Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hoover Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hoover Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

Hoover's WindTunnel cyclonic bagless upright vacuum combines patented WindTunnel technology for best carpet cleaning performance with the benefits of a cyclonic cleaning system, strong suction power and less filter maintenance. HEPA filtration traps 100% of dust mites, ragweed and common grass pollens. An automatic cord rewind retracts quickly and easily with the touch of a button. Multi-surfae brush roll control allows you to safely and effectively vacuum carpeted and hard floor surfaces in your home.
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation26%5 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

should have read the reviews

04/17/2010
By ,
warren, oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this sweeper for about two weeks shut off twice...Was looking to purchase the same sweeper until I read the reviews, I guess there is a problem.Returned to store!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

DO NOT BUY!!

02/14/2010
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This Hoover has a belt problem. I purchased mine in July of 2009, towards the end of the month. Between then and the beginning of January we had it into an authorized Hoover repair place at least 5 times as the belt would stretch and come off, then the beater brush would quit working. Each time they replaced the belt, and it would work maybe 2-3 times before quitting again. THIS time, it has been in the repair shop since just after New Years waiting on a "special belt" for this Hoover. After a month of being told they were still waiting for it, I called again and was now told Hoover does NOT make a special belt for this. He further told me this is a common problem in this model and they are simply waiting for Hoover to recognize it as a problem and issue a recall. They can KEEP IT!! I am buying a Dyson! I have been a loyal Hoover fan for decades but will not purchase another Hoover again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

V Belt Problem

09/01/2009
By ,
Paso Robles, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have 2 cats & was tired of my machine clogging. So I bought the most expensive vacuum the store had in stock. After less than 2 months it was broken. There is a v-belt that disengages when the attachments are in use and when the handle is completely upright. This belt is slipping & now I can't clean my carpets. This is the most I've spent on a vacuum & the least satisfied I have ever been.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 4 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

DON'T BUY THIS!!!!

02/19/2010
By ,
San Angelo, TEXAS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this about a week ago and I use it daily. I didn't read the reviews before I bought this and I sure wish I would have. This vac looks nice and has great features. I loved it the first couple of times I used it because it sucked up everything! I had vacuumed with my old vac and went back over it again with this vac and it still pulled tons of stuff up. BUT, now it is throwing junk out the back and when I shut the brush off for bare floors, it just makes a big mess. It even makes a weird sqweeking noise when I vacuum my carpet. This is the 2nd vac I have bought in the past 2 weeks that has been a real piece! I don't know what to buy now! I just want a good, durable vac. and I assumed for almost $150 I had finally found the one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

DO NOT BUY

10/27/2009
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have had this vaccum only a few months.
Initially the suction was great, but like other reviews there is a belt that will slip and the spinning brush will stop working.
It would also overheat and turn intself off after a few minutes.
The vacuum may look nice but it has many manufactured flaws. Please do not buy this junk. Learn from our mistake
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 6 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

Not worth the looks

06/03/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this product approximately 6-7mths but have maybe used it 4 months, usually twice per week. I've only used it as long as I did because I paid so much for it and shredded the receipt unknowingly. Very, very . .VERY heavy vacuum. And I'm young and in-shape! I went back to using my 4-yr old Bissell lift-off that I had started using on my SUV. Still produces a canister full of dirt and hair just as well as Hoover does. Also Hoover cord does get in the way like other reviews have mentioned. Will probably donate to Goodwill since I don't think I can "give" it away" much less sell it. Don't waste your money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 7 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

Wouldn't recommend

06/05/2010
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the heaviest and most difficult-to-handle vacuum I've ever used. Even my strong teenage sons who help me sometimes complain about how unwieldy the vacuum is. I also have to frequently change the plug-in site because the cord is too short. While I have no complaints about the vacuum power, I would not recommend this vacuum to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 8 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

