Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

Gold's Gym Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

If you do a lot of floor exercise, you will need to have your own Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat. Whether you use mats at a community gym or for your home workout, this workout accessory will help you achieve your fitness goals. This foldable exercise mat is constructed from high-density foam to ensure comfort, stability and balance as you perform different routines. This brand is particularly sturdy and durable and is made specifically for those with workouts that involve stretches and other floor activities, like pilates and yoga. This portable exercise mat features center alignment marks to serve as guide during balancing workouts. It also has a non-slip surface.
Average Customer Rating:
4.442 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%38 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

Love It!

12/17/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The prefect may for yoga, core training and self massaging. I highly recommend this product. I tell all my friends and clients about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

Very durable...

08/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second mat like this I purchased. The first I purchased over a year ago, and have pretty much used it every day over the last year for P90x and Insanity exercises... I typically do about an hour of these intense exercises a day, and the mat held up great. After a year of this heavy use there were a few areas toward the ends which started to wear down to the core, so I was time to replace.
I can't imagine any yoga mars holding up like this.
Plus the folding ability is better than rolling, and you can fold it in different wats.
I believe this mat is also longer than most others, which is helpful for the programs I mentioned, which have a lot of jumping around, etc...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

Great mat

02/23/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having had several mats through the years gives me an idea what to look for. No, it does not rest flat when first spread it out, but once you lay on it, it certainly stays flat "enough" to where it poses absolutely no problem for me.
It is very comfortable compared to most mats, AND, you don't have to be so afraid of it getting damaged if you stand on it with gym shoes because it has a durable surface.
Great how it folds up and out of the way. I really like that mat and look forward to exercising on it, and I think you'd be very happy too with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

Great Mat, Great Value

04/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first thing I noticed was how this mat would not lay flat on the floor because of how it is folded. I fixed the problem by folding the mat in reverse and storing it that way over night. After doing that, it lays PERFECTLY FLAT on the floor. I really like the thickness, size and comfort factor. When compared to similar mats that sell for $60+ at sporting goods stores/sites, this mat is a no-brainer in my opinion.
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

Yoga for people who need extra padding

01/17/2014
By ,
Poulsbo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own one of these myself for yoga. The one I bought is for a friend with bad knees. There is very high density foam in these pads and it saves my knees. Love the yoga and this mat. It is a bit more slippery than other traditional mats so I got gloves that keep my hands from slipping. Great mat
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

great mat

03/08/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great mat especially for apartments. big enough to fully lay down on easy to wipe off when done and conveniently folds up for storage. great addition to my home gym.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

The best exercise mat yet!

01/09/2010
By ,
Waco, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a GREAT exercise mat. It is easy to unfold, fold and store, and has plenty of cushioning. If you exercise as frequently as I do, you need something to cushion the body and back properly. Well, this mat is it! I highly recommend this Gold's Gym product. It is a great value and really performs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

excellent excerise mat

04/01/2014
By ,
Woodland,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this mat is thick and can be used on any type of floor. It makes any gym floor easier to exercise on as it gives you a thick cushion.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

Great Mat

02/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 4 years of P90x and Insanity on this mat it was time for a replacement. Nothing else compared so I was happy to repurchase. It cleans well and doesn't stain or damage carpet. I was surprised it was only available online now. Highly recommended for price and durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

My trainer uses this mat

01/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this thru online as could not find in Walmart store
Know its durable and big enough as use trainer's during
appts. She highly recommended the Gold's Folding
exercise mat over other brands
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

Good Mat

08/12/2011
By ,
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a thinner mat and that is exactly what I wanted. It does have a vinyl surface which wipes down nicely. That is also the one drawback that I found. It makes it hard on the skin when you are doing exercises where you are on your elbows or arms. Tends to rub. But overall I am happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

Love this mat!

