Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Mainstays Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

The Mainstays Combo Floor Lamp features two different sources of light. The main light is three-way rotary style that provides three different levels of light intensity. The second light can be used as a reading lamp and contains its own on/off switch. The 72" floor lamp uses a 100 watt bulb for the main light and a 60 watt bulb for the reading lamp.
Average Customer Rating:
4.124 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(145 Reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
36
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation86%124 out of 145reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
36
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

A bad investment..!!

12/12/2013
By ,
Ann Arbor,MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although it may look durable..the lamp shield broke in the packaging itself..the stand remains tilted and the lamp shield does not fit into it's slot..
Going to return it asap.
look for better options..
Do not buy..!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Lamp serves its purpose

01/04/2010
By ,
IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Granted the quality isn't super great, but the price should explain why. It lights up a room, and the reading light would be handy if I used it (haven't had the need to yet, anyway). Speaking of which, the shade on the reading lamp part of the lamp was a pain to assemble; maybe it was just mine, but I eventually got the shade screwed on right. It also bends easily in different directions. I don't expect the shades to melt even though they're made of plastic. From a distance, you can see the top of the bulbs peeking over the shades, but it's not a big deal.
If you need a simple, inexpensive lamp and a reading light, go ahead with this one. The same lamp without the reading light is availabe, as well, for a few dollars less. In hindsight, I probably should've gotten that one. Oh well! Happy lighting!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

For $12, it is what it is. Nothing fancy, does job

11/02/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My old floor lamp was blowing bulbs by the week, so it was time for something else. I didn't want to spend $50+ for what most stores offered. So I went with this special.
I like that it has the side lamp for reading. Wish it was a little more flexible and would stay where I put it. BUT... it was about $12, so what can you expect. I can read with it, so it works. Wish the top lamp on off switch was reachable from sitting in my chair, but it's at the top. Would prefer a top shade that was more flared out and a little more reflective so more light would hit the ceiling. But again, it works and is definitely worth what I paid for it.
One main flaw is that I can not get good contact with mini CFLs, so I can't use them, which I was hoping to do. IF I could use my CFLs, I would probably give it a 5 star rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

10/23/2013
By ,
Claremore
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You get what you pay for. I needed a "cheap" lamp for reading by my chair. It works well for that.
It is plastic, easy to put together. Just follow the instructions or you will twist the cord and possibly damage the connectors. Also you need a 3 way bulb on top for the light to work properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

great lighting options

03/28/2014
By ,
Ellsworth ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three way option allows for greater control of lighting area. purchased both the floor three-way lamp with attached reading lamp and the matching single floor three-way lamp which gives us greater options for the room, especially by using a "day light (blue tinted) led bulb" on one lamp and a regular three-way lamp on the other with an energy efficient led reading lamp. These lamps are great for bedrooms, dorm rooms, etc. where light weight lighting is appreciated. Works really well with the newer led lamps
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Great Lamp

02/23/2010
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Takes about 5 min's. to assemble but looks good and works great. Shades are plastic but for the price. Lower lamp is fully adjustable and a nice feature for reading in bed. For the price and cost of shipping it can't be beat. Definately buy one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

super value - great product

03/31/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A snap to assemble, decent materials, good heavy base. Attractive piece even with the plastic shades.
The reading lamp is flexible so you can adjust it to your liking. Really illuminates an area. The 3-way switch only worked on the high setting but no big deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Great product for the money

02/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased almost 5 years ago, and the only complaint I have ever had is the upper light switch is difficult to turn. Now, I need a new light cover - after years of daily use.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

good for price

02/20/2014
By ,
grand rapids mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Great Lamp

03/25/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the 2 different lighting areas, I put a lower watt bulb in the smaller lamp so that I can have a softer night lighting for when my newborn is sleep and I'm still awake. Love love love the price as well ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Let there be light...

03/27/2014
By ,
Bayside, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
With the Mainstays 72" Combo Floor Lamp, Black that's what you get...light.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Humble, TX
Mainstays 72 ombo Floor Lamp
Posted 04/06/2014
These lamps work well for the price. However, the plastic shades on the reading lamp turn brittle and crack or fall apart after a few months. I don't know if replacement shades are available. I have two, one my daughter gave me because the shade on her reading lamp cracked also.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

great bargain

02/16/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
used every day
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Good for the price and suits our usage

03/24/2014
By ,
colorado springs, co
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Upper switch somewhat difficult to turn on/off.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Floor lamp

02/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble; great lighting.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Lots of Light!

03/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these for my sewing room and it puts out a ton of light! I can easily tilt the lower lamp and direct it right where I need it. Personally, I like it better than my ott light.
Putting it together, I had to really work to get a few of the pole pieces screwed in together, but once they got started they went together very securely.
For the money you can't find a better deal. I'm buying two more for other areas in my house!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Poor quality wiring

12/10/2013
By ,
New York ,NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It has very poor quality wire. Easy to fix one tube to another tube. but we may loose threads while fixing the tube.when you fixing one tube to another tube,the wire could cut itself the lights may not work .But it has very bright light function through plastic white cover when you use blue type spiral bulbs 32w and 13w.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

VERY GREAT FLOOR LAMP!!!!!

04/25/2012
By ,
TENNESSEE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Mainstays 72" Combo Floor Lamp,Black Is A Really Great Lamp. It Works Great It Lights Up The Whole Room. It ALso Has A Great Price. I Would Recommend This Lamp To Everyone That Is Looking For A Great Floor Lamp.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

Great value for money

03/04/2014
By ,
Arlington, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for the very cheap price of this product. Looks good, and provides good utility with the 3-switch main lamp and reading lamp combo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

easy to set up works great

03/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice and shiny
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 72'' Combo Floor Lamp, Black

You get what you pay for

10/03/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This lamp is definitely cheap, I don't even think there is a similar model cheaper. So keeping that in mind, within 20 days of having this lamp the top lamp does not light up at all, no matter how many new bulbs we put in it. Within 30-35 days the bottom "snake" lamp can not be moved or it also will not light up. Something is terribly wrong with the wiring in this lamp. If you even bump the thing, it will turn off and it takes at least 5 minutes of gentle care to find the sweet spot that keeps it powered.
It is pretty dang cheap, though. So bottom line: you get what you pay for. This lamp may do well in room that it is barely ever used, it is DEFINITELY NOT a good choice for an every-day-use type of lamp.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next