in motion, as in a car or boat. This is NOT a defect with the Viore unit, but rather a limitation of the digital TV broadcast technology. All digital broadcast TV ATSC receivers that I'm aware of are subject to this problem. An ATSC TV must be stationary to properly receive and decode digital broadcasts. I understand that there may be a future ATSC-M standard for mobile TV receivers, but it's not available today. Just be aware that any ATSC TV receiver you buy will not perform well when watching digital TV broadcasts while in motion.
Summary: For the money, it has acceptable performance and nice features. For use as a video file viewer, be aware that it appears to only support the AVI file type. It also support only MP3 audio and JPG picture formats.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+94points
Review 6 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96
10/03/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this Tv is perfect and more than I expected the only thing I would change is the stand it needs to be adjustable still not a big deal
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+74points
Review 7 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

Better than expected

08/20/2010
By ,
Gainesville, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Almost didn't buy this based on a few negative reviews, but decided I could always return it if I did not like it. First one I got was defective and I had a no hassle return at my local wal-mart. Went home an ordered another, recieved it in 3days with free shipping. This one works fine. Based on another review I already knew the antenna included would be useless so I made my own with coax and a coat hanger. You might laugh at that but it works and I get crystal clear reception. The battery only lasts about 2 hours but I don't usually watch it for more than 30mins. The card reader feature is one of the main reasons I chose this over some of the other portable TVs. I tried it with my cameras memory card and it worked great. I only wish it came with a car adapter but I read in another review that this can be purchased at either wal-mart (auto section) or at radio shack. If you are looking for a reasonably priced dual purpose portable I would recommend this. Just know until you put a better antenna on it the reception is not reliable. But that is in the antenna not the TV, so I think this one got a bad reputation because of it. The nice thing is if you don't like it you can always return it for a full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 8 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

Can't touch the features for the price!

07/14/2010
By ,
Salem, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an absolutely wonderful TV/Media Player for low $$$. The Tuner is ATSC/NTSC/QAM, so you can hook it up to your digital CATV feed and pick up anything that isn't scrambled, including the "old" analog CATV channels if your CATV provider still uses them. Works as expected with little "stick" antenna provided when receiving OTA channels. Sound is adequate. Reads a FAT32 formatted USB thumb drive or SD card. Played an XVID / DIVX formatted .avi file, but I understand that you may have to contact VIORE customer support for this to work consistently and correctly. Plays .mp3 files with aplomb. The ONLY thing that would make this a better unit is if it had a composite video OUT such that you could use it as a sort-of stand-alone digital-to-analog converter for an older analog TV. But don't let that stop you from buying this unit. With the included Li-ion batteries, charger/power supply and antenna, this portable TV is hard to beat. Load an SD card up with kids music and movies, and give it to the kids during your next trip to the beach. You'll need a cigarette lighter straight-though 12v power adapter available at Wal-Mart auto and elsewhere for about $10. Have Fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 9 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

Portable Television

02/23/2010
By ,
Monterey County South Coast, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a TV to check for signal strength in deep-fringe reception area. This is a good product for this application. I was able to pack this ultra light weight TV and a huge antenna to remote locations and check for watchable signal. Will run for a couple of hours on rechargeable battery. Has a 75ohm antenna connection. Do not try to use in a car or on the move. Reception is lost when antenna is moving. Can be used to watch local over the air news and sporting events while camping but you will need a better antenna than what comes with the TV unless you are camping near transmitter. Digital signals are mostly line of sight and this helped me a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Review 10 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

I was hoping against hope...

05/29/2010
By ,
Northwest New Jersey
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
...that this portable would have better reception than the last two I tried. I can't fault the unit, just the new digital tecnology that has robbed me of the old pleasures I knew with my little analog TV.
With this set, I did receive 8 channels, but they were often choppy. And I picked up CBS in my kitchen, but lost it in my backyard! I tried exchanging the included attenna for a "digital" rabbit ears set, but that was a dismal failure. The picture, when I received one, was crisp and clear. The sound, however, left a bit to be desired. And the kickstand, which other reviewers have dubbed flimsy-is.
All-in-all, for the price (and Walmart had the best one) it might be a bargain. I also had free and very quick shipping. But my house would apparently have to be alone on a hill and in direct line with a transmission tower which would also have to be alone on a hill to receive very much.
I just hope they improve this "fabulous" new technology before 2012 so I have time to enjoy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

Viore Portable LCD TV

10/18/2009
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I got this t\portable LCD TV!! The design of the product is great, the sharpness and picture quality is excellent, the sound quality is excellent, the price is excellent. The only reason why I put four stars for meeting my expectations was because I got all the local stations except for channel six. I don't know if this is a problem of the tv or the weak signal of WPVI here in Philadelphia. I had to put an antenna to it and lo and behold I got channel six so all is well. I just love this tv, I can watch my shows while my boyfriend watches his shows.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Review 12 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96
10/28/2009
By ,
Canal Winchester, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm impressed with this little t.v., my husband bought it for an office, basicially to watch football and golf since he has to work on weekends and it is easy to pack in his briefcase and bring home. It gets a nice picture and the sound is good, he just has to remember to re-scan channels each time he sets it up to watch again.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 13 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

