Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Mainstays Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

The Mainstays Combo Floor Lamp features two different sources of light. The main light is three-way rotary style that provides three different levels of light intensity. The second light can be used as a reading lamp and contains its own on/off switch. The 72" floor lamp uses a 100 watt bulb for the main light and a 60 watt bulb for the reading lamp.
Average Customer Rating:
4.205 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(215 Reviews) 193
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
125
4 stars
52
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation87%188 out of 215reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 41 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
125
4 stars
52
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Great lamp, great price!

05/09/2014
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lamp is just what I needed, and you can't beat the price! The shades are plastic, but handled carefully they seem sturdy. I put a 40W bulb in the lower section as the 60W was too bright. The 3-way on the top offers a soft glow for tv time, but you can make it bright when searching for the remote! It's sturdy and stands straight. Just be careful when assembling not to twist the wires too much, or to tighten the shade holders too tight. It was easy to assemble. It's very tall, so I couldn't put it exactly where I wanted (covered up a shelf), but it works well where I have it. Very pleased.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tahlequah, OK
Good value for the money
Posted 06/27/2014
We bought two Mainstay lamps when we first moved here nine years ago. They still work. The only problem is the plastic shade--once it breaks (as happened today), it can't be replaced. So we'll buy another within the next couple of days. If you want something decorative, spend the money. If you want a light that just works, buy this one. Now if it could be manufactured so that the shade could be replaced...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

A bad investment..!!

12/12/2013
By ,
Ann Arbor,MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although it may look durable..the lamp shield broke in the packaging itself..the stand remains tilted and the lamp shield does not fit into it's slot..
Going to return it asap.
look for better options..
Do not buy..!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Get What You Pay For

07/07/2014
By ,
Mendota, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this lamp since Feb of 2012. Other than the fact that the column broke at the base within 3 hours of putting it together, I'd say it's held up great for a really cheap floor lamp. After all, what matters most is that both the lights still turn on and that it stands up, although a bit like the leaning tower of Pisa. Now it is a little bit flimsy. Our room mate sort of fell on it and it broke at the base about 3 hours after we put it together. He didn't land on it, just tripped and pushed it over while moving furniture and it broke. After almost 3 years this thing has survived being knocked over a few times by my now 3 1/2 year old and still turns on so it's sturdy that way. The knobs don't work quite properly anymore. The clicks don't really mean much on the top lamp, but it still turns on and stays on. That being said, I originally bought this thinking I'd replace it within a year or when part of it would die within 2 years. It's going on 3 now. I think I'll keep it until it really does break or I think my son won't break a better floor lamp.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Better than the price

06/17/2014
By ,
Chicago,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I moved to my new apartment, I found that I do not have any place for installation of a bulb, so I need a table lamp or a floor lamp. most of them were expensive but this one had a good price but such a bad reviews!!!! like cheap material, plastic shades, bending to one side, switches are not working.....I was really in need a floor lamp. I told myself I will buy this one because of its good price and if it does not work later I will buy something with good quality. When it arrived I was positively surprised. shades are plastic but you can not find unless you touch it. They are not blue as pictured .They are completely white and change with the color of bulb, I used normal 40W bulb for both main light and reading light and it is yellow and beautiful . There is nothing wrong in it even one point . It is perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Great buy on a Combo Floor Lamp

05/17/2014
By ,
Fort Worth, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already had one Mainstays floor lamp, and wanted a matching one. It is easy to put together, and sturdy. I actually am using the reading lamps to accent a picture I have above my couch. They swivel into any direction easily. I love them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Lamp serves its purpose

01/04/2010
By ,
IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Granted the quality isn't super great, but the price should explain why. It lights up a room, and the reading light would be handy if I used it (haven't had the need to yet, anyway). Speaking of which, the shade on the reading lamp part of the lamp was a pain to assemble; maybe it was just mine, but I eventually got the shade screwed on right. It also bends easily in different directions. I don't expect the shades to melt even though they're made of plastic. From a distance, you can see the top of the bulbs peeking over the shades, but it's not a big deal.
If you need a simple, inexpensive lamp and a reading light, go ahead with this one. The same lamp without the reading light is availabe, as well, for a few dollars less. In hindsight, I probably should've gotten that one. Oh well! Happy lighting!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Excellent product!!!

