Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Mainstays Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Average Customer Rating:
4.275 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(160 Reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
49
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation90%144 out of 160reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 73 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
49
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Decent for the money

12/23/2009
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have three of these lamps, one for each of my home's bedrooms, which have no built-in lighting. These lamps are certainly nothing fancy, but they are reasonably well made and stand up straight. The shade is plastic, but good looking enough.
I've had these lamps in use for 2+ years and they've held up fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Delmar, MD
Posted 09/16/2013
I have purchased two of these lamps, but mine were of a different color, but the same lamp. These are a great buy for the money and I would highly recommend them.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Simple & Bright

05/23/2010
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its hard to find a lamp when remodeling a room, I personally have been looking at Tiffany lamps, then I figured why pay $150 for the elegance of the lamp (tho it gives the same brightness)when i might wanna change the complete style of my room in a couple years? Itd be a waste of money... This lamp is versatile which is good to have in a home. The room Im remodeling is in the basement, its dark with just 1window, so lighting is must in the room, an this light gives off good light, I have 2 & it worked out nicely! Ive had this lamp for over 3years & it holds up just fine & stays straight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

floor lamp

02/02/2010
By ,
Nesika Beach, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well made, easy to assemble, gives good lighting to the room. Clean elegant style. Cheap and very reliable.I was so pleased that I ordered another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Excellent Value!

01/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I had purchased three floor lamps with fluorescent light bulbs at an Ace Hardware a few years ago. They were very nice but one of them broke today while I was moving furniture around. I couldn't find the same lamp online at Ace, so I went online at WalMart and and found this lamp. After reading a few reviews I saw that it was quite the bargain and everyone was satisfied. If you don't have to worry about large pets knocking it over or kids playing with it, I think it's plenty sturdy and looks super! We will definitely buy a couple more. Super value, nice looking and easily fits fluorescent bulbs. Good deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

It's a $9 lamp.

01/31/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking for a $9 floor lamp to stick in the corner and use when needed this one works just fine. If you're wanting a $60 value lamp and think you're going to get that with this for $9 forget it, you won't be happy with it. It's just a cheap little lamp that sits a little crooked unless you manage to get the base screwed in perfectly, which is super tricky.
It is a three way lamp and it does work nicely but you have to buy the right light bulb- an actual 3 way light bulb. So those who said the 3-way doesn't work probably just put in a regular bulb.
One thing I wondered about was the shade. In the above picture it appears blue. It's not really, it's a white shade.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

More affordable in the store!!

01/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I looked at this lamp on walmart.com and liked the price most of all. It appeared to be a basic floor lamp, but that was all we really needed. We hoped it would be a fairly quality product (not wanting to tip over or be lopsided or something) and not the old saying, "you get what you pay for".....
Well, we went shopping at our local Wal-Mart yesterday and found the lamp for $7.97!!! We were thrilled! Even if we didn't like it, who could complain about $8??
As soon as we got home, my husband put it together, with ease. The base is well weighted, it is not at all cheaply constructed! The shade is plastic, but we checked it several times last night and the shade was not even warm.
We love this lamp and are seriously considering getting another one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Canton, IL
Shade
Posted 05/14/2014
I've had one of these lamps for around 10 years. After a couple years the plastic shade yellowed some so I went to Home Depot & bought a glass replacement. There are some great bargains out there & this is one of them. Great design too!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Great 3-Way Floor Lamps

09/27/2012
By ,
Bourbonnais, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I caught this item online for a great price. I used the same day in-store delivery at a WalMart that was about 20 minutes from my home (as the store near my home is terrible with respect to customer service). I ordered two lamps because the price was so great (less than eight bucks at the time of order). When I got to the store about four hours later, I was helped immediately (not like at my local store). Further, I received a discount on the lamps as they went on sale in the time I ordered. With tax and all, I paid five dollars and some change for both lamps! The lamps came together easily and have worked like a charm. I like that they are 3 way lamps but I didn't use 3-way bulbs. Even without the sale, the lamps were a great value for the price but the sales makes it even better. I will use the Kankakee, IL store, which is furthest from my home in Bourbonnais, IL, rather than using the Bourbonnais, IL store, as the Bourbonnais, IL store is horrible with respect to customer service. I hope WalMart never stops their online order and pick up at the store on the same day service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Great lamp, AMAZING price

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You CAN NOT beat this lamp for the price! We bought one a few years back for triple the price that rocked and wobbled. This lamp is great! It comes in about 5 sections which are kind of a pain in the butt to get together, but once it's together it looks great! Its a nice sturdy lamp and had the nice option of 3 light settings. I would highly recommend in ANY home!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Lasted for years until I broke it during a move

08/02/2014
By ,
Coconut Creek, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one more over five years ago (maybe 10?) and it worked perfectly.
While rearranging furniture this week, I moved the lamp and accidentally knocked the shade into a wall shelf. The plastic had apparently gotten brittle over the years and it cracked, but I did hit it pretty hard. Since it worked great all these years, I'll be purchasing another new one.
Not fancy, but in my black & white bedroom, it looked perfect. I liked the fact that the diameter of the base was smaller than most other torch lamps, so it didn't take up much floor space. And having an additional switch on the cord was a plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Okay for the price, but...