09/17/2013
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this mat so much I have purchased 2. One was in store and this one from Walmart.com
My favorite thing is it is so much more durable than those foam or rubber type mats. It is heavier, but not so much that it causes it to be a hindrance of any kind. It is also much easier to clean than those other types as well.
I noticed other reviews did not like the accordion style folds, but that has not been an issue for me. It does not lay flat when I am NOT using it, but it does while I am, so I don't see that as a problem at all.
My daughter kept taking the first one I purchased, so I decided to just let her keep it and bought me another one. Now my husband wants one for himself, so actually about to order a 3rd. Very thankful to find it on Walmart.com when it was not in stock at the physical store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

best mat

03/24/2011
By ,
long island NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the thickest, most durable mat I have found. After it is unfolded it takes a while before it lays flat but I just leave it open all the time. If you have to take it with you everyday like to the gym it may not be the best thing but for home use I think it's perfect. This is the second one I purchased. The first one lasted 3 years of almost everyday use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

I love it

05/25/2010
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've been using this for the last 4 weeks during our P90X workouts. We purchased it for around $15.
I bought it because it folds. I thought that a roll up mat wouldn't store as neatly and this one folds up very nicely and fits under my end table.
It is cushy and around 1 cm thick.
It kind of reminds me of memory foam because when you're standing on it and you change position your footprint stays for a few seconds (which I actually find helpful for matching the distance when switching feet positions in lunges or yoga warrior poses.
Also there is a indented dotted line down the center of the mat (lengthwise) that is extremely helpful for lining up your feet during yoga poses where your front foot is straight and your back foot is pointed slightly out but heels are lined up.
The joints where the mat folds are a nice for judging distance as well.
I haven't had any problems like some other reviewers with the mat not laying flat.
When initially unfolded it is not flat but after a minute or so the mat is completely flat and I haven't had any problems whatsoever.
Perhaps the joints need to be broken in a little bit before it starts lieing completely flat.
Overall, If you're looking for a folding exercise mat, I would definitely give this mat a chance. I think it's awesome and especially for the price! it's Great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

Great for yoga exercize

02/03/2014
By ,
Orlando, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The pad fits my need for a comfortable yoga and exercise pad. It does not slide on the floor, it is the right size and its thickness and firmness are perfect. Because it folds up with little effort, it is easy to store and put away. Its only down side is its folds have some memory and doesn't lay flat unless you reverse fold it a bit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

Would Not Recommend

02/15/2010
By ,
Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can't believe someone gave this 5 stars. I don't normally write a lot of reviews but I had to write one about this. This mat was not good. My reason for saying so is that it does not stay flat....If you look closely at the picture of the woman on the mat, you'll see the only reason it is staying flat is because of her stance. I, for one, do not like to be fighting my mat when I'm trying to exercise. And I even gave it time, I assumed it would get better. It didn't. I returned it. The only good thing I could say about it is that it folds conveniently for storage. Perhaps I just got a bad mat, so I'll give it the benefit of the doubt, but I personally wouldn't recommend it. There are better mats out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

Exercise mat

01/13/2014
By ,
Tampa,fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

Great mat for the price

10/17/2012
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a little heavier than I would like but it provides more cushion than some of the ones I looked at. It folds up nicely which is what I was looking for. When I first got it I had to lay it outfor a day to get it to lay flat. It fits easily into the locker at the gym I would recommend it to a friend and already have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

Very good

04/28/2010
By ,
Laurel, MT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice and thick. Good sturdy material. Works great on my hardwood floor when doing pilates. Only negative is the folding, but I found that storing it rolled up or only folded in half works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gold's Gym Folding Exercise Mat

Better than most!

02/10/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second purchase of this exercise mat. The first one I have had for about one year and it shows no signs of wear and no signs of fold seams splitting. I needed a second one since I have 2 teenage sons who exercise at home. The mat is larger and thicker than most exercise mats which is essential. Folding and storage are quick and easy. Most other mats are really thin, small, and a nuisance to roll up. I gave it a 4 rating only because for me when the mat is on hard flooring, my tail bone still doesn't have enough cushioning for comfort. Typically though the mat is used on carpeting or a rug at my home so then the cushioning is fine. Both my teenage sons really like this mat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next