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two, one was more than enough! excellent lightning, shape and everything!! BUY IT
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Great Floor Lamp for the price

09/13/2014
By ,
Delray Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed two floor lamps, one for my sewing table area and one next to the bed for reading. This fit the bill perfectly. We were careful putting it together and didn't have any problems. Taking your time and untwisting the wires at the end did the trick and did not have problems with the floor lamp. Mine are straight, which I think is the key by taking your time. The price was perfect. Would recommend if looking for something of this type. Other sites had something like it but more expensive. Wasn't sure about the black color but it turns out to be nice and doesn't stand out in the room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

It's a lamp

07/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inexpensive, very basic, easy to assemble, provides light. That's about it. I own two of these, had one for about 3 years, no problems. New one has been in service for a couple weeks, no problems. I'd recommend this to anyone who needs a basic floor lamp.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Good product for the price

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a decent lamp for the price you pay for it. Has a nice minimalist look and pretty much fits any interior. The only issue I have is that the reading lamp makes a slight buzz noise when is one, but it doesn't bother me much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Great value for quality light source

09/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my classroom so that my students and I could work in a comfortable environment free from fluorescent lights. My students and colleagues love the atmosphere that this simple, inexpensive change made. My classroom feels far more like a well-lit living room than a sterile, monotonous space. I intend to purchase more to add to the ambiance and ensure that every corner of the room is equally well-lit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Great Lamp

02/23/2010
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Takes about 5 min's. to assemble but looks good and works great. Shades are plastic but for the price. Lower lamp is fully adjustable and a nice feature for reading in bed. For the price and cost of shipping it can't be beat. Definately buy one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

super value - great product

03/31/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A snap to assemble, decent materials, good heavy base. Attractive piece even with the plastic shades.
The reading lamp is flexible so you can adjust it to your liking. Really illuminates an area. The 3-way switch only worked on the high setting but no big deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Good value

09/06/2014
By ,
Dallas and New York 2nd home
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

works

09/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works well
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

For $12, it is what it is. Nothing fancy, does job

11/02/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My old floor lamp was blowing bulbs by the week, so it was time for something else. I didn't want to spend $50+ for what most stores offered. So I went with this special.
I like that it has the side lamp for reading. Wish it was a little more flexible and would stay where I put it. BUT... it was about $12, so what can you expect. I can read with it, so it works. Wish the top lamp on off switch was reachable from sitting in my chair, but it's at the top. Would prefer a top shade that was more flared out and a little more reflective so more light would hit the ceiling. But again, it works and is definitely worth what I paid for it.
One main flaw is that I can not get good contact with mini CFLs, so I can't use them, which I was hoping to do. IF I could use my CFLs, I would probably give it a 5 star rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

10/23/2013
By ,
Claremore
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You get what you pay for. I needed a "cheap" lamp for reading by my chair. It works well for that.
It is plastic, easy to put together. Just follow the instructions or you will twist the cord and possibly damage the connectors. Also you need a 3 way bulb on top for the light to work properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

excellent value for money

08/22/2014
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
for only $11, you get a lamp that looks exactly as pictured. that in my book, is a great bargain. it did take a bit of time to set up, as the lamp is quite tall, but other than that, it really is a great lamp. i like it a lot. totally recommend, and would buy again if i need another lamp.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Terrible! Broken shade! Target ones are better!

08/03/2014
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So I ignored prior reviews saying that the shade was broken when others received it. I thought they were maybe just dropped or something. Then I received mine. BROKEN!!!! Don't waste your time or money. I returned this one and I got one at Target that is better and not broken. Only 2 dollars more. This one is JUNK!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

It's simple but effective! the price wasvery good!

08/24/2014
By ,
Tucson AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was exactly what I needed in a small room. The low price was great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 194 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next