Bigger than Expected

07/30/2010
By ,
Wetherfield, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As the title suggests, this is no pocket TV. Think of it as a small table model.
Pro
Picture is great, bright, rich in color.
Sensitivity is good, gets all expected stations.
Battery (Li-Ion) is as good as expected - about 1.75 hours. Bright light and HD picture processing are big power consumers.
Over the Air and Cable compatible tuner.
Con
No Internal whip antenna. A miniature mag-mount antenna is provided an if to place on the roof of your car. Obviously, nothing comes in without it.
Antenna input F connector is placed such that it precludes all but push-on connectors. Most screw-on don't fit. I'll make a pig-tail.
I still need a pocket TV but this is a real keeper at the price. It will have a place on the corner of my desk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 14 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

Just OK as Picture Frame and Television on Desk

01/07/2010
By ,
Illinois
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This device's ability to display both digital broadcast television *AND* digital pictures (from a memory card) is what attracted me to it as a replacement an old/broken digital picture frame on my desk... the TV was a BONUS! The television receiver/antenna are very good and the television picture is perfectly acceptable (considering the lower screen pixel resolution); very bright, good contrast and natural colors (all of which at customizable anyway). But it's the digital photo/video display that was disappointing to me: the rendering of the photos was very dark, low contrast and very muted colors. Very surprising? Why the difference between television and digital photos? You can tweak the brightness, contrast and colors to somewhat acceptable levels for digital photo display; but not without also affecting the television display settings. I had to find an "acceptable" setting to balance the two differences. The only other thing I think is missing is an clock/time based on/off timer (allowing for either the TV or digital photos to come on at 9AM and off again at 5PM); that feature does not yet exist (though the manufacturer says future firmware updates are possible). Overall, remembering that I purchased this as a digital photo frame -- not a television (that was just a bonus for me -- I find it just OK for my mission. For the price, it's a decent bargain. One last remark, if you intend to use in vehicle... it simply won't work (at least while in motion)! Digital broadcast just don't seem to work (when at ground level) in a car in motion -- must be something with the building scatter that just degrades the digital broadcast protocol (it must not have enough error correction). It will only resume reception when <5-MPH. Very interesting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 15 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

Better Than The Rest

12/24/2009
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have already returned 3 different portable TV's. This is the only one I have all the channels on. Watch the antenna, do not buy one with the wire rabbit ear antenna.
Remember this name and number:
Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 16 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

bad product and service

11/21/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After charging the TV overnight and following instructions for setting it up, it only gave me "No Signal", even though I live near the middle of a large metropolitan area and tried putting the antenna everywhere - even in a bathroom window! I called Viore customer service and was told I was 3rd in line, expect a 9 minute wait. A few minutes later I was still 3rd in line expecting a 9 minute wait. Over time I got to be 2nd in line (4 minute wait), and finally first in line. The third time it came on to say I was first in line (I thought), it said all the operators were busy and I should try my call later and hung up! Note: This was between 11 a.m. and noon on a weekday! I packed everything up and returned it (without any real hassle, thankfully) to Walmart and decided I'd forego any Viore product in the future, no matter how good the deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 17 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

The Viore

10/09/2009
By ,
Nashvill, Tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this little TV is is convient for me to use anywhere, although it is a little bigger than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 18 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

Everything I expected and more

11/09/2010
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is well worth the money. I like that it has a separate antenna (small and inconspicuous) that allows for getting the best picture in a given space.
I had no trouble at all getting a strong enough signal for nearly all of the over the air broadcasts. One channel is rather difficult to receive here but that's not the TVs fault.
The only down side is the sound which is tinny; but that's to be expected with such small speakers. Nevertheless the sound is clear and loud enough for comfortable listening. The sound can be improved by adding a larger external speaker if so desired.
The unit is portable and easy to move from one room to another.
For under $100 this TV is a great little product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

TV

10/20/2009
By ,
Mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works realy well on one local channel, I can pick up 3 channels, only one local NBC, CBS, ABC will not come in. I purchased because of power outages, have something to connect to the outside world in the event of another outage. My old batttery powered became outdated with the big switch.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 20 for Viore 7" Portable LCD TV, PLC7V96

Hurricane ready

06/18/2010
By ,
Leesburg, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When over the air went to digital my old standby emergency TV became useless so I needed to update. It's amazing how much more you get for so much less when it comes to electronics today. Screen size is good, battery life is good, price is good but most imporant is reception. At first I wasn't so impressed, channels were few and not too clear but then I added about 12 feet of coax cable to the antenna and attached the antenna to a ceiling lamp, the reception was great; 18 channels and very strong pictures. I hope I never need to use it but if I do this TV will do the job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
1-20 of 289 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next