Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Mainstays 71" Floor Lamp, Black

 
Average Customer Rating:
4.282 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(131 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
41
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation91%119 out of 131reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 58 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
72
4 stars
41
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

50/50 shot at a decent light

01/06/2013
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these. As per all of the other comments, one went together perfectly and its in my living room. No problems there. One is completely messed up - three people tried to get it to stand up straight but it cannot because the threads inside the main section aren't aligned correctly, therefore they will not screw together. I have attached a picture. The first three bars are fine, the rest are all crooked in different directions, which causes the lamp to lean like crazy. I also apparently rec'd the last two lamps at the location I chose, therefore there was nothing to exchange the messed up one with. :/
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Great price.

04/21/2014
By ,
Solon ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one and liked it so much that I went back and got 2 more. I like the fact that it is simple and lightweight as well as how well it lights up the room. The 3 way bulb makes it nice for different types of lighting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Decent for the money

12/23/2009
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have three of these lamps, one for each of my home's bedrooms, which have no built-in lighting. These lamps are certainly nothing fancy, but they are reasonably well made and stand up straight. The shade is plastic, but good looking enough.
I've had these lamps in use for 2+ years and they've held up fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Delmar, MD
Posted 09/16/2013
I have purchased two of these lamps, but mine were of a different color, but the same lamp. These are a great buy for the money and I would highly recommend them.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

(e.g. A very helpful product)

04/21/2014
By ,
Bel Air, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this product, great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

GREAT LIGHTING FOR THE PRICE!

04/16/2014
By ,
Buffalo, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Obviously your not going to get the world with this, but it does the job very well. easy to set up and works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Simple & Bright

05/23/2010
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its hard to find a lamp when remodeling a room, I personally have been looking at Tiffany lamps, then I figured why pay $150 for the elegance of the lamp (tho it gives the same brightness)when i might wanna change the complete style of my room in a couple years? Itd be a waste of money... This lamp is versatile which is good to have in a home. The room Im remodeling is in the basement, its dark with just 1window, so lighting is must in the room, an this light gives off good light, I have 2 & it worked out nicely! Ive had this lamp for over 3years & it holds up just fine & stays straight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Excellent Value!

01/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I had purchased three floor lamps with fluorescent light bulbs at an Ace Hardware a few years ago. They were very nice but one of them broke today while I was moving furniture around. I couldn't find the same lamp online at Ace, so I went online at WalMart and and found this lamp. After reading a few reviews I saw that it was quite the bargain and everyone was satisfied. If you don't have to worry about large pets knocking it over or kids playing with it, I think it's plenty sturdy and looks super! We will definitely buy a couple more. Super value, nice looking and easily fits fluorescent bulbs. Good deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

great lighting options for the money

03/28/2014
By ,
Ellsworth ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three way option allows for greater control of lighting area. purchased both the floor three-way lamp with attached reading lamp and the matching single floor three-way lamp which gives us greater options for the room, especially by using a "day light (blue tinted) led bulb" on one lamp and a regular three-way lamp on the other with an energy efficient led reading lamp. These lamps are great for bedrooms, dorm rooms, etc. where light weight lighting is appreciated. Works really well with the newer led lamps
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

floor lamp

02/02/2010
By ,
Nesika Beach, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well made, easy to assemble, gives good lighting to the room. Clean elegant style. Cheap and very reliable.I was so pleased that I ordered another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Great lamp for the price!!

03/03/2014
By ,
Manchester, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you just need that little extra light and don't want to pay alot.....buy this one!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

This product does it's job

04/05/2014
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

More affordable in the store!!

01/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I looked at this lamp on walmart.com and liked the price most of all. It appeared to be a basic floor lamp, but that was all we really needed. We hoped it would be a fairly quality product (not wanting to tip over or be lopsided or something) and not the old saying, "you get what you pay for".....
Well, we went shopping at our local Wal-Mart yesterday and found the lamp for $7.97!!! We were thrilled! Even if we didn't like it, who could complain about $8??
As soon as we got home, my husband put it together, with ease. The base is well weighted, it is not at all cheaply constructed! The shade is plastic, but we checked it several times last night and the shade was not even warm.
We love this lamp and are seriously considering getting another one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

It's a $9 lamp.

01/31/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking for a $9 floor lamp to stick in the corner and use when needed this one works just fine. If you're wanting a $60 value lamp and think you're going to get that with this for $9 forget it, you won't be happy with it. It's just a cheap little lamp that sits a little crooked unless you manage to get the base screwed in perfectly, which is super tricky.
It is a three way lamp and it does work nicely but you have to buy the right light bulb- an actual 3 way light bulb. So those who said the 3-way doesn't work probably just put in a regular bulb.
One thing I wondered about was the shade. In the above picture it appears blue. It's not really, it's a white shade.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

It's a lamp.

10/28/2013
By ,
Auburn, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's not fancy, but it looks good enough. The shade is translucent plastic. It's great lighting for my dorm. I definitely like that it has a three-way switch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

BRIGHT LIGHT

10/28/2013
By ,
PHILADELPHIA PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS LIGHT IS AWESOME, LOVE IT, BOUGHT 4 OF THEM. THEY ARE SO BRIGHT AND GREAT FOR THE PRICE. I PLAN ON BUYING MORE IN THE NEAR FUTURE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Great lamp, very safe from children

11/11/2013
By ,
CINCINNATI, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The lamp was really nice. Tall enough where my 5 year old grandsons can not play with it and safe. Very easy to assemble. I am so glad i purchased two. The price is unbeatable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Best value I have seen for this pole lamp

11/22/2013
By ,
Tacoma, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price, I was expecting a really low quality product. I was surprised that it is as durable as it is. Since it has 3 wattage settings, I don't think it is compatible for the new compact lights - unless the technology has caught up with that. From prior experience with other lamps, the compact bulbs will work, but only one of the settings. I plan to purchase more. It's easy to put together. The threading is not brass. For skinny pole lamps, I always use that Teflon tape to wrap around the threads. This trick seems to prevent stripping the threads, which seems to happen over time with skinny poles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Great basic lamp

01/19/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania, formerly NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three lamps in my home were purchased from Walmart. However, I needed inexpensive lamps for two of my guest bedrooms and this lamp fits the bill. Easy assembly and sturdy (doesn't lean and parts screw on tight). Basic simple design that will fit any room decor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

Great Product!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

03/11/2014
By ,
Somerset, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great buy
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 71" Floor Lamp, Black

great for the price!!!!!

03/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lamp was simply what I need and was a fantastic price!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 102 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next