01/31/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this lamp thinking I would add extra lighting in my kitchen. Anyway, it was extremely easy to assemble. A couple of days later I noticed that the stem had fallen out. After unscrewing and reassembling the top portion of the lamp it now seems to be working okay. However, I am cautiously optimistic. Not to mention, I got exactly what I paid for. I believe I will spend a few extra dollars on a sturdier lamp in the very near future.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

BRIGHT LIGHT

10/28/2013
By ,
PHILADELPHIA PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS LIGHT IS AWESOME, LOVE IT, BOUGHT 4 OF THEM. THEY ARE SO BRIGHT AND GREAT FOR THE PRICE. I PLAN ON BUYING MORE IN THE NEAR FUTURE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

great lamp, especialy for the price

05/04/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lamps are great, easy to put together, look good, mine are straight looking, person who said the had extra cord between pieces didn't put it together correctly ( just pull wire out of bottom as you put pieces together, tops are plastic but you can't hardly tell unless you get right up on it. you can't beat this for the price. looked at buying some floresaunt 3-way bulbs but didn't cause they cost more than the lamp.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Not worth it if it was free

01/19/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The lamp did not work coming out of the box. It was a completely piece of junk, the pieces didn't fit together, never lit up, and caused more hassle picking it up and returning it than any lamp is worth. We had luck with another Mainstay lamp similarly priced, but the two products were worlds apart. I just wish there was a way to give negative stars.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

good lamp for price

10/10/2014
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's made for a 3 way bulb which I can't find with the new style light bulbs, but works good with one way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

It's a lamp.

10/28/2013
By ,
Auburn, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's not fancy, but it looks good enough. The shade is translucent plastic. It's great lighting for my dorm. I definitely like that it has a three-way switch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Nice product

01/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This lamp is bright and sturdy. the bottom weight is heavy and flat to keep it stable. the lamp is very tall, that's why it got 4 stars instead of 5. otherwise, everything is superb. And its very cheap compared to other lamps i have bought.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Absolute Piece of Junk!

12/06/2011
By ,
SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm amazed that other consumers gave this lamp a rating of "5"! The lamp pole is supposed to screw together in consecutive pieces. Problem is there are no threads on the inside of the pieces that are supposed to be screwed on. Nothing fits tightly and when you're done putting it together it leans to one side at the bottom and the other side at the top. For the price I really wasn't expecting great quality which was fine because it was meant to go in a children's game room and I figured it might not last long anyway but I did expect to at least be able to assemble it! I shop online because I'm self employed - I'd lose more money by taking the time to return this than I would by just throwing it away which is what I plan to do with it. I've never written a negative product review but this thing was so horrible I felt compelled to warn people.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LA, USA
Worked for me!
Posted 12/15/2011
I actually purchased two of the Mainstays Combo Floor Lamp ($13.00 and unavailable at this time) and got them today, easy assemble, which I don't think is any difference from the lamp you got. It also screws together in consecutive pieces. I did them one at a time being careful not to strip the lining as I was putting them together. If it is stripped it wont fit together perfectly. And they both work great. Sorry about the inconvenience you have had, If you haven't thrown the lamp away Id love to have it!
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Great for Indirect lighting

11/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple lighting fix for the price. Looks great in the corners and kids and pets can't destroy it if they knock it over..but that isn't easy to do. Heavy base, light colored shade perfect for indirect lighting..love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Functional and Great Value for money

05/19/2014
By ,
Hillsboro, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My apartment living room was not well light and I needed an extra light. I looked at a few options and then saw this product. I did not want to invest much into my temporary housing. I bought this as this is the cheapest floor lamp I found.
The assembly was quick and easy. I faced no functional or assembly issues at all.
Build quality is not exceptional but good. Looks are also very simple and not great (nothing fancy at all), but for the money spend, it is an excellent item. My room is now well light. The lamp was exactly what I had expected it to be and totally worth the money spend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black
12/26/2012
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchaed three of these lamps. They all stand up straight and give 150 watts of light. Excellent lamp for the price!! Would buy again!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next