Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Mainstays Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(150 Reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
46
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation90%135 out of 150reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 69 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
46
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

50/50 shot at a decent light

01/06/2013
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these. As per all of the other comments, one went together perfectly and its in my living room. No problems there. One is completely messed up - three people tried to get it to stand up straight but it cannot because the threads inside the main section aren't aligned correctly, therefore they will not screw together. I have attached a picture. The first three bars are fine, the rest are all crooked in different directions, which causes the lamp to lean like crazy. I also apparently rec'd the last two lamps at the location I chose, therefore there was nothing to exchange the messed up one with. :/
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Lasted for years until I broke it during a move

08/02/2014
By ,
Coconut Creek, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one more over five years ago (maybe 10?) and it worked perfectly.
While rearranging furniture this week, I moved the lamp and accidentally knocked the shade into a wall shelf. The plastic had apparently gotten brittle over the years and it cracked, but I did hit it pretty hard. Since it worked great all these years, I'll be purchasing another new one.
Not fancy, but in my black & white bedroom, it looked perfect. I liked the fact that the diameter of the base was smaller than most other torch lamps, so it didn't take up much floor space. And having an additional switch on the cord was a plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Staging.

09/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't beat if for the money. Not trying to impress, needed some up lighting in living room near bookcase. Put it behind a chair near a bookcase. Perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Great lamp, AMAZING price

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You CAN NOT beat this lamp for the price! We bought one a few years back for triple the price that rocked and wobbled. This lamp is great! It comes in about 5 sections which are kind of a pain in the butt to get together, but once it's together it looks great! Its a nice sturdy lamp and had the nice option of 3 light settings. I would highly recommend in ANY home!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Decent for the money

12/23/2009
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have three of these lamps, one for each of my home's bedrooms, which have no built-in lighting. These lamps are certainly nothing fancy, but they are reasonably well made and stand up straight. The shade is plastic, but good looking enough.
I've had these lamps in use for 2+ years and they've held up fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+95points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Delmar, MD
Posted 09/16/2013
I have purchased two of these lamps, but mine were of a different color, but the same lamp. These are a great buy for the money and I would highly recommend them.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Best $8 I ever spent

09/25/2014
By ,
Beverly hill FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw this lamp on Amazon for $20. Looks the same for $8 at wall mart. A little difficult to put together because of coarse threads but once set up great looking lamp. Throws nice light in my office without reflecting off of computer screen. Takes a 3 way bulb 59-100-150 mentioned on box but not in description.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Great for the price

08/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought these to use in my classroom, and for that purpose, they are great. They work well. One of the pole pieces had a corroded end, but it still connected to the next piece. One of them did not fully connect, but it doesn't affect how it works, so I don't care. Not worth the hassle of an exchange.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Cheaper than an electrician.

08/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was having problems with my hallway light. The hardware was too old and not compatible with new fixtures. This lamp is bright enough and out of the way. Now I have light in my hallway and it was cheaper than an electrician.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

good lamp

08/20/2014
By ,
Dayton, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
needed lamp for spare bedroom and this does the job wonderfully. gives much needed light for dressing or reading, whatever and the price was great too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Simple & Bright

05/23/2010
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its hard to find a lamp when remodeling a room, I personally have been looking at Tiffany lamps, then I figured why pay $150 for the elegance of the lamp (tho it gives the same brightness)when i might wanna change the complete style of my room in a couple years? Itd be a waste of money... This lamp is versatile which is good to have in a home. The room Im remodeling is in the basement, its dark with just 1window, so lighting is must in the room, an this light gives off good light, I have 2 & it worked out nicely! Ive had this lamp for over 3years & it holds up just fine & stays straight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Good product for the price

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You cannot beat the price for this lamp. It serves its purpose well and looks decent for its price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Excellent Value!

01/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I had purchased three floor lamps with fluorescent light bulbs at an Ace Hardware a few years ago. They were very nice but one of them broke today while I was moving furniture around. I couldn't find the same lamp online at Ace, so I went online at WalMart and and found this lamp. After reading a few reviews I saw that it was quite the bargain and everyone was satisfied. If you don't have to worry about large pets knocking it over or kids playing with it, I think it's plenty sturdy and looks super! We will definitely buy a couple more. Super value, nice looking and easily fits fluorescent bulbs. Good deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

floor lamp

02/02/2010
By ,
Nesika Beach, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well made, easy to assemble, gives good lighting to the room. Clean elegant style. Cheap and very reliable.I was so pleased that I ordered another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

More affordable in the store!!

01/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I looked at this lamp on walmart.com and liked the price most of all. It appeared to be a basic floor lamp, but that was all we really needed. We hoped it would be a fairly quality product (not wanting to tip over or be lopsided or something) and not the old saying, "you get what you pay for".....
Well, we went shopping at our local Wal-Mart yesterday and found the lamp for $7.97!!! We were thrilled! Even if we didn't like it, who could complain about $8??
As soon as we got home, my husband put it together, with ease. The base is well weighted, it is not at all cheaply constructed! The shade is plastic, but we checked it several times last night and the shade was not even warm.
We love this lamp and are seriously considering getting another one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Canton, IL
Shade
Posted 05/14/2014
I've had one of these lamps for around 10 years. After a couple years the plastic shade yellowed some so I went to Home Depot & bought a glass replacement. There are some great bargains out there & this is one of them. Great design too!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Bang for the buck

08/04/2014
By ,
Clevleand, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very modestly priced and working well till now. Another similar one had been going strong for 2 years now
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Nice inexpensive lamp

07/03/2014
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lamp is very light weight and it puts out a descent amount of light. An inexpensive way to light up a room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Great Lamp and good price

08/03/2014
By ,
Lawrence, Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
s a very practical lamp, good price and easy to assemble. Filled all expectations expected
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Good Quality

08/03/2014
By ,
Schenectady NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Weighted base is nice
Easy to assemble
Works fine
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

It's a $9 lamp.

01/31/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking for a $9 floor lamp to stick in the corner and use when needed this one works just fine. If you're wanting a $60 value lamp and think you're going to get that with this for $9 forget it, you won't be happy with it. It's just a cheap little lamp that sits a little crooked unless you manage to get the base screwed in perfectly, which is super tricky.
It is a three way lamp and it does work nicely but you have to buy the right light bulb- an actual 3 way light bulb. So those who said the 3-way doesn't work probably just put in a regular bulb.
One thing I wondered about was the shade. In the above picture it appears blue. It's not really, it's a white shade.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Functional and Great Value for money

05/19/2014
By ,
Hillsboro, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My apartment living room was not well light and I needed an extra light. I looked at a few options and then saw this product. I did not want to invest much into my temporary housing. I bought this as this is the cheapest floor lamp I found.
The assembly was quick and easy. I faced no functional or assembly issues at all.
Build quality is not exceptional but good. Looks are also very simple and not great (nothing fancy at all), but for the money spend, it is an excellent item. My room is now well light. The lamp was exactly what I had expected it to be and totally worth the money spend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 121 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next