Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Mainstays Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Average Customer Rating:
4.252 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(139 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
43
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation90%125 out of 139reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 68 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
43
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

50/50 shot at a decent light

01/06/2013
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these. As per all of the other comments, one went together perfectly and its in my living room. No problems there. One is completely messed up - three people tried to get it to stand up straight but it cannot because the threads inside the main section aren't aligned correctly, therefore they will not screw together. I have attached a picture. The first three bars are fine, the rest are all crooked in different directions, which causes the lamp to lean like crazy. I also apparently rec'd the last two lamps at the location I chose, therefore there was nothing to exchange the messed up one with. :/
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Great lamp, AMAZING price

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You CAN NOT beat this lamp for the price! We bought one a few years back for triple the price that rocked and wobbled. This lamp is great! It comes in about 5 sections which are kind of a pain in the butt to get together, but once it's together it looks great! Its a nice sturdy lamp and had the nice option of 3 light settings. I would highly recommend in ANY home!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Decent for the money

12/23/2009
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have three of these lamps, one for each of my home's bedrooms, which have no built-in lighting. These lamps are certainly nothing fancy, but they are reasonably well made and stand up straight. The shade is plastic, but good looking enough.
I've had these lamps in use for 2+ years and they've held up fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Delmar, MD
Posted 09/16/2013
I have purchased two of these lamps, but mine were of a different color, but the same lamp. These are a great buy for the money and I would highly recommend them.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Simple & Bright

05/23/2010
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its hard to find a lamp when remodeling a room, I personally have been looking at Tiffany lamps, then I figured why pay $150 for the elegance of the lamp (tho it gives the same brightness)when i might wanna change the complete style of my room in a couple years? Itd be a waste of money... This lamp is versatile which is good to have in a home. The room Im remodeling is in the basement, its dark with just 1window, so lighting is must in the room, an this light gives off good light, I have 2 & it worked out nicely! Ive had this lamp for over 3years & it holds up just fine & stays straight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Excellent Value!

01/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I had purchased three floor lamps with fluorescent light bulbs at an Ace Hardware a few years ago. They were very nice but one of them broke today while I was moving furniture around. I couldn't find the same lamp online at Ace, so I went online at WalMart and and found this lamp. After reading a few reviews I saw that it was quite the bargain and everyone was satisfied. If you don't have to worry about large pets knocking it over or kids playing with it, I think it's plenty sturdy and looks super! We will definitely buy a couple more. Super value, nice looking and easily fits fluorescent bulbs. Good deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

floor lamp

02/02/2010
By ,
Nesika Beach, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well made, easy to assemble, gives good lighting to the room. Clean elegant style. Cheap and very reliable.I was so pleased that I ordered another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

More affordable in the store!!

01/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I looked at this lamp on walmart.com and liked the price most of all. It appeared to be a basic floor lamp, but that was all we really needed. We hoped it would be a fairly quality product (not wanting to tip over or be lopsided or something) and not the old saying, "you get what you pay for".....
Well, we went shopping at our local Wal-Mart yesterday and found the lamp for $7.97!!! We were thrilled! Even if we didn't like it, who could complain about $8??
As soon as we got home, my husband put it together, with ease. The base is well weighted, it is not at all cheaply constructed! The shade is plastic, but we checked it several times last night and the shade was not even warm.
We love this lamp and are seriously considering getting another one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Canton, IL
Shade
Posted 05/14/2014
I've had one of these lamps for around 10 years. After a couple years the plastic shade yellowed some so I went to Home Depot & bought a glass replacement. There are some great bargains out there & this is one of them. Great design too!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

excellent buy

06/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this lamp. .. it brightens up a room. ..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Nice inexpensive lamp

07/03/2014
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lamp is very light weight and it puts out a descent amount of light. An inexpensive way to light up a room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

It's a $9 lamp.