Junk

05/04/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had high hopes when I bought this machine; it had advertized all of the features I wanted and I couldnt wait to use it. I was greatly disappointed when I got home. It had no suction, it was SUPER heavy, and the pet/upolstry brush was a sick joke. The only thing I liked about it is the adjustable handle and auto cord rewind which is hardly worth buying for. Against my better judgement I kept the machine and now less than a year later - it just quit turning on so I am now buying another machine. I wish I had kept my old Kennmore. I reccomend NOT buying this no matter how appealing it looks at the store - its not worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

WASTE OF MONEY

06/16/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your money on this peice of junk. I have had mine for almost 2 months now an everytime it gets hot it shuts off. {I don't even finish 1 room} I vacuum, 3 an 4 times a week around my house an i am so glad i keep my old one, now I'm back to usein my Dirt Devil. Cause now I won't even bother gettin this Hoover out.....It's heavy an jus not worth $20 much less close to $200. Only good thing about it is the rewind cord it has. Also give the fact that it's prettyy! But i WOULDN'T recommened it to anyone... I only wish I'da read the reveiws before buying.. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 10 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

waste of money -worked for a month!

07/20/2010
By ,
Massapequa, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Vacuum worked great for approx. 1 month! called Hoover and was told to take it back to Walmart for another vacuum cleaner! it was not worth all the $$$ we spent. my $44 vacuum lasted 5 yrs before breaking down on us so I figured for all the great features and stylish look, this would work good since the price was over $150. I was wrong> Should have read the reviews before we bought on an impulse! mine was a power issue. it just cut off while in use. it made a piercing sound and powered off! that was the end of my stylish vacuum!
i wouldnt recommend buying this unit for anything!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

Poorly Made Product

03/09/2010
By ,
Richardson, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my second Hoover Windtunnel device, and it will be my last. The suction on the vacuum is amazing and can seduce you into thinking it's a good product. The first one I had fell apart after two years, and this one even sooner. It appears there is a design issue with the belts so that they slip and the agitator stops working. I'll be calling Hoover today and see if they want to make this right.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

Do Not Want!

05/10/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had great expectations for this medium priced vacuum but after getting it home and using it for several weeks...I decided that it is junk! The V-Belt that works the carpet roller stretched and will not allow the roller to spin anymore. The telescoping handle is cheaply made and feels like it will break any day. Spend a few extra bucks and get a better vacuum!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

WORKS FOR A MONTH

02/04/2010
By ,
Minooka, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a Hoover Mach 5 prior to purching my new Mach in Jan/2010. The Mach 5 did it's job, but only for a short time. When we went to purchase a new vacuum, I wanted a decent one but did not want to spend a ton of money on it. The Mach fit my price range, so my husband and I decided to try it again. I paid the additional $20 for the extended warranty offered through Wal-Mart, in case this one should also not work well. I think if I spend about $150 on a vacuum, it should work well. This did not. When I called Hoover about the problems I've had with these vacuums, I was advised to take it back and to get a different vacuum; the T series or the Anniversary Series. I was told that there are a lot of complaints with this vacuum. I hope this helps in your decision to buy or not to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 14 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

Not a good deal

05/23/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wanted to try the cyclonic technology so I bought this. The powered hand tool worked for about 2 weeks. Emptying it is disgusting. You basically have to reach in there with your hands and get the nasty stuff you just vacuumed out which makes a huge mess. I only empty it outside which is a huge pain. Then you have to bring it inside and clean it out with water (at least I do). I could deal with it being heavy if everything else was great, but that is just another minus to this product. The nasty emptying is what sealed the deal for me. What a waste of almost $200. Wish I had taken it back right away, now I am stuck with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

