Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Mainstays Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

The Mainstays Combo Floor Lamp features two different sources of light. The main light is three-way rotary style that provides three different levels of light intensity. The second light can be used as a reading lamp and contains its own on/off switch. The 72" floor lamp uses a 100 watt bulb for the main light and a 60 watt bulb for the reading lamp.
Average Customer Rating:
4.203 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(182 Reviews) 161
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
44
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation87%159 out of 182reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
44
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Great lamp, great price!

05/09/2014
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lamp is just what I needed, and you can't beat the price! The shades are plastic, but handled carefully they seem sturdy. I put a 40W bulb in the lower section as the 60W was too bright. The 3-way on the top offers a soft glow for tv time, but you can make it bright when searching for the remote! It's sturdy and stands straight. Just be careful when assembling not to twist the wires too much, or to tighten the shade holders too tight. It was easy to assemble. It's very tall, so I couldn't put it exactly where I wanted (covered up a shelf), but it works well where I have it. Very pleased.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tahlequah, OK
Good value for the money
Posted 06/27/2014
We bought two Mainstay lamps when we first moved here nine years ago. They still work. The only problem is the plastic shade--once it breaks (as happened today), it can't be replaced. So we'll buy another within the next couple of days. If you want something decorative, spend the money. If you want a light that just works, buy this one. Now if it could be manufactured so that the shade could be replaced...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

A bad investment..!!

12/12/2013
By ,
Ann Arbor,MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although it may look durable..the lamp shield broke in the packaging itself..the stand remains tilted and the lamp shield does not fit into it's slot..
Going to return it asap.
look for better options..
Do not buy..!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Better than the price

06/17/2014
By ,
Chicago,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I moved to my new apartment, I found that I do not have any place for installation of a bulb, so I need a table lamp or a floor lamp. most of them were expensive but this one had a good price but such a bad reviews!!!! like cheap material, plastic shades, bending to one side, switches are not working.....I was really in need a floor lamp. I told myself I will buy this one because of its good price and if it does not work later I will buy something with good quality. When it arrived I was positively surprised. shades are plastic but you can not find unless you touch it. They are not blue as pictured .They are completely white and change with the color of bulb, I used normal 40W bulb for both main light and reading light and it is yellow and beautiful . There is nothing wrong in it even one point . It is perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Get What You Pay For

07/07/2014
By ,
Mendota, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this lamp since Feb of 2012. Other than the fact that the column broke at the base within 3 hours of putting it together, I'd say it's held up great for a really cheap floor lamp. After all, what matters most is that both the lights still turn on and that it stands up, although a bit like the leaning tower of Pisa. Now it is a little bit flimsy. Our room mate sort of fell on it and it broke at the base about 3 hours after we put it together. He didn't land on it, just tripped and pushed it over while moving furniture and it broke. After almost 3 years this thing has survived being knocked over a few times by my now 3 1/2 year old and still turns on so it's sturdy that way. The knobs don't work quite properly anymore. The clicks don't really mean much on the top lamp, but it still turns on and stays on. That being said, I originally bought this thinking I'd replace it within a year or when part of it would die within 2 years. It's going on 3 now. I think I'll keep it until it really does break or I think my son won't break a better floor lamp.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Great buy on a Combo Floor Lamp

05/17/2014
By ,
Fort Worth, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already had one Mainstays floor lamp, and wanted a matching one. It is easy to put together, and sturdy. I actually am using the reading lamps to accent a picture I have above my couch. They swivel into any direction easily. I love them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Excellent product!!!

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two, one was more than enough! excellent lightning, shape and everything!! BUY IT
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Lamp serves its purpose

01/04/2010
By ,
IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Granted the quality isn't super great, but the price should explain why. It lights up a room, and the reading light would be handy if I used it (haven't had the need to yet, anyway). Speaking of which, the shade on the reading lamp part of the lamp was a pain to assemble; maybe it was just mine, but I eventually got the shade screwed on right. It also bends easily in different directions. I don't expect the shades to melt even though they're made of plastic. From a distance, you can see the top of the bulbs peeking over the shades, but it's not a big deal.
If you need a simple, inexpensive lamp and a reading light, go ahead with this one. The same lamp without the reading light is availabe, as well, for a few dollars less. In hindsight, I probably should've gotten that one. Oh well! Happy lighting!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

It's a lamp

07/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inexpensive, very basic, easy to assemble, provides light. That's about it. I own two of these, had one for about 3 years, no problems. New one has been in service for a couple weeks, no problems. I'd recommend this to anyone who needs a basic floor lamp.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

great value

06/28/2014
By ,
AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This replaced an older Mainstays floor lamp. The old one still worked perfectly, but the plastic shade cracked and I couldn't find a replacement. So ... this one is almost identical to the first except that it is black instead of gray (I think it looks nicer), and the old one wobbled a little - this one is very sturdy. The old one was fine and only cost $20. This one is better and at half the price. Great Value!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

nice lamp - great price

07/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice lamp for the price...can only use 40 watt bulbs...the lamp shade is plastic..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

For the money this is Excellent

07/28/2014
By ,
Snellville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I moved into a new apartment where none of the rooms had lights except kitchen and bathrooms. I ran to walmart purchased the cheapest lamps I could find just to have light. It was so worth the money. For the price these lamps are exceptional. They could charge more, I'm glad they dont. Excellent Excellent buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Perfect Lighting

06/28/2014
By ,
Jackson, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got 2 of these floor lamp for lighting in corners of a room and they are perfect and look great. Use the efficiency bulbs for long lasting and low cost. One sit in a corner near plant shelf so the plants get sufficient light. The lamps also look good.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Wonderful

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own 3 Last long time Work Great and dont brake easy. Must buy Just don't get in a rush Putting together or it makes it harder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

It has performed well for what it is

07/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is not a high quality piece of equipment, but it is useful for its purpose. It is inexpensive, yet it performs well. I would recommend it, as it has served me well for a year, so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

A very helpful product

07/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excelent product at an excelent price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Excellent lamp

07/22/2014
By ,
Ocala, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't know what to expect for only $10.97, but I was VERY pleasantly surprised by the look and quality for such a low price. Just what I needed for a dark corner. It looks and works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

GREAT LIGHT FOR LITTLE MONEY

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed some light in the corner where I sit and this product does exactly what I wanted it for.
Pricing was excellent. Quality was good for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Defective product

07/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I will be returning this because it arrived defective. We could not screw the bulb into the top socket.
To be fair, I have purchased this product before from another company, and it was excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

bought this lamp this week

07/22/2014
By ,
Angelheart2854
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
at first I was concerned about the plastic shades. but once it was together, it looks and works great. needed one in a hurry and fit the budget I had
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

For $12, it is what it is. Nothing fancy, does job

11/02/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My old floor lamp was blowing bulbs by the week, so it was time for something else. I didn't want to spend $50+ for what most stores offered. So I went with this special.
I like that it has the side lamp for reading. Wish it was a little more flexible and would stay where I put it. BUT... it was about $12, so what can you expect. I can read with it, so it works. Wish the top lamp on off switch was reachable from sitting in my chair, but it's at the top. Would prefer a top shade that was more flared out and a little more reflective so more light would hit the ceiling. But again, it works and is definitely worth what I paid for it.
One main flaw is that I can not get good contact with mini CFLs, so I can't use them, which I was hoping to do. IF I could use my CFLs, I would probably give it a 5 star rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 162 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next