Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black

Mainstays Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black

Enhance your home's lighting and decor with this unique Black Mainstays Floor Lamp. This classic lamp features a three-way rotary switch and a plastic shade. A flexible gooseneck pole allows you to reposition the lamp, so you can shed light where it is needed. Brighten up your bedroom, living room, study, home office, attic or basement with this Mainstays 71" Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp with black finish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.158 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation84%16 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black

Perfect Lamp 4Me

12/30/2009
By ,
Hanover, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I was looking for! I prefer the silver finish instead of the black and found it at the store! I have four in my house and couldn't be happier with them. I can direct the light down to my work area or up for mood. I have a GE soft white 30-70-100w 3-way bulb in each. The gooseneck holds its position. The fixture is quiet. The appearance is simple, contemporary and attractive. And once again, Walmart has given us a price that can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black

Exceptional Lighting Coverage

01/04/2013
By ,
Hesperia, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read some of the reviews & was a little reluctant to purchase. Also the web site said that my local store didn't carry it. I found it on the shelf after all! I purchased a lightbulb (included~ which I didn't know at the time of purchase, which was a bonus for me!)after bringing it home: I assembled it myself. Pluged it, Turned it on & it was TREMENDOUS! the light coverage is Wonderful for my cutting Table!I put the lamp on the corner of the table so I had complete use of the table without the lamp being in the way! I then took it into my sewing room where the corner I wanted illuminated for my sewing at night was THE BEST illimunation I've found yet! the thin floor pole and heavy base make it easy to fit between the wall and behind the sewing cabnet. EXCELLENT for a crafter who needs great overhead lighting without the heat being right on either shoulder! VERY PLEASED! thinking of going and geting another for the other side of the room!And maybe another as a gift for my daughter who is also a seamstress/home quilter/Crafter. Greatly Pleased with the Purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black

Disappointing

10/22/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Three problems: 1) I bought this to match two other lamps from Walmart, and they changed the shade. It is not "frosted" as described, it is just plain white plastic; not pretty. 2) It buzzes when on. 3) The gooseneck is not strong enough to hold up the shade and one of those eco-friendly light bulbs. I didn't think they weighed so much more then a regular light bulb, but this lamp can't handle them and it drops down further and further, and closer and closer to your head.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wappingers Falls, NY
If it's not working right, bring it back..........
Posted 03/09/2014
The lamp sounds likes it's broken. Return it for replacement or refund. It is a great lamp - have one myself - but you're not going to appreciate it in its present state. If you're constantly turning the lamp neck in an upward position, you should consider a dual lamp with a stationary ceiling light as well as a stationary reading light. They are much more durable than a goose neck style lamp.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black

So close to great product for the money, but....

09/20/2012
By ,
CT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought one of these to use in my study next to a recliner. It looked ideal for what I wanted. However, when I got it home and assembled it, I was quite disappointed in its appearance, specifically the ugly, cheap-looking, plastic shade. But I thought I could live with it, not being that fussy. That quickly changed when I put one of the recommended bulbs in it. Besides being cheap and ugly, the shade is also too short, or shallow. The bulb sticks out about an inch and a half beyond the rim of the shade, which is totally unacceptable, even for me. I returned it to the store. I guess it would be ok to use in your garage to direct light into your engine compartment while you changed spark plugs. Too bad they didn't spend another fifty cents on a better shade; would have been a "great value".
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black
10/14/2013
By ,
Boca Raton, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this lamp because I was looking for an inexpensive floor lamp for my home office. It was very easy to put together & it looks nice so I think it was a great buy. Some reviews complain about the plastic lampshade so I was aware of that before I made the purchase. It doesn't bother me since I am only using the lamp in my office area anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black

Neat lamp

03/28/2010
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for Computer desks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black

The shade is plastic

04/11/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm sure it's my own fault for not reading everything, but I wasn't expecting the shade to be plastic. I bought it with plans of replacing the shade with something more decorative. I doubt I'll be able to do that now as I don't think it will hold the weight of anything heavy. But I do like the lamp. It works well where I planned on putting it. And with a 3-way bulb, you can either go for atmosphere or be able to read under it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black

Great lamp for the price.

11/02/2012
By ,
central Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks nice and works well. Unlike another reviewer, I don't mind the plastic shade; a glass one would be too heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black

Plastic lamshade deteriorates and crumbles to dust

05/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What can one expect for $20 bucks? The lamp is a temporary, disposable, need-it-now lighting fixture. Mine lasted about a year before the lampshade simply dissolved. It was hand until then. Now it's in the dumpster and I'm off to buy a new one. Ta-ta!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black

Just what I needed.........

03/09/2014
By ,
Wappingers Falls, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a lamp to stand behind the sofa, that would allow me to read (write, do puzzles, sew, etc.) at night without eyestrain and annoying shadows. This lamp fits the bill for me. I only use a 60w bulb instead of the 100w the instructions say you can use, and it's more than bright enough for me. It's affordable, seems to be durable, and fits my needs. I honestly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black

Inexpensive

12/19/2009
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice lamp, even better with Wal-Mart's prices! Purchased two off of a family member's Wish List as housewarming gifts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black

As expected

12/04/2009
By ,
Metairie, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets expectations - but we have been using it for a month, only.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black

Exactly What I Was Looking For

06/15/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to go next to my sewing table for additional lighting. It works great. I love the gooseneck, it bends and shines the light right where I need it to be. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I had to return the first one I bought. The stand would not screw together correctly.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black
02/22/2013
By ,
avon ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Needed for some adequate lighting for my sons room as there are no light fixtures available. Does the job.. shade is made of plastic and not very attractive. Not sure if it can be replaced with another as it doesn't seem to bother him. All in all it seems sturdy, have it in the corner and use wall switch to turn on and off. would reccomend for floor lighting, if your like us and don't like to have lamps crowding your table space.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black

A cheap floor lamp.

12/03/2013
By ,
Shelbyville,IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It is one of the cheapest lamps, outside of workshop lams, that I have seen. The column is about 1/2" in diameter, doesn't seem to be too sturdy. The lam shade is made of flimsy plastics, but it is rated to hold up to 100w light bulbs, and that's why I bought it, and it was only about $20. I intend on using it as the top light in a lightbox setup, and for that it is good enough. As a living room or other room illumination I would not use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black

Very nice

03/23/2012
By ,
St Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lamp is very nice. It was easy to put together and I love the flexible goose neck. Great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black

Gooseneck lamp

03/18/2010
By ,
newton , NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Angel Fountian and needed just a little some thing more to high light it.
This lamp is perfect.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black

Love it

06/12/2012
By ,
Bridgeview, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
for 20 bucks, it is awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mainstays 71'' Jelly Gooseneck Floor Lamp, Black
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5