Good vacuum for a bagless

06/01/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros:
Height adjusting handle
Cord winder
Fairly quiet
Cleans well
Can turn off the spin brush to do hard floors
Cord is plenty long
Easy to put together
Cons:
Bagless- some people like these, but I hate cleaning it out, it puts dust in the air and is a big pain. I don't understand all the hype over bagless.
Filter mechanisms on this vacuum are a pain when it comes to emptying the canister.
Vacuum is pretty heavy- hard for little ones to handle
The cool tool for doing stairs that has a spinning roller doesn't do much for the edges, so cleaning the stairs with that involves switching between tools since the roll brush is turned off automatically if you put the vacuum upright, which is how I used to do the stairs.
Several cons there, makes me wish I would have ended up with a different vacuum, but all in all, it's not so bad that I'm anxious to get rid of it. It works well enough, and the cord winder is a nice little perk, so I would still recommend it. If you're already used to the whole bagless thing, you'll be fine with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum
02/21/2010
By ,
West Lafayette OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
what a difference! This vacuum cleaner picked up pet hair and dirt I didn't even know were still there! I have always used Hoover and will continue to do so. My only complaint is it's a little heavy but overall quite pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

good job

03/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wow! this baby can clean and what i like the best is after 15 pounds of dirt the hepa filter still looked very clean and the primary filter was so so . very good product!!!!! we will see if it can withstand the test of time. It is still new yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 18 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

WOW!

09/03/2009
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned a Hoover Windtunnel prior to this one (one of those pesky bag types) which towards the end despite my best cleaning efforts just didn't seem to pick up any dirt and then finally quit.
I was looking into the Bissell line and esp those with the cyclonic power and bagless. Then when in the store I came across this one and it was about 20-25 dollars cheaper than the Bissell, plus it had a few attachments that the Bissell didn't. So I bought this one.
I'm AMAZED at the power of this one. We assembled it immediately and tried it, we had to empty the canister once and filled it probably about 1/3 of the way during the second half of our vacuuming the first time, and I had just vacuumed with the old bag-Hoover 3 days prior. It sucks up A LOT of stuff - even sucked up rubberbands and crayons the kids had left out.
I must admit we had to disassemble the stair/upholstery tool the first time using it on the steps, as it clogged up with hairs, but upon removing all the hairs that tangled up in the bristles it worked fine. I'm in love with this vacuum, it actually FEELS clean after I'm done vacuuming now.
A few extra points in my book:
* The cyclonic power, it keeps the first pushed out to the edges and doesn't clog up, UNLESS you pass the "full line" on the canister.
* The upholstery/stair attachment is worth it all in my book, the stairs were always a problem area for me, not anymore! Actually all the attachments are good, 2 extensions, the upholstery brush, the regular two plastic ones, one with a removable bristle edge. The clear hose has good reach, I can leave the vacuum on the bottom of the stairs and reach all the way up to the top step with it, without an extension.
*Cord rewind, love it, I always hated rolling up the cord and storing it on the old unit - esp when the holder broke off of it. Its a bit sluggish to get the cord in towards the end but it stores it.
* The on/off switch for the bristles, as well as the turn off feature when its running in the upright position - no more eaten carpets. Move furniture out of the way while its still running, hook up (an optional) fan blade cleaner and clean the fans while its running in the floor.
A few negatives:
* Cord is a bit on the short side, I've got a mid-entry house, so 3 floors, not very large house, but it just barely vacuums all the rooms (depends on where I plug it in, has to be a central place to reach all the rooms).
* Cord holder - its pathetic and since the cord comes out from the bottom of the unit it easily tangles around your feet and vacuum, I've found its easier to keep track of it but pulling it through the handle while vacuuming so I don't run it over.
*The price, it was a bit more than I wanted to spend on a vacuum to be honest, but after having used it for several weeks - its worth EVERY PENNY!
*Canister needing to be emptied fairly often - with the bagged version a bag didn't seem to fill up for 2-3 months, so the need to empty the canister every other use is a bit of a pain, but maybe an indication of how much it actually sucks up and not leaves behind?
If you have an old vacuum that doesn't seem to do the job anymore, I don't think you'll be disappointed with this one - I LOVE mine, it really does do a good job sucking up dirt, dust and whatnots.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Review 19 for Hoover WindTunnel Mach Cyclonic Vacuum

Excellent cleaner

04/01/2010
By ,
Shenandoah, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great suction, long reaching cord and hose -- I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points