01/31/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking for a $9 floor lamp to stick in the corner and use when needed this one works just fine. If you're wanting a $60 value lamp and think you're going to get that with this for $9 forget it, you won't be happy with it. It's just a cheap little lamp that sits a little crooked unless you manage to get the base screwed in perfectly, which is super tricky.
It is a three way lamp and it does work nicely but you have to buy the right light bulb- an actual 3 way light bulb. So those who said the 3-way doesn't work probably just put in a regular bulb.
One thing I wondered about was the shade. In the above picture it appears blue. It's not really, it's a white shade.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Crooked

06/09/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this lamp last year and mine too was crooked but it was only $7 so I did not take it back. I use in my empty bedroom on timer to make my neighbors think I get home earlier then I do.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Functional and Great Value for money

05/19/2014
By ,
Hillsboro, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My apartment living room was not well light and I needed an extra light. I looked at a few options and then saw this product. I did not want to invest much into my temporary housing. I bought this as this is the cheapest floor lamp I found.
The assembly was quick and easy. I faced no functional or assembly issues at all.
Build quality is not exceptional but good. Looks are also very simple and not great (nothing fancy at all), but for the money spend, it is an excellent item. My room is now well light. The lamp was exactly what I had expected it to be and totally worth the money spend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

It's a lamp.

10/28/2013
By ,
Auburn, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's not fancy, but it looks good enough. The shade is translucent plastic. It's great lighting for my dorm. I definitely like that it has a three-way switch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

BRIGHT LIGHT

10/28/2013
By ,
PHILADELPHIA PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS LIGHT IS AWESOME, LOVE IT, BOUGHT 4 OF THEM. THEY ARE SO BRIGHT AND GREAT FOR THE PRICE. I PLAN ON BUYING MORE IN THE NEAR FUTURE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Great 3-Way Floor Lamps

09/27/2012
By ,
Bourbonnais, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I caught this item online for a great price. I used the same day in-store delivery at a WalMart that was about 20 minutes from my home (as the store near my home is terrible with respect to customer service). I ordered two lamps because the price was so great (less than eight bucks at the time of order). When I got to the store about four hours later, I was helped immediately (not like at my local store). Further, I received a discount on the lamps as they went on sale in the time I ordered. With tax and all, I paid five dollars and some change for both lamps! The lamps came together easily and have worked like a charm. I like that they are 3 way lamps but I didn't use 3-way bulbs. Even without the sale, the lamps were a great value for the price but the sales makes it even better. I will use the Kankakee, IL store, which is furthest from my home in Bourbonnais, IL, rather than using the Bourbonnais, IL store, as the Bourbonnais, IL store is horrible with respect to customer service. I hope WalMart never stops their online order and pick up at the store on the same day service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Broken

05/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered two of these lamps along with a platform bed online. One of the lamps was broken and wouldnt screw together. I had to tape it together to stand up straight and the bed was missing pieces of wood! Horrible.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Great lamp, very safe from children

11/11/2013
By ,
CINCINNATI, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The lamp was really nice. Tall enough where my 5 year old grandsons can not play with it and safe. Very easy to assemble. I am so glad i purchased two. The price is unbeatable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

great lamp, especialy for the price

05/04/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lamps are great, easy to put together, look good, mine are straight looking, person who said the had extra cord between pieces didn't put it together correctly ( just pull wire out of bottom as you put pieces together, tops are plastic but you can't hardly tell unless you get right up on it. you can't beat this for the price. looked at buying some floresaunt 3-way bulbs but didn't cause they cost more than the lamp.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Best value I have seen for this pole lamp

11/22/2013
By ,
Tacoma, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price, I was expecting a really low quality product. I was surprised that it is as durable as it is. Since it has 3 wattage settings, I don't think it is compatible for the new compact lights - unless the technology has caught up with that. From prior experience with other lamps, the compact bulbs will work, but only one of the settings. I plan to purchase more. It's easy to put together. The threading is not brass. For skinny pole lamps, I always use that Teflon tape to wrap around the threads. This trick seems to prevent stripping the threads, which seems to happen over time with skinny poles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Looks more expensive

04/30/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great lamp. Went to the store since it wasn't available for shipping. Pleasantly surprised that it came in brown/bronze and the lamp shade is a soft bronze - which makes it look far more expensive than it was. Gives off good light, too. Very pleased with the purchase and will be buying another. Can't beat the price of this lamp -- and you can use a 3 way CFL with it, too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 110 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next